yes, therapy helps!
The 10 types of Personality Disorders

The 10 types of Personality Disorders

August 6, 2022

Personality disorders are a group of conditions in which individuals exhibit patterns of thinking, perception, feeling and long-term behavior that differ from what society considers normal. Their way of acting and thinking, and their distorted beliefs about others, can cause strange behavior, which can be very annoying for other people.

What are Personality Disorders?

These individuals often have problems in different areas of life, including social and work functioning , and often have poor coping skills and difficulties in forming healthy relationships. Personality disorders usually arise in adolescence and continue into adulthood. They can be mild, moderate or severe, and it is possible that these people may have periods of remission in which they function relatively well.


Although the causes are not entirely clear, personality disorders can be associated with genetic and environmental factors. Regarding the latter, experiences of anguish, stress or fear during childhood, as well as abuse, abuse or emotional neglect, can cause future development of such disorders.

Types of Personality Disorders

The different personality types are grouped into three large groups or "clusters".

  • Group A : Strange, eccentric. Introverts and absence of close relationships.
  • B Group : Impulsive, emotional, flashy, extraverted and socially and emotionally unstable
  • Group C : Anxious, fearful and with presence of interpersonal and intrapsychic conflicts.

Personality Disorders of Group A

Paranoid Personality Disorder

Paranoid personality disorder is characterized by a widespread distrust towards others , including friends and even the family and the couple. As a result, the person feels watched and under suspicion, and is constantly looking for clues that validate their conspiracy theories. This type of personality is that of a person extremely sensitive to setbacks, and easily feels embarrassed and humiliated. Tends to isolate themselves from others and to destroy close relationships.


Schizoid Disorder

The schizoid personality disorder is characterized because individuals who suffer from this condition they isolate themselves and avoid social activities and interpersonal relationships . These individuals organize their lives in a way that avoids contact with other people. Therefore, they do not want or enjoy close relationships, choose solitary jobs and activities and show emotional coldness.

Schizotypal Disorder

The schizotypal disorder it is characterized by rarities in appearance, behavior and speech; by unusual perceptual experiences, and anomalies in the way of thinking , which resemble those observed in schizophrenia.

The schizotyps are isolated because they have an inappropriate affection and social anxiety. They tend to have magical thinking and are characterized as being superstitious. Sometimes they may believe that they have superpowers or that they have been victims of paranormal or extraterrestrial experiences. They have problems to relate because of their coldness and because they are distant.


Personality Disorders of Group B

Antisocial disorder

The person suffering from this personality disorder called antisocial disorder it does not take into account social norms and obligations, is aggressive, acts impulsively, lacks guilt, and does not seem to learn from experience.

In many cases, he may have no difficulty in relating, and may even seem superficially charming (that's why he is known as a "psycho with charm" '). Now, their relationships do not usually last long. This type of personality disorder is closely related to criminal behavior.

Personality Limit Disorder

People with borderline personality disorder or borderline oftenThey feel empty and abandoned, and may have difficulty coping with stressful events . They have a weak and changing personality, and they doubt everything. They can go from moments of calm to moments of anger, anxiety or despair in just a few seconds. These people live their emotions to the fullest, and their love relationships are intense, because they idolize the other person.

Symptoms are characterized by intense anger and inability to control it, frantic efforts to avoid abandonment, real or imaginary, alternating between extremes of idealization and devaluation in interpersonal relationships, markedly unstable self-image, and chronic feelings of emptiness. Sometimes these individuals may have episodes of paranoia, and tend to engage in risky behaviors, such as unprotected sex, excessive drinking, and gambling.

Histrionic personality disorder

People affected by histrionic disorder and personality they have low self-esteem and seek to attract the attention of other people dramatizing or playing a role, they are emotionally very sensitive in an attempt to be heard and seen. Therefore, these individuals pay excessive attention to the care of their appearance and behave in a way too charming and seductive. They have low tolerance for frustration and continually seek the approval of others.

His life becomes a vicious circle that can take hold, because if they feel rejected, more histrionic become; and the more histrionics become, the more rejected they feel.

Narcissistic Personality Disorder

People with narcissistic personality disorder they believe they are more important than others . They tend to exaggerate their achievements and can boast of their attractiveness or success constantly. They feel a deep need for admiration, but lack empathy for other people. In addition to their egocentric behavior, they are also characterized as being very spiteful, and often maintain attitudes of resentment and revenge towards others.

Personality Disorders of Group C

Personality Disorder by Avoidance

People with this type of disorder often experience feelings of inferiority . They usually live on the criticism of others and avoid participating in new activities or making new friends because they are considered socially inept and unattractive. They live with a constant fear of being embarrassed or rejected.

This personality disorder is strongly associated with an anxiety disorder, and may have its origin in rejection by parents or childhood partners.

Dependent Personality Disorder

At dependent personality disorder , the individuals that suffer this condition depend on other people to meet their emotional and physical needs . They are unable to make decisions on their own and, in general, avoid being alone, and may be prone to tolerate physical and verbal abuse.

Obsessive-Compulsive Personality Disorder

People with obsessive-compulsive personality disorder are usually very disciplined people, with an imperative need for order, and they adhere strongly to the rules and regulations. They are characterized by being rigid, perfectionists, ruminants, moralists, inflexible and indecisive . They feel very uncomfortable when they do not achieve perfection ..


Summary of all 10 Personality Disorders (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 types de troubles de la personnalité

Les 10 types de troubles de la personnalité

Septembre 26, 2022

Les troubles de la personnalité sont un groupe de conditions dans lesquelles les individus présentent des schémas de pensée, de perception, de ressenti et de comportement à long terme différents de ceux que la société considère comme normaux. Leur façon d’agir et de penser, ainsi que leurs croyances déformées sur les autres, peuvent provoquer un comportement étrange, ce qui peut être très gênant pour les autres.

Que sont les troubles de la personnalité?

Ces individus ont souvent des problèmes dans différents domaines de la vie, y compris le fonctionnement social et professionnel et ont souvent de faibles capacités d’adaptation et des difficultés à établir des relations saines. Les troubles de la personnalité surviennent généralement à l'adolescence et se poursuivent à l'âge adulte. Ils peuvent être légers, modérés ou graves, et il est possible que ces personnes subissent des périodes de rémission durant lesquelles elles fonctionnent relativement bien.


Bien que les causes ne soient pas parfaitement claires, les troubles de la personnalité peuvent être associés à des facteurs génétiques et environnementaux. En ce qui concerne ces derniers, des expériences d’angoisse, de stress ou de peur durant l’enfance, ainsi que d’abus, d’abus ou de négligence affective, peuvent provoquer le développement futur de tels troubles.

Types de troubles de la personnalité

Les différents types de personnalité sont regroupés en trois grands groupes ou "grappes".

  • Groupe A : Étrange, excentrique. Introvertis et absence de relations étroites.
  • Groupe B : Impulsif, émotif, voyant, extraverti et instable socialement et émotionnellement
  • Groupe C : Anxieux, craintif et avec présence de conflits interpersonnels et intrapsychiques.

Troubles de la personnalité du groupe A

Trouble de la personnalité paranoïaque

Le trouble de la personnalité paranoïaque est caractérisé par un méfiance généralisée envers les autres , y compris les amis et même la famille et le couple. En conséquence, la personne se sent surveillée et soupçonnée et cherche constamment des indices qui valident leurs théories du complot. Ce type de personnalité est celui d'une personne extrêmement sensible aux échecs et se sent facilement gênée et humiliée. A tendance à s'isoler des autres et à détruire les relations intimes.


Trouble schizoïde

Le trouble de la personnalité schizoïde se caractérise par le fait que les personnes qui en souffrent ils s'isolent et évitent les activités sociales et les relations interpersonnelles . Ces personnes organisent leur vie de manière à éviter tout contact avec d’autres personnes. Par conséquent, ils ne veulent pas ou n'apprécient pas les relations proches, choisissent des emplois et des activités solitaires et montrent une froideur émotionnelle.

Trouble schizotypique

Le trouble schizotypique il se caractérise par des raretés en apparence, comportement et discours; par des expériences perceptuelles inhabituelles, et anomalies dans la façon de penser , qui ressemblent à ceux observés dans la schizophrénie.

Les schizotypes sont isolés parce qu'ils ont une affection et une anxiété sociales inappropriées. Ils ont tendance à avoir une pensée magique et sont qualifiés de superstitieux. Parfois, ils peuvent croire qu'ils ont des super pouvoirs ou qu'ils ont été victimes d'expériences paranormales ou extraterrestres. Ils ont des problèmes à relier à cause de leur froideur et de leur distance.


Troubles de la personnalité du groupe B

Trouble antisocial

La personne souffrant de ce trouble de la personnalité appelé trouble antisocial il ne prend pas en compte les normes et obligations sociales, est agressif, agit impulsivement, manque de culpabilité et ne semble pas tirer profit de l'expérience.

Dans de nombreux cas, il peut n'avoir aucune difficulté à raconter et même à paraître superficiellement charmant (c'est pourquoi il est connu comme un "psychopathe de charme" '). Maintenant, leurs relations ne durent généralement pas longtemps. Ce type de trouble de la personnalité est étroitement lié au comportement criminel.

Trouble de la personnalité

Personnes ayant un trouble de la personnalité limite ou limite souvent sIls se sentent vides et abandonnés et peuvent avoir de la difficulté à faire face à des événements stressants . Ils ont une personnalité faible et changeante et ils doutent de tout. Ils peuvent passer de quelques instants de calme à des moments de colère, d’angoisse ou de désespoir en quelques secondes seulement. Ces personnes vivent pleinement leurs émotions et leurs relations amoureuses sont intenses, car elles idolâtrent l’autre personne.

Les symptômes sont caractérisés par une colère intense et une incapacité à la maîtriser, des efforts frénétiques pour éviter l'abandon, réels ou imaginaires, alternant extrêmes d'extrémités d'idéalisation et de dévaluation dans les relations interpersonnelles, image de soi nettement instable et sentiments chroniques de vide. Parfois, ces personnes peuvent avoir des épisodes de paranoïa et avoir tendance à adopter des comportements à risque, tels que relations sexuelles non protégées, consommation excessive d'alcool et jeu.

Trouble de la personnalité histrionique

Personnes affectées par le trouble histrionique et la personnalité ils ont une faible estime de soi et cherchent à attirer l'attention des autres En dramatisant ou en jouant un rôle, ils sont très sensibles sur le plan émotionnel pour être entendus et vus. Par conséquent, ces personnes accordent une attention excessive aux soins de leur apparence et se comportent de manière trop charmante et séduisante. Ils ont une faible tolérance à la frustration et cherchent continuellement l'approbation des autres.

Sa vie devient un cercle vicieux qui peut s'installer, car s'ils se sentent rejetés, ils deviennent plus histrioniques; et plus ils deviennent histrioniques, plus ils se sentent rejetés.

Trouble de la personnalité narcissique

Personnes atteintes d'un trouble de la personnalité narcissique ils croient qu'ils sont plus importants que les autres . Ils ont tendance à exagérer leurs réalisations et peuvent constamment se vanter de leur attrait ou de leur succès. Ils ressentent un besoin profond d'admiration, mais manquent d'empathie pour les autres. En plus de leur comportement égocentrique, ils se caractérisent également par leur méchanceté et entretiennent souvent des attitudes de ressentiment et de vengeance envers les autres.

Troubles de la personnalité du groupe C

Trouble de la personnalité par évitement

Personnes atteintes de ce type de trouble éprouvent souvent des sentiments d'infériorité . Ils vivent généralement de la critique des autres et évitent de participer à de nouvelles activités ou de se faire de nouveaux amis, car ils sont considérés socialement incompétents et peu attrayants. Ils vivent avec une peur constante d'être gêné ou rejeté.

Ce trouble de la personnalité est fortement associé à un trouble anxieux et peut avoir pour origine le rejet de ses parents ou de ses partenaires d’enfance.

Trouble de la personnalité dépendante

Dans le trouble de la personnalité dépendante , les individus qui souffrent de cette condition dépendent d'autres personnes pour répondre à leurs besoins émotionnels et physiques . Ils sont incapables de prendre des décisions par eux-mêmes et, en général, évitent d'être seuls et risquent de tolérer les abus physiques et verbaux.

Trouble de la personnalité obsessionnel-compulsif

Les personnes atteintes de trouble de la personnalité obsessionnel-compulsif sont généralement très disciplinées, avec un besoin impératif d'ordre et respectent scrupuleusement les règles et les règlements. Ils se caractérisent par être rigide, perfectionnistes, ruminants, moralistes, inflexible et indécis . Ils se sentent très mal à l'aise quand ils n'atteignent pas la perfection.


Les dix troubles de la personnalité (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes