yes, therapy helps!
The 6 stress hormones and their effects on the body

The 6 stress hormones and their effects on the body

May 23, 2022

There are different ways in which a person can respond to a stressful situation, since this constitutes a subjective and personal response that will depend on how the person perceives and experiences this situation.

However, there are a series of processes and physiological reactions common to all people. These reactions are triggered by a series of effects produced by hormones related to stress .

  • Related article: "Types of hormones and their functions in the human body"

What is stress?

When a person experiences a state of tension and anxiety for a continuous period of time He is living what is known as stress. This state can originate a range of physical affections as well as an annoying feeling of grief in the person who suffers it.


Therefore, the two main characteristics of stress states are:

  • Psychological origin of stress , by which an element perceived as stressful by the person induces a series of changes in physical and organic activity.
  • Intervention of the various hormones related to stress , which are responsible for these physical alterations.

These hormones are released from the brain to all corners of our body, causing, as discussed, a large number of physical and physiological changes.

Hormonal alterations

The main structure related to states and stress responses is the neuroendocrine system , which is activated by the appearance of stressful events or situations by accelerating the functioning of the adrenal glands.


This activation causes a series of chain reactions in which the different hormones, being cortisol the hormone with more weight within these reactions and which alters to a greater extent the corporal functioning.

However, there are various hormones involved in stress processes, which are affected by the action of cortisol.

Hormones related to stress

As mentioned above, the hormones involved in the stress response act on other hormones modifying their action on the body.

1. Cortisol

Cortisol has established itself as the stress hormone by antonomasia . The reason is that the body, under stressful or emergency circumstances, produces and releases large amounts of this hormone, which serves as a trigger to respond to this situation quickly and skillfully.

In normal circumstances, the energy generated by our body is aimed at performing the different metabolic tasks that maintain the balance of bodily functions. However, before the appearance of a stressful event the brain generates a series of signals that travel to the adrenal glands, which begin to release large amounts of cortisol.


Once the cortisol is released, this is responsible for the discharge of blood glucose . Glucose generates a large amount of energy in the muscles, which can move faster and offer a much more immediate stimulus response. When the stressor disappears, the cortisol levels are restored and the organism returns to normal.

This response is not at all harmful to the person, as long as it does not remain in time. When this happens, symptoms caused by hormonal dysregulation begin to appear. Among these symptoms are:

  • Irritability
  • Humor changes
  • Fatigue
  • Headaches
  • Palpitations
  • Hypertension
  • Low appetite
  • Gastric complaints
  • Muscle pain
  • Cramps

2. Glucagon

The hormone called glucagon is synthesized by the cells of the pancreas and its main focus of action focuses on the metabolism of carbohydrates .

The main purpose of this hormone is to let the liver release glucose at times when our body needs it, either because of a stressful situation with the aim of activating the muscles or because the blood glucose levels are low.

In an emergency or stress situation, the pancreas releases large doses of glucagon into the bloodstream to charge our body with energy. This hormonal imbalance, although useful in situations of threat It can be dangerous in people suffering from some type of diabetes .

  • Related article: "Types of diabetes: risks, characteristics and treatment"

3. Prolactin

Although this hormone is known for its involvement in the secretion of milk during breastfeeding, prolactin levels can be seriously affected in situations of stress that continue over time, coming to cause hyperprolactinemia .

As its name suggests, hyperprolactinemia refers to an increase in blood prolactin levels. This increased presence of prolactin in blood inhibits, by different mechanisms, the release of hypothalamic hormones responsible for the synthesis of estrogen.

As a consequence, the inhibition of female sex hormones leads to a reduction in estrogen in women, menstrual changes, and even, lack of ovulation .

4. Sex hormones

Under stressful circumstances, the sex hormones known as testosterone, estrogen and progesterone are disrupted in normal functioning.

4.1. Testosterone and stress

Testosterone, male sex hormone by merit, is responsible for the development of male sexual characteristics, as well as sexual response.

When the person experiences high stress levels for long periods of time, the production of testosterone decreases , since the body prioritizes the release of other hormones such as cortisol, more useful in situations of stress or danger.

The result of this prolonged subjection to the effects of the inhibition of testosterone, the person may experience sexual problems such as impotence , erectile dysfunction or lack of sexual desire.

Other symptoms related to the reduction of testosterone levels are:

  • Humor changes .
  • Fatigue and constant tiredness.
  • Problems to fall asleep and insomnia.

4.2. Estrogens

As mentioned above, high levels of stress decrease the release of estrogen, disrupting a woman's normal sexual functioning.

However, the correspondence between estrogen and stress occurs bi-directionally . Thus, the effects of stress contribute to the reduction of the estrogen level and at the same time they exert a protective function against the effects of stress.

4.3. Progesterone

Progesterone is made in the ovaries and among its many functions is that of adjust the menstrual cycle and intervene in the effects of estrogen , with the purpose of these do not exceed their stimulation of cell growth.

When a woman is subjected to situations or stressful situations for a long time, the production of progesterone decreases, causing a large number of effects and symptoms such as extreme fatigue, weight gain, headaches, alterations in mood and lack of sexual desire.

Conclusion: a nexus between psychology and physiology

The existence of stress hormones shows the extent to which the endocrine system is linked to our mental states and our behavioral styles. The release of one or another type of hormone is capable of producing measurable changes both in the neurobiological dynamics of the organism and in the frequency of appearance of certain actions.

So, we see once again that the separation between physiological and psychological processes is an illusion, something that we use to understand the complex reality of the functioning of the human being , but that does not necessarily correspond to a frontier naturally present in the biology of our bodies.

Bibliographic references:

  • from Weerth, C., Zijl, R., Buitelaar, J. (2003). «Development of cortisol circadian rhythm in infancy». Early Hum Dev 73 (1-2): pp. 39-52.
  • Hara, Y., Waters, E.M., McEwen, B.S., Morrison, J.H. (2015). "Estrogen Effects on Cognitive and Synaptic Health Over the Lifecourse". Physiological Reviews. 95 (3): 785-807.
  • Neave, N. (2008). Hormones and behavior: a psychological approach. Cambridge: Cambridge Univ. Press. ISBN 978-0521692014. Lay summary - Project Muse.
  • Voet, JG (2011). Biochemistry (4th ed.). New York: Wiley.

How to Reduce Cortisol Naturally (Stress Hormone) (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 6 hormones du stress et leurs effets sur le corps

Les 6 hormones du stress et leurs effets sur le corps

Novembre 18, 2022

Une personne peut réagir à une situation stressante de différentes manières, dans la mesure où elle constitue une réponse subjective et personnelle qui dépendra de la façon dont la personne perçoit et expérimente cette situation.

Cependant, il existe une série de processus et de réactions physiologiques communs à tous. Ces réactions sont déclenchées par une série d'effets produits par les hormones liées au stress .

  • Article connexe: "Types d'hormones et leurs fonctions dans le corps humain"

Qu'est ce que le stress?

Quand une personne éprouve un état de tension et d'anxiété pendant une période continue Il vit ce qu'on appelle le stress. Cet état peut être à l'origine d'une gamme d'affections physiques ainsi que d'un sentiment de chagrin ennuyeux chez la personne qui le subit.


Par conséquent, les deux principales caractéristiques des états de stress sont les suivantes:

  • Origine psychologique du stress , par lequel un élément perçu comme stressant par la personne induit une série de changements dans les activités physiques et organiques.
  • Intervention du diverses hormones liées au stress , qui sont responsables de ces altérations physiques.

Ces hormones sont libérées du cerveau aux quatre coins de notre corps, causant, comme on l'a vu, un grand nombre de changements physiques et physiologiques.

Altérations hormonales

La structure principale liée aux états et aux réponses au stress est le système neuroendocrinien , qui est activé par l'apparition d'événements ou de situations stressants en accélérant le fonctionnement des glandes surrénales.


Cette activation provoque une série de réactions en chaîne dans lesquelles les différentes hormones, le cortisol, est l'hormone ayant le plus de poids au sein de ces réactions et qui altère davantage le fonctionnement corporel.

Cependant, diverses hormones impliquées dans les processus de stress sont affectées par l'action du cortisol.

Hormones liées au stress

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, les hormones impliquées dans la réponse au stress agissent sur les autres hormones en modifiant leur action sur le corps.

1. Cortisol

Le cortisol s'est imposé comme l'hormone du stress par antonomasia . La raison en est que le corps, dans des circonstances stressantes ou urgentes, produit et libère de grandes quantités de cette hormone, ce qui déclenche une réaction rapide et efficace à cette situation.

Dans des circonstances normales, l'énergie générée par notre corps vise à effectuer les différentes tâches métaboliques qui maintiennent l'équilibre des fonctions corporelles. Cependant, avant l'apparition d'un événement stressant, le cerveau génère une série de signaux qui se propagent dans les glandes surrénales et commencent à libérer de grandes quantités de cortisol.


Une fois que le cortisol est libéré, cette est responsable de la décharge de la glycémie . Le glucose génère une grande quantité d'énergie dans les muscles, ce qui peut aller plus vite et offrir une réponse de stimulation beaucoup plus immédiate. Lorsque le facteur de stress disparaît, les niveaux de cortisol sont rétablis et l'organisme redevient normal.

Cette réponse n'est pas du tout préjudiciable à la personne, tant qu'elle ne reste pas dans le temps. Lorsque cela se produit, les symptômes causés par une dysrégulation hormonale commencent à apparaître. Parmi ces symptômes sont:

  • L'irritabilité
  • Changements d'humeur
  • Fatigue
  • Maux de tête
  • Palpitations
  • L'hypertension
  • Faible appétit
  • Plaintes gastriques
  • Douleur musculaire
  • Crampes

2. glucagon

L'hormone appelée glucagon est synthétisée par les cellules du pancréas et son principal centre d'action se concentre sur le métabolisme des glucides .

Le but principal de cette hormone est de permettre au foie de libérer du glucose lorsque notre corps en a besoin, soit en raison d'une situation stressante dans le but d'activer les muscles, soit en raison d'un niveau de glucose sanguin faible.

En cas d'urgence ou de situation de stress, le pancréas libère de grandes doses de glucagon dans le sang pour charger notre corps en énergie. Ce déséquilibre hormonal, bien que utile en situation de menace Cela peut être dangereux chez les personnes souffrant de diabète .

  • Article connexe: "Types de diabète: risques, caractéristiques et traitement"

3. prolactine

Bien que cette hormone soit connue pour son implication dans la sécrétion de lait pendant l'allaitement, les niveaux de prolactine peuvent être sérieusement affectés dans des situations de stress persistantes, venir pour causer l'hyperprolactinémie .

Comme son nom l'indique, l'hyperprolactinémie fait référence à une augmentation du taux de prolactine dans le sang. Cette présence accrue de prolactine dans le sang inhibe, par différents mécanismes, la libération d'hormones hypothalamiques responsables de la synthèse d'œstrogènes.

En conséquence, l'inhibition des hormones sexuelles féminines entraîne une réduction de l'œstrogène chez la femme, des modifications menstruelles et même, manque d'ovulation .

4. hormones sexuelles

Dans des circonstances stressantes, le fonctionnement normal des hormones sexuelles connues sous le nom de testostérone, œstrogène et progestérone est perturbé.

4.1. Testostérone et stress

La testostérone, hormone sexuelle masculine au mérite, est responsable du développement des caractéristiques sexuelles masculines, ainsi que de la réponse sexuelle.

Lorsque la personne subit des niveaux de stress élevés pendant de longues périodes, la production de testostérone diminue , puisque le corps donne la priorité à la libération d’autres hormones telles que le cortisol, plus utiles dans les situations de stress ou de danger.

Le résultat de cette soumission prolongée aux effets de l'inhibition de la testostérone, la personne peut avoir des problèmes sexuels tels que l'impuissance , dysfonction érectile ou manque de désir sexuel.

Les autres symptômes liés à la réduction du taux de testostérone sont:

  • Changements d'humeur .
  • Fatigue et fatigue constante.
  • Problèmes d'endormissement et insomnie.

4.2. Oestrogènes

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, des niveaux élevés de stress diminuent la libération d'œstrogène, perturbant ainsi le fonctionnement sexuel normal de la femme.

Cependant, la correspondance entre l'oestrogène et le stress est bidirectionnelle . Ainsi, les effets du stress contribuent à la réduction du niveau d'œstrogènes et exercent en même temps une fonction de protection contre les effets du stress.

4.3. Progestérone

La progestérone est produite dans les ovaires et, parmi ses nombreuses fonctions, est celle de ajuster le cycle menstruel et intervenir dans les effets de l'œstrogène , dans le but de ceux-ci ne dépassent pas leur stimulation de la croissance cellulaire.

Lorsqu'une femme est soumise à des situations ou à des situations stressantes pendant une longue période, la production de progestérone diminue, ce qui entraîne un grand nombre d'effets et de symptômes tels que fatigue extrême, prise de poids, maux de tête, changements d'humeur et manque de désir sexuel.

Conclusion: un lien entre psychologie et physiologie

L'existence d'hormones de stress montre à quel point le système endocrinien est lié à nos états mentaux et à nos styles de comportement. La libération de l'un ou l'autre type d'hormone est capable de produire des changements mesurables à la fois dans la dynamique neurobiologique de l'organisme et dans la fréquence d'apparition de certaines actions.

Ainsi, nous voyons encore une fois que la séparation entre les processus physiologiques et psychologiques est une illusion, quelque chose que nous utilisons comprendre la réalité complexe du fonctionnement de l'être humain , mais cela ne correspond pas nécessairement à une frontière naturellement présente dans la biologie de notre corps.

Références bibliographiques:

  • de Weerth, C., Zijl, R., Buitelaar, J. (2003). «Développement du rythme circadien du cortisol dans la petite enfance». Early Hum Dev 73 (1-2): pp. 39-52.
  • Hara, Y., Waters, E. M., McEwen, B. S., Morrison, J.H. (2015). "Les effets des œstrogènes sur la santé cognitive et synaptique au cours de la vie". Examens physiologiques. 95 (3): 785-807.
  • Neave, N. (2008). Hormones et comportement: une approche psychologique. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. ISBN 978-0521692014. Résumé laïque - Projet Muse.
  • Voet, JG (2011). Biochimie (4ème éd.). New York: Wiley.

10 Signes Qui Indiquent Que Ton Corps Est en Train de Crier à L’aide (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes