yes, therapy helps!
What is the control locus?

What is the control locus?

July 19, 2024

The Control locus it is a topic widely used in psychology, and it affects the point of view of an individual and the way he or she has to interact with the environment. Rotter, in 1966, proposed the "locus of control" as a personality trait in his Theory of Social Learning .

"If the person perceives that the event is contingent with his behavior or his own relatively permanent characteristics, it has been said to be a belief in internal control"; instead, "when a reinforcement is perceived as following some personal action, but not being entirely contingent with it, it is typically perceived, in our culture, as the result of luck, and in this sense it has been said that it is a belief in external control. "
Rotter, 1966

What is the control locus?

According to Rotter's Theory of Social Learning, prior to the Albert Bandura, human behavior takes place with a continuous interaction between cognitive, behavioral and environmental determinants . Therefore, the perception of control or non-control that a person has about the events that occur around them, are important for the course of their own life.


The locus of control is a variable of the personality, relatively stable, that represents the attribution that a person carries out on whether the effort he makes is contingent on his behavior . There are two extremes of the continuum: internal control locus Y external control locus.

The locus of internal control occurs in case an individual perceives that the reinforcing event in particular is contingent on his own behavior. That is, the person perceives that what has happened externally is thanks to his behavior and has control over the external consequences. For example, a person with an internal locus of control attributes his happiness to himself. If you want to be happy, you can work on it.


The locus of external control happens when the individual perceives that an external event has occurred independently of his behavior. Therefore, the individual associates to chance, luck or destiny, the event that has occurred. For example, a person with external locus of control attributes their happiness to another person or to the situation.

Locus of control and personal development

This concept is important, because if a person thinks that what happens around him does not depend on him, you may not act to change it . For example, if a person thinks that they have no control over the election of the political party that is going to govern in their country, they may not do anything to change it, or even exercise their right to vote. On the other hand, if a person thinks that his vote will be important for the election of a new government, he may be motivated to change the political landscape and may even go out to demonstrate.


The feeling of not being able to control an event often generates a state of paralysis that disables people to achieve the proposed goals.

The locus of internal control is also an important aspect for personal development, since a person with an internal locus of control believes in their possibilities in front of what happens externally and knows that making the most effort will go far.

Learned helplessness: external control locus

In our article "Learned helplessness: delving into the psychology of the victim" we explain the phenomenon of Learned helplessness . According to César Ojeda, learned helplessness "refers to the condition in which a person or animal is inhibited in aversive or painful situations when the actions to avoid it have not been fruitful, ending by developing passivity before them."

Therefore, learned helplessness could be a consequence of the individual having learned to behave passively , perceiving that there is nothing he can do to change a negative situation even though there are real possibilities for change. The direct consequence of this attribution is the loss of coping response.

Learned helplessness is a concept widely used in clinical psychology, since it is intimately associated with depressive states. Several studies accept this hypothesis, for example, this study from the Catholic University of Chile shows that patients with depression and anxiety score lower on the Rotter Control Locus Scale. That is, those prone to depression and anxiety tend towards the locus of external control.

Resistant personality: internal control locus

According to the psychologist Bertrand Regader, "a resistant person is one who despite suffering problems and even disorders that could be destabilized, is able to maintain strength, resist and get afloat.This class of subjects are not immune to the events of life that we all live, such as the death of a loved one, a sentimental breakdown, a bad work situation ... but they differ from others in that they are able to accept in a stoical way these reverses of life and draw strength from weakness to keep going ".

A psychologist at the University of Chicago, Suzanne C. Kobasa, conducted several studies on the tough personality . According to their conclusions, people with this type of personality have several characteristics. They tend to be people of great commitment, locus of internal control and oriented to the challenge and with a greater openness to changes.

Internal control locus and external control locus at work

The control locus can also affect the job performance . It is important to understand that the locus of control is a continuum, no one is 100% locus of external or internal control. Below are some characteristics of the internal and external control locus.

Individuals with internal control locus :

  • They are prone to take responsibility for their actions
  • They are less influenced by the opinions of others
  • They tend to perform more when they can work at their own pace
  • They have a high feeling of self-efficacy or self-confidence
  • They feel safe in the face of challenges
  • They tend to be healthier
  • They tend to be happier and independent
  • They tend to be more successful in the workplace

Individuals with external control locus :

  • They attribute to luck, destiny, circumstances or others for their successes
  • They do not believe that adverse situations can change
  • They are more likely to suffer from learned helplessness
  • They are more unhappy
  • They tend to be less successful in the workplace

Bibliographic references:

  • Rotter, J. B. (1966). Generalized expectations for internal versus external control of reinforcement.
  • Maddi, S. R., & Kobasa, S.C. (1984). The hardy executive: Health under stress. Homewood, IL :: Dow Jones-Irwin.
  • //psychology.about.com/od/personalitydevelopment/fl/What-Is-Locus-of-Control.htm

Locus of Control Definition and Examples of Internal and External (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Quel est le locus de contrôle?

Quel est le locus de contrôle?

Septembre 12, 2022

Le locus de contrôle C’est un sujet largement utilisé en psychologie, qui influe sur le point de vue d’un individu et sur la manière dont il ou elle doit interagir avec l’environnement. En 1966, Rotter proposait le "locus de contrôle" comme trait de personnalité dans son Théorie de l'apprentissage social .

"Si la personne perçoit que l'événement est subordonné à son comportement ou à ses propres caractéristiques relativement permanentes, on dit qu'il s'agit d'une croyance en un contrôle interne"; au lieu de cela, "quand un renforcement est perçu comme faisant suite à une action personnelle, mais n'étant pas entièrement subordonné à celui-ci, il est généralement perçu, dans notre culture, comme le résultat de la chance, et dans ce sens il a été dit qu'il s'agit d'une croyance en: contrôle externe. "
Rotter, 1966

Quel est le locus de contrôle?

Selon la théorie de l’apprentissage social de Rotter, avant Albert Bandura, le comportement humain a lieu avec interaction continue entre les déterminants cognitifs, comportementaux et environnementaux . Par conséquent, la perception de contrôle ou de non-contrôle qu'une personne a des événements qui se produisent autour d'elle est importante pour le cours de sa propre vie.


Le locus de contrôle est une variable de la personnalité, relativement stable, qui représente l'attribution d'une personne à la question de savoir si son effort dépend de son comportement . Il y a deux extrêmes dans le continuum: locus de contrôle interne et locus de contrôle externe.

Le locus du contrôle interne se produit dans le cas où un individu perçoit que l'événement de renforcement en particulier est subordonné à son propre comportement. En d’autres termes, la personne perçoit que ce qui s’est passé à l’extérieur l’est grâce à son comportement et qu’elle maîtrise les conséquences extérieures. Par exemple, une personne avec un locus de contrôle interne attribue son bonheur à elle-même. Si vous voulez être heureux, vous pouvez y travailler.


Le locus du contrôle externe se produit lorsque la personne perçoit qu'un événement externe s'est produit indépendamment de son comportement. Par conséquent, l'individu s'associe au hasard, à la chance ou au destin, à l'événement qui s'est produit. Par exemple, une personne ayant un locus de contrôle externe attribue son bonheur à une autre personne ou à la situation.

Lieu de contrôle et développement personnel

Ce concept est important, car si une personne pense que ce qui se passe autour de lui ne dépend pas de lui, vous ne pouvez pas agir pour le changer . Par exemple, si une personne pense ne pas avoir le contrôle de l'élection du parti politique qui gouvernera dans son pays, elle ne peut rien faire pour la modifier ou même exercer son droit de vote. D'autre part, si une personne pense que son vote sera important pour l'élection d'un nouveau gouvernement, elle peut être incitée à changer le paysage politique et peut même aller manifester.


Le sentiment de ne pas pouvoir contrôler un événement génère souvent un état de paralysie qui empêche les gens d'atteindre les objectifs proposés.

Le locus de contrôle interne est également un aspect important du développement personnel, puisqu’une personne ayant un locus de contrôle interne croit en ses possibilités face à ce qui se passe à l’extérieur et sait que faire le plus grand effort ira loin.

Impuissance acquise: locus de contrôle externe

Dans notre article "Impuissance acquise: plonger dans la psychologie de la victime", nous expliquons le phénomène de Impuissance acquise . Selon César Ojeda, l’impuissance acquise "se réfère à la condition dans laquelle une personne ou un animal est inhibé dans des situations aversives ou douloureuses lorsque les actions pour l’éviter n’ont pas été fructueuses, pour finir par développer la passivité devant elles".

Par conséquent, l'impuissance acquise pourrait être une conséquence de l'individu ayant appris à se comporter passivement , sachant qu'il ne peut rien faire pour changer une situation négative même s'il existe de réelles possibilités de changement. La conséquence directe de cette attribution est la perte de réponse d'adaptation.

L'impuissance acquise est un concept largement utilisé en psychologie clinique, car elle est intimement associée aux états dépressifs. Plusieurs études acceptent cette hypothèse, par exemple, cette étude de l'Université catholique du Chili montre que les patients souffrant de dépression et d'anxiété ont des scores plus bas sur l'échelle du locus de contrôle de Rotter. En d’autres termes, les personnes sujettes à la dépression et à l’anxiété tendent vers le locus du contrôle externe.

Personnalité résistante: locus de contrôle interne

Selon le psychologue Bertrand Regader, "une personne résistante est une personne qui, malgré des problèmes et même des troubles qui pourraient être déstabilisés, est capable de conserver sa force, de résister et de survivre.Cette classe de sujets n’est pas à l’abri des événements de la vie que nous vivons tous, tels que la mort d’un être cher, une rupture sentimentale, une mauvaise situation de travail ... inverser la vie et tirer la force de la faiblesse pour continuer ".

Suzanne C. Kobasa, psychologue à l’Université de Chicago, a mené plusieurs études sur la personnalité difficile . Selon leurs conclusions, les personnes ayant ce type de personnalité présentent plusieurs caractéristiques. Ils ont tendance à être des personnes d'un grand engagement, d'un centre de contrôle interne, orientés vers le défi et plus ouverts aux changements.

Locus de contrôle interne et locus de contrôle externe au travail

Le locus de contrôle peut également affecter la performance du travail . Il est important de comprendre que le locus de contrôle est un continuum, personne n’est un locus de contrôle interne ou externe à 100%. Vous trouverez ci-dessous certaines caractéristiques des locus de contrôle interne et externe.

Les individus avec locus de contrôle interne :

  • Ils sont enclins à assumer la responsabilité de leurs actes
  • Ils sont moins influencés par les opinions des autres
  • Ils ont tendance à être plus performants lorsqu'ils peuvent travailler à leur rythme.
  • Ils ont un sentiment élevé d'auto-efficacité ou de confiance en soi
  • Ils se sentent en sécurité face aux défis
  • Ils ont tendance à être en meilleure santé
  • Ils ont tendance à être plus heureux et indépendants
  • Ils ont tendance à avoir plus de succès au travail

Les individus avec locus de contrôle externe :

  • Ils attribuent à la chance, au destin, aux circonstances ou à d’autres leurs succès
  • Ils ne croient pas que les situations défavorables peuvent changer
  • Ils sont plus susceptibles de souffrir d'impuissance acquise
  • Ils sont plus malheureux
  • Ils ont tendance à avoir moins de succès au travail

Références bibliographiques:

  • Rotter, J. B. (1966). Attentes généralisées en matière de contrôle interne et externe du renforcement.
  • Maddi, S. R. et Kobasa, S.C. (1984). The hardy executive: La santé en situation de stress Homewood, IL :: Dow Jones-Irwin.
  • //psychology.about.com/od/personalitydevelopment/fl/What-Is-Locus-of-Control.htm

Résoudre rapidement un exercice de génétique - SVT Terminale S - Les Bons Profs (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes