yes, therapy helps!
Henri Wallon: biography of the founder of Genetic Psychology

Henri Wallon: biography of the founder of Genetic Psychology

January 25, 2022

The genetic perspective is one of the essential features that define the psychology of Henri Wallon . We can say that he is the founder of genetic psychology, an original way of understanding the mind of the individual through its history.

Let's review the most important key ideas to understand Wallon's ambitious theory about how the human mind is generated and developed from childhood and the first stages of growth. We will review his biography and his main discoveries and theories.

Biography of Henri Wallon

Wallon, a French psychologist and philosopher born in 1879 and died in 1962, is considered a "forgotten founder" of modern psychology, along with Freud and Piaget. Probably due to his Marxist ideology, which permeates all his theory, and the importance that other works of the time translated into English.


Wallon believed that it was not possible to study the mind in a way that was not joint . While the structuralists tried to study each component of the mind separately, he combined affectivity and intelligence and studied the psyche as a whole.

It manages to end the classic dualism of psychology: the psychology of the mind, of the mental functions, versus the more physical psychology, that of the study of the nervous system. Wallon insists that both aspects not only coexist but complement each other. It is impossible to understand the human being if it is not through his faculties and his nervous system.

This conciliation of opposites is called dialectical materialism, a Marxist heritage. That is why, when we speak of Wallon, we say that he is a dialectic-genetic psychologist. Dialectical because it proposes a "dialogue" between the traditionally opposed, and genetic because the most important thing to understand the mind is to conceive it from the genesis.


Genetic Psychology

What exactly do we understand by Genetic Psychology? Henri Wallon himself defined it with the following statement: "Genetic psychology is the one that studies the psyche in its formation and in its transformations".

Wallon's genetic psychology is an original method of analysis. Like his contemporary Piaget, he criticized the ahistorical approach of Gestalt psychologists. Wallon was very aware of the need to study the mind and its development since birth to understand it as it occurs in adulthood, as the result of a history of transformations. Here he draws a parallel with Vygotsky, who also emphasizes the discovery of the genesis of behavior to explain its development.

So, is Wallon a child psychologist? Although he spoke of the human mind through the characteristics of the child, he did so because he affirmed that only through the understanding of the infantile psyche and its evolution could the adult mind be known. That it did not make sense to study the psychology of the adult man once formed and consolidated, would be like trying to learn how a picture is painted contemplating it once finished.


The development of the child according to Wallon

Wallon assumes a series of principles that mark development. For him, although the evolution of the child occurs in many directions at once, there is always a function that stands out and is characteristic of each stage.

Nor is he in favor of a quantitative approach to development. Many psychologists understood the child as an adult who still lacks some specific functions, an egocentric posture that sees the infant as a potential adult who adds developmental milestones. Wallon defends that it is necessary to see the development as it is, and not for what "will become", observing the respective evolutionary stages and taking into account the differences between them.

Wallon realizes that development is not a continuous line; the characteristic activities of one stage do not always continue in the next, often others arise that substitute them or become contrary. It proposes that the development is oscillating: each stage is marked by an orientation towards the inside or the outside, and this characteristic alternates in each stage.

1. Stage of motor impulsivity (0-6 months)

The stage is named after the main activity the child performs: responding to external and internal impulses and executing movements as a form of energy discharge. It is an inward-oriented, or centripetal, phase as Wallon says.

2. Stage of emotional development (7-12 months)

In this centripetal stage, the child develops the emotional responses that will allow him to interact with his social environment in the most primitive way.Children, through emotional expression, establish contact with others and gradually become part of a world of shared meanings.

For Wallon emotions have their origin in the internal sensations experienced by the newborn, or even the fetus. These global affective states are reflected in motor activities (for example, in the child shaking the arms when he is happy) that others interpret as a representation of an internal state, emphasizing the social function. It is through this socialization that emotions go from being simple physiological reactions to communicative expressions.

3. Sensorimotor and projective stage (2-3 years)

In this stage the child begins to explore the physical world that surrounds him thanks to the new linguistic and locomotion skills. It is, therefore, a centrifugal stage. According to Wallon, the infant feels the need to investigate his surroundings. Since the sensitivity is already well developed, it will do so through the senses. He will pick up objects and take them to his mouth to explore them better.

It is at this stage, moreover, that he participates in what Wallon calls "alternating games". They are turn-based games where the child alternates between two poles of the same situation: active and passive positions. For example, play catch and then play to be caught, hide and then look for the hiding, throw a ball and receive it. This reflects the child's ability to separate their existence from that of others. To recognize yourself as an "I" and begin to crystallize your ego differently from the others.

4. Personalism stage (3-6 years)

It is a centripetal stage marked by individualism. The use of the first person, the appropriation of all the objects he sees and the opposition are a reflection of the crystallization of the child's ego. The infant begins to exhibit narcissistic characteristics and seeks the approval of others. Ultimately, not content with his own behavior, he begins to look for patterns of behavior in others and acquires a new repertoire through imitation.

5. Category stage (6-11 years)

The last stage of childhood is characterized by the use of the intellectual rather than the affective. Schooling allows intellectual skills such as memory and attention to take center stage. As intelligence develops, it is able to create categories and, later on, to think abstractly.


Theory of multiple intelligences | Wikipedia audio article (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Henri Wallon: biographie du fondateur de la psychologie génétique

Henri Wallon: biographie du fondateur de la psychologie génétique

Septembre 18, 2019

La perspective génétique est l'une des caractéristiques essentielles qui définissent la psychologie de Henri Wallon . On peut dire qu'il est le fondateur de la psychologie génétique, une manière originale de comprendre l'esprit de l'individu à travers son histoire.

Passons en revue les idées clés les plus importantes pour comprendre la théorie ambitieuse de Wallon sur la manière dont l’esprit humain est généré et développé dès l’enfance et dès les premières étapes de la croissance. Nous passerons en revue sa biographie et ses principales découvertes et théories.

Biographie de Henri Wallon

Wallon, un psychologue et philosophe français né en 1879 et décédé en 1962, est considéré, avec Freud et Piaget, comme un "fondateur oublié" de la psychologie moderne. Probablement en raison de son idéologie marxiste, qui imprègne toute sa théorie, et de l’importance que d’autres travaux de l’époque ont traduite en anglais.


Wallon a estimé qu'il n'était pas possible d'étudier l'esprit d'une manière qui ne soit pas conjointe . Tandis que les structuralistes essayaient d'étudier chaque composant de l'esprit séparément, il combinait affectivité et intelligence et étudiait la psyché dans son ensemble.

Il parvient à mettre fin au dualisme classique de la psychologie: la psychologie de l'esprit, des fonctions mentales, par opposition à la psychologie plus physique, celle de l'étude du système nerveux. Wallon insiste sur le fait que les deux aspects non seulement coexistent mais se complètent. Il est impossible de comprendre l'être humain sans passer par ses facultés et son système nerveux.

Cette conciliation des contraires s'appelle le matérialisme dialectique, un héritage marxiste. C'est pourquoi, quand on parle de Wallon, on dit qu'il est un psychologue dialecto-génétique. Dialectique parce qu'il propose un "dialogue" entre les peuples traditionnellement opposés et génétique car le plus important pour comprendre l'esprit est de le concevoir à partir de la genèse.


Psychologie génétique

Que comprenons-nous exactement par psychologie génétique? Henri Wallon lui-même le définit comme suit: "La psychologie génétique étudie la psyché dans sa formation et dans ses transformations".

La psychologie génétique de Wallon est une méthode d'analyse originale. A l'instar de son contemporain Piaget, il a critiqué l'approche ahistorique des psychologues de la Gestalt. Wallon était très conscient de la nécessité d'étudier l'esprit et son développement depuis la naissance pour le comprendre tel qu'il se produit à l'âge adulte, à la suite d'une histoire de transformations. Il établit ici un parallèle avec Vygotsky, qui insiste également sur la découverte de la genèse du comportement pour expliquer son développement.

Wallon est-il psychologue pour enfants? Bien qu'il ait parlé de l'esprit humain à travers les caractéristiques de l'enfant, il l'a fait parce qu'il affirmait que seule la compréhension de la psyché infantile et de son évolution pouvait permettre de connaître l'esprit adulte. Le fait d’étudier la psychologie de l’homme adulte une fois formé et consolidé n’était pas logique, c’est comme essayer d’apprendre comment un tableau est peint et le contempler ensuite.


Le développement de l'enfant selon Wallon

Wallon assume une série de principes qui marquent le développement. Pour lui, bien que l'évolution de l'enfant se déroule dans plusieurs directions à la fois, il y a toujours une fonction qui se démarque et qui est caractéristique de chaque étape.

Il n'est pas non plus en faveur d'une approche quantitative du développement. De nombreux psychologues ont compris que l'enfant était un adulte à qui il manquait encore certaines fonctions spécifiques, une posture égocentrique qui le considérait comme un adulte potentiel qui ajoute des étapes de développement. Wallon défend qu'il est nécessaire de voir le développement tel qu'il est, et non pour ce qui va "devenir", en observant les étapes d'évolution respectives et en tenant compte des différences entre eux.

Wallon se rend compte que le développement n'est pas une ligne continue; les activités caractéristiques d’une étape ne se poursuivent pas toujours à l’autre, mais il en surgit souvent d’autres qui se substituent à elles ou deviennent contraires. Elle propose que le développement oscille: chaque étage est marqué par une orientation vers l'intérieur ou l'extérieur et cette caractéristique alterne entre chaque étage.

1. Stade de l'impulsivité motrice (0 à 6 mois)

L'étape est nommée d'après l'activité principale exercée par l'enfant: répondre aux impulsions internes et externes et exécuter des mouvements sous forme de décharge d'énergie. C'est une phase tournée vers l'intérieur, ou centripète, comme dit Wallon.

2. Stade de développement émotionnel (7-12 mois)

À ce stade centripète, l'enfant développe les réponses émotionnelles qui lui permettront d'interagir avec son environnement social de la manière la plus primitive.Les enfants, par l'expression émotionnelle, établissent un contact avec les autres et deviennent progressivement partie intégrante d'un monde de significations partagées.

Pour Wallon, les émotions ont leur origine dans les sensations internes ressenties par le nouveau-né, voire par le fœtus. Ces états affectifs globaux se reflètent dans des activités motrices (par exemple, l'enfant qui serre les bras lorsqu'il est heureux) que d'autres interprètent comme une représentation d'un état interne, mettant l'accent sur la fonction sociale. C'est à travers cette socialisation que les émotions passent de simples réactions physiologiques à des expressions de communication.

3. Stade sensorimoteur et projectif (2-3 ans)

À ce stade, l’enfant commence à explorer le monde physique qui l’entoure grâce aux nouvelles compétences linguistiques et de locomotion. C'est donc une étape centrifuge. Selon Wallon, le nourrisson ressent le besoin d'enquêter sur son environnement. Comme la sensibilité est déjà bien développée, elle le fera par les sens. Il ramassera des objets et les portera à sa bouche pour mieux les explorer.

C'est à ce stade, d'ailleurs, qu'il participe à ce que Wallon appelle "des jeux en alternance". Ce sont des jeux au tour par tour où l’enfant alterne entre deux pôles de la même situation: les positions actives et passives. Par exemple, jouez attrapé puis jouez pour être attrapé, cachez-vous puis cherchez la cachette, lancez une balle et recevez-la. Cela reflète la capacité de l'enfant à séparer son existence de celle des autres. Pour vous reconnaître comme un "je" et commencer à cristalliser votre ego différemment des autres.

4. Stade de personnalisme (3-6 ans)

C'est un stade centripète marqué par l'individualisme. L'utilisation de la première personne, l'appropriation de tous les objets qu'il voit et l'opposition sont le reflet de la cristallisation du moi de l'enfant. L'enfant commence à présenter des caractéristiques narcissiques et cherche l'approbation des autres. En fin de compte, non content de son propre comportement, il commence à rechercher des modèles de comportement chez les autres et acquiert un nouveau répertoire par imitation.

5. Phase de catégorie (6-11 ans)

Le dernier stade de l’enfance est caractérisé par l’utilisation de l’intellectuel plutôt que par l’affectif. La scolarisation permet aux compétences intellectuelles telles que la mémoire et l'attention de prendre une place centrale Au fur et à mesure que l'intelligence se développe, elle est capable de créer des catégories et, plus tard, de penser de manière abstraite.


Henri Tournelle - Authentique - Conte wallon / borain (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes