yes, therapy helps!
The 5 differences between systematic desensitization and exposure

The 5 differences between systematic desensitization and exposure

July 12, 2024

There are many psychological treatments developed in order to respond to the problems and psychological disorders that exist. Some of them have proven proven efficacy in improving symptoms or even eliminating the problem, as occurs with two of the treatments most used in therapy to treat phobias: systematic desensitization and exposure.

These are highly effective techniques and very similar among them, to the point that they often confuse each other. However, the truth is that there are differences between systematic desensitization and exposure , as we will see throughout this article.


  • Related article: "Types of psychological therapies"

Two methods used in psychotherapy

Exposure therapy and systematic desensitization are two of the major treatments used in a wide variety of disorders.

While They are especially known for their success when it comes to treating phobias , there are several variations of these techniques that are used in problems such as post-traumatic stress disorder (exposure to interoceptive sensations, for example, or desensitization by reprocessing by eye movements). Even techniques such as behavioral experiments that are used in behavior problems or to combat beliefs (as in obsessive-compulsive disorder or major depression) are largely based on the same principles. Let's see a brief definition of each of the terms.


Exposition

The exhibition is a basic but very powerful technique, which bases its operation on place the subject or patient face to face with the stimuli that he fears . It is about making the subject stay in the frightening situation long enough for his anxiety to go down naturally, to the point of becoming imperceptible. Thus, there is a habituation to the stimuli.

This exhibition can and often graduates in such a way that the process is not excessive for the patient , making a hierarchy of exposure from which the subject will be exposed to different stimuli until the level of anxiety is reduced to be imperceptible.

There are multiple variants of the exhibition (in fact, under a certain perspective the systematic desensitization could be considered as such), and can be applied both live and in imagination or even in recent years through virtual reality.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Intervention in phobias: the technique of the exhibition"

Systematic desensitization

It is a technique similar to exposure, aimed at achieving the reduction of aversive emotional and anxious responses for the patient at the same time that they limit themselves and avoid the avoidance of situations.

On this occasion, part of the idea that if fear is learned can also be learned to eliminate it: the therapeutic efforts will focus on the subject getting rid of the anxiety that stimulation generates actively. It is sought to actively perform contrary and totally incompatible with anxious responses, in such a way that we learn to eliminate the association between stimulus and fear to generate another between stimulation and relaxation, indifference or other alternative. In other words, it is based on counterconditioning.

In this case, also, the subject will have to expose himself to the stimuli that generate anxiety, being essential the hierarchy of the stimuli in such a way that the counterconditioning process can be carried out little by little and with increasingly anxious stimuli. Traditionally and habitually this technique tends to be performed in imagination, although it is possible to perform it with live stimulation or virtual reality.

  • Related article: "What is systematic desensitization and how does it work?"

5 big differences between both techniques

While a superficial observation can show that there is a great similarity between desensitization and exposure and even generate that we confuse them, a deeper analysis of their functioning shows that they have some remarkable differences. Among them are the five that follow.

1. Slightly different objectives

One of the main differences between exposure and systematic desensitization is the fact that they have objectives that, although similar, are different: while in the exhibition the objective is for the subject to reduce their levels of anxiety by remaining in the aversive situation in yes, systematic desensitization seeks that it generates answers that do not leave room for the appearance of anxiety .

2. Different operating mechanisms

Deeply linked to the previous point, in addition to the objectives also differ in methods. Although in both cases the patient has to face the stimulus that causes anxiety, while the exposure is based on the habituation to stimulation as a method to reduce the anxiety it generates, in the desensitization contracondicionamiento is used , looking for the subject to carry out a response incompatible with the anxiety that replaces his previous response.

3. Structuring and graduality in the exhibition

Another element that can mean a difference between both techniques is the obligatory nature of the graduation. Systematic desensitization is always carried out in a very structured way, demanding a clear hierarchy of exposure. However, although exposure can also be (and in fact is recommended) graduated, too it is possible to find variants such as implosion and flood in which the exposure to the most feared stimulus is very immediate. The rhythm will also depend on the preferences and possibilities of the patient and how he or she will react to the exhibition.

4. Different use of relaxation

Relaxation techniques such as diaphragmatic breathing and Jacobson's progressive relaxation are very useful and frequently used to reduce the level of anxiety, frequently incorporating both techniques.

However, the use made of them is different: while in systematic desensitization they are used as a mechanism for counterconditioning, using them as a response incompatible with anxiety, in the exhibition their use limits itself to lowering the level of tension when exposed to the phobic stimulus in those cases in which anxiety is excessive for the patient.

5. Different levels of generalization

While both techniques are very effective for the treatment of phobias when they are correctly applied by trained professionals and taking into account the needs and particularities of each patient and situation, the truth is that another difference can be found in regard to their level of generalization.

The exposure allows to reduce the level of anxiety towards the phobic stimuli agreed between therapist and patient in a very efficient way, but although the habituation to these stimuli can be generalized towards similar ones, the effect of the technique can be slightly restricted. However, by allowing systematic desensitization the generation of an alternative response is possible that in this second case there may be a greater generalization towards other situations and stimulations that generate anxiety, applying the same incompatible response.

Bibliographic references

  • Labrador, J. (2004). Behavior modification techniques. Spain: Pyramid Editions.

How to Get Rid of ANY Fear - Systematic Desensitization Explained (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 différences entre la désensibilisation systématique et l'exposition

Les 5 différences entre la désensibilisation systématique et l'exposition

Novembre 22, 2022

De nombreux traitements psychologiques ont été développés pour répondre aux problèmes et aux troubles psychologiques existants. Certains d'entre eux ont prouvé leur efficacité pour améliorer les symptômes ou même pour éliminer le problème, comme cela est le cas avec deux des traitements les plus utilisés en thérapie pour traiter les phobies: la désensibilisation systématique et l'exposition.

Ce sont des techniques très efficaces et très similaires entre elles, au point qu'elles se confondent souvent. Cependant, la vérité est que il existe des différences entre la désensibilisation systématique et l'exposition , comme nous le verrons tout au long de cet article.


  • Article connexe: "Types de thérapies psychologiques"

Deux méthodes utilisées en psychothérapie

La thérapie d'exposition et la désensibilisation systématique sont deux des principaux traitements utilisés dans une grande variété de troubles.

Pendant que Ils sont particulièrement connus pour leur succès dans le traitement des phobies. , il existe plusieurs variantes de ces techniques utilisées dans des problèmes tels que le trouble de stress post-traumatique (exposition à des sensations interoceptives, par exemple, ou désensibilisation par retraitement à l'aide de mouvements oculaires). Même des techniques telles que les expériences comportementales utilisées dans des problèmes de comportement ou pour combattre des convictions (comme dans le trouble obsessionnel compulsif ou la dépression majeure) reposent largement sur les mêmes principes. Voyons une brève définition de chacun des termes.


Exposition

L’exposition est une technique basique mais très puissante, qui fonde son fonctionnement sur placez le sujet ou le patient face à face avec les stimuli qu'il craint . Il s'agit de faire en sorte que le sujet reste dans la situation effrayante suffisamment longtemps pour que son anxiété disparaisse naturellement, au point de devenir imperceptible. Il y a donc une accoutumance aux stimuli.

Cette exposition peut et souvent obtient son diplôme de telle sorte que le processus ne soit pas excessif pour le patient , en hiérarchisant l'exposition à partir de laquelle le sujet sera exposé à différents stimuli jusqu'à ce que le niveau d'anxiété soit réduit de façon imperceptible.

Il existe de nombreuses variantes de l'exposition (en fait, dans une certaine perspective, la désensibilisation systématique pourrait être considérée comme telle) et peut être appliquée à la fois en direct et en imagination, ou même ces dernières années à travers la réalité virtuelle.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Intervention sur les phobies: la technique de l'exposition"

Désensibilisation systématique

C'est une technique similaire à l'exposition, visant à réduire les réactions émotives et anxieuses aversives pour le patient en même temps qu'il se limite et évite d'éviter les situations.

A cette occasion, une partie de l'idée que si la peur est apprise peut également être apprise pour l'éliminer: les efforts thérapeutiques se concentreront sur le sujet se débarrassant de l'anxiété générée activement par la stimulation. On cherche à effectuer activement des réactions contraires et totalement incompatibles avec des réponses anxieuses, de manière à ce que nous apprenions à éliminer le lien entre stimulus et peur pour en générer un autre entre stimulation et relaxation, indifférence ou autre alternative. En d'autres termes, il est basé sur le contre-conditionnement.

Dans ce cas également, le sujet devra s’exposer aux stimuli générateurs d’anxiété, étant essentiel la hiérarchie des stimuli de manière à ce que le processus de contreconditionnement puisse être réalisé petit à petit et avec des stimuli de plus en plus anxieux. Traditionnellement et habituellement, cette technique a tendance à être réalisée dans l’imagination, bien qu’il soit possible de la réaliser avec une stimulation en direct ou une réalité virtuelle.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la désensibilisation systématique et comment fonctionne-t-elle?"

5 grandes différences entre les deux techniques

Si une observation superficielle peut montrer qu'il existe une grande similitude entre la désensibilisation et l'exposition et même générer le fait que nous les confondons, une analyse plus approfondie de leur fonctionnement montre qu'elles présentent des différences remarquables. Parmi eux se trouvent les cinq suivants.

1. Objectifs légèrement différents

L’une des principales différences entre exposition et désensibilisation systématique réside dans le fait que leurs objectifs, bien que similaires, diffèrent: lors de l’exposition, l’objectif est de réduire le niveau d’anxiété du sujet en restant dans la situation aversive oui, la désensibilisation systématique cherche qu'il génère des réponses qui ne laissent pas de place à l'apparition d'anxiété .

2. Différents mécanismes de fonctionnement

Profondément lié au point précédent, outre les objectifs, les méthodes diffèrent également. Bien que, dans les deux cas, le patient doive faire face au stimulus qui cause l’anxiété, alors que l’exposition est basée sur l’habituation à la stimulation en tant que méthode permettant de réduire l’anxiété qu’elle génère, dans le contracondicionamiento de désensibilisation est utilisé , cherchant le sujet à réaliser une réponse incompatible avec l'angoisse qui remplace sa réponse précédente.

3. Structuration et gradualité dans l'exposition

Un autre élément qui peut signifier une différence entre les deux techniques est le caractère obligatoire de la graduation. La désensibilisation systématique est toujours effectuée de manière très structurée, exigeant une hiérarchisation claire des expositions. Cependant, bien que l'exposition puisse aussi être (et en fait recommandée) graduée, il est possible de trouver des variantes telles que l'implosion et les inondations dans lequel l'exposition au stimulus le plus redouté est très immédiate. Le rythme dépendra également des préférences et des possibilités du patient et de la réaction de celui-ci à l'exposition.

4. Utilisation différente de la relaxation

Des techniques de relaxation telles que la respiration diaphragmatique et la relaxation progressive de Jacobson sont très utiles et fréquemment utilisées pour réduire le niveau d'anxiété, incorporant souvent les deux techniques.

Cependant, leur utilisation est différente: dans la désensibilisation systématique, elles sont utilisées comme un mécanisme de contre-conditionnement, les utilisant comme une réponse incompatible avec l'anxiété, dans la présentation de leur utilisation. se limite à abaisser le niveau de tension lorsqu'il est exposé au stimulus phobique dans les cas où l'anxiété est excessive pour le patient.

5. Différents niveaux de généralisation

Bien que les deux techniques soient très efficaces pour le traitement des phobies lorsqu'elles sont correctement appliquées par des professionnels qualifiés et en tenant compte des besoins et des particularités de chaque patient et de chaque situation, la vérité est qu'une autre différence peut être trouvée en ce qui concerne leur niveau. de généralisation.

L’exposition permet de réduire très efficacement le niveau d’anxiété vis-à-vis des stimuli phobiques convenus entre le thérapeute et le patient. Bien que l’habituation à ces stimuli puisse être généralisée à des stimuli similaires, l’effet de la technique peut être légèrement limité. Cependant, en permettant une désensibilisation systématique, il est possible de générer une réponse alternative qui, dans ce second cas, une plus grande généralisation vers d'autres situations et stimulations qui génèrent de l’anxiété, en appliquant la même réponse incompatible.

Références bibliographiques

  • Labrador, J. (2004). Techniques de modification du comportement. Espagne: Editions Pyramid.

Vaccination The Hidden Truth (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes