yes, therapy helps!
The 10 main requirements to be a good therapist

The 10 main requirements to be a good therapist

April 29, 2024

To be able to practice as a psychotherapist is not only to have "a special sensitivity" or the fact that we like to deal face to face with people. There is a series of competences, both theoretical and practical, that must be mastered in order to offer the best possible service.

The requirements to be a therapist , in short, they have to do both with our skills practiced and our knowledge acquired through training and study. Let's see what they are.

  • Related articles: "10 essential characteristics of a good psychologist"

The basic requirements to offer psychotherapy

The ones you can find below are a series of basic requirements that every psychotherapist must meet.


Of this it will depend that it offers or not guarantees that a quality service is being offered , so it is convenient to master all those areas of excellence.

1. Reject prejudices

Several years of psychological research show that, in a spontaneous and involuntary way, prejudices and labels appear in our minds when we begin to relate to someone we know little about. This, which in certain contexts is useful, should be taken into account in the consultation, and that is why it is necessary to ensure that these prejudices are identified on patients and that their influence is not extended to our most relevant decisions and analyzes.

What it is, then, is constantly review what is believed about the other person , detect valuations with little sustenance and isolate their effect.


2. Learn to master the silences

In a dialogue, like those that take place in psychotherapy sessions, silences are always something, they are never "nothing". That is to say, They give us information and also produce an effect , just like the words.

That is why among the requirements of the good therapist is the ability to master the silences; we should not avoid them, but use them in the most appropriate way for the sessions to progress.

3. Self control

Psychotherapists must learn to separate their own preferences from the objectives of the sessions they offer in consultation. Because they can not get carried away by impulses , within what is considered ethical. Although their work relies heavily on dialogue, this does not mean that they offer informal conversations in which both parties try more to give a good image than to make the exchange of ideas useful.


4. The ability to read between the lines

Often, patients do not reveal certain information directly, but insinuate it. This is something that happens very often, beyond the psychoanalytic interpretation about the mechanisms in which the unconscious is expressed. It may be that the other person, totally voluntarily, prefer to give only part of the information because you are ashamed speak more directly

In the same way, sometimes the interlocutor escapes an idea that can be intuited if we analyze the type of discourse that is used.

5. Ability to work in a team

Psychotherapists increasingly work in collaboration with other professionals in the field of health and well-being. That is why, although in front of the patients the only part that acts from a professional role is the therapist, once the session has finished the work continues establishing bridges of fluid communication with speech therapists, pedagogues, parents, teachers, etc.

6. Knowledge of the deontological code

An essential point to ensure that we act according to an ethical code . Providing treatments whose efficacy has not been validated scientifically, for example, or talking to other people about details of the life of a patient that this patient has revealed in the sessions, are clearly unethical behaviors that can be reported.

7. Ability to establish a therapeutic link

The therapy sessions not only consist of the information that is treated in them, but also in the therapeutic relationship that is created between the different parties. To do this, we must gain the trust of patients, demonstrating that we do not prejudge or make judgments about what is counted, among other things.

  • Related article: "The Rapport: 5 keys to create an environment of trust"

8. Professional assertiveness

Therapists often find themselves in a situation where they must try to get the other person to talk about painful aspects of their life, or to produce embarrassment. Necessary know how to deal with these issues without avoiding them so as not to bother the patient. Now, it is necessary to do it with tact.

9. Knowledge of the most effective techniques

The therapists must be sufficiently trained to know the tools available to psychology at the time of intervention.In addition, it is necessary to take into account that there are no universal solutions and that each problem has a treatment that has been scientifically validated for these cases.

10. Knowledge of the diagnostic criteria

Finally, therapists must know what the characteristics of different mental disorders are and how they are detected. This it requires a lot of study and continuous training .


The Pros & Cons of Being a Therapist || mental health w Kati Morton (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 exigences principales pour être un bon thérapeute

Les 10 exigences principales pour être un bon thérapeute

Septembre 19, 2022

Être capable de pratiquer en tant que psychothérapeute, ce n'est pas seulement avoir "une sensibilité particulière" ou le fait que nous aimons traiter en face à face avec des gens. Il existe une série de compétences, à la fois théoriques et pratiques, qui doivent être maîtrisées afin d'offrir le meilleur service possible.

Les exigences pour être thérapeute En bref, ils doivent faire appel à nos compétences et à nos connaissances acquises par le biais de la formation et des études. Voyons ce qu'ils sont.

  • Articles liés: "10 caractéristiques essentielles d'un bon psychologue"

Les conditions de base pour offrir une psychothérapie

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une série d’exigences de base que chaque psychothérapeute doit remplir.


Cela dépendra de ce qu’il offre ou non garantit qu'un service de qualité est offert , il est donc pratique de maîtriser tous ces domaines d’excellence.

1. Rejeter les préjugés

Plusieurs années de recherche psychologique montrent que, de manière spontanée et involontaire, des préjugés et des étiquettes apparaissent dans notre esprit lorsque nous commençons à établir des relations avec quelqu'un que nous connaissons peu. Ceci, qui dans certains contextes est utile, devrait être pris en compte lors de la consultation. C'est pourquoi il est nécessaire de s'assurer que ces préjugés sont identifiés sur les patients et que leur influence ne soit pas étendue à nos décisions et analyses les plus pertinentes.

Qu'est-ce que c'est alors? revoir constamment ce que l'on croit de l'autre personne , détectez les évaluations avec peu de ressources et isolez leurs effets.


2. Apprendre à maîtriser les silences

Dans un dialogue, comme ceux des séances de psychothérapie, les silences sont toujours quelque chose, ils ne sont jamais "rien". C'est-à-dire, Ils nous donnent des informations et produisent également un effet , tout comme les mots.

C'est pourquoi, parmi les exigences du bon thérapeute, il y a la capacité de maîtriser les silences. nous ne devrions pas les éviter, mais les utiliser de la manière la plus appropriée pour faire avancer les sessions.

3. Maîtrise de soi

Les psychothérapeutes doivent apprendre à séparer leurs propres préférences des objectifs des sessions qu’ils offrent en consultation. Pour cela ils ne peuvent pas se laisser emporter par les impulsions , dans ce qui est considéré comme éthique. Bien que leur travail repose fortement sur le dialogue, cela ne signifie pas qu'elles offrent des conversations informelles dans lesquelles les deux parties tentent davantage de donner une bonne image que de rendre l'échange d'idées utile.


4. La capacité de lire entre les lignes

Souvent, les patients ne révèlent pas certaines informations directement, mais les insinuent. C'est quelque chose qui arrive très souvent, au-delà de l'interprétation psychanalytique des mécanismes dans lesquels s'exprime l'inconscient. Il se peut que l’autre personne, tout à fait volontairement, préférez ne donner qu'une partie de l'information parce que vous avez honte parler plus directement

De la même manière, l'interlocuteur échappe parfois à une idée qui peut être intuitive si nous analysons le type de discours utilisé.

5. Capacité à travailler en équipe

Les psychothérapeutes travaillent de plus en plus en collaboration avec d'autres professionnels du domaine de la santé et du bien-être. C’est pourquoi, bien que devant le patient, le thérapeute n’a plus qu’un rôle professionnel à jouer, une fois la séance terminée, le travail continue. établir des ponts de communication fluide avec des orthophonistes, pédagogues, parents, enseignants, etc.

6. Connaissance du code déontologique

Un point essentiel pour assurer que nous agissons selon un code d'éthique . Fournir des traitements dont l'efficacité n'a pas été validée scientifiquement, par exemple, ou parler à d'autres personnes des détails de la vie d'un patient révélés par ce patient au cours des séances, sont clairement des comportements contraires à l'éthique.

7. Capacité d'établir un lien thérapeutique

Les séances de thérapie consistent non seulement en l’information qui y est traitée, mais aussi en la relation thérapeutique créée entre les différentes parties. Pour ce faire, nous devons gagner la confiance des patients, démontrant ainsi que nous ne préjugons ni ne jugeons ce qui est compté, entre autres choses.

  • Article connexe: "Le Rapport: 5 clés pour créer un environnement de confiance"

8. Affirmation professionnelle

Les thérapeutes se trouvent souvent dans une situation où ils doivent essayer de convaincre leur interlocuteur de parler des aspects douloureux de leur vie ou de créer de la gêne. Il faut savoir comment traiter ces problèmes sans les éviter afin de ne pas déranger le patient. Maintenant, il est nécessaire de le faire avec tact.

9. Connaissance des techniques les plus efficaces

Les thérapeutes doivent être suffisamment formés pour connaître les outils disponibles en psychologie au moment de l'intervention.En outre, il est nécessaire de prendre en compte que il n'y a pas de solutions universelles et que chaque problème a un traitement scientifiquement validé pour ces cas.

10. Connaissance des critères de diagnostic

Enfin, les thérapeutes doivent savoir quelles sont les caractéristiques des différents troubles mentaux et comment ils sont détectés. Cette cela nécessite beaucoup d'étude et de formation continue .


Biblical Series IV: Adam and Eve: Self-Consciousness, Evil, and Death (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes