yes, therapy helps!
Sleeping little causes the brain to destroy itself

Sleeping little causes the brain to destroy itself

April 30, 2024

Many people think that sleeping little has no important consequences, other than that it causes a feeling of fatigue that can be quite bearable for some people. However, lack of sleep causes alterations in the functioning of the brain which are not always easy to detect but which are associated with serious long-term problems.

A recent study that has been carried out at the Polytechnic University of Marche, in Italy, provides relevant information about this fact. According to the authors, sleep little can make a substance called glia "eat" healthy neuronal connections (the so-called "synapses"), affecting neuronal connectivity and increasing the risk of developing neurological disorders such as dementia. The glia is composed of cells of the nervous system called glial cells that normally ensure that everything works as it should, but certain alterations seem to modify their behavior.


  • Related article: "10 basic principles for good sleep hygiene"

Glial cells: astrocytes and microglia

In order to understand the discoveries made by this research it is necessary to have clear the functions of the glial cells in the nervous system. The study focuses specifically on the role of two of them: astrocytes and microglia.

Glial cells or neuroglia They are specialized in providing support to neurons , which are very effective in neuronal transmission but highly limited in other senses. Different types of glia give neurons a solid structure, accelerate synaptic connections and maintain the balance of the extracellular environment of the nervous system.


Astrocytes are a type of glia that is located in the central nervous system, that is, in the brain and spinal cord. In addition to being part of the blood-brain barrier that nourishes and protects neurons, astroglia eliminates unnecessary synapses to promote the regeneration of damaged tissues.

Microglial cells or microglia are also located in the central nervous system. They are considered part of the immune system for their ability to phagocytose ("eat") waste products and damaged cells, which is very important to protect the body from pathogens, infections and other threats.

The study by Bellesi and collaborators

The research team of the Polytechnic University of Marche, headed by Michele Bellesi, studied the effects of lack of sleep in mice comparing the brains of three sets of experimental subjects using measurement techniques and three-dimensional representation.


The rodents of one of the groups were able to sleep freely. Those in the second had been kept awake for 8 hours when they needed to sleep, while those in the third were deprived of sleep for a period of 5 days. This last group had the objective of simulating the lack of chronic sleep.

The study focused on analyzing the differences in the activity of glial cells depending on the degree of sleep deprivation, particularly that of astrocytes and microglia, which Bellesi's team and other research groups had previously related to brain degeneration.

The researchers found that the intensity of phagocytosis increased with that of sleep deficit . Thus, while the astrocytes were active in 6% of the synapses of the mice that had been able to sleep, they were 7% in the mice with a slight deprivation and in 13.5% in the group of lack of chronic sleep

On the other hand, Bellesi and his collaborators also identified an increase in microglia activity. This may be even more relevant than the phagocytosis carried out by the astrocytes, since the excess in the function of the microglia It is related to the development of neurodegenerative diseases , as we will explain later.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Combat insomnia: 10 solutions to sleep better"

Background of this investigation

Previously, Bellesi's team had found that the genes that lead astrocytes to initiate the phagocytosis process are expressed more intensely under conditions of sleep deprivation. However, until now they had not been able to demonstrate direct connection between the activity of this glial cell and lack of sleep .

Studies had also been published, both with rodents and with humans, which suggested a causal relationship between sleeping poorly and an increase in nervous system inflammation. The research of the Bellesi team provides the important information that this inflammation is due to an increase in microglia activity.

This type of glia has received much attention from the scientific community because of the role of chronic inflammation in various neurodegenerative diseases, particularly Alzheimer's and Parkinson's. The functions of microglia they become destructive instead of regenerative when the amount of brain damage is excessive.

Implications of the findings

Synthetically, the results of this study suggest that the activity of certain glial cells intensifies under conditions of sleep deprivation. These data connect in turn with the known fact that if astrocytes or microglia act in excess can cause long-term brain damage .

In the case of astrocytes, Bellesi's team found that little sleep can cause phagocytosis of healthy synapses as well as irrelevant connections and waste products. This leads to a worsening of neuronal transmission that would become more marked the more the sleep deficit is maintained.

The excessive activity of the microglia has been related to neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer's dementia. This seems to be due to the fact that the inflammatory responses provoked by this glial cell predispose to the development of major damage if they are maintained for too long.

  • You may be interested: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Bibliographic references:

  • Bellesi, M .; from Vivo, L .; Chini, M .; Gilli, F .; Tononi, G. & Cirelli, C. (2017). Sleep loss promotes astrocytic phagocytosis and microglial activation in cerebral cortex mouse. Journal of Neuroscience, 37 (21): 5263-73.

What Happens To Your Body And Brain If You Don't Get Sleep (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Dormir un peu provoque le cerveau à se détruire

Dormir un peu provoque le cerveau à se détruire

Septembre 12, 2022

Beaucoup de gens pensent que dormir peu n'a pas de conséquences importantes, sinon qu'il provoque une sensation de fatigue qui peut être assez supportable pour certaines personnes. Cependant, le manque de sommeil provoque des altérations du fonctionnement du cerveau qui ne sont pas toujours faciles à détecter mais qui sont associés à de graves problèmes à long terme.

Une étude récente réalisée à l’Université polytechnique de Marche, en Italie, fournit des informations pertinentes à ce sujet. Selon les auteurs, dors peu peut fabriquer une substance appelée glia "mange" des connexions neuronales saines (les "synapses"), affectant la connectivité neuronale et augmentant le risque de développer des troubles neurologiques tels que la démence. La glie est composée de cellules du système nerveux appelées cellules gliales qui assurent normalement que tout fonctionne comme il se doit, mais certaines altérations semblent modifier leur comportement.


  • Article connexe: "10 principes de base pour une bonne hygiène de sommeil"

Cellules gliales: astrocytes et microglies

Pour comprendre les découvertes faites par cette recherche, il est nécessaire de clarifier les fonctions des cellules gliales dans le système nerveux. L'étude porte spécifiquement sur le rôle de deux d'entre eux: les astrocytes et la microglie.

Cellules gliales ou névroglie Ils sont spécialisés dans le soutien aux neurones , qui sont très efficaces dans la transmission neuronale mais très limités dans d’autres sens. Différents types de cellules gliales donnent aux neurones une structure solide, accélèrent les connexions synaptiques et maintiennent l'équilibre de l'environnement extracellulaire du système nerveux.


Les astrocytes sont un type de glie qui se situe dans le système nerveux central, c'est-à-dire dans le cerveau et la moelle épinière. En plus de faire partie de la barrière hémato-encéphalique qui nourrit et protège les neurones, l'astroglie élimine les synapses inutiles favoriser la régénération des tissus endommagés.

Les cellules microgliales ou microglies sont également situées dans le système nerveux central. Ils sont considérés comme faisant partie du système immunitaire pour leur capacité à phagocyter ("manger") les déchets et les cellules endommagées, ce qui est très important pour protéger le corps contre les agents pathogènes, les infections et autres menaces.

L'étude de Bellesi et de ses collaborateurs

L’équipe de recherche de l’Université polytechnique des Marches, dirigée par Michele Bellesi, étudié les effets du manque de sommeil chez la souris comparer les cerveaux de trois ensembles de sujets expérimentaux en utilisant des techniques de mesure et une représentation en trois dimensions.


Les rongeurs de l'un des groupes ont pu dormir librement. Ceux de la seconde avaient été tenus éveillés pendant 8 heures lorsqu'ils avaient besoin de dormir, tandis que ceux de la troisième avaient été privés de sommeil pendant 5 jours. Ce dernier groupe avait pour objectif de simuler le manque de sommeil chronique.

L’étude a porté sur l’analyse de la différences dans l'activité des cellules gliales en fonction du degré de manque de sommeil, en particulier celui des astrocytes et de la microglie, que l'équipe de Bellesi et d'autres groupes de recherche avaient précédemment liés à la dégénérescence du cerveau.

Les chercheurs ont constaté que l'intensité de la phagocytose augmentait avec celle du déficit de sommeil . Ainsi, alors que les astrocytes étaient actifs dans 6% des synapses des souris ayant pu dormir, ils étaient de 7% chez les souris légèrement dépourvues et dans 13,5% des cas de manque de sommeil chronique

D'autre part, Bellesi et ses collaborateurs ont également identifié une augmentation de l'activité des microglies. Cela peut être encore plus pertinent que la phagocytose réalisée par les astrocytes, car l'excès de fonction de la microglie Il est lié au développement des maladies neurodégénératives , comme nous l'expliquerons plus tard.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Combattez l'insomnie: 10 solutions pour mieux dormir"

Contexte de cette enquête

Auparavant, l'équipe de Bellesi avait découvert que les gènes qui conduisent les astrocytes à initier le processus de phagocytose s'expriment plus intensément dans des conditions de privation de sommeil. Cependant, jusqu'à présent, ils n'avaient pas été en mesure de démontrer lien direct entre l'activité de cette cellule gliale et le manque de sommeil .

Des études ont également été publiées, chez le rongeur comme chez l'homme, suggérant une relation de cause à effet entre le sommeil endormi et une augmentation de l'inflammation du système nerveux. Les recherches de l'équipe Bellesi fournissent des informations importantes sur le fait que cette inflammation est due à une augmentation de l'activité de la microglie.

La communauté scientifique a accordé beaucoup d’attention à ce type de glie à cause du rôle de l’inflammation chronique dans diverses maladies neurodégénératives, en particulier les maladies d’Alzheimer et de Parkinson. Les fonctions de la microglie ils deviennent destructeurs au lieu de régénérateur lorsque le nombre de lésions cérébrales est excessif.

Implications des résultats

Synthétiquement, les résultats de cette étude suggèrent que l'activité de certaines cellules gliales s'intensifie dans des conditions de privation de sommeil. Ces données se rejoignent à leur tour avec le fait connu que si les astrocytes ou les microglies agissent en excès peut causer des lésions cérébrales à long terme .

Dans le cas des astrocytes, l’équipe de Bellesi a découvert que peu de sommeil pouvait provoquer une phagocytose des synapses en bonne santé, ainsi que des connexions et des déchets non pertinents. Cela conduit à une aggravation de la transmission neuronale qui deviendrait plus marquée à mesure que le déficit de sommeil se maintiendrait.

L'activité excessive de la microglie a été liée à des maladies neurodégénératives telles que la démence d'Alzheimer. Cela semble être dû au fait que les réponses inflammatoires provoquées par cette cellule gliale prédisposent au développement de dommages majeurs si elles sont maintenues trop longtemps.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bellesi, M.; de Vivo, L .; Chini, M .; Gilli, F .; Tononi, G. & Cirelli, C. (2017). La perte de sommeil favorise la phagocytose astrocytaire et l'activation microgliale chez la souris du cortex cérébral. Journal of Neuroscience, 37 (21): 5263-73.

♥♥ 417Hz Libère le Subconscient de la peur & des Énergies Négatives Traumatisantes ♥♥ (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes