yes, therapy helps!
Sadistic personality disorder: symptoms and characteristics

Sadistic personality disorder: symptoms and characteristics

May 24, 2022

Personality is a construct that refers to the pattern of thoughts, beliefs, ways of seeing the world and behaviors largely acquired throughout the life cycle that are maintained through situations and time.

Some of these patterns are dysfunctional and do not allow a correct adaptation to the environment by the subject, making him suffer severe hardship or causing harm to third parties. This last one of the assumptions is the one that occurs with disorders such as antisocial or the one we are going to talk about in this article: sadistic personality disorder , a phenomenon that produces a lot of interest, to the point that there are countless films that talk about this type of people.


  • Related article: "Symptoms and signs of personality disorders"

Sadistic personality disorder

Sadistic personality disorder is considered to be a pathological pattern of cruel, vexatious and aggressive behavior that manifests itself consistently throughout life in a consistent manner through situations. As with sexual sadism, the subject feels enjoyment and satisfaction of the observation of suffering and humiliation of others. For this he can use from physical violence to humiliations, lies and rumors to cause damage, without a specific objective beyond the pleasure of doing so.

Violence and abuse are often used with the aim of dominating others for mere pleasure, without the cruelty used being a means to achieve other objectives. It is also common for them to impose their will through fear and coercion. They are usually controlling people and they tend to limit the freedom of those around them, especially their closest ones, as well as manifest fascination with death and violence in general.


It must be borne in mind that this disorder is not limited to a person or a specific situation nor refers to the mere use of others' pain as an object of sexual satisfaction (that is, people who manifest sexual sadism do not have to have a sadistic personality), but we are talking about a general pattern of behavior .

  • Related article: "Differences between Love, Sadism, Masochism and Sadomasochism"

Link with criminality

It can be easy to attribute crime to mental and personality disorders, but as a general rule the majority of subjects who commit crimes (including blood) are people without any type of psychopathological alteration. It is necessary to bear in mind that although we are talking about people who enjoy the humiliation and pain of others, this does not imply that they are going to commit any type of crime .


However, there is a greater prevalence of this disorder and of psychopathy in certain types of crimes: this is what happens with most of the serial killers. In other cases, the prevalence is much lower, but sometimes in some studies carried out with the inmate population it can be found that some of the subjects who commit sexual abuses / abuse or mistreatment have typical features of this disorder.

Despite this we must insist that suffering from this disorder does not necessarily lead to criminality, being in fact most of the criminal individuals without a mental pathology or personality, contrary to what is often believed.

Causes

Although the possible causes of this disorder are still unknown, such as personality disorder, the origin of the sadistic personality disorder is found in the interaction of the biological temperament with the experience and the environment.

In this sense, it is proposed that in many cases may arise in part from biochemical and brain elements (Brain areas such as the limbic and cerebral reward systems may be involved) and learning, such as in situations of intrafamily violence or continued sexual or physical abuse throughout the life of the subject that he has learned by modeling and associated to power and / or pleasure.

  • You may be interested: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Lack of information and current situation

However, there are doubts about its existence as a personality disorder: although it is evident that there are people with sadistic attitudes as with some psychopaths, there is not enough evidence to fully characterize this type of disorder and even determine if we are really facing a disorder of personality distinct and separable from others already existing.

The diagnostic classifications focus especially on behavior without deepening the emotional and cognitive aspects. More research is required in this regard in order to get more data.Although collected by the DSM-III and by Millon as a personality disorder, at present the sadistic personality disorder consists of a diagnostic category proposed for research and collected in the appendices of the largest diagnostic manual for the classification of American mental disorders. , the DSM.

Linking with psychopathy and antisocial disorder

Although at first glance you can see that psychopathy antisocial disorder and sadistic personality disorder are intimately related (In fact, in many cases concur in the same subject), it is classifications that are not synonymous.

In all three cases a dominant attitude is shared and in which they often commit deception and violation of rights to obtain their objectives, often with absence or difficulty for empathy and remorse.

However, obtaining pleasure and gratification with suffering and domination, which are the core of this disorder, are not absolutely defining neither of the psychopath (not all psychopaths are sadistic) nor of the subject with antisocial disorder. In the same way, a subject can be a sadist without thereby circumventing or violating social norms or laws, something strange in antisocial personality disorder.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association (2002). DSM-IV-TR. Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Spanish edition. Barcelona: Masson. (Original in English of 2000).
  • American Psychiatric Association (1987). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders. 3rd revised edition (DSM-III-R). Washington, D.C ..
  • Horse, V. (2001). An introduction to personality disorders in the 21st century. Behavioral psychology, 9 (3); 455-469.

Sadistic Personality Disorder -- What Truly Makes Someone Evil! (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trouble de la personnalité sadique: symptômes et caractéristiques

Trouble de la personnalité sadique: symptômes et caractéristiques

Avril 1, 2020

La personnalité est une construction qui fait référence au modèle de pensées, de croyances, de façons de voir le monde et de comportements largement acquis au cours du cycle de la vie et qui sont maintenus à travers les situations et le temps.

Certains de ces schémas sont dysfonctionnels et ne permettent pas au sujet de s’adapter correctement à l’environnement, ce qui lui fait subir de graves difficultés ou de causer des torts à des tiers. Cette dernière hypothèse est celle qui se produit avec des troubles tels que les antisociaux ou celle dont nous allons parler dans cet article: trouble de la personnalité sadique , un phénomène qui suscite beaucoup d’intérêt, au point qu’il existe de nombreux films qui parlent de ce type de personnes.


  • Article connexe: "Symptômes et signes de troubles de la personnalité"

Trouble de la personnalité sadique

Le trouble de la personnalité sadique est considéré comme un schéma pathologique de comportement cruel, vexatoire et agressif qui se manifeste de manière cohérente tout au long de la vie, de manière cohérente dans toutes les situations. Comme avec le sadisme sexuel, le sujet ressent de la joie et de la satisfaction face à l'observation de la souffrance et de l'humiliation des autres. Pour cela, il peut utiliser de la violence physique aux humiliations, des mensonges et des rumeurs pour causer des dommages, sans objectif spécifique autre que le plaisir de le faire.

La violence et les abus sont souvent utilisés dans le but de dominer les autres pour le simple plaisir, sans que la cruauté utilisée ne soit un moyen d'atteindre d'autres objectifs. Il est également courant qu’ils imposent leur volonté par la peur et la coercition. Ils contrôlent généralement les gens et ils ont tendance à limiter la liberté de ceux qui les entourent, en particulier de leurs proches, ainsi qu'une fascination manifeste pour la mort et la violence en général.


Il faut garder à l'esprit que ce trouble ne se limite pas à une personne ou à une situation spécifique, ni ne fait référence au simple usage de la douleur d'autrui comme objet de satisfaction sexuelle (en d'autres termes, les personnes qui manifestent un sadisme sexuel ne doivent pas nécessairement posséder une personnalité sadique), sinon quoi nous parlons d'un comportement général .

  • Article connexe: "Différences entre l'amour, le sadisme, le masochisme et le sadomasochisme"

Lien avec la criminalité

Il peut être facile d'attribuer la criminalité aux troubles mentaux et de la personnalité, mais en règle générale, la majorité des sujets qui commettent des crimes (y compris le sang) sont des personnes sans aucun type d'altération psychopathologique. Il faut garder à l'esprit que, bien que nous parlions de personnes qui aiment l'humiliation et la douleur des autres, cela ne signifie pas qu'ils vont commettre n'importe quel type de crime .


Cependant, la prévalence de ce trouble et de la psychopathie est plus importante dans certains types de crimes: c'est ce qui se passe avec la plupart des tueurs en série. Dans d’autres cas, la prévalence est beaucoup plus faible, mais parfois, dans certaines études réalisées auprès de la population carcérale, il est possible de constater que certains des sujets qui commettent des abus sexuels / abus ou maltraitance ont des caractéristiques typiques de ce trouble.

Malgré cela, nous devons insister sur le fait que le fait de souffrir de ce trouble ne mène pas nécessairement à la criminalité, étant en réalité la plupart des criminels sans pathologie mentale ni personnalité, contrairement à ce que l’on pense souvent.

Les causes

Bien que les causes possibles de ce trouble soient encore inconnues, telles que le trouble de la personnalité, l'origine du trouble de la personnalité sadique se trouve dans l'interaction du tempérament biologique avec l'expérience et l'environnement.

En ce sens, il est proposé que dans de nombreux cas peut provenir en partie d'éléments biochimiques et cérébraux (Des zones du cerveau telles que les systèmes de récompense limbique et cérébrale peuvent être impliquées) et l’apprentissage, comme dans des situations de violence intrafamiliale ou de violence sexuelle ou physique continue tout au long de la vie du sujet qu’il a apprise par modélisation et par au pouvoir et / ou au plaisir.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Manque d'information et situation actuelle

Cependant, il existe des doutes sur son existence en tant que trouble de la personnalité: bien qu'il soit évident qu'il existe des personnes aux attitudes sadiques comme chez certains psychopathes, il n'y a pas suffisamment de preuves pour caractériser pleinement ce type de trouble et même déterminer si nous sommes réellement confrontés à un trouble. de personnalité distincte et séparable des autres déjà existantes.

Les classifications diagnostiques se concentrent particulièrement sur le comportement sans approfondir les aspects émotionnels et cognitifs. Plus de recherche est nécessaire à cet égard afin d'obtenir plus de données.Bien que collecté par le DSM-III et par Millon en tant que trouble de la personnalité, le trouble de la personnalité sadique consiste en une catégorie de diagnostics proposés à la recherche et rassemblés dans les annexes du plus grand manuel de diagnostic pour la classification des troubles mentaux américains. , le DSM.

Lien avec la psychopathie et le désordre antisocial

Bien qu'à première vue, vous pouvez voir que la psychopathie, les troubles antisociaux et les troubles de la personnalité sadique sont intimement liés (En fait, dans de nombreux cas, nous abordons le même sujet), ce sont des classifications qui ne sont pas synonymes.

Dans les trois cas, une attitude dominante est partagée et dans laquelle ils commettent souvent tromperie et violation du droit d'atteindre leurs objectifs, souvent avec absence ou difficulté d'empathie et de remords.

Cependant, obtenir le plaisir et la gratification avec la souffrance et la domination, qui sont au cœur de ce trouble, ne définissent absolument ni le psychopathe (tous les psychopathes ne sont pas sadiques) ni le sujet présentant un trouble antisocial. De la même manière, un sujet peut être sadique sans contourner ni violer les normes ou les lois sociales, ce qui est étrange dans le trouble de la personnalité antisociale.

Références bibliographiques:

  • American Psychiatric Association (2002). DSM-IV-TR. Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Édition espagnole. Barcelone: ​​Masson. (Original en anglais de 2000).
  • Association américaine de psychiatrie (1987). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. 3ème édition révisée (DSM-III-R). Washington, D.C ..
  • Horse, V. (2001). Une introduction aux troubles de la personnalité au 21ème siècle. Psychologie du comportement, 9 (3); 455-469.

BLESSURE D'HUMILIATION : LE BESOIN DE PUNITION de la personnalité MASOCHISTE (Avril 2020).


Articles Connexes