yes, therapy helps!
The 4 educational styles: how do you educate your children?

The 4 educational styles: how do you educate your children?

June 25, 2022

The vast majority of fathers and mothers want the best for their children and usually act in good faith, thinking that they do the right thing when it comes to educating them. The educational style we use when raising a son or daughter It can have both a positive and dramatic effect on the development of these young people, and their disciplinary strategies will influence the type of relationship established between them.

At the same time, parental styles exert a great influence on the child's mood, behavior and well-being both in the present and in the future.

There are four educational styles. In this article we will delve into its characteristics and explain its differences .


  • Related article: "Psychology of Development: main theories and authors"

History of educational styles

Educational styles, also called parenting styles, they have been widely studied by the development psychologist Diana Baumrind . In the early 1960s, Baumrind investigated more than 100 pre-school children, observing them and interviewing their parents. His studies gave rise to what we now know as education or parenting styles.

Also, Baumrind studied four dimensions that he considered important: warmth and nutrition, disciplinary strategies, communication style and expectations of maturity and control . In turn, in 1966, Baumrind identified three styles of parenting: authoritarian, democratic and permissive , and published a text called: Child Care Practices Anteceding Three Patterns of Preschool Behavior.


According to the author, the distrustful and unhappy children had controlling and unloving parents , the dependents had warm parents who did not set limits, and the self-sufficient and happy parents had demanding but communicative. A few years later, in 1983, Maccoby and Martin expanded the work of Baumrind and they developed the fourth style of parenting, the indifferent or negligent style .

The 4 parental styles

Each educational style has different characteristics. Below you can find a list that will help you understand the 4 styles of parenting.

1. Authoritarian style

The authoritarian style it is based on severe discipline , where parents set the rules and expect children to follow them without exception. It is also known as military parenting style, because the father or mother uses very strict rules in the family, fostering obedience.


Parents with this parental style they are controllers, lend little support to their children and are prone to punishment , threats and may even exercise violence. If the child violates family norms, he will be severely punished without hearing his explanation.

Although authoritarian children follow the rules most of the time, they often develop self-esteem problems, since parents have never taken into account their needs or feelings and emotions. They can also become hostile or aggressive children , who do not know how to make decisions and solve problems. Several studies suggest that children raised with this style of education have a good academic performance, but run the risk of developing poor social skills, so it is considered a negative parenting style.

  • Related article: "The 8 reasons for not using corporal punishment towards children"

2. Permissive style

The permissive style may seem like a good parental style because many parents use it thinking that their son or daughter will be happier; however, in the long run, it can bring serious emotional consequences. Permissive parents they try to protect their children from harmful incidents , they do not establish any standard for the behavior of their children and they are very tolerant.

These parents They are characterized by being shaky and have little control over the situation . Studies show that children who grow up in environments with this parenting style tend to have poor academic performance, and may present more behavioral problems, since they will probably ignore the authority and rules. They often have low self-esteem and may experience sadness. They tend to become whimsical and spoiled people.

3. Democratic style

This is, without a doubt, one of the healthiest educational styles for the upbringing of children. Democratic parents are usually firm but also provide support and affection for their children. They set limits, but they also consider the infant's point of view. In other words, they set rules that they expect the children to follow; however, they consider that there are exceptions to these rules.

Democratic parents often explain the consequences of their children's negative behavior instead of applying punishment. Likewise, they use positive reinforcement for good behaviors and they may be more willing than authoritarian parents to use reward and praise systems.

Studies show that children raised with this educational style tend to be happier and successful . They are often good at making decisions and enjoy greater self-esteem, and older people are more responsible and feel comfortable expressing their opinions.

4. Negligent or indifferent style

This style it is characterized because parents are not involved in raising their children and, therefore, do not provide the necessary support to their children or guide them. They do not show any affection or discipline and, in short, do not pay attention to their little ones.

Research shows that this is a very damaging style for young people, and the behavior of parents has a negative global impact on the development of their children both in the present and in the future.

Indifferent parents put at risk the emotional health of their children and their self-esteem and cause serious psychological problems in different areas of their future life , for example, interpersonal relationships or work.

How are toxic parents?

The role of parents is fundamental for the development of children. Although the vast majority of parents want the best for their children, unfortunately, some they commit parental errors that can harm growth and emotional health of his descendants.

  • If you want to know how toxic parents are, you can read this article: "Toxic parents: 15 characteristics that children hate"

A Japanese Method to Develop Creativity in Kids (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 4 styles éducatifs: comment éduquez-vous vos enfants?

Les 4 styles éducatifs: comment éduquez-vous vos enfants?

Janvier 19, 2023

La grande majorité des pères et des mères veulent ce qu'il y a de mieux pour leurs enfants et agissent généralement de bonne foi, pensant qu'ils font ce qu'il convient de faire pour les éduquer. Le style éducatif que nous utilisons pour élever un fils ou une fille Cela peut avoir un effet à la fois positif et dramatique sur le développement de ces jeunes, et leurs stratégies disciplinaires influenceront le type de relation qui s’établit entre eux.

Dans le même temps, les styles parentaux exercent une grande influence sur l'humeur, le comportement et le bien-être de l'enfant, tant dans le présent que dans l'avenir.

Il y a quatre styles éducatifs. Dans cet article nous approfondirons ses caractéristiques et expliquerons ses différences .


  • Article connexe: "Psychologie du développement: théories principales et auteurs"

Histoire des styles d'enseignement

Les styles éducatifs, aussi appelés styles parentaux, ils ont été largement étudiés par la psychologue du développement Diana Baumrind . Au début des années 1960, Baumrind a enquêté sur plus de 100 enfants d'âge préscolaire, les observant et interrogeant leurs parents. Ses études ont donné naissance à ce que nous appelons maintenant les styles d'éducation ou de parentalité.

Baumrind a également étudié quatre dimensions qu’il considérait importantes: chaleur et nutrition, stratégies disciplinaires, style de communication et attentes de maturité et de maîtrise . À son tour, en 1966, Baumrind a identifié trois styles de parentalité: autoritaire, démocratique et permissif et a publié un texte intitulé: Pratiques de garde d'enfants antécédant trois modèles de comportement préscolaire.


Selon l'auteur, les enfants méfiants et malheureux avaient des parents dominants et sans amour , les personnes à charge avaient des parents chaleureux qui ne fixaient pas de limites, et les parents autosuffisants et heureux étaient exigeants mais communicatifs. Quelques années plus tard, en 1983, Maccoby et Martin développèrent le travail de Baumrind et ils ont développé le quatrième style de parentalité, le style indifférent ou négligent .

Les 4 styles parentaux

Chaque style éducatif a des caractéristiques différentes. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste qui vous aidera à comprendre les 4 styles de parentalité.

1. Style autoritaire

Le style autoritaire il est basé sur une discipline sévère , où les parents établissent les règles et s’attendent à ce que les enfants les suivent sans exception. Il est également connu sous le nom de style parental militaire, car le père ou la mère utilise des règles très strictes dans la famille, favorisant l'obéissance.


Parents avec ce style parental ils contrôlent la situation, prêtent peu d’aide à leurs enfants et sont passibles de sanctions , menaces et peut même exercer la violence. Si l'enfant enfreint les normes familiales, il sera sévèrement puni sans entendre ses explications.

Bien que les enfants autoritaires suivent la plupart du temps les règles, ils développent souvent des problèmes d’estime de soi, les parents n’ayant jamais tenu compte de leurs besoins, de leurs sentiments et de leurs émotions. Ils peuvent aussi devenir des enfants hostiles ou agressifs , qui ne savent pas comment prendre des décisions et résoudre des problèmes. Plusieurs études suggèrent que les enfants élevés avec ce type d'éducation ont de bons résultats scolaires, mais courent le risque de développer des compétences sociales médiocres. C'est donc considéré comme un style parental négatif.

  • Article connexe: "Les 8 raisons de ne pas recourir aux châtiments corporels à l'égard des enfants"

2. style permissif

Le style permissif peut sembler être un bon style parental car de nombreux parents l'utilisent en pensant que leur fils ou leur fille sera plus heureux. Cependant, à long terme, cela peut avoir de graves conséquences émotionnelles. Parents permissifs ils essaient de protéger leurs enfants des incidents préjudiciables , ils n'établissent aucune norme pour le comportement de leurs enfants et sont très tolérants.

Ces parents Ils sont caractérisés par le fait qu'ils sont tremblants et ont peu de contrôle sur la situation. . Des études montrent que les enfants qui grandissent dans des environnements avec ce style parental ont généralement de piètres résultats scolaires et peuvent présenter davantage de problèmes de comportement, car ils vont probablement ignorer l'autorité et les règles. Ils ont souvent une faible estime de soi et peuvent éprouver de la tristesse. Ils ont tendance à devenir des gens fantasques et gâtés.

3. style démocratique

Ceci est, sans aucun doute, l'un des styles éducatifs les plus sains pour l'éducation des enfants. Les parents démocrates sont généralement fermes mais apportent également soutien et affection à leurs enfants. Ils fixent des limites, mais ils tiennent également compte du point de vue du nourrisson. En d’autres termes, ils établissent des règles qu’ils attendent des enfants; toutefois, ils considèrent qu'il existe des exceptions à ces règles.

Les parents démocrates expliquent souvent les conséquences du comportement négatif de leurs enfants au lieu d'appliquer une punition. De même ils utilisent le renforcement positif pour de bons comportements et ils peuvent être plus disposés que les parents autoritaires à utiliser des systèmes de récompense et de louange.

Des études montrent que les enfants ont grandi avec ce style éducatif ont tendance à être plus heureux et réussi . Ils sont souvent doués pour prendre des décisions et jouissent d'une plus grande estime de soi, tandis que les personnes âgées sont plus responsables et se sentent à l'aise d'exprimer leurs opinions.

4. Style négligent ou indifférent

Ce style il est caractérisé parce que les parents ne sont pas impliqués élever leurs enfants et, par conséquent, ne fournissent pas le soutien nécessaire à leurs enfants et ne les guident pas. Ils ne montrent aucune affection ni discipline et, en bref, ne font pas attention à leurs petits.

Les recherches montrent qu’il s’agit d’un style très préjudiciable pour les jeunes et que le comportement des parents a un impact global négatif sur le développement de leurs enfants à la fois dans le présent et dans le futur.

Les parents indifférents mettent en péril la santé émotionnelle de leurs enfants et leur estime de soi et causer de graves problèmes psychologiques dans différents domaines de leur vie future , par exemple, les relations interpersonnelles ou le travail.

Comment sont les parents toxiques?

Le rôle des parents est fondamental pour le développement des enfants. Bien que la grande majorité des parents veuillent le meilleur pour leurs enfants, malheureusement, certains ils commettent des erreurs parentales pouvant nuire à la croissance et à la santé émotionnelle de ses descendants.

  • Si vous voulez savoir à quel point les parents sont toxiques, vous pouvez lire cet article: "Parents toxiques: 15 caractéristiques que les enfants détestent"
Articles Connexes