yes, therapy helps!
The polygraph: does the lie detector really work?

The polygraph: does the lie detector really work?

August 10, 2022

The polygraph, commonly known as a lie detector , has become part of our society since it became known at the end of the 30s and by the hand of John Augustus Anderson and Leonarde Keeler, its inventors.

When this machine began to be used, many experts in the field posed the same questions that, even in today's society, are the order of the day: is the polygraph an effective procedure before all the people who submit or Have they been subjected to it? Is it easy to circumvent their detection system? To what extent should it be considered an infallible method to detect lies?

They are reasonable doubts considering that the machine is capable of putting its victims in question and create situations of ambiguity if you do not know how to answer them. We'll see now how the polygraph works and to what extent it is effective .


  • Related article: "Serum of truth: does this drug really work?"

The origin of the polygraph

The Italian Cesare Lombroso (outstanding anthropologist of the last century), studied the relationship that exists between the changes that develop in the cardiovascular system and the corporal reaction with the lie. He focused his research on two aspects of the human being: the heart rate and blood pressure . From this study, through new developments and advances in the technique of human behavior, contributed to the creation of the polygraph, an invention of John Augustus Larson and Leonarde Keeler.

Since then, from that moment, the polygraph was consolidated as an indispensable tool for some sectors, like justice, police and army , mainly, in order to help detect the lies and / or deceits of the people.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Read someone's eyes: is it possible?"

How is it used?

The operation of the apparatus itself does not require great skill on the part of the expert who manages it; This "only" will be responsible for paying attention to the interviewee and the results that come out of the polygraph test.

First, the person with whom you want to use the polygraph participates in a conversation (interview prior to the polygraph test) with an expert interviewer by an analysis of the stimulation, better known as Stim Test , with the aim of subjecting it to a series of lies and assessing if your body responds to neurolinguistic changes.

Once the interview is over, the polygraph test comes on, in which the person is connected to a series of sensors that analyze their physiological reaction , and this is revealed on a paper printed by the same machine. In that paper appear the records of the physiological activity that the individual has had while each question was posed.


  • Related article: "Do you know how to detect a liar? The 8 types of lies"

How does the lie detector work?

What the sensors placed on the skin measure is the electrical conductivity of this . These measurements are made in real time, and tell us about the way in which the pores of the skin open or close to let sweat pass, a substance that circulates electricity. Other variables taken into account have to do with the heartbeat.

But the polygraph is designed to detect the physiological changes of the person's body and not to detect a lie as such. That is, the apparatus is not trained to know what a lie is by definition , but rather, it shows the bodily changes that the person suffers during the course of the polygraph test, without telling us why those changes occur. It is a way to isolate data and, from them, try to deduce what is the logic by which the physiological activity of the person is governed, from that, to try to know if he is lying or not.

The dilemma that arises from the reliability of the machine in question is in constant debate, given the infinite variables that the human being presents in any type of situation. So that, It is very complicated to assess scientifically whether a person lies or not , because that depends, among other things, on whether she has the ability to lie or if she simply gets nervous saying, even, the truth. The context in which the polygraph is applied is not emotionally neutral, and the subject who submits to the machine knows that a minor change in his organism can cause him to have many problems in the future.

These are issues of vital relevance that should not go unnoticed by an expert if it is intended to give a complete and fair result of the test.The polygraph tells us if a person is physiologically more or less activated (to some extent), but of course, technically it is far from being a lie detector.

Legal application of this machine

Its use, especially, occurs in some government agencies in the United States of America (CIA or NSA to name a few examples) in order to find out if the person is lying or not. Far from the American continent, its use in European countries is carried out for the assignment of certain jobs of private companies and in organizations of the security sector.

Thus, the effectiveness of the polygraph in the legal bodies is approved and legitimized, especially in the United States and the countries that are under its influence , since they consider it a fundamental test in a hypothetical court case. The same does not happen in the other continents, since the doubts that have been raised over the years since its implementation in there in 38, leave in question the validity of its results.

However, countries that resort to the practice of the lie detector, approve its use and the result provided by it. It is considered as a determining test in a hypothetical case of submission of a person, so it could become an essential factor for the resolution of doubts in a judicial process .

How to pass the polygraph test

Some tips to successfully pass a polygraph test:

1. Understand the operation of the machine

If you have arrived here, you should already meet this requirement. Knowing what one of these tests consists of is a good way to feel less vulnerable.

2. Sleep well the day before

Arrive at the lie detector test having rested enough it makes us more sure of ourselves . The aim is that the polygraph does not point out alleged lies for the simple fact that we are insecure.

3. Inform the technicians about the medications you take

If you are taking any drug, it is important to know, since its effects could interfere with the test .

4. Breathe deeply during the test

When you have passed the stage where you are asked the relevant questions, make sure your blood is well oxygenated . To achieve this it is good that you have practiced before, so you will not believe that you are improvising.

5. Remain in a state of calm after the interview

It is possible that once the test is over, the technician tells you that he knows that you have lied about something. This is usually a strategy to see how you react to hearing that.


Do Lie Detectors Actually Work? | Earth Lab (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le polygraphe: le détecteur de mensonge fonctionne-t-il vraiment?

Le polygraphe: le détecteur de mensonge fonctionne-t-il vraiment?

Juillet 23, 2022

Le polygraphe, communément appelé détecteur de mensonge , fait partie de notre société depuis qu’elle est devenue connue à la fin des années 30 et sous l’initiative de John Augustus Anderson et de Leonarde Keeler, ses inventeurs.

Lorsque cette machine a commencé à être utilisée, de nombreux experts en la matière ont posé les mêmes questions qui, même dans la société actuelle, sont à l’ordre du jour: le polygraphe est-il une procédure efficace pour tous ceux qui soumettent ou Est-il facile de contourner leur système de détection? Dans quelle mesure devrait-il être considéré comme une méthode infaillible pour détecter les mensonges?

Ce sont des doutes raisonnables compte tenu du fait que la machine est capable de mettre en question ses victimes et de créer des situations d'ambiguïté si vous ne savez pas comment y répondre. Ensuite nous verrons comment fonctionne le polygraphe et dans quelle mesure il est efficace .


  • Article connexe: "Sérum de vérité: ce médicament agit-il vraiment?"

L'origine du polygraphe

L’Italien Cesare Lombroso (anthropologue hors pair du siècle dernier) a étudié la relation qui existe entre les changements qui se développent dans le système cardiovasculaire et la réaction corporelle avec le mensonge. Il a concentré ses recherches sur deux aspects de l'être humain: la fréquence cardiaque et la pression artérielle . À partir de cette étude, grâce aux nouveaux développements et aux progrès de la technique du comportement humain, a contribué à la création du polygraphe, une invention de John Augustus Larson et de Leonarde Keeler.

Depuis lors, à partir de ce moment, le polygraphe a été consolidé en tant qu’outil indispensable pour certains secteurs, comme la justice, la police et l'armée principalement pour aider à détecter les mensonges et / ou les tromperies du peuple.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Lisez les yeux de quelqu'un: est-ce possible?"

Comme on l'utilise?

Le fonctionnement de l'appareil lui-même ne nécessite pas une grande habileté de la part de l'expert qui le gère; Ce "seulement" sera responsable de prêter attention à la personne interrogée et aux résultats qui résultent du test polygraphique.

Tout d'abord, la personne avec laquelle vous souhaitez utiliser le polygraphe participe à une conversation (entretien préalable au test au polygraphe) avec un intervieweur expert par une analyse de la stimulation, mieux connue sous le nom de Stim Test , dans le but de le soumettre à une série de mensonges et d’évaluer si votre corps réagit aux changements neurolinguistiques.

Une fois l'interview terminée, le test polygraphique commence, dans lequel la personne est connecté à une série de capteurs qui analysent leur réaction physiologique , et cela est révélé sur un papier imprimé par la même machine. Dans cet article figurent les enregistrements de l'activité physiologique que l'individu a eu pendant que chaque question était posée.


  • Article connexe: "Savez-vous comment détecter un menteur? Les 8 types de mensonges"

Comment fonctionne le détecteur de mensonge?

Ce que les capteurs placés sur la mesure de la peau est la conductivité électrique de cette . Ces mesures sont effectuées en temps réel et nous renseignent sur la manière dont les pores de la peau s’ouvrent ou se ferment pour laisser passer la sueur, substance qui fait circuler l’électricité. D'autres variables prises en compte ont à voir avec le rythme cardiaque.

Mais le polygraphe est conçu pour détecter les changements physiologiques du corps de la personne et non pour détecter un mensonge en tant que tel. C'est-à-dire l'appareil n'est pas formé pour savoir ce qu'est un mensonge par définition mais montre plutôt les changements corporels que la personne subit au cours du test polygraphique, sans nous dire pourquoi ces changements se produisent. C'est un moyen d'isoler des données et d'essayer d'en déduire quelle est la logique qui régit l'activité physiologique de la personne, d'où d'essayer de savoir s'il ment ou non.

Le dilemme qui découle de la fiabilité de la machine en question fait constamment l’objet de débats étant donné les variables infinies que l’être humain présente dans tout type de situation. Donc, Il est très compliqué d'évaluer scientifiquement si une personne ment ou non , parce que cela dépend, entre autres choses, de savoir si elle a la capacité de mentir ou si elle devient simplement nerveuse en disant même la vérité. Le contexte dans lequel le polygraphe est appliqué n'est pas neutre sur le plan émotionnel, et le sujet qui se soumet à la machine sait qu'un changement mineur dans son organisme peut lui causer de nombreux problèmes à l'avenir.

Il s’agit là de questions d’une importance vitale qui ne devraient pas passer inaperçues aux yeux d’un expert si l’objectif est de donner un résultat complet et juste du test.Le polygraphe nous indique si une personne est physiologiquement plus ou moins activée (dans une certaine mesure), mais bien sûr, techniquement, il est loin d’être un détecteur de mensonge.

Application légale de cette machine

Son utilisation, en particulier, se produit dans certaines agences gouvernementales des États-Unis d’Amérique (la CIA ou la NSA, pour ne citer que quelques exemples) afin de déterminer si la personne ment ou non. Loin du continent américain, son utilisation dans les pays européens est réalisée pour la cession de certains emplois à des entreprises privées et à des organisations du secteur de la sécurité.

Ainsi, l’efficacité du polygraphe dans les instances juridiques est approuvé et légitimé, en particulier aux États-Unis et dans les pays sous son influence , car ils considèrent cela comme un test fondamental dans une affaire hypothétique. La même chose ne se produit pas sur les autres continents, car les doutes qui se sont posés au fil des ans depuis sa mise en œuvre en 38, remettent en question la validité de ses résultats.

Cependant, les pays qui ont recours à la pratique du détecteur de mensonge approuvent son utilisation et le résultat fourni par celui-ci. Il est considéré comme un critère déterminant dans un cas hypothétique de soumission d'une personne, de sorte qu'il pourrait devenir un facteur essentiel pour la résolution des doutes dans une procédure judiciaire .

Comment passer le test polygraphique

Quelques conseils pour réussir un test polygraphique:

1. Comprendre le fonctionnement de la machine

Si vous êtes arrivé ici, vous devriez déjà satisfaire à cette exigence. Savoir en quoi consiste l’un de ces tests est un bon moyen de se sentir moins vulnérable.

2. Dors bien la veille

Arrivez au test du détecteur de mensonge après avoir suffisamment reposé cela nous rend plus sûr de nous . Le but est que le polygraphe ne signale pas de mensonges allégués du simple fait que nous ne sommes pas en sécurité.

3. Informez les techniciens des médicaments que vous prenez.

Si vous prenez un médicament, il est important de savoir, car ses effets pourraient interférer avec le test .

4. Respirez profondément pendant le test

Lorsque vous avez passé l'étape où on vous pose les questions pertinentes, assurez-vous que votre sang est bien oxygéné . Pour y parvenir, il est bon que vous ayez déjà pratiqué auparavant. Vous ne croirez donc pas que vous improvisez.

5. Restez dans le calme après l'entrevue

Il est possible qu'une fois le test terminé, le technicien vous dise qu'il sait que vous avez menti sur quelque chose. C'est généralement une stratégie pour voir comment vous réagissez en entendant cela.


ENFIN !!! TEST DÉTECTEUR DE MENSONGES !! [LE CEREBROLICARD] (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes