yes, therapy helps!
The 6 differences between being Arab and being Muslim

The 6 differences between being Arab and being Muslim

May 19, 2024

It's nothing out of the ordinary to hear often the associations that are made between being Arab and Muslim , as if it were something indivisible, as if both were variables dependent on each other or, directly, synonyms. This is, in part, for centuries that orientalist scholars who (erroneously) identify the Arab ethnicity with the religion of Muhammad.

Ignorance is the big problem in confusing these terms. In Spain, specifically, the concept "Moor" is used to refer to any person who professes the Muslim religion or belongs to the countries that are part of the Middle East. In this article we will review justly what are the differences between being Arab and being Muslim so that it is clear that both concepts refer to very different things. Let's start with a couple of basic definitions.


  • Related article: "Types of religion (and their differences of beliefs and ideas)"

What does it mean to be Arabic?

As paradoxical as it may seem, the fact of being Arab responds to a fundamentally linguistic and geographical cause . Geographically, the Arabs extend from North Africa to West Asia, where curiously excluded from this category are some of the countries with more Muslims to their credit, with approximately 90% of the population.

And this is where the surprise comes: in Turkey, practically roaming around one hundred percent of citizens of the Muslim faith, they are not Arabs. Indonesia, another exaggerated example of the same character, has 97% of Muslims residing in the country. Pakistan or Iran are others of the clearest examples of differentiation between Muslim and Arab .


And being a Muslim?

The story is very different as far as religion is concerned. The Prophet Muhammad himself preached an Islam without borders, as if it were a transnational organization, from there is born the term "Ummah" which means the encompassing of the entire Islamic community worldwide, regardless of sex, origin, nationality or ethnicity, among others.

Nor should we confuse being Muslim with being Islamic. In this article of differences between Islam, Muslim, Islamic and Jihadist we categorize already what each specific case supposes.

Differences between Arabic and Muslim, in 6 points

These are the 6 basic differences that exist between being Muslim and being Arab.

1. Territory

It is perhaps the most distinctive element of all the rest. Islam does not conceive borders , does not recognize the modern system of the States and their followers do not pay homage to any flag or political ideology. Arabic, on the other hand, is geographically well defined.


2. Culture

Culture is another reason to unmark Arabic with Muslim. In itself, Islam offers behavioral patterns for very specific aspects of life, which strictly adhere to the parameters that govern the Koran, such as avoiding representing naked human figures, or the prohibition of drawing Saints and Prophets. However, across the length and breadth of the planet, Muslims live according to a whole series of nuances and cultural variations that make them a diverse community.

3. Music

There is a lot of controversy regarding music in the Islamic community. For some purists who are experts in the interpretation of Islam, music is forbidden. Distracted from prayer and from the obligation to recite the Qur'an. However, this is not a point of view shared by all Muslims.

4. Culinary differences

The prohibition limits the culinary taste of Muslims. As it can happen with vegans, for example, Muslims have strictly restricted the intake of pork, as well as other products derived from the same animal (sweets, gelatins, artisanal pastries). But in addition to this characteristic, Arab culture has a type of diet and cooking associated with does not exhaust all the gastronomic possibilities that a Muslim person chooses .

5. Language

As we pointed out in the introduction, the fact of being an Arab practically forces the subject to be a connoisseur and practitioner of the Arabic language in order to recognize that identity and integrate in the countries that are part of this group. Without it, for example, it is very difficult to find work, in the same way that someone who does not know Spanish will have difficulties in Spain. On the other hand, a Muslim can not be required to know Arabic.

6. Policy

As far as political regulation is concerned, Muslims or Muslim countries they are usually governed by Sharia , a very strict way of applying politics within society.However, Arabs in general, even within Islamic countries, tend to distance themselves from this tendency by advocating cultural integrity, secularism of the State and greater equality between the sexes.

7. Religion

It is another of the great differences between Muslims and Arabs. The Muslim, by definition, follows the precepts of the Koran, but not all the inhabitants of Arab countries are Muslims. The Copts, the Druses, the Maghrebi Jews and the Christian communities in general that live in the Arab countries are also part of this type of societies.


What's the Difference Between Sunni and Shiite Muslims? (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 6 différences entre être arabe et être musulman

Les 6 différences entre être arabe et être musulman

Juin 14, 2022

Il n'y a rien d'extraordinaire à entendre souvent les associations qui sont faites entre être arabe et musulman , comme si c’était quelque chose d’indivisible, comme si c’étaient des variables dépendantes l’un de l’autre ou, directement, des synonymes. C’est en partie pendant des siècles que les érudits orientalistes qui (à tort) identifient l’appartenance ethnique arabe à la religion de Mahomet.

L'ignorance est le gros problème pour confondre ces termes. En Espagne, le terme "maure" désigne toute personne professant la religion musulmane ou appartenant aux pays du Moyen-Orient. Dans cet article, nous allons examiner à juste titre Quelles sont les différences entre être arabe et être musulman il est donc clair que les deux concepts renvoient à des choses très différentes. Commençons par quelques définitions de base.


  • Article connexe: "Types de religion (et leurs différences de croyances et d'idées)"

Qu'est-ce que cela signifie d'être arabe?

Aussi paradoxal que cela puisse paraître, le fait d'être arabe répond à une cause fondamentalement linguistique et géographique . Géographiquement, les Arabes s’étendent de l’Afrique du Nord à l’Asie occidentale, où, curieusement, certains des pays comptant plus de musulmans à leur actif, avec environ 90% de la population, sont exclus de cette catégorie.

Et c'est là que la surprise vient: en Turquie, parcourant pratiquement cent pour cent des citoyens de confession musulmane, ils ne sont pas des Arabes. L’Indonésie, autre exemple exagéré du même caractère, compte 97% de musulmans résidant dans le pays. Le Pakistan ou l'Iran sont d'autres de les exemples les plus clairs de différenciation entre musulmans et arabes .


Et être musulman?

L'histoire est très différente en ce qui concerne la religion. Le prophète Mahomet lui-même a prêché un islam sans frontières, comme s'il s'agissait d'une organisation transnationale, à partir de là est né le terme "Oummah" qui signifie englobant toute la communauté islamique dans le monde entier, sans distinction de sexe, d'origine, de nationalité ou d'ethnie, entre autres.

Nous ne devons pas non plus confondre être musulman et islamique. Dans cet article sur les différences entre islam, musulman, islamique et djihadiste, nous classons déjà ce que chaque cas spécifique suppose.

Différences entre arabe et musulman, en 6 points

Ce sont les 6 différences fondamentales qui existent entre être musulman et arabe.

1. territoire

C'est peut-être l'élément le plus distinctif de tout le reste. L'islam ne conçoit pas de frontières , ne reconnaît pas le système moderne des États et leurs partisans ne rendent pas hommage à un drapeau ou à une idéologie politique. L'arabe, en revanche, est géographiquement bien défini.


2. culture

La culture est une autre raison de démarquer l'arabe avec le mot musulman. En soi, l’islam offre des modèles de comportement pour des aspects très spécifiques de la vie, qui respectent strictement les paramètres qui régissent le Coran, tels que l’évitement de la représentation de figures humaines nues ou l’interdiction de dessiner des saints et des prophètes. Cependant, sur toute la longueur et la largeur de la planète, les musulmans vivre selon toute une série de nuances et de variations culturelles qui en font une communauté diversifiée.

3. musique

Il y a beaucoup de controverse concernant la musique dans la communauté islamique. Pour certains puristes experts dans l'interprétation de l'islam, la musique est interdite. Distrait de la prière et de l'obligation de réciter le Coran. Cependant, ce n'est pas un point de vue partagé par tous les musulmans.

4. Différences culinaires

L'interdiction limite le goût culinaire des musulmans. Comme cela peut arriver aux végétaliens, par exemple, les musulmans ont strictement limité la consommation de viande de porc, ainsi que celle d'autres produits dérivés du même animal (bonbons, gélatines, pâtisseries artisanales). Mais en plus de cette caractéristique, la culture arabe a un type de régime et de cuisine associé à n'épuise pas toutes les possibilités gastronomiques choisies par un musulman .

5. Langue

Comme nous l'avons indiqué dans l'introduction, le fait d'être arabe oblige pratiquement le sujet à être un connaisseur et un praticien de la langue arabe afin de reconnaître cette identité et de s'intégrer dans les pays qui font partie de ce groupe. Sans cela, par exemple, il est très difficile de trouver du travail, de la même manière qu'une personne qui ne connaît pas l'espagnol aura des difficultés en Espagne. D'autre part, un musulman ne peut pas être tenu de connaître l'arabe.

6. politique

En ce qui concerne la régulation politique, les musulmans ou les pays musulmans ils sont généralement régis par la charia , une manière très stricte d'appliquer la politique au sein de la société.Cependant, les Arabes en général, même dans les pays islamiques, ont tendance à se démarquer de cette tendance en prônant l'intégrité culturelle, la laïcité de l'État et une plus grande égalité des sexes.

7. religion

C'est une autre des grandes différences entre musulmans et arabes. Le musulman, par définition, suit les préceptes du Coran, mais tous les habitants des pays arabes ne sont pas musulmans. Les coptes, les druses, les juifs du Maghreb et les communautés chrétiennes en général qui vivent dans les pays arabes font également partie de ce type de sociétés.


Conversation entre un Juif et un Musulman - Parle-moi d'Islam (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes