yes, therapy helps!
Victimology: what is it and what is its object of study?

Victimology: what is it and what is its object of study?

May 10, 2021

"28-year-old woman found dead in her house. Her husband called the police forces shortly afterwards in order to confess his murder, and then shot himself in the head with a gun. "

This type of news, unfortunately, are published or issued with some frequency by the media before the commission of a crime. When such acts occur, the police and justice services act, investigating what happened and taking into account a wide variety of knowledge when determining what could have happened and why it happened, based on the evidence.

The science that deals with studying crime and its causes, the ways to avoid it and the way to act with criminals is criminology. However, there is an essential element that does not appear among the previous ... Where is the victim? There is a discipline, currently inserted within criminology, that is responsible for its study: victimology .


What is victimology?

Coined by the psychiatrist Fredric Wertham , this term refers to the scientific discipline derived from criminology that studies the victims of crime in the various phases of victimization.

The creation of this discipline has allowed both the study and treatment of victims and relatives of all types of crimes, which traditional criminology ignored to focus on the figure of the offender. It is a relatively young scientific discipline, being its scientific beginnings in the thirties.

This discipline has numerous variants that have been focusing their attention on different aspects and having different interpretations of reality. But nevertheless, all the theories and perspectives have in common their study objective .


It can be said that, somehow, victimology focuses precisely on people who are in a greater situation of vulnerability and, therefore, are the first to need to study the type of experiences they go through, your sources of discomfort and possible solutions.

Subject of study of victimology

The main object of study of this discipline is the victim and its characteristics , as well as its relation with the delinquent and its role within the criminal situation.

Specifically, the set of factors that cause the person to become a victim is analyzed, whether the situation has been caused by a second person or due to the action or chance itself (such as an accident at work, for example), the relationship between facts with the current law and the possible repair of damages and the relationship between the aspects that can cause a person to be a victim and the occurrence of the crime.


What is a victim?

To better understand this object of study, it is necessary to define what is meant by the victim. According to resolution 40/34 of 1985 of the UN General Assembly, it is understood as such the subject / s that have suffered physical, psychological or emotional damage, or an attack and diminution of their fundamental rights as a consequence of actions or omissions that violate the legislation.

In the same way, his relatives or persons who have suffered damages for assisting the victim will also be considered as such .

Thus, it is understood that the damage experienced by the victims is not an isolated phenomenon that only affects individually, but that the sufferer is inserted in a social fabric through which discomfort is transmitted and the deterioration of the quality of life.

Methodology

As a scientific discipline, victimology has always been placed in an empiricist position , making inductive hypotheses from the observed cases. In this way, it requires surveys and observations of cases and victims in order to develop valid hypotheses that can help explain victimization processes.

Biopsychosocial elements, relationship with the subject that commits the crime and crime are fundamental clues in order to elaborate a consistent study of the victim and his situation in the crime. However, this science must take into account both the need for its immediate use and that of resembling other natural and social sciences.

The techniques used are the observation of reality, the study and analysis of cases and statistics, interviews and techniques from other sciences such as psychology, medicine, history, economics or computing, among others.

The main mechanism by which victimology can act is through the reporting of a crime, together with the testimony of those affected.Even the absence of these elements is an important source of information, given that the position of the various social groups and individuals regarding the system is reflected.

Types of victims

As a science that studies the victims of criminal offenses, numerous authors have made various classifications on typologies of victims.

One of them is the Jiménez de Asúa , who divides the victims into:

1. Determined victim

It is considered as such that which is chosen voluntarily by the criminal l , not being your choice due to chance. An example would be crimes of passion, revenge or crimes carried out by relatives or relatives.

2. Indifferent victim

Randomly chosen . The crime could be carried out with any other person without causing any change in the criminal. An example of this could be fraud or scams, like trileros. It is also observed in some criminal acts carried out by psychopaths and serial killers.

3. Resistant victim

That victim who is capable of resisting and defending herself , or that is attacked because of or knowing that the subject was going to defend himself.

4. Coadjutant victim

Not always there is a situation in which a subject is a victim of a crime this is a subject without connection to the criminal act. In this way, there are victims who actively participate in the crime, although it is possible to act under duress .

Role in the protection of the victim

Apart from studying the victim and the process through which he has become such, victimology also has a very prominent role in the aftermath of crime .

Specifically, its scope of study allows the creation of services to victims, contributing together with psychologists and other professionals to prepare assistance programs , such as the creation of crisis centers, official protection floors, witness protection programs. Likewise, the information and support provided to the victims are in general the most important services.

On the other hand, efforts are also made to prevent the dynamics of personal relationships that often lead to the appearance of victims. In this way, victimology is in contact with many branches of psychology and forensic science.

Ethical precaution

As a science that establishes close contact with victims of crime, victimology must have special caution in the procedures used when exercising your activity . It must be borne in mind that the victim of a crime, in addition to suffering crime per se, is subjected to the stress and tension produced by the investigation process (also reliving the event, often traumatic), and then dealing with the consequences (physical, psychological, social or work) produced by the crime.

In this sense, victimology has to try not to cause, with its application in practice, not causing secondary and / or tertiary victimization, that is, it must seek to prevent the victim from being harmed by the mere fact of relating, repeating or reliving traumatic experiences, both institutionally and socially.

Bibliographic references:

  • Fattah, E.A. (2000). Victimology: Past, Present and Future. Criminology, vol. 33, 1. p.17-46
  • Gulotta, G. (1976). The vittima. Milano, Italy. Editore Guiffré
  • Jiménez, L. (1961). The so-called victimology. In Criminal Law and Criminology Studies, I. Buenos Aires, Argentina: Bibliográfica Omeba
  • Langton, L. (2014). Socio-emotional impact of violent crime. Washington: Bureau of Justice Statistics.
  • Lauritsen, J.L. (2010). Advances and Challenges in Empirical Studies on Victimization, Journal of Quantitative Criminology 26: 501-508.
  • Márquez, A.E. (2011). Victimology as a study. Rediscovery of the victim for the criminal process. Prolegómenos Magazine. Rights and Values. Bogotá Vol. XIV, 27.
  • Marshall, L. E. & Marshall, W.L. (2011). Empathy and Antisocial Behavior, Journal of Forensic Psychiatry & Psychology 22, 5: 742-759.
  • McDonald, W. (1976). Towards a bicentennial revolution in criminal justice: the return of the victim, The American Criminal Law Review 13: 649-673.
  • Neuman, E. (1994). The role of the victim in conventional and unconventional crimes, 2nd ed: Buenos Aires: University.
  • Varona, G .; de la Cuesta, J.L .; Mayordomo, V. and Pérez, A.I. (2015) Victimology. An approach through its fundamental concepts as tools of understanding and intervention.

Master Victimology and Criminal Justice - Tilburg University (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La victimologie: qu'est-ce que c'est et quel est son objet d'étude?

La victimologie: qu'est-ce que c'est et quel est son objet d'étude?

Juillet 22, 2022

"Femme de 28 ans retrouvée morte chez elle. Son mari a appelé les forces de l'ordre peu de temps après pour confesser son meurtre, puis s'est tiré une balle dans la tête. "

Malheureusement, ce type d’information est publié ou publié assez fréquemment par les médias avant la commission d’un crime. Lorsque de tels actes se produisent, la police et les services de justice agissent en enquêtant sur ce qui s'est passé et en tenant compte d'un large éventail de connaissances pour déterminer ce qui aurait pu se passer et pourquoi cela s'est produit, sur la base des éléments de preuve.

La science qui traite de l'étude du crime et de ses causes, des moyens de l'éviter et des moyens d'agir avec les criminels est la criminologie. Cependant, il y a un élément essentiel qui n'apparaît pas parmi les précédents ... Où est la victime? Il existe une discipline, actuellement insérée dans la criminologie, responsable de son étude: la victimologie .


Qu'est ce que la victimologie?

Frappé par le psychiatre Fredric Wertham , ce terme désigne la discipline scientifique issue de la criminologie qui étudie les victimes d’infractions au cours des différentes phases de la victimisation.

La création de cette discipline a permis à la fois l’étude et le traitement des victimes et des proches de tous les types de crimes, ce que la criminologie traditionnelle a ignoré pour se concentrer sur la figure du délinquant. C’est une discipline scientifique relativement jeune, qui a commencé dans les années trente.

Cette discipline a de nombreuses variantes qui ont focalisé leur attention sur différents aspects et ayant différentes interprétations de la réalité. Cependant, toutes les théories et perspectives ont en commun leur objectif d'étude .


On peut dire que la victimologie est en quelque sorte centrée sur les personnes plus vulnérables et que, par conséquent, elles sont les premières à avoir besoin d’étudier le type d’expériences qu’elles vivent, vos sources d'inconfort et les solutions possibles.

Sujet d'étude de la victimologie

L'objet d'étude principal de cette discipline est la victime et ses caractéristiques , ainsi que ses relations avec le délinquant et son rôle dans la situation pénale.

En particulier, l’ensemble des facteurs qui font que la personne soit victime est analysé, que la situation ait été causée par une seconde personne ou due à l'action ou au hasard lui-même (comme un accident du travail, par exemple), la relation entre faits avec le droit en vigueur et la réparation éventuelle des dommages et la relation entre les aspects pouvant faire qu'une personne soit victime et la survenue du crime.


Qu'est-ce qu'une victime?

Pour mieux comprendre cet objet d'étude, il est nécessaire de définir ce que l'on entend par victime. Conformément à la résolution 40/34 de 1985 de l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies, sont considérés comme tels le ou les sujets ayant subi des dommages physiques, psychologiques ou émotionnels, ou une atteinte et une diminution de leurs droits fondamentaux résultant d’actes ou omissions qui: violer la législation.

De la même manière, ses proches ou les personnes qui ont subi des dommages pour avoir aidé la victime seront également considérés comme tels .

Ainsi, il est entendu que les dommages subis par les victimes ne constituent pas un phénomène isolé qui ne concerne qu'individuellement, mais que le patient est inséré dans un tissu social par lequel l’inconfort se transmet et la dégradation de la qualité de la vie.

La méthodologie

En tant que discipline scientifique, la victimologie a toujours été placée dans une position empiriste en faisant des hypothèses inductives à partir des cas observés. De cette manière, des enquêtes et des observations sur les cas et les victimes sont nécessaires pour élaborer des hypothèses valables pouvant aider à expliquer les processus de victimisation.

Les éléments biopsychosociaux, la relation avec le sujet qui a commis le crime et le crime sont des indices fondamentaux pour élaborer une étude cohérente de la victime et de sa situation dans le crime. Cependant, cette science doit prendre en compte à la fois la nécessité de son utilisation immédiate et celle de ressembler à d'autres sciences naturelles et sociales.

Les techniques utilisées sont l'observation de la réalité, l'étude et l'analyse de cas et de statistiques, des entretiens et des techniques. d'autres sciences telles que la psychologie, la médecine, l'histoire, l'économie ou l'informatique, entre autres.

Le principal mécanisme par lequel la victimologie peut agir consiste à signaler un crime, ainsi que les témoignages des personnes concernées.Même l’absence de ces éléments est une source d’information importante, étant donné que la position des divers groupes sociaux et des individus à l’égard du système est reflétée.

Types de victimes

En tant que science qui étudie les victimes d'infractions pénales, de nombreux auteurs ont procédé à diverses classifications sur les typologies des victimes.

L'un d'eux est le Jiménez de Asúa , qui divise les victimes en:

1. Victime déterminée

Il est considéré comme tel ce qui est choisi volontairement par le criminel l , n'étant pas votre choix à cause du hasard. Un exemple serait les crimes passionnels, la vengeance ou les crimes commis par des proches ou des proches.

2. Victime indifférente

Choisi au hasard . Le crime pourrait être commis avec toute autre personne sans causer de changement au criminel. Un exemple de ceci pourrait être la fraude ou les escroqueries, comme les trileros. Il est également observé dans certains actes criminels commis par des psychopathes et des tueurs en série.

3. Victime résistante

Cette victime qui est capable de résister et de se défendre , ou qui est attaqué à cause de ou sachant que le sujet allait se défendre.

4. Victime coadjuteur

Il n’ya pas toujours une situation dans laquelle un sujet est victime d’un crime, c’est un sujet sans lien avec l’acte criminel. De cette façon, il y a des victimes qui participent activement au crime, bien qu'il soit possible d'agir sous la contrainte .

Rôle dans la protection de la victime

En plus d’étudier la victime et le processus par lequel elle est devenue telle, la victimologie joue également un rôle très important au lendemain du crime .

Plus précisément, son domaine d’étude permet la création de services aux victimes, contribuant avec des psychologues et d’autres professionnels à préparer des programmes d'assistance , tels que la création de centres de crise, de socles de protection officiels, de programmes de protection des témoins. De même, les informations et le soutien fournis aux victimes sont en général les services les plus importants.

D’autre part, des efforts sont également déployés pour empêcher la dynamique des relations personnelles qui conduit souvent à l’apparition de victimes. Ainsi, la victimologie est en contact avec de nombreuses branches de la psychologie et de la criminalistique.

Précaution éthique

En tant que science qui établit un contact étroit avec les victimes d’actes criminels, la victimologie doit avoir prudence particulière dans les procédures utilisées lors de l'exercice de votre activité . Il faut garder à l'esprit que la victime d'un crime, en plus de le subir en tant que telle, est soumise au stress et à la tension engendrés par le processus d'enquête (revivant également l'événement, souvent traumatisant), puis faisant face aux conséquences (physique, psychologique, social ou au travail) produite par le crime.

En ce sens, la victimologie doit essayer de ne pas causer, avec son application pratique, de causer une victimisation secondaire et / ou tertiaire, c’est-à-dire chercher à éviter que la victime soit lésée par le seul fait de expériences traumatiques, tant au niveau institutionnel que social.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Fattah, E.A. (2000). Victimologie: passé, présent et futur. Criminologie, vol. 33, 1. p.17-46
  • Gulotta, G. (1976). Le vittima. Milan, Italie. Editeur Guiffré
  • Jiménez, L. (1961). La soi-disant victimologie. En droit pénal et en criminologie, I. Buenos Aires, Argentine: Bibliográfica Omeba
  • Langton, L. (2014). Impact socio-émotionnel du crime violent. Washington: Bureau of Justice Statistics.
  • Lauritsen, J.L. (2010). Progrès et défis dans les études empiriques sur la victimisation, Journal of Quantitative Criminology 26: 501-508.
  • Márquez, A.E. (2011). La victimologie en tant qu'étude. Redécouverte de la victime pour le procès pénal. Magazine Prolegómenos. Droits et valeurs. Bogotá Vol XIV, 27.
  • Marshall, L. E. et Marshall, W.L. (2011). Empathie et comportement antisocial, Journal of Forensic Psychiatry & Psychology 22, 5: 742-759.
  • McDonald, W. (1976). Vers une révolution bicentenaire de la justice pénale: le retour de la victime, The American Criminal Law Review 13: 649-673.
  • Neuman, E. (1994). Le rôle de la victime dans les crimes classiques et non conventionnels, 2e édition: Buenos Aires: Université.
  • Varona, G .; de la Cuesta, J.L .; Mayordomo, V. et Pérez, A.I. (2015) Victimologie. Une approche à travers ses concepts fondamentaux en tant qu’outils de compréhension et d’intervention.

Pédophilie : Entretien avec Roland Coutanceau, expert psychiatre (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes