yes, therapy helps!
The 18 types of aggression, and their effects

The 18 types of aggression, and their effects

July 19, 2024

We have all witnessed some act of aggression. Be it in real life, on television or even through a novel, violence is an element that continues to be part of our society even today. But we often make the mistake of identifying aggression with physical attack.

Although obviously an act of intentional physical violence aimed at harming another is an aggression, we can also observe other types of acts that can be considered as such. We are talking about different types of aggression , of which we are going to talk throughout this article.

  • Related article: "The neurological basis of aggressive behavior"

Aggression: understanding the basic concept

In order to understand the existence of differences between different types of aggression, it is necessary first to know what this concept refers to and what its implications are.


We understand aggression as all that act of violence characterized by causing intentional damage a person is said direct or indirect act. Although, as we have indicated before, it is traditionally associated with physical violence, aggression does not have to be limited to it or it is even possible that a physical element does not exist in the act of aggression.

The damages may be physical, psychological, sexual, patrimonial or symbolic, and may involve a series of serious effects on the health or integrity of the victim.

It is possible to find a large number of classifications in regards to the different types of aggression. Examples of this are according to their nature, objective or victim.


1. Types of aggression according to their nature

There are multiple ways to classify the different types of aggressions. One of the most common is that which takes into account the nature of the aggression. In turn, these can be classified into two large groups, although usually the categories are not totally mutually exclusive .

1.1. Direct aggression

Direct aggression refers to all that type of aggression that is perceptibly carried out for the aggressed person, whether it is physically or psychologically. This includes both the direct exercise of the aggression and the threat of carrying it out, requiring at least aggressor and attacked in that relationship. The victim is completely capable of identifying his aggressor . As of adolescence, it tends to be more frequent in males.

1.2. Physical aggression

Any act that involves the willful and intentional causation of direct damage generated through any physical means and with the capacity to generate bodily harm to the person attacked. The injuries caused can be temporary or permanent and appear both short and long term, with consequences that can even be deadly. Physical aggression tends to be more associated with the male sex.


1.3. Verbal / psychological aggression

It is understood as such to all that set of acts and actions that, although they do not generate a physical damage, they provoke or pretend to provoke in the person who suffers the aggression some kind of mental or emotional damage . It includes insults, humiliations and devaluations. In this sense, this type of direct violence tends to be more distributed among the sexes. Statistically, it is one of the most practiced by women.

1.4. Sexual aggression

Type of aggression in which the aggressor party forces or coerces the aggrieved party to maintain some type of sexual contact (whether or not there is penetration) or by depriving them of the freedom to decide. Includes both violations and touching , pushing or removing the condom without consent / knowledge of the fact. Although in recent years the female cases have increased, most of the sexual aggressors are male.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The Sexual Assault Control Program: this is how this type of treatment works"

1.5. Indirect aggression

Indirect aggression is understood as any act of aggression that is carried out indirectly, causing damages to the aggressor anonymously (although this may recognize the aggressor). This type of attack is spreading more and more, and it is the most frequent in women as of adolescence, both at an academic and work level. Includes spreading rumors and slander , anonymous or publication of webs and humiliating and ridiculing messages.

1.6. Relational aggression

Indirect form of aggression based on the social exclusion caused by the aggrieved person, or in the causation of damage to your reputation through slander . It is usually verbal or psychological.

1.7. Cyber ​​aggression

Although it can be included in some of the previous groups (both indirect and direct), cybernetic aggression has as its main distinguishing feature the fact that information and communication technologies are used for this purpose. Through it we can find attacks on social networks, identity theft, coercion, theft of accounts, defamatory publications, non-consensual recordings (including possible aggressions carried out with the victim), etc.

1.8. Patrimonial aggression

This type of aggression is based on the destruction or damage on the possessions of the aggrieved person. Its subtraction or usurpation can also be observed. It may or may not be aimed at generating damage to the attacked subject, especially if said possessions are of high emotional value or achieving them has been a great effort. In reality, it can be both indirect and direct (since destruction can occur covertly or not).

1.9. Symbolic aggression

Type of indirect aggression characterized by the fact that the attack is not made directly on the victim, but rather about elements that symbolize aspects linked to him or her such as religion, politics, sexual orientation or nationality.

2. According to your objective

In addition to the main aggressions mentioned above, we can also find other types of aggression depending on the objective pursued.

2.1. Hostile aggression

This type of aggression refers to all that action directed mainly to inflict some type of damage on a person, so that the damage is the main objective of the aggressor .

2.2. Instrumental aggression

On this occasion, the aggressive act is not intended to generate damage to the person assaulted, not being the suffering or discomfort of the other the intended , but that what motivates the attack is the obtaining of some type of gain or benefit of said attack. An example may be economic gain, social approval or the acquisition of a position of dominance and power.

2.3. Induced aggression

It is a type of aggressive act in which the aggressor acts moved by other people or by factors such as fear or the attempt to escape from some highly aversive situation.

3. Depending on the victim

Different types of aggression can also be observed depending on who the person to whom the act of violence is directed.

3.1. Self-inflicted aggression

It is called as such any act of aggression in which the victim of this is the same that causes the aggression. That is, it is an attack on oneself that can be motivated by a large number of causes. It can include self-injury caused by people with different pathologies or suicide.

3.2. Interpersonal aggression

It is the most classic and known type of aggression, in which one person inflicts damages and harm to another voluntarily.

3.3. Collective aggression

Type of aggression characterized by performing intergroup, attacking one group to another. The objective of the aggression It can be variable, in many cases there is hatred, stigmatization and attempts to eliminate the other group. In this type of aggression we could include events as serious as genocides.

4. According to the context in which it occurs

Another possible classification of the aggressions may come from the context in which they occur. In this sense, we can find ourselves among others with the following

4.1. Intrafamily and couple aggression

This type of interpersonal aggression can be separated from the rest by the fact that has the characteristic of occurring within the same family or between people who in principle maintain an affective bond. Domestic violence can take many forms, being mainly of a direct type, whether at the level of physical, psychological or even sexual aggression.

4.2. Aggression in the workplace

All that act of aggression produced in the context of work. We can include in this the presence of physical, verbal or even sexual aggressions between employees with the same rank or those that take place taking advantage of the difference of rank and position within the company.

4.3. Aggression at school

On this occasion we refer to the acts of aggression carried out in the academic field among students or between students and teachers. We can observe among others the presence of bullying .


Social Psychological Theories of Aggression - Social Learning Theory (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 18 types d’agression et leurs effets

Les 18 types d’agression et leurs effets

Mai 16, 2022

Nous avons tous été témoins d'un acte d'agression. Que ce soit dans la vie réelle, à la télévision ou même à travers un roman, la violence est un élément qui continue de faire partie de notre société, même de nos jours. Mais nous commettons souvent l'erreur d'identifier une agression avec une attaque physique.

Bien qu’évidemment un acte de violence physique intentionnelle visant à blesser autrui soit une agression, nous pouvons également observer d’autres types d’actes pouvant être considérés comme tels. On parle de différents types d'agression , dont nous allons parler tout au long de cet article.

  • Article connexe: "La base neurologique du comportement agressif"

Agression: comprendre le concept de base

Pour comprendre l’existence de différences entre les différents types d’agression, il faut d’abord savoir à quoi se réfère ce concept et quelles en sont les implications.


Nous comprenons l'agression comme tout cet acte de violence caractérisé par des dommages intentionnels une personne est dite acte direct ou indirect. Bien que, comme nous l’avons déjà indiqué, elle soit traditionnellement associée à la violence physique, l’agression n’a pas à s'y limiter ou il est même possible qu’un élément physique n’existe pas dans l’acte d’agression.

Les dommages peuvent être physiques, psychologiques, sexuels, patrimoniaux ou symboliques et peuvent entraîner une série d’effets graves sur la santé ou l’intégrité de la victime.

Il est possible de trouver un grand nombre de classifications en fonction des différents types d’agression. Des exemples de ceci sont selon leur nature, objectif ou victime.


1. Types d'agression selon leur nature

Il existe plusieurs façons de classer les différents types d’agression. L'un des plus courants est celui qui prend en compte la nature de l'agression. À leur tour, ceux-ci peuvent être classés en deux grands groupes, bien que généralement les catégories ne sont pas totalement mutuellement exclusives .

1.1. Agression directe

L'agression directe fait référence à tout ce type d'agression qui est pratiquée de manière perceptible pour la personne agressée, que ce soit physiquement ou psychologiquement. Cela inclut à la fois l'exercice direct de l'agression et la menace de l'exécuter, nécessitant au moins un agresseur et attaqué dans cette relation. La victime est tout à fait capable d'identifier son agresseur . Dès l'adolescence, il a tendance à être plus fréquent chez les hommes.

1.2. Agression physique

Tout acte qui implique la causalité volontaire et intentionnelle de dommages directs générés par tout moyen physique et ayant la capacité de causer des lésions corporelles à la personne attaquée. Les blessures peuvent être temporaires ou permanentes et apparaissent à la fois à court et à long terme, avec des conséquences qui peuvent même être mortelles. L’agression physique tend à être davantage associée au sexe masculin.


1.3. Agression verbale / psychologique

Il est entendu en tant que tel pour tous ces actes et actions qui, bien qu’ils ne génèrent pas de dommage physique, provoquent ou prétendent provoquer chez la personne qui subit l’agression une sorte de dommage mental ou émotionnel . Cela inclut les insultes, les humiliations et les dévaluations. En ce sens, ce type de violence directe tend à être plus réparti entre les sexes. Statistiquement, c'est l'un des plus pratiqués par les femmes.

1.4. Agression sexuelle

Type d'agression dans lequel le parti agresseur oblige ou contraint la partie lésée à entretenir un type de contact sexuel (qu'il y ait pénétration ou non) ou en le privant de la liberté de décision. Comprend les violations et les attouchements , pousser ou retirer le préservatif sans consentement / connaissance du fait. Bien que le nombre de cas féminins ait augmenté ces dernières années, la plupart des agresseurs sexuels sont des hommes.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé (e): "Le programme de contrôle des agressions sexuelles: voici comment fonctionne ce type de traitement"

1.5 Agression indirecte

Par agression indirecte, on entend tout acte d'agression commis indirectement, causant des dommages à l'agresseur de manière anonyme (même si cela peut reconnaître l'agresseur). Ce type d’attaque se répand de plus en plus, et c’est le plus fréquent chez les femmes dès l’adolescence, tant au niveau académique que professionnel. Comprend la propagation de rumeurs et de calomnies , anonyme ou publication de sites Web et messages humiliants et ridicules.

1.6. Agression relationnelle

Forme d'agression indirecte fondée sur l'exclusion sociale causée par la personne lésée ou par le lien de causalité atteinte à votre réputation par calomnie . C'est généralement verbal ou psychologique.

1.7. Cyber ​​agression

Bien qu’elle puisse être incluse dans certains des groupes précédents (à la fois indirects et directs), l’agression cybernétique a pour caractéristique principale le fait que les technologies de l’information et de la communication sont utilisées à cette fin. On y trouve des attaques sur les réseaux sociaux, usurpation d'identité, coercition, vol de comptes, publications diffamatoires, enregistrements non consensuels (y compris d'éventuelles agressions avec la victime), etc.

1.8. Agression patrimoniale

Ce type d'agression est basé sur la destruction ou les dommages causés aux biens de la personne lésée. Sa soustraction ou usurpation peut également être observée. Cela peut ou non avoir pour but de causer des dommages au sujet attaqué, en particulier si ces possessions ont une grande valeur émotionnelle ou si leur réalisation a été un grand effort. En réalité, il peut être à la fois indirect et direct (puisque la destruction peut avoir lieu à l’abri ou non).

1.9. Agression symbolique

Type d'agression indirecte caractérisée par le fait que l'agression ne vise pas directement la victime, mais plutôt sur les éléments qui symbolisent des aspects qui lui sont liés comme la religion, la politique, l'orientation sexuelle ou la nationalité.

2. Selon votre objectif

En plus des principales agressions mentionnées ci-dessus, nous pouvons également trouver d'autres types d'agressions en fonction de l'objectif poursuivi.

2.1. Agression hostile

Ce type d’agression désigne toute action visant principalement à infliger un type de dommage à une personne, de sorte que le dommage est l'objectif principal de l'agresseur .

2.2. Agression instrumentale

À cette occasion, l’acte d’agression n’est pas destiné à causer des dommages à la personne agressée, ne pas être la souffrance ou le malaise de l'autre la destinée Mais ce qui motive l’attaque, c’est l’obtention d’un gain ou d’un avantage quelconque de ladite attaque. Un exemple peut être le gain économique, l'approbation sociale ou l'acquisition d'une position de domination et de pouvoir.

2.3. Agression induite

C'est un type d'acte agressif dans lequel l'agresseur actes commis par d'autres personnes ou par des facteurs tels que la peur ou la tentative d'échapper à une situation très aversive.

3. Selon la victime

Différents types d'agression peuvent également être observés, en fonction de la personne à qui l'acte de violence est destiné.

3.1. Agression auto-infligée

On appelle en tant que tel tout acte d'agression dans lequel la victime est la même qui cause l'agression. C'est-à-dire que c'est une attaque contre soi-même qui peut être motivée par un grand nombre de causes. Cela peut inclure l'automutilation causés par des personnes atteintes de différentes pathologies ou suicidaires.

3.2. Agression interpersonnelle

C'est le type d'agression le plus classique et le plus connu, dans lequel une personne inflige des dommages et des préjudices à une autre volontairement.

3.3. Agression collective

Type d'agression caractérisée par l'exécution d'intergroupes, attaquant un groupe à un autre. L'objectif de l'agression Il peut être variable, dans de nombreux cas, il y a la haine, la stigmatisation et tente d'éliminer l'autre groupe. Dans ce type d'agression, nous pourrions inclure des événements aussi graves que des génocides.

4. Selon le contexte dans lequel cela se produit

Une autre classification possible des agressions peut provenir du contexte dans lequel elles se produisent. En ce sens, nous pouvons nous trouver parmi les autres avec les éléments suivants:

4.1. Agression intrafamiliale et conjugale

Ce type d’agression interpersonnelle peut être séparé du reste par le fait que a la particularité de se produire dans la même famille ou entre des personnes qui entretiennent en principe un lien affectif. La violence domestique peut revêtir de nombreuses formes, principalement de nature directe, que ce soit au niveau de l'agression physique, psychologique ou même sexuelle.

4.2. Agression au travail

Tout cet acte d'agression produit dans le contexte du travail. On peut y inclure la présence d'agressions physiques, verbales ou même sexuelles entre employés de même rang ou celles qui se produisent en tirant parti de la différence de rang et de poste au sein de l'entreprise.

4.3. Agression à l'école

Nous nous référons à cette occasion aux actes d'agression commis dans le champ académique entre étudiants ou entre étudiants et enseignants. Nous pouvons observer parmi d'autres la présence d'intimidation .


La mémoire traumatique, "véritable torture" des victimes de violences sexuelles (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes