yes, therapy helps!
Sexual cosificación: the brain of the man before the woman in bikini

Sexual cosificación: the brain of the man before the woman in bikini

November 20, 2022

We know well the concept of "vase woman". It is usually an idea linked to the world of marketing and society of the show, spheres of public life that reach us especially through the mass media.

We all see with relative normality that the role of stewardess in a television program is almost always occupied by a woman who stays in a rather passive attitude. It is also not uncommon to see how the aesthetic aspect of women is exploited commercially in advertisements , movies or, sometimes, even in sports.

Sexual cosificación and neurones: the brain of the man before women with little clothes

Since the woman's body is so sought after by the cameras, it is necessary to ask whether, beyond the economic results of the hiring of women vase, the brain of the heterosexual man has learned to behave differently before women when they are dressed in little clothes.


Could it be that the reification of women was embodied in the way they interact with the tissues of neurons?

What is sexual reification?

The reification can be summarized as the consideration that a person is actually something similar to an object . When someone reifies another person, he believes, to a greater or lesser extent and more or less unconsciously, that what he is seeing is an animated body, without taking into account the factors that characterize it as a human being capable of thinking and making decisions. autonomously The sexual reification , in particular, is to let the aesthetic and sexual attributes of a person define it completely.


The example of the aforementioned stewardess can be considered a form of objectification: the woman becomes only the part of her body that we perceive as an object, and it is this "object made with flesh" that represents the whole woman, more beyond his condition as a human being. Philosopher Judith Butler said on this subject, from a more abstract point of view:

In the philosophical tradition that begins with Plato and continues with Descartes, Husserl and Sartre, the Ontological distinction between soul (conscience, mind) and body always defends relations of subordination and political and psychic hierarchy.

The mind not only subjects the body, but eventually plays with the fantasy of totally escaping from its corporeality. The cultural associations of the mind with masculinity and the body with femininity are well documented in the field of philosophy and feminism .

And it is that the reification of women is not only degrading in moral terms, but that it can have a very material and dramatic expression, being linked to a desire to dominate everything feminine . It must be taken into account, for example, that where there is dehumanization of women there is also a greater probability of attacking them sexually or subjecting them to humiliating treatment, according to some research. Although, by definition, both men and women can reify, this figure is still alarming.


Everyday sexism

In addition, reification occurs not only on the television screen. Anyone can see these same tendencies reproduced on the street, in bars, in universities and even in houses. It is a very widespread phenomenon and this reification towards women may also be reflected in neuronal activation patterns inside the brain.

An experiment conducted by Susan Fiske, Mina Cikara and members of the Priceton University seems to suggest that, at least in some contexts, the brain of men perceives women with little clothes more as objects than as beings with feelings and their own subjectivity . Sexual reification would thus have a material embodiment in at least part of the brains belonging to heterosexual men.

Looking for correlations in the brain

In the study, the brain of a series of heterosexual men was scanned with a functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI) device while they were shown four types of images: women in street clothes, women with little clothes, men dressed in street clothes and men with little clothing.

Thanks to the results of the resonances it was possible to verify how the fact of contemplating images of women with little clothes it activated brain areas typically related to the handling of instruments (as the premotor cortex), while this did not happen if the stimulus was a woman dressed in a conventional manner, a man with little clothing or a man dressed in a conventional manner. The areas of the brain that are activated during the attribution of mental states to other living beings were activated less in those men who manifested a higher degree of hostile sexism (misogynistic attitudes).

In addition, this same group of men was more inclined to associate the images of sexualized women with first-person verbs ("grasro"), and not so much with third-person verbs ("seizes"). All this leads to think of a world in which being a woman and taking off certain clothes can be a reason for men to take you for something that looks a lot like a human being.

This, of course, would have very serious implications in case what was being seen was the trace that reification leaves in the brains of heterosexual men.

How is this interpreted?

The meaning of these results are not clear. Seeing clear activation patterns in the areas that are usually activated when something is done does not mean that those areas of the brain are responsible for triggering those specific functions. Groups of neurons in the premotor cortex, for example, are activated in many other situations.

Regarding the association between verbs and images, although they serve in any case to reinforce the hypothesis that women with little clothes are seen as objects, it is not possible to ensure that the product of these activation patterns is sexual reification . The reification is a concept too abstract to associate it with such specific neuronal patterns from a single investigation, but that does not mean that they could be related.

This experiment can be considered as an invitation to continue researching in this sense since, despite the haze of uncertainty that surrounds these results, the biases of gender, machismo, reification and its neural correlates is a field that deserves to be studied. Even if it is to avoid the appearance of barriers that separate both halves of the population.

Bibliographic references:

  • Butler, J. 2007 [1999]. The gender in dispute. Feminism and the subversion of identity. Barcelona: Espasa.
  • Cikara, M., Eberhardt, J. L., and Fiske, S. T. (2011). From agents to objects: Sexual attitudes and neural responses to sexualized targets. Journal of Cognitive Neuroscience, 23 (3), pp. 540-551.
  • Rudman, L. A. and Mescher, K. (2012). Of Animals and Objects: Men's Implicit Dehumanization of Women and Likelihood of Sexual Aggression. Personality & social psychology bulletin, 38 (6), pp. 734 - 746. doi: 0.1177 / 0146167212436401


The Sexy Lie: Caroline Heldman at [email protected] (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Cosificación sexuelle: le cerveau de l'homme avant la femme en bikini

Cosificación sexuelle: le cerveau de l'homme avant la femme en bikini

Janvier 27, 2023

Nous connaissons bien le concept de "femme vase". C’est généralement une idée liée au monde du marketing et de la société du spectacle, sphères de la vie publique qui nous parviennent surtout par le biais des médias.

Nous voyons tous avec une relative normalité que le rôle d’hôtesse de l’air dans une émission de télévision est presque toujours occupé par une femme qui reste plutôt passive. Il n’est pas rare non plus de voir comment l'aspect esthétique de la femme est exploité commercialement dans les publicités , des films ou, parfois, même dans le sport.

Cosificación sexuelle et les neurones: le cerveau de l'homme devant les femmes avec de petits vêtements

Comme le corps de la femme est tellement recherché par les caméras, il est nécessaire de se demander si, au-delà des résultats économiques de la location de vase femme, le cerveau de l’homme hétérosexuel a appris à se comporter différemment devant les femmes quand elles sont vêtues de petits vêtements.


Se pourrait-il que la réification des femmes se traduise par une interaction avec les tissus des neurones?

Qu'est-ce que la réification sexuelle?

Le réification peut être résumé comme la considération qu'une personne est en réalité quelque chose de similaire à un objet . Quand quelqu'un réifie une autre personne, il croit, plus ou moins et inconsciemment, que ce qu'il voit est un corps animé, sans prendre en compte les facteurs qui le caractérisent en tant qu'être humain capable de penser et de prendre des décisions. de manière autonome Le réification sexuelle , en particulier, consiste à laisser les attributs esthétiques et sexuels d’une personne le définir complètement.


L’exemple de l’hôtesse de l'air susmentionnée peut être considéré comme une forme d'objectivation: la femme ne devient que la partie de son corps que nous percevons comme un objet et c'est cet "objet en chair" qui représente la femme entière, plus au-delà de sa condition d'être humain. La philosophe Judith Butler a déclaré à ce sujet, d’un point de vue plus abstrait:

Dans la tradition philosophique qui commence avec Platon et se poursuit avec Descartes, Husserl et Sartre, le Distinction ontologique entre âme (conscience, esprit) et corps défend toujours les relations de subordination et de hiérarchie politique et psychique.

L'esprit non seulement soumet le corps, mais finit par jouer avec le fantasme d'échapper totalement à sa corporalité. Les associations culturelles de l'esprit avec la masculinité et le corps avec la féminité sont bien documentées dans le domaine de la philosophie et le féminisme .

Et c’est que la réification des femmes n’est pas seulement dégradante moralement, mais que il peut avoir une expression très matérielle et dramatique, étant lié à un désir de tout dominer féminin . Par exemple, il faut tenir compte du fait que, s’il ya déshumanisation des femmes, il y a également une plus grande probabilité de les attaquer sexuellement ou de les soumettre à un traitement humiliant, selon certaines recherches. Bien que, par définition, les hommes et les femmes puissent se réifier, ce chiffre reste alarmant.


Sexisme de tous les jours

En outre, la réification ne se produit pas uniquement sur l'écran de télévision. Tout le monde peut voir ces mêmes tendances se reproduire dans la rue, dans les bars, dans les universités et même dans les maisons. C’est un phénomène très répandu et cette réification envers les femmes peut aussi se refléter dans modèles d'activation neuronale à l'intérieur du cerveau.

Une expérience menée par Susan Fiske, Mina Cikara et des membres de l’Université Priceton semble suggérer que, du moins dans certains contextes, le cerveau des hommes perçoit les femmes avec de petits vêtements plus comme des objets que comme des êtres avec des sentiments et leur propre subjectivité . La réification sexuelle aurait ainsi une réalisation matérielle dans au moins une partie du cerveau appartenant à des hommes hétérosexuels.

À la recherche de corrélations dans le cerveau

Dans l’étude, le cerveau d’une série d’hommes hétérosexuels a été scanné avec un appareil d’imagerie par résonance magnétique fonctionnelle (IRMf), puis quatre types d’images ont été montrés: vêtements.

Grâce aux résultats des résonances, il a été possible de vérifier comment le fait de contempler des images de femmes avec de petits vêtements il a activé les zones du cerveau généralement liées à la manipulation d'instruments (comme le cortex prémoteur), bien que cela ne se produise pas si le stimulus était une femme habillée de manière conventionnelle, un homme peu vêtu ou un homme habillé de manière conventionnelle. Les zones du cerveau qui sont activées lors de l'attribution d'états mentaux à d'autres êtres vivants ont été moins activées chez les hommes qui manifestaient un degré plus élevé de sexisme hostile (attitudes misogynes).

En outre, ce même groupe d'hommes était plus enclin à associer les images de femmes sexualisées à des verbes à la première personne ("grasro"), et pas tellement à des verbes à la troisième personne ("saisis"). Tout cela conduit à penser à un monde dans lequel être une femme et se déshabiller peut être une raison pour les hommes de vous prendre pour quelque chose qui ressemble beaucoup à un être humain.

Bien entendu, cela aurait des conséquences très graves dans le cas où il s’agirait de la trace laissée par la réification dans le cerveau des hommes hétérosexuels.

Comment est-ce interprété?

La signification de ces résultats n'est pas claire. Voir des schémas d'activation clairs dans les zones qui sont généralement activées lorsque quelque chose est fait ne signifie pas que ces zones du cerveau sont responsables du déclenchement de ces fonctions spécifiques. Des groupes de neurones dans le cortex prémoteur, par exemple, sont activés dans de nombreuses autres situations.

En ce qui concerne l’association entre verbes et images, bien qu’elles servent en tout cas à renforcer l’hypothèse voulant que les femmes vêtues de petits vêtements soient considérées comme des objets, il n'est pas possible de s'assurer que le produit de ces schémas d'activation est une réification sexuelle . La réification est un concept trop abstrait pour l’associer à de tels schémas neuronaux issus d’une seule enquête, mais cela ne signifie pas qu’ils pourraient être liés.

Cette expérience peut être considérée comme une invitation à poursuivre des recherches dans ce sens car, malgré le brouillard d’incertitude qui entoure ces résultats, les biais du genre, du machisme, de la réification et de ses corrélats neuraux sont un domaine qui mérite d’être étudié. Même si c’est pour éviter l’apparition de barrières qui séparent les deux moitiés de la population.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Butler, J. 2007 [1999]. Le genre en litige. Le féminisme et la subversion de l'identité. Barcelone: ​​Espasa.
  • Cikara, M., Eberhardt, J. L. et Fiske, S. T. (2011). Des agents aux objets: attitudes sexuelles et réponses neurales aux cibles sexualisées. Journal of Cognitive Neuroscience, 23 (3), pp. 540-551.
  • Rudman, L. A. et Mescher, K. (2012). Des animaux et objets: déshumanisation implicite des femmes par les hommes et probabilité d'agression sexuelle. Personnalité et psychologie sociale, 38 (6), pp. 734 - 746. doi: 0.1177 / 0146167212436401

Articles Connexes