yes, therapy helps!
The 6 types of aphasia (causes, symptoms and characteristics)

The 6 types of aphasia (causes, symptoms and characteristics)

September 12, 2022

The term language refers to the selection and arrangement of words according to the rules . When this language is produced orally or verbally, a series of acquired skills is needed, both at the vocal, auditory, visual and motor levels; in order to achieve a correct communication.

However, when a person suffers some type of brain injury aphasias may appear, which in the strict sense are disorders in the use of language, accompanied by a speech disorder.

However, there are different types of aphasias according to the brain areas injured; as well as according to what symptoms the person presents.

  • Recommended article: "Aphasias: the main language disorders"

What is aphasia? Definition and causes

Mainly, aphasia is the total or partial inability to use language . The deficits related to the different types of aphasia range from word problems to complete inability to speak.


Likewise, the different aphasias also include problems in written language, oral comprehension, reading or having to operate with numbers. In other cases, people have deficits in oral expression but retain their ability to understand intact. That is why it is necessary to detect in each patient what specific speech and language alterations are under way so that an adapted treatment can be elaborated.

The causes of aphasia are varied, but all occur in circumstances of brain injury:

  • Cranioencephalic trauma
  • Tumors of the central nervous system
  • Stroke (most common cause of aphasia)
  • Degenerative diseases (Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease, etc.)
  • Localized or diffuse brain infections

Types of aphasia

The symptomatology of aphasias depends both on the location of the brain lesions and on the compensatory reactions of the brain tissue that remains intact.


However, there is a series of common brain lesions that seem to group certain dysfunctions.

1. Broca's aphasia or major motor aphasia

In Broca's aphasia, deficits in the motor aspects of language and writing predominate, it is also accompanied by amatism and, in many cases, language comprehension disorders. Occasionally, sensory problems may appear on the right side and hemiparesis, which refers to a decrease in motor force or partial paralysis that affects only one arm or one leg on the same side of the body.

This aphasia is the consequence of a large lesion that includes the cortical and subcortical elements along the frontal and superior portion of the Sylvian fissure, also including the insula; but its name comes from the implication that the lower frontal gyrus or Broca's area has in this disorder.


The most common causes of Broca's aphasia can be:

  • Embolic occlusion of the upper division of the left middle cerebral artery
  • Abscess of the frontal lobe
  • TumorHuman's Hypertensive Bleeding
  • Metastatic lesions
  • Subdural hematoma

During the evolution of Broca's aphasia the patient can be in acute or subacute phase . During the acute phase, the patient is practically mute, unable to understand and unable to communicate; As the patient progresses, comprehension begins to improve, while deficits in language and writing persist. As he gets better, he is able to speak loudly, not without a lot of slowness and effort.

The articulation and the intonation also are affected, reason why the language becomes mainly a discourse of names and adjectives in which the functional words like the articles, prepositions or conjunctions are omitted; becoming an agramatical and telegraphic language.

After the acute and subacute phases, speech difficulties may persist. But nevertheless, a therapy in which the language is worked can significantly improve the patient's condition .

Finally, due to the paralysis of the right hand, many patients can not continue writing with it; so it requires a reeducation of writing with the left hand or take advantage of new technologies to enable communication.

2. Motor transcortical aphasia

This aphasia manifests problems similar to those of Broca's aphasia. The main difference is that transcortical motor aphasia there is a deficit in the production of speech, especially when starting a speech , in the spontaneity or in the organization of this.

The articulatory aspect of speech does not usually present difficulties and the understanding of language remains intact, as does the production of names of places and people.

The cause of problems similar to those of Broca's aphasia may be due to the fact that the genesis of the disorder is due to a small subcortical lesion above Broca's area. At present, the involvement of a circuit from the supplementary motor area is suspected, through the subcallosus fasciculus to the basal ganglia and the Broca area.

3. Wernicke's aphasia

Wernicke's aphasia is characterized by a fluid speech but with a large number of substitutions and paraphasias , along with difficulties in understanding.

During the subacute phase, the understanding of language is often very deteriorated in severe cases, reaching absolute misunderstanding. However, speech is easy, clear and correctly articulated, and the outline of the rhythm is similar to that of normal speech. After these phases, listening comprehension usually improves and paraphasia is reduced.

Compared with Broca's aphasia, functional words are present in Wernicke's aphasia, but there are semantic and grammatical confusions. In addition, in this type of aphasia the motor area is intact so there is no paralysis on the right side, so that patients can write, even though the content is disorganized and confusing, as is speech.

4. Driving aphasia

In this syndrome what is seriously damaged is repetition . Driving aphasia is a fluid aphasia with an almost normal understanding; but in which, in serious cases, the fluidity is seriously compromised due to problems in the production of isolated words; thus becoming a sequential speech and short sentences.

Traditionally, it has been believed that this aphasia appeared as a consequence of a lesion in the fibers that connect the areas of Broca and Wernike. But it has been discovered that there is also a relationship with lesions in the superior temporal gyrus and in the insula.

In addition to the difficulties in repetition, these patients present problems when selecting words and in phonemic sequencing within individual words.

5. Global aphasia

People suffering from global aphasia suffer from severe speech disorders, including problems of fluency and comprehension ; so the communication is affected very strictly.

The most common cases are that patients only manage to say a few words and their understanding of language is also very limited, since they can not read or write either.

The most frequent cause of global aphasia is a lesion that destroys most of the speech-related areas of the dominant hemisphere and is caused by obstruction of the left internal carotid artery or the middle cerebral artery.

6. Amnesic or anomic aphasia

Since anomie is a common characteristic of fluid aphasia, Wernicke's and driving aphasia, only anomic aphasia will be discussed when the difficulty of finding commonly used words appears relatively isolated .


Wernicke's Aphasia and Broca's Aphasia (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 6 types d'aphasie (causes, symptômes et caractéristiques)

Les 6 types d'aphasie (causes, symptômes et caractéristiques)

Septembre 21, 2021

Le terme langue désigne le choix et la disposition des mots selon les règles . Lorsque cette langue est produite oralement ou verbalement, une série de compétences acquises est nécessaire, tant au niveau vocal, auditif que visuel et moteur; afin d'obtenir une communication correcte.

Cependant, lorsqu'une personne souffre d'un certain type de lésion cérébrale, des aphasies peuvent apparaître, qui au sens strict sont des troubles de l'utilisation du langage, accompagnés d'un trouble de la parole.

Cependant, il existe différents types d'aphasies en fonction des zones cérébrales touchées. ainsi que selon quels symptômes la personne présente.

  • Article recommandé: "Aphasies: les principaux troubles du langage"

Qu'est-ce que l'aphasie? Définition et causes

L'aphasie est principalement l'impossibilité totale ou partielle d'utiliser le langage . Les déficits liés aux différents types d’aphasie vont des problèmes de vocabulaire à l’incapacité totale de parler.


De même, les différentes aphasies incluent également des problèmes de langage écrit, de compréhension orale, de lecture ou d'opération avec des nombres. Dans d'autres cas, les personnes ont un déficit d'expression orale mais conservent leur capacité de compréhension. C'est pourquoi il est nécessaire de détecter chez chaque patient quelles altérations spécifiques de la parole et du langage sont en cours de manière à pouvoir élaborer un traitement adapté.

Les causes de l'aphasie sont variées, mais toutes surviennent dans des circonstances de lésion cérébrale:

  • Traumatisme crânien
  • Tumeurs du système nerveux central
  • Accident vasculaire cérébral (cause la plus fréquente d'aphasie)
  • Maladies dégénératives (maladie d'Alzheimer, maladie de Parkinson, etc.)
  • Infections cérébrales localisées ou diffuses

Types d'aphasie

La symptomatologie des aphasies dépend à la fois de la localisation des lésions cérébrales et des réactions compensatoires du tissu cérébral intact.


Cependant, il existe une série de lésions cérébrales communes qui semblent regrouper certains dysfonctionnements.

1. Aphasie de Broca ou aphasie motrice majeure

Dans l'aphasie de Broca, où les aspects moteurs du langage et de l'écriture sont prédominants, elle s'accompagne également d'amatisme et, dans de nombreux cas, de troubles de la compréhension du langage. Parfois, des problèmes sensoriels peuvent apparaître du côté droit et de l'hémiparésie, ce qui correspond à une diminution de la force motrice ou à une paralysie partielle affectant un seul bras ou une jambe du même côté du corps.

Cette aphasie est la conséquence d'une lésion importante incluant les éléments corticaux et sous-corticaux le long des parties frontale et supérieure de la fissure de Sylvian, y compris l'insula; mais son nom vient de l'implication que le gyrus frontal inférieur ou la région de Broca a dans ce désordre.


Les causes les plus courantes d'aphasie de Broca peuvent être:

  • Occlusion embolique de la division supérieure de l'artère cérébrale moyenne gauche
  • Abcès du lobe frontal
  • Saignement hypertensif de la tumeur humaine
  • Lésions métastatiques
  • Hématome sous-dural

Au cours de l'évolution de l'aphasie de Broca, le patient peut être en phase aiguë ou subaiguë . Pendant la phase aiguë, le patient est pratiquement muet, incapable de comprendre et de communiquer. Au fur et à mesure que le patient progresse, la compréhension commence à s'améliorer, tandis que les déficits de langage et d'écriture persistent. À mesure qu'il se rétablit, il est capable de parler fort, non sans beaucoup de lenteur et d'efforts.

L'articulation et l'intonation sont également affectées, raison pour laquelle la langue devient principalement un discours de noms et d'adjectifs dans lequel les mots fonctionnels tels que les articles, les prépositions ou les conjonctions sont omis; devenir un langage agramatique et télégraphique.

Après les phases aiguës et subaiguës, des difficultés d'élocution peuvent persister. Cependant, une thérapie dans laquelle la langue est travaillée peut considérablement améliorer l'état du patient .

Enfin, en raison de la paralysie de la main droite, de nombreux patients ne peuvent pas continuer à écrire avec; il faut donc rééduquer l'écriture avec la main gauche ou tirer parti des nouvelles technologies pour permettre la communication.

2. Aphasie transcorticale motrice

Cette aphasie manifeste des problèmes similaires à ceux de l'aphasie de Broca. La principale différence est que aphasie motrice transcorticale, il y a un déficit dans la production de la parole, surtout au début de la parole , dans la spontanéité ou dans l’organisation de cette.

L'aspect articulatoire de la parole ne présente généralement pas de difficultés et la compréhension de la langue reste intacte, de même que la production de noms de lieux et de personnes.

La cause de problèmes similaires à ceux de l'aphasie de Broca peut être due au fait que la genèse de la maladie est due à une petite lésion sous-corticale au-dessus de la région de Broca. À l'heure actuelle, on soupçonne la présence d'un circuit à partir de la région motrice supplémentaire, via le sous-fascicus, jusqu'au ganglion de la base et dans la région de Broca.

3. l'aphasie de Wernicke

L'aphasie de Wernicke est caractérisée par un discours fluide mais avec un grand nombre de substitutions et de paraphasies , ainsi que des difficultés de compréhension.

Au cours de la phase subaiguë, la compréhension de la langue est souvent très détériorée dans les cas graves, entraînant un malentendu absolu. Cependant, la parole est facile, claire et correctement articulée, et le contour du rythme est similaire à celui de la parole normale. Après ces phases, la compréhension orale s'améliore généralement et la paraphasie est réduite.

Par rapport à l'aphasie de Broca, les mots fonctionnels sont présents dans l'aphasie de Wernicke, mais il existe des confusions sémantiques et grammaticales. De plus, dans ce type d'aphasie, la zone motrice est intacte, il n'y a donc pas de paralysie du côté droit, ce qui permet aux patients d'écrire, même si le contenu est désorganisé et déroutant, tout comme la parole.

4. Aphasie au volant

Dans ce syndrome, ce qui est gravement endommagé est la répétition. . L'aphasie au volant est une aphasie fluide avec une compréhension presque normale; mais dans lequel, dans les cas graves, la fluidité est sérieusement compromise en raison de problèmes de production de mots isolés; devenant ainsi un discours séquentiel et des phrases courtes.

Traditionnellement, on croyait que cette aphasie était apparue à la suite d'une lésion des fibres reliant les régions de Broca et de Wernike. Mais il a été découvert qu'il existe également une relation avec des lésions dans le gyrus temporal supérieur et dans l'insula.

Outre les difficultés de répétition, ces patients présentent des problèmes lors de la sélection des mots et du séquençage phonémique au sein de mots individuels.

5. Aphasie globale

Les personnes souffrant d'aphasie globale souffrent de troubles de la parole graves, notamment de problèmes de fluidité et de compréhension. ; la communication est donc affectée très strictement.

Les cas les plus courants sont que les patients ne parviennent qu'à dire quelques mots et que leur compréhension de la langue est également très limitée, car ils ne savent ni lire ni écrire.

La cause la plus fréquente d'aphasie globale est une lésion qui détruit la plupart des zones de l'hémisphère dominant liées à la parole et est provoquée par une obstruction de l'artère carotide interne gauche ou de l'artère cérébrale moyenne.

6. Aphasie amnésique ou anomique

L'anomie étant une caractéristique commune de l'aphasie fluide, de l'aphasie de Wernicke et de l'aphasie motrice, seule l'aphasie anomique sera discutée. lorsque la difficulté de trouver des mots couramment utilisés apparaît relativement isolée .


Soignez définitivement l'arthrose en 30 min + le jus des cartilages - www.regenere.org (Septembre 2021).


Articles Connexes