yes, therapy helps!
Can psychopathy be

Can psychopathy be "cured"?

November 28, 2022

When psychologists talk to someone about what psychopathy is and what it is not with someone, there are many questions that arise. There is one that always ends up coming out, since it may be the most interesting of all. Is it possible to treat these people psychologically effectively? Some talk about treating and others talk about healing, which are very different things.

For this article we are going to talk about what we know today about the prognosis of psychopathy from a clinical point of view. Remember that science is knowledge that constantly mutates, and what we know today may not be so true tomorrow. Made the warnings, let's see what the meta-analyzes say.


  • Related article: "Why is it so easy to fall in love with psychopaths?"

Ways to understand psychopathy

Unfortunately, Diagnostic manuals do not recognize psychopathy as a clinical entity . While these labels have many detractors - and rightly so - there is something they do serve. When the criteria of a disorder appear in a clear, exhaustive and orderly manner, this allows it to be investigated. And any research group that takes these criteria as reference, with almost total certainty will be studying the same phenomenon.

Psychopathy does not have this point of reference, so that each research group may be studying different definitions of psychopathy. There have been fruitful attempts to combine definitions and understand psychopathy as a set of traits that tend to occur at the same time. Perhaps the most widespread is that of Hervey Cleckley, who describes in an extensive way the clinical characteristics of the psychopath.


Robert Hare, later, identifies two factors in these descriptions main: to use others in a selfish, emotionally cold, hard and without remorse and on the other hand a chronically unstable type of life, marked by the transgression of standards and socially deviant.

Naturally, research about the effectiveness of treatment in psychopathy depends to a large extent on how we understand it. While most research uses the best known criteria, we must bear in mind that there is a part of the trials that may have measured psychopathy in different terms.

Is it incurable psychopathy?

Any student of psychology who has touched personality disorders has a kind of automatic spring that causes him to answer this question with a resounding "yes". There is a widespread belief that psychopathy is impossible to eradicate , something that also happens with antisocial personality disorder.


Effectively personality disorders are incurable, they do not remit in their entirety because they are exaggerated manifestations of normal personality traits. And in the same way that the personality is mutable to some extent , rigid personality patterns are also permeable only to a certain extent.

It is at this point that many times a leap of faith is made that is not entirely justified. That a mental disorder never remits does not mean that it can not respond to treatment. This is why we talk about treating, and not about healing. The truth is that the evidence on the treatment of psychopathy is not so strong.

The notion that this disorder is intractable may have originated through the psychoanalytic current , which suggests that personality is formed during the first 5 or 6 years of development and that it remains practically unchanged. But even within psychoanalysis this has been changing and the possibility of modification is conceived.

Hare himself proposed a theory of psychopathy that justified his status as "intractable". In this first theory says that psychopaths suffer an injury to the limbic system (located in the brain) that prevents them from inhibiting or interrupting their behavior. This also predicts that psychopaths are insensitive to punishment, that they never learn that an action can bring bad consequences. In a later revision of this theory, Hare described psychopaths as emotionally insensitive , with more difficulties to process the emotions of others.

What do the studies say?

All theory remains in speculation when we talk about therapeutic efficacy. When we want to find out if a disorder or phenomenon responds to different forms of treatment, the best way to find out is to put this hypothesis to the test.

Numerous research groups have shed the burden of clinical pessimism on psychopathy and carried out clinical trials to assess the viability of the treatments.

Main results

Surprisingly, most articles address the problem of psychopathy from psychoanalysis.Almost everyone understands the phenomenon as described by Cleckley, except for a few rehearsals. The cases treated by psychoanalytic therapy show a certain therapeutic success with respect to the control groups. This finding points in the direction that therapies focused on insight and on Disease awareness They could be beneficial for psychopaths.

Cognitive-behavioral therapies seem to be slightly more effective than psychoanalytic therapies. These therapies addressed issues such as thoughts about oneself, about others and about the world. In this way, some of the most dysfunctional characteristic features are treated. When the therapist combines the cognitive-behavioral approach and the insight-centered approach even higher therapeutic success rates are achieved .

The use of therapeutic communities has also been tried, but their results are only slightly higher than those of the control group. This is not surprising, because the therapeutic communities have little direct contact between therapist and client, which is what the psychopath really needs.

The use of medication to treat symptoms and behaviors characteristic of psychopathy, in the absence of a greater number of clinical trials, is promising. Unfortunately, the methodological precariousness of the studies in this regard and the small number of articles do not allow us to draw final conclusions on this issue.

  • Related article: "Types of psychological therapies"

Dismantling the myth

It is not necessary to believe fervently in the results of studies to realize that psychopathy is far from untreatable . Although we do not have specific programs that address all the dysfunctional aspects of the psychopath, we do have therapeutic tools to end the most maladaptive behaviors. If these therapeutic benefits are maintained over time it is something that remains in the air.

One of the fundamental problems that occurs in the treatment of psychopathy, as in other personality disorders, is that it is uncommon for the client to want to go to therapy . And even in the strange case that they come of their own volition, they are often resistant to change. At the end of the day we are going to ask the patient to introduce a series of personality changes that are not at all easy to implement and threaten their own identity.

With these patients it is necessary Do an intense work of awareness of illness and motivation for the previous change to the therapy itself. This extra effort wears both the patient and the therapist, which often ends up abandoning or unfairly labeling the patient as untreatable. The truth is that if we can not change a psychopath it is only because we have not yet found a way to achieve it.


Psychopaths: Can Their Brains Be Fixed? (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La psychopathie peut-elle être

La psychopathie peut-elle être "guérie"?

Août 2, 2022

Lorsque des psychologues parlent à quelqu'un de ce qu'est la psychopathie et de ce que ce n'est pas avec quelqu'un, de nombreuses questions se posent. Il y en a un qui finit toujours par sortir, car c'est peut-être le plus intéressant de tous. Est-il possible de traiter ces personnes psychologiquement efficacement? Certains parlent de traiter et d'autres de guérison, des choses très différentes.

Pour cet article, nous allons parler de ce que nous savons aujourd'hui sur le pronostic de la psychopathie d'un point de vue clinique. Rappelez-vous que la science est une connaissance qui mute constamment et que ce que nous savons aujourd'hui peut ne pas être aussi vrai demain. Faites les avertissements, voyons ce que disent les méta-analyses.


  • Article connexe: "Pourquoi est-il si facile de tomber amoureux des psychopathes?"

Manières de comprendre la psychopathie

Malheureusement, Les manuels de diagnostic ne reconnaissent pas la psychopathie en tant qu'entité clinique . Bien que ces étiquettes aient de nombreux détracteurs - et à juste titre - elles servent quelque chose. Lorsque les critères d'un trouble apparaissent de manière claire, exhaustive et ordonnée, cela permet de l'étudier. Et tout groupe de recherche prenant ces critères comme référence, avec une certitude presque totale, étudiera le même phénomène.

La psychopathie n’a pas ce point de référence, de sorte que chaque groupe de recherche peut étudier différentes définitions de la psychopathie. Il y a eu des tentatives fructueuses pour combiner les définitions et comprendre la psychopathie comme un ensemble de traits qui ont tendance à se produire en même temps. Le plus répandu est peut-être celui de Hervey Cleckley, qui décrit de manière détaillée les caractéristiques cliniques du psychopathe.


Robert Hare, plus tard, identifie deux facteurs dans ces descriptions principal: utiliser les autres dans un type de vie chroniquement instable, marqué par la transgression des normes et socialement déviant, dans un esprit égoïste, froid, émotif, dur et sans remords.

Naturellement, la recherche sur l'efficacité du traitement de la psychopathie dépend dans une large mesure de la façon dont nous la comprenons. Bien que la plupart des recherches utilisent les critères les plus connus, nous devons garder à l’esprit qu’une partie des essais a pu mesurer la psychopathie de manière différente.

Est-ce une psychopathie incurable?

Tout étudiant en psychologie qui a touché à des troubles de la personnalité a une sorte de ressort automatique qui le pousse à répondre à cette question par un «oui» retentissant. Il est largement admis que la psychopathie est impossible à éradiquer , quelque chose qui arrive aussi avec le trouble de la personnalité antisociale.


Effectivement, les troubles de la personnalité sont incurables, ils ne remettent pas dans leur intégralité car ils sont des manifestations exagérées de traits de personnalité normaux. Et de la même manière que la personnalité est modifiable dans une certaine mesure , les modèles de personnalité rigides ne sont également perméables que dans une certaine mesure.

C’est à ce stade qu’il est souvent fait un acte de foi qui n’est pas entièrement justifié. Qu'un trouble mental ne mette jamais de côté ne signifie pas qu'il ne peut pas réagir au traitement. C'est pourquoi nous parlons de traiter et non de guérir. La vérité est que les preuves sur le traitement de la psychopathie ne sont pas si solides.

La notion que ce trouble est intraitable peut provenir du courant psychanalytique , ce qui suggère que la personnalité se forme au cours des 5 ou 6 premières années de développement et qu’elle reste pratiquement inchangée. Mais même au sein de la psychanalyse, cela a changé et la possibilité de modification est conçue.

Hare lui-même a proposé une théorie de la psychopathie qui justifiait son statut d '"insoluble". Dans cette première théorie, on dit que les psychopathes souffrent d'une lésion du système limbique (situé dans le cerveau) qui les empêche d'inhiber ou d'interrompre leur comportement. Cela prédit également que les psychopathes sont insensibles à la punition, qu'ils n'apprennent jamais qu'une action peut avoir des conséquences néfastes. Dans une révision ultérieure de cette théorie, Hare a décrit les psychopathes comme insensibles aux émotions , avec plus de difficultés à traiter les émotions des autres.

Que disent les études?

Toute théorie reste spéculative quand on parle d'efficacité thérapeutique. Lorsque nous voulons savoir si un trouble ou un phénomène répond à différentes formes de traitement, le meilleur moyen de le savoir est de mettre cette hypothèse à l'épreuve.

De nombreux groupes de recherche ont allégé le fardeau du pessimisme clinique sur la psychopathie et effectué des essais cliniques pour évaluer la viabilité des traitements.

Principaux résultats

Étonnamment, la plupart des articles traitent du problème de la psychopathie psychanalytique.Presque tout le monde comprend le phénomène décrit par Cleckley, à l'exception de quelques répétitions. Les cas traités par thérapie psychanalytique montrent un certain succès thérapeutique vis-à-vis des groupes témoins. Cette constatation montre que les thérapies sont axées sur la compréhension et sur Prise de conscience de la maladie Ils pourraient être bénéfiques pour les psychopathes.

Les thérapies cognitivo-comportementales semblent légèrement plus efficaces que les thérapies psychanalytiques. Ces thérapies ont abordé des problèmes tels que des réflexions sur soi-même, sur les autres et sur le monde. De cette façon, certaines des caractéristiques les plus dysfonctionnelles sont traitées. Quand le thérapeute combine l'approche cognitivo-comportementale et l'approche centrée sur la compréhension des taux de succès thérapeutiques encore plus élevés sont atteints .

L'utilisation de communautés thérapeutiques a également été essayée, mais leurs résultats ne sont que légèrement supérieurs à ceux du groupe témoin. Cela n’est pas surprenant, car les communautés thérapeutiques ont peu de contacts directs entre le thérapeute et le client, ce dont le psychopathe a réellement besoin.

L'utilisation de médicaments Traiter les symptômes et les comportements caractéristiques de la psychopathie, en l’absence d’un plus grand nombre d’essais cliniques, est prometteur. Malheureusement, la précarité méthodologique des études à cet égard et le petit nombre d'articles ne nous permettent pas de tirer des conclusions définitives sur cette question.

  • Article connexe: "Types de thérapies psychologiques"

Démanteler le mythe

Il n’est pas nécessaire de croire avec ferveur aux résultats des études pour se rendre compte que la psychopathie est loin d'être incurable . Bien que nous n’ayons pas de programmes spécifiques qui abordent tous les aspects dysfonctionnels du psychopathe, nous disposons d’outils thérapeutiques pour mettre fin aux comportements les plus mésadaptés. Si ces avantages thérapeutiques sont maintenus au fil du temps, c'est quelque chose qui reste dans l'air.

L'un des problèmes fondamentaux qui se posent dans le traitement de la psychopathie, comme dans d'autres troubles de la personnalité, est que il est rare que le client veuille aller en thérapie . Et même dans le cas étrange où ils viennent de leur propre volonté, ils résistent souvent au changement. À la fin de la journée, nous allons demander au patient d’introduire une série de changements de personnalité qui sont difficiles à mettre en œuvre et qui menacent leur propre identité.

Avec ces patients il faut Faites un travail intense de prise de conscience de la maladie et de la motivation pour le changement précédent à la thérapie elle-même. Cet effort supplémentaire porte à la fois le patient et le thérapeute, qui finit souvent par abandonner ou qualifier injustement le patient de non traitable. La vérité est que si nous ne pouvons pas changer de psychopathe, c'est uniquement parce que nous n'avons pas encore trouvé le moyen de le réaliser.


Les Psychopathes, c'est quoi ? (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes