yes, therapy helps!
Albert Bandura's Theory of Personality

Albert Bandura's Theory of Personality

June 24, 2021

The psychologist and theorist Albert Bandura was born in Canada at the end of the year 1925. About to enter the decade of the '50s, Bandura graduated in Psychology at Columbia University.

Given his brilliant record, in 1953 he began to teach at the prestigious Stanford University. Years later, Bandura held the position of president in APA (American Psychological Association).

His theories are still valid today, and in Psychology and Mind We have already echoed some of them:

"Albert Bandura's Theory of Social Learning"

"Albert Bandura's Theory of Self-efficacy"


The Theory of Personality: background and context

The behaviorism is a school of Psychology that emphasizes the importance of experimental methods and tries to analyze observable and measurable variables. Therefore, it tends to reject also all aspects of psychology that can not be grasped, all subjective, internal and phenomenological.

The usual procedure used by the experimental method is the manipulation of certain variables, to later assess the effects on another variable. Following this conception of the human psyche and the tools available to assess personality, the Theory of Personality of Albert Bandura It gives a greater relevance to the environment as genesis and key modulator of the behavior of each individual.


A new concept: the reciprocal determinism

During the first years as a researcher, Albert Bandura specialized in the study of the phenomenon of aggression in adolescents. He soon realized that, although the observable elements were crucial in establishing a solid and scientific basis for the study of certain phenomena, and without renouncing the principle that it is the environment that causes human behavior, another reflection could also be made. .

The environment causes the behavior, certainly, but the behavior also causes the environment . This concept, quite innovative, was called reciprocal determinism : the material reality (social, cultural, personal) and the individual behavior cause each other.

The psychological processes complete the equation (from behaviorism to cognitivism)

Months later, Bandura went a step further and began to value personality as a complex interaction between three elements: the environment, behavior and individual psychological processes . These psychological processes collect the human capacity to retain images in the mind and aspects related to language.


This is a key aspect to understand Albert Bandura, since by introducing this last variable he abandons the orthodox behavioral postulates and begins to approach the cognitivism . In fact, Bandura is currently considered to be one of the fathers of cognitivism.

Adding imagination and language-related aspects to his understanding of human personality, Bandura starts from a much more complete elements than pure behaviorists, like B.F. Skinner. Thus, Bandura will analyze crucial aspects of the human psyche: the learning by observation (also called modeling) and the self-regulation .

Observational learning (modeling)

Of the numerous studies and investigations carried out by Albert Bandura, there is one that was (and still is) the subject of special attention. The studies on bobo doll . The idea came from a video recorded by one of his students, where a girl repeatedly hit an inflatable egg shaped doll called "Bobo".

The girl poked mercilessly at the doll, while shouting "stupid!". He hit him, both with punches and with a hammer, and accompanied these aggressive actions with insults. Bandura taught the video to a group of children in a daycare center, who enjoyed the video. Later, once the video session was over, the children were taken to a game room, where a new bobo doll and small hammers awaited them. Obviously, Bandura and his collaborators were also in the room, analyzing the behavior of the offspring.

Children They soon grabbed the hammers and put to hit the bobo doll, mimicking the insults of the girl in the video . Thus, to the cry of "stupid!", They copied all the "misdeeds" they had seen minutes before.

Although the conclusions of this experiment may not seem very surprising, they served to confirm several things: the children changed their behavior without there being any reinforcement aimed at performing such behavior. This will not be an extraordinary reflection for any parent or teacher who has shared time with children, but nevertheless created a schism regarding behavioral learning theories .

Bandura called this phenomenon "learning by observation" (or modeling) .Your theory of learning can be known through this summary:

"Albert Bandura's Theory of Social Learning"

Modeling: analyzing its components

Attention, retention, reproduction and motivation

The systematic study and variations of the bobo doll test allowed Albert Bandura to establish the different steps involved in the modeling process .

1. Attention

If you want to learn anything, you should pay attention . Also, all the elements that pose an obstacle to pay the maximum possible attention, will result in a worse learning.

For example, if you are trying to learn something but your mental state is not the most suitable (because you are half asleep, you feel bad or you have taken drugs), your degree of acquisition of new knowledge will be affected. The same happens if you have distracting elements.

The object for which we pay attention also has certain characteristics that can attract more (or less) our attentional focus.

2. Retention

No less important than paying adequate attention, it is be able to retain (remember, memorize) what we are studying or trying to learn. It is at this point that language and imagination play an important role: we retain what we have seen in the form of images or verbal descriptions.

Once we have stored the knowledge, images and / or descriptions in our mind, we are able to consciously remember those data, so that we can reproduce what we have learned and even repeat it, modulating our behavior.

3. Reproduction

When we come to this step, we should be able to decode the images or descriptions retained to help us change our behavior in the present.

It is important to understand that, when learning to do something that requires a mobilization of our behavior, we must be able to reproduce the behavior. For example, you can spend a week watching ice skating videos, but not being able to put on some skates without falling to the ground. You do not know how to skate!

But if you can skate on ice, it is likely that the repeated visualization of videos in which skaters better than you perform jumps and pirouettes will result in an improvement of your abilities.

It is also important, with regard to reproduction, to know that our ability to imitate behaviors gradually improves the more we practice the skills involved in a given task. In addition, our abilities tend to improve with the simple fact of imagining ourselves performing the behavior. This is what is known as "Mental Training" and is widely used by athletes and athletes to improve their performance.

4. Motivation

The motivation it is a key aspect when it comes to learning those behaviors that we want to imitate. We must have reasons and reasons to want to learn something, otherwise it will be more complicated to focus attention, retain and reproduce these behaviors.

According to Bandura, the most frequent reasons why we want to learn something , are:

  • Last reinforcement , like classical behaviorism. Something that we liked to learn previously has more ballots to like now.
  • Promised reinforcements (incentives) , all those future benefits that push us to want to learn.
  • Vicarious reinforcement , that gives us the possibility of recovering the model as reinforcement.

These three reasons are linked to what psychologists have traditionally considered as the elements that "cause" learning. Bandura explains that such elements are not so much the "cause" as the "reasons" of wanting to learn. A subtle but relevant difference.

Of course, the negative motivations they can also exist, and they push us not to imitate certain behavior:

  • Past punishment
  • Punishment promised (threats)
  • Vicarious punishment

Self-regulation: another key to understanding the human personality

The self-regulation (that is, the ability to control, regulate and model our own behavior) is the other fundamental key to personality. In his theory, Bandura points to these three steps towards self-regulation :

1. Self-observation

We perceive ourselves, we evaluate our behavior and this serves to establish a coherent corpus (or not) of what we are and do.

2. Judgment

We compare our behaviors and attitudes with certain standards . For example, we usually compare our actions with culturally acceptable ones. Or we are also able to create new acts and habits, such as running every day. In addition, we can instill value for competing with others, or even with ourselves.

3. Self-response

If in the comparison we make with our standards, we are well off, we give ourselves positive reward responses to ourselves. In case the comparison creates discomfort (because we do not conform to what we think would be right or desirable), we give ourselves punishment responses . These responses can be from the most purely behavioral (stay working late or ask the boss for forgiveness), to more emotional and covert aspects (feeling of shame, self-defense, etc.).

One of the important elements in Psychology and that serve to understand the process of self-regulation is self-concept (also known as self-esteem). If we look back and perceive that we have acted throughout our lives more or less according to our values ​​and we have lived in an environment that has given us rewards and praise, we will have a good self-concept and therefore a high self-esteem. Conversely, if we have been unable to live up to our values ​​and standards, we are likely to have poor self-concept or low self-esteem.

Recapitulating

Albert Bandura and his Theory of the Personality based on the behavioral and cognitive aspects involved in the learning and in the acquisition of behaviors had a great impact in the theories of the personality and in the psychological therapy. His theses, which started from behavioral postulates but embraced innovative elements that allowed to better explain the phenomena concerning the human personality, earned him wide recognition in the scientific community.

His approach to personality was not merely theoretical but rather prioritized the action and the solution to the practical problems linked, above all, to learning in childhood and adolescence, but also to other fields of great importance.

Scientific psychology seemed to have found in behaviorism, in the times when Bandura took its first steps as a teacher, a privileged place in the academic world, where the base of knowledge is extracted through measurable studies. Behaviorism was the approach preferred by the great majority, since it was based on the observable and left aside the mental or phenomenological aspects, unobservable and therefore not coupled to the scientific method.

However, at the end of the 60s and thanks to capital figures such as Albert Bandura, behaviorism has given way to the "cognitive revolution". The cognitive psychology it combines the experimental and positivist orientation of behaviorism, but without kidnapping the researcher in the study of externally observable behavior, since it is precisely the mental life of people that must always remain in the orbit of what Psychology seeks to investigate.


Albert Bandura Social Cognitive Theory and Vicarious Learning (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Théorie de la personnalité d'Albert Bandura

Théorie de la personnalité d'Albert Bandura

Août 17, 2019

Le psychologue et théoricien Albert Bandura est né au Canada à la fin de l'année 1925. Sur le point d'entrer dans la décennie des années 50, Bandura est diplômé en psychologie de l'Université Columbia.

Compte tenu de son bilan brillant, il commence à enseigner en 1953 à la prestigieuse université de Stanford. Des années plus tard, Bandura occupait le poste de président en APA (American Psychological Association).

Ses théories sont toujours valables aujourd'hui, et Psychologie et esprit Nous en avons déjà fait écho à certains d'entre eux:

"Théorie de l'apprentissage social d'Albert Bandura"

"Théorie de l'auto-efficacité d'Albert Bandura"


La théorie de la personnalité: contexte et contexte

Le le behaviorisme est une école de psychologie qui insiste sur l’importance des méthodes expérimentales et tente d’analyser des variables observables et mesurables. Par conséquent, il a tendance à rejeter également tous les aspects de la psychologie qui ne peuvent être compris, tous subjectifs, internes et phénoménologiques.

La procédure habituelle utilisée par le méthode expérimentale est la manipulation de certaines variables, pour ensuite évaluer les effets sur une autre variable. Suivant cette conception de la psyché humaine et les outils disponibles pour évaluer la personnalité, le Théorie de la personnalité d'Albert Bandura Il donne une plus grande pertinence à l'environnement en tant que genèse et modulateur clé du comportement de chaque individu.


Un nouveau concept: le déterminisme réciproque

Durant les premières années de recherche, Albert Bandura s'est spécialisé dans l'étude du phénomène d'agression chez les adolescents. Il s'est vite rendu compte que, si les éléments observables étaient essentiels pour établir une base solide et scientifique pour l'étude de certains phénomènes, et sans renoncer au principe selon lequel c'est l'environnement qui cause le comportement humain, une autre réflexion pourrait également être faite. .

L'environnement provoque le comportement, certes, mais le comportement provoque également l'environnement . Ce concept, assez novateur, s’appelait déterminisme réciproque : la réalité matérielle (sociale, culturelle, personnelle) et le comportement individuel se causent.

Les processus psychologiques complètent l'équation (du behaviorisme au cognitivisme)

Quelques mois plus tard, Bandura est allé plus loin et a commencé à considérer la personnalité comme une interaction complexe entre trois éléments: l'environnement, le comportement et processus psychologiques individuels . Ces processus psychologiques collectent la capacité humaine à conserver des images dans l'esprit et des aspects liés au langage.


C'est un aspect essentiel pour comprendre Albert Bandura, car en introduisant cette dernière variable, il abandonne les postulats comportementaux orthodoxes et commence à s'approcher de la cognitivisme . En fait, Bandura est actuellement considéré comme l'un des pères du cognitivisme.

En ajoutant de l'imagination et des aspects liés au langage à sa compréhension de la personnalité humaine, Bandura part d'éléments beaucoup plus complets que les comportementalistes purs, comme B.F. Skinner. Ainsi, Bandura analysera des aspects cruciaux de la psyché humaine: la apprentissage par observation (également appelé modélisation) et le autorégulation .

Apprentissage par observation (modélisation)

Parmi les nombreuses études et enquêtes menées par Albert Bandura, il en est une qui a fait (et fait toujours) l'objet d'une attention particulière. Le études sur poupée bobo . L'idée est venue d'une vidéo enregistrée par l'un de ses élèves, où une fille a frappé à plusieurs reprises une poupée gonflable en forme d'oeuf appelée "Bobo".

La fille a fourré sans pitié à la poupée, tout en criant "stupide!". Il l'a frappé à coups de poing et de marteau et a accompagné ces actions agressives d'insultes. Bandura a enseigné la vidéo à un groupe d’enfants d’une garderie qui l’a appréciée. Plus tard, une fois la séance vidéo terminée, les enfants ont été conduits dans une salle de jeux où une nouvelle poupée bobo et de petits marteaux les attendaient. De toute évidence, Bandura et ses collaborateurs étaient également dans la salle, analysant le comportement de la progéniture.

Les enfants Ils ont rapidement saisi les marteaux et mis à frapper la poupée bobo, imitant les insultes de la fille dans la vidéo . Ainsi, au cri de "stupide!", Ils ont copié tous les "méfaits" qu'ils avaient vu quelques minutes auparavant.

Bien que les conclusions de cette expérience puissent ne pas sembler très surprenantes, elles ont permis de confirmer plusieurs choses: les enfants ont changé de comportement sans qu'il y ait aucun renforcement visant à le faire. Ce ne sera pas une réflexion extraordinaire pour tout parent ou enseignant qui a partagé son temps avec les enfants, mais néanmoins créé un schisme concernant les théories d'apprentissage comportemental .

Bandura a appelé ce phénomène "l'apprentissage par l'observation" (ou la modélisation). Votre théorie de l'apprentissage peut être connue à travers ce résumé:

"Théorie de l'apprentissage social d'Albert Bandura"

Modélisation: analyser ses composants

Attention, rétention, reproduction et motivation

L’étude systématique et les variantes du test de la poupée bobo ont permis à Albert Bandura d’établir la différentes étapes du processus de modélisation .

1. Attention

Si vous voulez apprendre quelque chose, vous devriez prêter attention . En outre, tous les éléments qui constituent un obstacle à l’attention maximale possible entraîneront un apprentissage plus difficile.

Par exemple, si vous essayez d'apprendre quelque chose mais que votre état mental ne vous convient pas (parce que vous êtes à moitié endormi, que vous vous sentez mal ou que vous avez consommé des drogues), votre degré d'acquisition de nouvelles connaissances en sera affecté. La même chose se produit si vous avez des éléments distrayants.

L’objet pour lequel nous accordons de l’attention présente également certaines caractéristiques qui peuvent attirer plus ou moins notre attention.

2. rétention

Pas moins important que d’accorder une attention suffisante, c’est pouvoir retenir (rappelez-vous, mémorisez) ce que nous étudions ou essayons d'apprendre. C’est à ce stade que le langage et l’imagination jouent un rôle important: nous retenons ce que nous avons vu sous forme d’images ou de descriptions verbales.

Une fois que nous avons stocké les connaissances, les images et / ou les descriptions dans notre esprit, nous sommes en mesure de nous rappeler consciemment de ces données afin de pouvoir reproduire ce que nous avons appris et même de le répéter en modulant notre comportement.

3. Reproduction

Quand nous en arrivons à cette étape, nous devrions pouvoir décoder les images ou les descriptions retenues pour nous aider à changer notre comportement dans le présent.

Il est important de comprendre que pour apprendre à faire quelque chose qui nécessite une mobilisation de notre comportement, nous devons être capables de le reproduire. Par exemple, vous pouvez passer une semaine à regarder des vidéos sur le patinage, mais ne pas pouvoir enfiler certains patins sans tomber. Tu ne sais pas skater!

Mais si vous pouvez patiner sur glace, il est probable que la visualisation répétée de vidéos dans lesquelles les patineurs sont meilleurs que ceux que vous effectuez sauts et pirouettes entraînera une amélioration de vos capacités.

Il est également important, en ce qui concerne la reproduction, de savoir que notre capacité à imiter les comportements s’améliore progressivement à mesure que nous mettons en pratique les compétences requises pour une tâche donnée. De plus, nos capacités ont tendance à s’améliorer avec le simple fait de nous imaginer en train de réaliser le comportement. C'est ce qu'on appelle "l'entraînement mental" et est largement utilisé par les athlètes et les athlètes pour améliorer leurs performances.

4. Motivation

Le motivation c’est un aspect essentiel dans l’apprentissage des comportements que nous voulons imiter. Nous devons avoir des raisons et des raisons de vouloir apprendre quelque chose, sinon il sera plus compliqué d'attirer l'attention, de conserver et de reproduire ces comportements.

Selon Bandura, les raisons les plus fréquentes pour lesquelles nous voulons apprendre quelque chose , ils sont:

  • Dernier renfort , comme le behaviorisme classique. Quelque chose que nous avons aimé apprendre précédemment a plus de bulletins de vote à aimer maintenant.
  • Renforcement promis (incitations) , tous ces avantages futurs qui nous poussent à vouloir apprendre.
  • Renfort par procuration , cela nous donne la possibilité de récupérer le modèle en tant que renforcement.

Ces trois raisons sont liées à ce que les psychologues ont traditionnellement considéré comme les éléments qui "provoquent" l'apprentissage. Bandura explique que de tels éléments ne sont pas tant la "cause" que les "raisons" de vouloir apprendre. Une différence subtile mais pertinente.

Bien sûr, le motivations négatives ils peuvent aussi exister et ils nous poussent à ne pas imiter certains comportements:

  • Punition passée
  • Punition promise (menaces)
  • Punition par procuration

L'autorégulation: une autre clé pour comprendre la personnalité humaine

Le autorégulation (c'est-à-dire la capacité de contrôler, réguler et modéliser notre propre comportement) est l'autre clé fondamentale de la personnalité. Dans sa théorie, Bandura souligne ces trois étapes vers l'autorégulation :

1. Auto-observation

Nous nous percevons, nous évaluons notre comportement et cela sert à établir un corpus cohérent (ou non) de ce que nous sommes et faisons.

2. jugement

Nous comparons nos comportements et nos attitudes avec certains normes . Par exemple, nous comparons généralement nos actions avec celles qui sont culturellement acceptables. Nous sommes également capables de créer de nouveaux actes et habitudes, tels que courir tous les jours. De plus, nous pouvons donner de la valeur à la compétition avec les autres, voire avec nous-mêmes.

3. Réponse de soi

Si dans la comparaison que nous faisons avec nos normes, nous sommes bien nantis, nous nous donnons des réponses positives à nous-mêmes Si la comparaison crée un inconfort (parce que nous ne nous conformons pas à ce que nous pensons être juste ou souhaitable), nous nous donnons réponses de punition . Ces réponses peuvent aller du plus purement comportemental (rester au travail tardif ou demander pardon au patron), à des aspects plus émotionnels et secrets (sentiment de honte, de légitime défense, etc.).

L'un des éléments importants de la psychologie et qui permettent de comprendre le processus d'autorégulation est le concept de soi (également appelé estime de soi). Si nous regardons en arrière et percevons que nous avons agi tout au long de notre vie plus ou moins selon nos valeurs et que nous avons vécu dans un environnement qui nous a donné des récompenses et des éloges, nous aurons un bon concept de soi et par conséquent une haute estime de soi. À l'inverse, si nous avons été incapables de respecter nos valeurs et nos normes, nous risquons d'avoir une mauvaise image de soi ou une faible estime de soi.

Récapitulant

Albert Bandura et sa théorie de la personnalité basée sur les aspects comportementaux et cognitifs impliqués dans l'apprentissage et l'acquisition de comportements ont eu un grand impact dans les théories de la personnalité et dans la thérapie psychologique. Ses thèses, qui partaient de postulats comportementaux mais comprenaient des éléments novateurs permettant de mieux expliquer les phénomènes concernant la personnalité humaine, lui valurent une large reconnaissance dans la communauté scientifique.

Son approche de la personnalité n'était pas simplement théorique, mais plutôt hiérarchisé l'action et la solution aux problèmes pratiques liée, avant tout, à l’apprentissage dans l’enfance et à l’adolescence, mais aussi à d’autres domaines de grande importance.

La psychologie scientifique semblait avoir trouvé sa place dans le behaviorisme, à l'époque où Bandura faisait ses premiers pas en tant qu'enseignant, une place privilégiée dans le monde universitaire, où la base de connaissances est extraite à travers des études mesurables. Le Behaviorism a été l'approche préférée par la grande majorité, car elle était basée sur l'observable et laissait de côté les aspects mentaux ou phénoménologiques, inobservables et donc non couplés à la méthode scientifique.

Cependant, à la fin des années 60 et grâce à des personnalités du capital comme Albert Bandura, le behaviorisme a cédé le pas à la "révolution cognitive". Le psychologie cognitive il combine l'orientation expérimentale et positiviste du behaviorisme, mais sans kidnapper le chercheur dans l'étude des comportements observables de l'extérieur, car c'est précisément la vie mentale des personnes qui doit rester toujours dans l'orbite de ce que la psychologie cherche à explorer.


Quelle est la meilleure théorie de la personnalité (Août 2019).


Articles Connexes