yes, therapy helps!
The 4 differences between rape and sexual abuse

The 4 differences between rape and sexual abuse

April 30, 2024

The existence of sexual abuse and aggressions is unfortunately a reality even to this day. It is not uncommon for us to be able to read the news or read in a newspaper the occurrence of a case.

When we talk about these phenomena, we frequently use terms such as sexual abuse or rape, using them as synonyms. However, in reality both concepts do not necessarily imply the same thing. In this article we will see what they are The main differences between rape and sexual abuse .

  • Related article: "The causes and effects of gender violence"

Rape and sexual abuse: conceptualizing

Both rape and sexual abuse they are both sexual crimes typified and punishable by law , which can cause their victims great damages and physical and psychological, temporary or permanent consequences.


In both cases they are observed sexual behavior and aggressive that are carried out without one of the parties consent. The psychological effects that the experience of this type of acts has are far reaching in time.

This happens in both cases, can generate feelings of helplessness (the victim has been attacked or someone he trusted has taken advantage of them), decreased self-esteem and may even generate disorders such as post-traumatic stress, personality changes, distrust and suspicion towards others, alterations of affective bonding and sexuality, anxiety or depression or suicide attempts, among others.


While rape could be considered a type of sexual abuse, and is often identified as such, there are differences. In fact, the truth is that usually it is not identified as such but rather as sexual assault. To see the differences clearer, it is first necessary to define each of the terms first.

Violation

It is understood as rape the performance of intercourse or sexual act carried out by force or intimidation , not allowing one of the parties involved or not having the means to be able to consent (for example, for having been supplied with drugs or for being in an altered state of consciousness).

In addition, the concept of violation supposes the existence of penetration , this can be vaginal, anal or oral. In the first two, it is not necessary for the aggressor to use the genitals, being also rape when penetrating with other parts of the body or even objects.


In general, rape occurs through the use of violence, being an act of sexual assault in which physical contact occurs . The target of the attacker can be multiple, not specifying that it is to obtain sexual gratification. In fact, often the aggressor seeks to satisfy his need for power independently, using sex as an element of domination of the victim.

Sexual abuse

Sexual abuse refers to any act carried out by one or more persons and involving the limitation of sexual freedom of another or others without the latter consent or can / have the capacity to consent. As an abuse, it requires that the attacking party make use of some characteristic, power or situation that puts his victim at a disadvantage. Physical violence is not used (in which case we would be facing sexual assault), but the abuser uses manipulation, deception, surprise or even coercion to achieve your goals.

There are many acts that involve sexual abuse: touching, masturbation, harassment, forcing someone to observe the performance of sexual activities or forcing the victim to show their body using a position of superiority are examples of this. The most prototypical are the touching. Some paraphilias like the frotismo or the exhibitionism they could be considered as such.

Also included as sexual abuse is the fact carry out forced activities or against the will of the affected party even when you have agreed to have sexual relations voluntarily. For example, stealthing would be categorized and punishable as sexual abuse.

  • Related article: "The 11 types of violence (and the different kinds of aggression)"

Main differences between rape and sexual abuse

Although related, sexual abuse and rape do not imply the same, there being some key differences between them. Below are some of them.

1. Use of physical violence

The main difference that distinguishes both concepts is the presence or absence of physical violence and intimidation , understanding physical violence as actions aimed at preventing the movements of the other person or causing pain and injury.

In sexual abuse Force or physical violence is not necessarily used to subject the abused person (although it may appear in some cases). For example, persuasion or ignorance of what is happening can be used (this is what happens in most cases of child sexual abuse or disabled).

However, in the case of rape, such as sexual assault, the use of force, intimidation or the use of force is generally employed. substances that put the victim in a situation of vulnerability by not being able to consent or deny or diminish their state of consciousness.

2. Existence of forced penetration

In addition to whether or not violence appears, one of the main characteristics of the violation is that it necessarily includes penetration or carnal access (either with body parts or objects) forced or induced against the will of the aggrieved party .

In sexual abuse, however, there is no need for penetration. As we have said, it is considered as such any act that coerces sexual freedom through means other than physical violence, not being necessary for it necessary that there is a physical contact between both subjects or that if it occurs is carried out with the intention to consummate the sexual act.

However, it must be taken into account that sexual relations can be maintained and considered abuse if what mediates is not violence but manipulation or the use of superiority , as in rape (in this case it is still considered abuse even if the victim is conscious).

3. Perception of the facts

Another clear difference is given to the victims' perception of the facts. The victim of rape is almost always aware of what is happening and that he has suffered an aggression from the moment it occurs (unless we are talking about a case in which substances that alter consciousness have been used). Although in many cases they do not do it out of fear or other circumstances, they are usually aware that they have been victims of a crime and that they should report or explain it to someone.

However, although in many cases of sexual abuse the victim is aware of being abused, in many others it may not be.

It is also possible that you do not live initially as something adverse, not knowing what it implies or the seriousness of the facts. That is precisely what happens in some cases of sexual abuse of minors in which initially the minor can believe that it is a secret game between the abuser and him, not being aware of what actually happened until much later.

  • Related article: "Differences between pedophilia and pederasty"

4. Penalties imposed

Both types of crime are serious and punishable by law, but we usually find that acts of sexual assault are more punishable than those of abuse . For example, rape is punishable by between six and twelve years in prison (extendable if certain aggravating circumstances occur).

In sexual abuse the penalty to apply will vary greatly according to the type of act performed. In the event that there is sexual intercourse or some type of penetration the penalties will oscillate between four and ten years.

Violence through domination and sex

It should be noted that both violations and sexual abuse can be understood as the result of serious behavioral problems and adaptation to society, which relates these actions to paraphilia. Attackers are people who express their violent impulses and their search for the domination of others through violence and manipulation.

But nevertheless, that does not mean that its causes are neurological : many times, these disorders appear as a consequence of a deficient socialization process.


Men Need To Talk About Their Sexual Abuse | Seth Shelley | TEDxUNBC (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 4 différences entre viol et abus sexuel

Les 4 différences entre viol et abus sexuel

Juillet 27, 2022

L'existence d'abus sexuels et d'agressions sexuelles est malheureusement une réalité même à ce jour. Il n’est pas rare que nous puissions lire les nouvelles ou lire dans un journal l’occurrence d’un cas.

Lorsque nous parlons de ces phénomènes, nous utilisons fréquemment des termes tels que abus sexuel ou viol, mais nous les utilisons comme synonymes, mais en réalité, ces deux concepts n'impliquent pas nécessairement la même chose. Dans cet article, nous verrons ce qu'ils sont Les principales différences entre le viol et les abus sexuels .

  • Article connexe: "Les causes et les effets de la violence sexiste"

Viol et abus sexuel: conceptualiser

Le viol et l'abus sexuel ils sont à la fois des crimes sexuels qualifiés et punissables par la loi , qui peuvent causer à leurs victimes de grands dommages et des conséquences physiques et psychologiques, temporaires ou permanentes.


Dans les deux cas, ils sont observés comportement sexuel et agressif qui sont effectuées sans le consentement de l'une des parties. Les effets psychologiques de l’expérience de ce type d’actes sont considérables dans le temps.

Cela se produit dans les deux cas, peut générer des sentiments d'impuissance (la victime a été agressée ou une personne de confiance en a profité), a diminué l'estime de soi et peut même générer des troubles tels que stress post-traumatique, changements de personnalité, méfiance et méfiance à l'égard des autres, altération des liens affectifs et la sexualité, l'anxiété ou la dépression ou les tentatives de suicide, entre autres.


Bien que le viol puisse être considéré comme un type d'abus sexuel et soit souvent identifié comme tel, il existe des différences. En fait, la vérité est qu’il n’est généralement pas identifié comme tel, mais plutôt comme une agression sexuelle. Pour voir les différences plus clairement, il est d'abord nécessaire de définir d'abord chacun des termes.

Le viol

C'est compris comme un viol la réalisation de rapports sexuels ou d'actes sexuels commis de force ou d'intimidation , ne permettant à aucune des parties impliquées ou n'ayant pas les moyens de pouvoir donner son consentement (par exemple, pour avoir été approvisionné en drogue ou pour être dans un état de conscience altéré).

En outre, le concept de violation suppose l'existence d'une pénétration , cela peut être vaginal, anal ou oral. Dans les deux premiers cas, il n'est pas nécessaire que l'agresseur utilise les organes génitaux, étant également un viol lors de la pénétration avec d'autres parties du corps ou même des objets.


En général, le viol se produit par le recours à la violence, constituant un acte d'agression sexuelle dans lequel se produit un contact physique . La cible de l'attaquant peut être multiple, sans préciser que c'est pour obtenir une gratification sexuelle. En fait, l'agresseur cherche souvent à satisfaire son besoin de pouvoir de manière indépendante, en utilisant le sexe comme élément de domination de la victime.

Abus sexuel

Par abus sexuel, on entend tout acte commis par une ou plusieurs personnes et impliquant la limitation de la liberté sexuelle d’une autre personne ou d’autres sans le consentement de celui-ci ou pouvant / ayant la capacité de consentir. En tant qu'abus, il faut que la partie attaquante utilise une caractéristique, un pouvoir ou une situation défavorisant sa victime. La violence physique n'est pas utilisée (dans ce cas, nous serions confrontés à une agression sexuelle), mais l'agresseur a recours à la manipulation, à la tromperie, à la surprise ou même à la contrainte pour atteindre vos objectifs.

De nombreux actes impliquant des abus sexuels: toucher, masturbation, harcèlement, contraindre quelqu'un à observer le déroulement d'activités sexuelles ou obliger la victime à montrer son corps en utilisant une position de supériorité en sont des exemples. Les plus prototypiques sont les touchants. Quelques paraphilies comme le frotismo ou l'exhibitionnisme ils pourraient être considérés comme tels.

Le fait que l'abus sexuel soit également inclus mener des activités forcées ou contre la volonté de la partie touchée même quand vous avez accepté d'avoir des relations sexuelles volontairement. Par exemple, la furtivité serait classée et punissable d’abus sexuel.

  • Article connexe: "Les 11 types de violence (et les différents types d'agression)"

Principales différences entre le viol et les abus sexuels

Bien que liés, l'abus sexuel et le viol n'impliquent pas la même chose, il existe cependant des différences essentielles. En voici quelques uns.

1. Recours à la violence physique

La principale différence qui distingue les deux concepts est la présence ou l'absence de violence physique et d'intimidation , comprendre la violence physique comme des actions visant à empêcher les mouvements de l’autre personne ou à causer des douleurs et des blessures.

En abus sexuel La force ou la violence physique n'est pas nécessairement utilisée de soumettre la personne victime de violence (même si cela peut apparaître dans certains cas). Par exemple, la persuasion ou l'ignorance de ce qui se passe peut être utilisée (c'est ce qui se passe dans la plupart des cas d'abus sexuel sur un enfant ou d'invalide).

Cependant, en cas de viol, comme une agression sexuelle, le recours à la force, l’intimidation ou le recours à la force est généralement employé. substances qui mettent la victime en situation de vulnérabilité en ne pouvant pas consentir ou nier ou diminuer leur état de conscience.

2. Existence de pénétration forcée

Outre la présence ou non de violence, l’une des caractéristiques principales de la violation est qu’elle inclut nécessairement la pénétration ou l’accès charnel (avec des parties du corps ou des objets), forcé ou provoqué. contre la volonté de la partie lésée .

En cas d'abus sexuel, cependant, il n'est pas nécessaire de pénétration. Comme nous l'avons dit, est considéré comme tel tout acte qui contraint la liberté sexuelle par des moyens autres que la violence physique, sans qu'il soit nécessaire qu'il y ait un contact physique entre les deux sujets ou que, le cas échéant, il se produit intention de consommer l'acte sexuel.

Cependant, il faut tenir compte du fait que les relations sexuelles peuvent être maintenues et considérées comme un abus si la médiation n'est pas la violence mais la manipulation ou l'utilisation de la supériorité , comme dans le cas de viol (dans ce cas, il est toujours considéré comme un abus même si la victime est consciente).

3. Perception des faits

Une autre différence évidente est donnée à la perception des faits par les victimes. La victime d'un viol est presque toujours au courant de ce qui se passe et du fait qu'elle a subi une agression dès l'instant où elle se produit (à moins qu'il s'agisse d'un cas dans lequel des substances altérant la conscience ont été utilisées). Bien que dans de nombreux cas, ils ne le fassent pas par peur ou par d’autres circonstances, ils savent généralement qu'ils ont été victimes d'un crime et qu'ils devraient le signaler ou l'expliquer à quelqu'un.

Cependant, bien que dans de nombreux cas d’abus sexuel, la victime soit consciente de l’abus, dans de nombreux autres cas, cela n’est peut-être pas le cas.

Il est également possible que vous ne viviez pas initialement comme un élément défavorable, sans savoir ce que cela implique ou la gravité des faits. C’est précisément ce qui se produit dans certains cas d’abus sexuel de mineurs dans lequel au début, le mineur peut croire que c'est un jeu secret entre l'agresseur et lui, ne sachant ce qui s'est réellement passé que beaucoup plus tard.

  • Article connexe: "Différences entre pédophilie et pédérastie"

4. Sanctions infligées

Les deux types de crimes sont graves et punissables par la loi, mais on constate généralement que les agressions sexuelles sont plus punissables que les abus . Par exemple, le viol est punissable de six à douze ans d'emprisonnement (peut être prolongé si certaines circonstances aggravantes se produisent).

En abus sexuel la pénalité à appliquer variera grandement selon le type d'acte accompli. En cas de relation sexuelle ou de pénétration, les peines encourues vont de quatre à dix ans.

La violence par la domination et le sexe

Il convient de noter que les violations et les abus sexuels peuvent être compris comme le résultat de graves problèmes de comportement et d’adaptation à la société, qui relient ces actions à la paraphilie. Les attaquants sont des personnes qui expriment leurs pulsions violentes et leur recherche de la domination des autres par la violence et la manipulation.

Cependant, cela ne signifie pas que ses causes sont neurologiques Plusieurs fois, ces troubles apparaissent à la suite d’un processus de socialisation déficient.


Claude Katz | La différence entre harcèlement sexuel, l'agression sexuelle, et le viol (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes