yes, therapy helps!
The 4 differences between Biofeedback and Neurofeedback

The 4 differences between Biofeedback and Neurofeedback

May 1, 2024

Although they may not be one of the best known procedures, biofeedback and neurofeedback are treatments that are gradually enjoying increasing applicability in different disorders, both medical and psychiatric. These are two techniques that are usually very associated, with neurofeedback being one of the types of biofeedback that exist. But despite this, there are some differences between the two concepts. In this way, we are going to dedicate the present article to talk about the differences between biofeedback and neurofeedback .

  • Maybe you are interested: "The 5 main technologies for the study of the brain"

Definition of both concepts

There are slight differences between neurofeedback and the rest of biofeedback types, but before being able to determine which are in the first place it is necessary to make a brief description of each of these concepts.


Biofeedback: basic description

It is known as biofeedback to that set of techniques used at the therapeutic level that base their functioning on the awareness of the biological and physiological processes It brings out our body in different problem situations. This awareness is carried out with the help of different procedures or technologies, and it is intended that after this the subject can not only recognize but also get to voluntarily control biological processes generally not conscious.

The main objectives of this technique are to acquire control over the physiological system, to learn to maintain the self-control of said system in the absence of biofeedback and to generalize said self-control.


The type of answers or biological elements that can be tried to regulate by means of this technique is very varied, being able to belong to practically any corporal system. Temperature, electrodermal activity, muscle control, heart rate or blood volume in a certain area are examples of this. Also the instruments used for their measurement are very variable . Based on the elements measured, we can find different types of biofeedback, being the electromyographic one of the most known (based on the activity of the muscles).

It has been used having a proven efficacy in different disorders and diseases, such as neurological, cardiac, muscular, intestinal, respiratory, chronic pain, allergies or psychological problems such as stress or anxiety.

  • You may be interested: "Chronic pain: the role of Mindfulness and Biofeedback in the treatment of persistent pain"

The neurofeedback

In regards to neurofeedback, we are facing a specialization of the previous technique which is based on the control of the electrophysiological activity of the brain itself. In other words, in this type of biofeedback the recording of brain electrical activity is used to train the subject in his control through his visualization.


The registered brain waves will be converted into a signal which will be used to teach control of brain activity patterns. It is possible that the pacient is taught directly his encephalogram or that this signal is previously analyzed and processed in such a way that it transforms into different visual stimuli (for example, numbers) or in topographic maps of the brain that allow to visualize in 3D the areas of the brain and its activity.

This type of biofeedback is very useful for training in various skills and for patients to observe their brain activity in disorders or problems such as insomnia, epilepsy, ADHD, Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, memory problems, lack of impulse control, learning problems, aphasias and other language problems or levels of anxiety or stress. Also in paralysis and paresthesias, eating disorders or urinary incontinence.

Main differences between biofeedback and neurofeedback

As we have seen through its definition biofeedback and neurofeedback are two techniques that present a lot of similarities, being in fact neurofeedback a type of biofeedback. But nevertheless, present a series of differential characteristics that could lead to separate both types of technique. Among them, the following stand out.

1. Level of specificity

One of the clearest differences and that is visible from the beginning of the article is the level of specificity of both techniques. Neurofeedback, also known as electroencephalographic biofeedback, is a specific type of biofeedback aimed at learning to control patterns of brain activity. The term biofeedback would encompass this and other types of biofeedback, being necessary to specify the type of biological information that will be worked .

2. Processes on which we work

Although the goal of both biofeedback and neurofeedback is to help patients learn to control unconscious processes in principle so that these processes do not escape their control and cause them harm, the truth is that the fields of application are something different from each other.

Usually, at the level of biofeedback usually work at the level of control of the chosen activity, that is, in learning to control respiratory or cardiac activity for example, or the influx of blood to certain parts of the body. It It can also be used at the psychological level to reduce levels of anxiety or stress , but mainly applies to corporal aspects.

However, neurofeedback tries to give some control over the level of brain activation. Although this includes certain corporality, the aspects on which they are going to affect especially are mainly mental, having to control the mental activation to be able to introduce changes in the cerebral pattern.

3. Level of complexity

Another possible difference between neurofeedback and other types of biofeedback occurs in the level of complexity involved in measuring and using the technique. And although muscular or even respiratory control is a concept that is not strange and it is easy to visualize how to perform it (although it may be more complex than it seems), the same does not happen when we talk about brain activity patterns. We are not used to trying to exercise some control over this organ, and it may be somewhat abstract to understand that certain ways of acting correspond to the stimulus that is presented to us.

4. Technical difficulties

The aforementioned complexity can not only on a practical level, but also methodologically . And it is that registering correctly the encephalographic activity and also pointing out the areas responsible for it presents more difficulties than the registration of other types of activities, even though at the present time there is more and more knowledge of the cartography and the knowledge of the cerebral functioning.

We must also bear in mind that the activity necessary to activate certain brain reactions in each brain it can vary enormously depending on the nervous configuration or even the personality of the patient.

Bibliographic references:

  • Carrobles, J.A. (2016). Bio / neurofeedback. Clinic and Health, 27 (3): 125-131.

Neurofeedback vs Biofeedback: A Definitive look! (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 4 différences entre le biofeedback et le neurofeedback

Les 4 différences entre le biofeedback et le neurofeedback

Septembre 16, 2022

Bien qu’ils ne constituent peut-être pas l’une des procédures les plus connues, le biofeedback et le neurofeedback sont des traitements qui bénéficient progressivement d’une applicabilité croissante dans différents troubles, à la fois médicaux et psychiatriques. Ce sont deux techniques généralement très associées, le neurofeedback étant l’un des types de biofeedback existants. Malgré cela, il existe des différences entre les deux concepts. De cette façon, nous allons consacrer le présent article à parler de les différences entre biofeedback et neurofeedback .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 5 principales technologies pour l'étude du cerveau"

Définition des deux concepts

Il existe de légères différences entre le neurofeedback et le reste des types de biofeedback, mais avant de pouvoir déterminer lesquels sont en premier lieu, il est nécessaire de décrire brièvement chacun de ces concepts.


Biofeedback: description de base

On appelle biofeedback cet ensemble de techniques utilisées au niveau thérapeutique qui basent leur fonctionnement sur la prise de conscience des processus biologiques et physiologiques Cela fait ressortir notre corps dans différentes situations problématiques. Cette prise de conscience est réalisée à l'aide de différentes procédures ou technologies et il est prévu qu'après cela, le sujet puisse non seulement reconnaître, mais aussi contrôler volontairement des processus biologiques généralement inconscients.

Les objectifs principaux de cette technique sont d’acquérir le contrôle du système physiologique, d’apprendre à maintenir la maîtrise de soi dudit système en l’absence de rétroaction biologique et de généraliser ladite maîtrise de soi.


Le type de réponses ou d’éléments biologiques que l’on peut essayer de régler à l’aide de cette technique est très varié, pouvant appartenir à pratiquement tous les systèmes corporels. La température, l'activité électrodermique, le contrôle musculaire, la fréquence cardiaque ou le volume sanguin dans une zone donnée en sont des exemples. Aussi les instruments utilisés pour leur mesure sont très variables . Sur la base des éléments mesurés, on peut trouver différents types de biofeedback, l'électromyographie étant l'un des plus connus (basé sur l'activité des muscles).

Il a été utilisé avec une efficacité prouvée dans différents troubles et maladies, tels que les maladies neurologiques, cardiaques, musculaires, intestinales, respiratoires, chroniques, les allergies ou les problèmes psychologiques tels que le stress ou l'anxiété.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Douleur chronique: le rôle de la pleine conscience et du biofeedback dans le traitement de la douleur persistante"

Le neurofeedback

En ce qui concerne le neurofeedback, nous sommes confrontés une spécialisation de la technique précédente qui repose sur le contrôle de l'activité électrophysiologique du cerveau lui-même. En d’autres termes, dans ce type de biofeedback, l’enregistrement de l’activité électrique cérébrale est utilisé pour former le sujet à son contrôle grâce à sa visualisation.


Les ondes cérébrales enregistrées seront converties en un signal qui sera utilisé pour enseigner le contrôle des schémas d'activité cérébrale. Il est possible que le patient apprenne directement son encéphalogramme ou que ce signal soit préalablement analysé et traité de manière à ce qu'il se transforme en différents stimuli visuels (par exemple, des nombres) ou en cartes topographiques du cerveau permettant de visualiser en 3D les zones du cerveau et de son activité.

Ce type de biofeedback est très utile pour la formation dans diverses compétences et pour les patients d'observer leur activité cérébrale dans les troubles ou des problèmes tels que l'insomnie, l'épilepsie, le TDAH, le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif, le trouble de stress post-traumatique, les problèmes de mémoire, le manque de contrôle des impulsions, des problèmes d'apprentissage, l'aphasie et d'autres problèmes de langage ou encore des niveaux d'anxiété ou de stress. Également en cas de paralysie et de paresthésies, de troubles de l'alimentation ou d'incontinence urinaire.

Principales différences entre le biofeedback et le neurofeedback

Comme nous l'avons vu à travers sa définition, le biofeedback et le neurofeedback sont deux techniques qui présentent beaucoup de similitudes, étant en fait un type de biofeedback. Cependant, présenter une série de caractéristiques différentielles cela pourrait conduire à séparer les deux types de technique. Parmi eux, les suivants se démarquent.

1. Niveau de spécificité

L'une des différences les plus évidentes et visible dès le début de l'article est le niveau de spécificité des deux techniques. Le neurofeedback, également connu sous le nom de biofeedback électroencéphalographique, est un type spécifique de biofeedback visant à apprendre à contrôler les schémas de l'activité cérébrale. Le terme biofeedback engloberait ce type de biofeedback et d’autres, étant nécessaire de spécifier le type d'informations biologiques qui seront travaillées .

2. Processus sur lesquels nous travaillons

Bien que l'objectif du biofeedback et du neurofeedback soit d'aider les patients à apprendre à contrôler les processus inconscients de manière à ce que ces processus n'échappent pas à leur contrôle et ne leur causent des dommages, la vérité est que les champs d'application sont les suivants: quelque chose de différent les uns des autres.

Habituellement, au niveau du biofeedback, vous travaillez habituellement au niveau de contrôle de l’activité choisie, c’est-à-dire pour apprendre à contrôler l’activité respiratoire ou cardiaque, par exemple, ou l’afflux de sang dans certaines parties du corps. Il Il peut également être utilisé au niveau psychologique pour réduire les niveaux d'anxiété ou de stress , mais s’applique principalement aux aspects corporels.

Cependant, le neurofeedback tente de donner un certain contrôle sur le niveau d'activation du cerveau. Bien que cela inclue certaines corporalités, les aspects sur lesquels ils vont surtout s’affecter sont essentiellement mentaux, devant contrôler l’activation mentale pour pouvoir introduire des changements dans le schéma cérébral.

3. Niveau de complexité

Une autre différence possible entre le neurofeedback et les autres types de biofeedback réside dans le niveau de complexité impliqué dans la mesure et l'utilisation de la technique. Et bien que le contrôle musculaire ou même respiratoire soit un concept qui ne soit pas étrange et qu'il soit facile de visualiser comment l'exécuter (même s'il peut être plus complexe qu'il n'y paraît), la même chose ne se produit pas lorsque nous parlons de schémas d'activité cérébrale. Nous n’avons pas l’habitude d’essayer d’exercer un contrôle sur cet organe et il est peut-être quelque peu abstrait de comprendre que certaines façons d’agir correspondent au stimulus qui nous est présenté.

4. Difficultés techniques

La complexité susmentionnée peut non seulement sur le plan pratique, mais aussi méthodologiquement . Et c’est que l’enregistrement correct de l’activité encéphalographique et la détermination des zones qui en sont responsables présentent plus de difficultés que l’enregistrement d’autres types d’activités, même si, à l’heure actuelle, on connaît de plus en plus la cartographie et le fonctionnement cérébral.

Nous devons également garder à l'esprit que l'activité nécessaire pour activer certaines réactions du cerveau dans chaque cerveau il peut varier énormément en fonction de la configuration nerveuse ou même la personnalité du patient.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Carrobles, J.A. (2016). Bio / neurofeedback. Clinic and Health, 27 (3): 125-131.

EEG vs HEG (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes