yes, therapy helps!
Alexia and agraphia: written language disorders due to brain injury

Alexia and agraphia: written language disorders due to brain injury

May 6, 2021

The use of language is one of the main capacities of the human being . The fact of dominating it more or less influences how we relate to other people, how we see ourselves and even how we think.

Perhaps that is why there is a side of neuropsychology very interested in language disorders, among which the most known are dyslexia and aphasia. However, there are also some others, such as alexia and the agraphia .

What is alexia?

Said in a very summarized way, alexia is a loss of the ability to read correctly that is due to an injury to the encephalon . Therefore, the term alexia refers to a range of alterations in reading that are caused by brain damage.


Alexia differs from dyslexia in that in the latter the reading problems appear without being able to identify wound marks in the neuronal tissue of brain regions associated with language. If in the alexia the disorder appears because of the acquired damage, in dyslexia the explanation has to do more with the way in which the brain develops during childhood, with a genetic component and with a learning dynamic that gives problems. This explains that alexia is also known as acquired dyslexia.

Also, as it happens in all language disorders, alexia can occur in milder forms and in more severe ones in which the person is totally unable to read.


What is agraphy?

Agraphy is the inability to write correctly whose cause is also a brain injury .

Normally, agraphia appears together with other language disorders (especially with aphasias and alexias). Therefore, cases of pure agraphia are very rare in which the only difficulty related to language affects writing and no other ability.

The types of alexia

As the concept of alexia is very broad, in neuropsychology and psycholinguistics many subcategories are used to differentiate the ways in which this disorder can occur and have it easier to intervene on a case-by-case basis (besides allowing to carry out research in which it is observed how different injuries produce different effects).

1. Alexia without agraphia, or pure alexia

As the name suggests, pure alexia serves to identify cases in which there is only one inability to read, but not to write . People who experience it see the letters as if they were simple drawings, and are not able to translate these visual signals into phonemes. Therefore, and although it seems strange, in cases where alexia is diagnosed without agraphia the affected person is unable to understand what she herself has written.


It is the least common type of alexia, since for this to occur the lesions have to affect the two lobes of the brain and make the visual information that is collected from both eyes can not pass to the left side of the brain to be processed by the language areas, while those that intervene in the production of written language remain intact and connected to each other.

2. Alexia with agraphia, or central

People who experience alexia with agraphia they have serious problems both reading and writing .

This type of alexia is also known as alexia angular, because it affects an area of ​​the brain called angular gyration. In the angular rotation, which is located in the lower part of the parietal lobe (usually on the left side of the brain), it is responsible among other things for converting letters into sounds and vice versa, and therefore it is very likely that an injury that destroys this area or isolates it from the rest of the cortex produces alexia with agraphia.

3. Alexia anterior, or frontal

Unlike what happens in the other two types of alexia, in which the lesion occurs in areas of the brain near the nape, the anterior alexia is caused by a lesion that mainly affects the frontal lobe, in the area near the left temple It is an alexia associated with Broca's aphasia, although when talking about frontal alexia, problems in reading are usually more serious than those related to the rest of the language's functions.

In patients in whom this type of alexia produces milder symptoms, the main difficulties have to do with problems when understanding the syntactic relationships between the words that are read. When the alexia is more severe, they can not identify words that are spelled, or name the letters of a short phrase. However, something that distinguishes frontal alexia from the other two categories is that in this there is a greater facility when reading words that are familiar.

How can alexia be treated?

The alexias are always produced by injuries in the brain, and therefore any treatment initiative must be supervised by specialists whose scope is related to neurology and who can provide a personalized service.

Bibliographic references

  • Junqué, C. and Barroso, J. (Coords.) (2009). Manual of Neuropsychology. Madrid: Synthesis.
  • Moore, M. M., Brendel, P. C., Fiez, J. A. (2014). Reading faces: Investigating the use of a novel face-based orthography in acquired alexia.Brain and Language, 129, pp.7-13.
  • Pflugshaupt, T., Gutbrod, K., Wurtz, P., Von Wartburg, R., Nyffeler, T., De Haan, B., Karnath, H., Mueri, R. M. (2009). About the Role of Visual Field Defects in Pure Alexia. Brain, 132 (7), pp. 1907 - 1917.

Word Blindness - Pure Alexia (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Alexia et agraphia: troubles du langage écrit dus à une lésion cérébrale

Alexia et agraphia: troubles du langage écrit dus à une lésion cérébrale

Mars 31, 2020

L’utilisation de la langue est l’une des principales capacités de l’être humain . Le fait de la dominer influence plus ou moins nos relations avec les autres, notre façon de nous voir et même notre façon de penser.

C’est peut-être la raison pour laquelle la neuropsychologie est très intéressée par les troubles du langage, parmi lesquels les plus connus sont la dyslexie et l’aphasie. Cependant, il y en a aussi d’autres, comme alexia et la agraphia .

Qu'est ce que l'Alexia?

Dit d'une manière très résumée, alexie est une perte de la capacité à lire correctement qui est due à une blessure à l'encéphale . Par conséquent, le terme alexia désigne une série de modifications de la lecture causées par des lésions cérébrales.


Alexia diffère de la dyslexie en ce que ces derniers, les problèmes de lecture apparaissent sans pouvoir identifier les marques de plaie dans le tissu neuronal des régions du cerveau associées au langage. Si, dans la dyslexie, le trouble apparaît à cause des dommages acquis, l'explication tient davantage à la manière dont le cerveau se développe pendant l'enfance, à une composante génétique et à une dynamique d'apprentissage qui donne des problèmes Cela explique que l’onlexie est également appelée dyslexie acquise.

En outre, comme il arrive dans tous les troubles du langage, alexie peut survenir dans des formes plus douces et dans des formes plus graves dans lequel la personne est totalement incapable de lire.


Qu'est ce que l'agraphie?

L'agraphie est l'incapacité d'écrire correctement, dont la cause est aussi une lésion cérébrale .

L'agraphie apparaît normalement en même temps que d'autres troubles du langage (en particulier les aphasies et les alexies). Par conséquent, les cas d'agraphie pure sont très rares dans lesquels la seule difficulté liée au langage affecte l'écriture et aucune autre capacité.

Les types de alexia

Le concept d’alexie étant très large, en neuropsychologie et en psycholinguistique, de nombreuses sous-catégories sont utilisées pour différencier les modes d’apparition de ce trouble et faciliter l’intervention au cas par cas (en plus de permettre la recherche). dans lequel on observe comment différentes blessures produisent différents effets).

1. Alexia sans agraphie ou alexie pure

Comme son nom l'indique, alexia pure sert à identifier les cas dans lesquels il n’ya qu’une incapacité à lire, mais pas à écrire . Les personnes qui en font l'expérience voient les lettres comme s'il s'agissait de simples dessins et ne sont pas en mesure de traduire ces signaux visuels en phonèmes. Par conséquent, et bien que cela semble étrange, dans les cas où une alexie est diagnostiquée sans agraphie, la personne affectée est incapable de comprendre ce qu'elle a elle-même écrit.


Il s’agit du type d’alexie le moins répandu, car pour que cela se produise, les lésions doivent toucher les deux lobes cérébraux et empêcher que les informations visuelles collectées des deux yeux ne soient transmises au côté gauche du cerveau. traitées par les zones linguistiques, tandis que celles qui interviennent dans la production de la langue écrite restent intactes et connectées les unes aux autres.

2. Alexia avec agraphia, ou centrale

Les personnes qui souffrent d’Alexia avec Agraphia ils ont de graves problèmes de lecture et d'écriture .

Ce type d’Alexia est aussi appelé alexia angulaire, car il affecte une région du cerveau appelée giration angulaire. Dans la rotation angulaire, située dans la partie inférieure du lobe pariétal (généralement du côté gauche du cerveau), il est notamment responsable de la conversion des lettres en sons et inversement, il est donc très probable que une blessure qui détruit cette zone ou l'isole du reste du cortex produit une alexie avec agraphie.

3. Alexia antérieure ou frontale

Contrairement à ce qui se passe dans les deux autres types d’alexie, dans laquelle la lésion se produit dans des zones du cerveau situées près de la nuque, l’alexie antérieure est provoquée par une lésion qui affecte principalement le lobe frontal, dans la zone proche de la nuque. la tempe gauche Il s'agit d'une alexie associée à l'aphasie de Broca, bien que, lorsqu'il est question d'une alexie frontale, les problèmes de lecture soient généralement plus graves que ceux liés aux autres fonctions de la langue.

Chez les patients pour lesquels ce type d’alexie produit des symptômes moins graves, les principales difficultés sont liées à la compréhension des relations syntaxiques entre les mots lus. Lorsque le alexia est plus grave, ils ne peuvent pas identifier les mots qui sont épelés, ou nommer les lettres d'une phrase courte. Cependant, ce qui distingue l’alexia frontale des deux autres catégories, c’est que la lecture de mots familiers est plus facile.

Comment traiter alexia?

Les alexies sont toujours provoquées par des lésions cérébrales. Par conséquent, toute initiative de traitement doit être supervisée par des spécialistes ayant un champ d’application lié à la neurologie et capables de fournir un service personnalisé.

Références bibliographiques

  • Junqué, C. et Barroso, J. (Coords.) (2009). Manuel de neuropsychologie. Madrid: synthèse.
  • Moore, M.M., Brendel, P.C., Fiez, J.A. (2014). Lire des visages: étudier l'utilisation d'une nouvelle orthographe basée sur le visage dans l'alexie acquise.Brain and Language, 129, pp.7-13.
  • Pflugshaupt, T., K. Gutbrod, P. Wurtz, R. von Wartburg, T., T., De Haan, B., H., Karnath, R. Mueri (2009). À propos du rôle des défauts du champ visuel chez Alexia pure. Cerveau, 132 (7), pp. 1907 - 1917.

Dyslexia and Alexia Part 2 (Mars 2020).


Articles Connexes