yes, therapy helps!
Broca's area (part of the brain): functions and their relation to language

Broca's area (part of the brain): functions and their relation to language

July 19, 2024

Broca's area is one of the parts of the brain what more attention have they received in the investigation of the neurobiological mechanisms that explain our use of language, whether spoken or written. The reason for this is that clinical studies related to this area of ​​the cerebral cortex show that there are different specialized parts in different aspects of language.

In this article we will see what Broca's area is and how it relates to the use of language.

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Broca's area: a definition

Throughout history, attempts to understand the functioning of the brain have led to try to study the mental processes that carry out parts of it, as if they were relatively isolated from the rest. The Broca area was one of the first regions of the central nervous system to be associated with a concrete mental process and differentiated from the rest .


The concrete, Broca's area is the part of the brain that is responsible for the articulation of language in any of its forms . Thus, both in writing and speech, this portion of the central nervous system specializes in the production of a message with internal coherence and articulated by the corresponding fractions of language, whether letters or phonemes.

Location

The area of ​​Broca located in the third frontal convolution (in the frontal lobe) of the left cerebral hemisphere, although in some exceptional cases it is found in the right hemisphere. Specifically, according to the Brodmann map, it occupies the areas 44 and 45 of Brodmann , near the eye and attached to the front of the temporal lobe.


Broca's aphasia

The discovery of Broca's area came hand in hand with clinical cases in which patients with this damaged area were unable to write and pronounce well even though they could understand what they were being told. This led to the establishment of the existence of a syndrome known as Broca's aphasia , characterized by all the typical symptoms that appear when there is an injury in Broca's area and other parts of the brain have been relatively preserved.

In particular, the main symptoms are the following:

  • Problems at the time of repeat words .
  • Lack of fluency when trying to speak or write .
  • The ability to understand texts and spoken language is preserved.

This syndrome is distinguished especially from another type of aphasia related to a part of the brain called Wernicke's area. This is Wernicke's aphasia, in which, in comparison to Broca's aphasia, the language and writing are much more fluid, but the ability to give meaning to what is said or what is read or lost is lost. listen, for which you do not understand what others say .


On the other hand, it must be borne in mind that when a part of the brain is damaged, whether Broca's or Wernicke's area, other parts of the brain are indirectly affected, so the symptoms that appear are not an exact reflection of the tasks performed by these parties.

  • Related article: "Broca's aphasia: symptoms and causes of this disorder"

Functions of this brain region

Currently, the area of ​​Broca is associated with these functions and main mental processes:

  • Language production
  • Contributes to create spoken or written language, establishing chains of words and letters or phonemes.
  • Regulation of gestures linked to speech .
  • When we speak, we usually move other parts of our body so that that information complements what we are saying out loud. All this, moreover, occurs spontaneously, and it is thanks to the work of the Broca area.
  • Recognition of grammatical structures.
  • Broca's area reacts in a specific way c When you read or hear a grammatically constructed sentence
  • Regulation of the pronunciation of phonemes.
  • This part of the left frontal lobe is also responsible for monitor the pronounced phonemes , so that it recognizes when a stretch of the word does not sound like it should.
  • Regulation of the rhythm of speech.

In addition, the area of ​​Broca is also responsible for working with another important element of the production of spoken language: the times. In this way it allows us to give our speech the proper rhythm. On the other hand, in the phase immediately prior to pronunciation, it inhibits the appearance of phonemes other than the corresponding one in each part of the word.

Keep in mind that neurosciences are constantly advancing, and that is why what is known today about what tasks Broca's area performs is, possibly, just the tip of the iceberg.

Your relationship with the Wernicke area

As we have seen, Broca's area is a proof that not all parts of the brain are responsible for doing the same . Even language, which is apparently a single skill, is composed of many others that can be separated.

Wernicke's area is the other great area of ​​language that intervenes in the use of this mental faculty. That is why it communicates with the area of ​​Broca through a set of neuronal axons directed towards the front. Lesions in one or another area, or in the set of axons that communicate to both, produce different types of aphasias.


Bibliographic references:

  • Ardila, A .; Bernal, B .; Rosselli, M. (2016). «How Localized are Language Brain Areas? A Review of Brodmann Areas Involvement in Oral Language ». Archives of Clinical Neuropsychology 31 (1): pp. 112 - 122.
  • Binkofski, F., Amunts, K., Stephan, K.M., Posse, S., Schormann, T., Freund, H.J., Zilles, K., Seitz, R.J. (2000). "Broca's region subserves imagery of motion: a combined cytoarchitectonic and fMRI study". Human Brain Mapping. 11 (4): 273-285.
  • Caplan, D. (2006). "Why is Broca's area involved in syntax?" Cortex; A Journal Devoted to the Study of the Nervous System and Behavior. 42 (4): 469-71.
  • Fadiga, L., Craighero, L. (2006). "Hand actions and speech representation in Broca's area". Cortex; A Journal Devoted to the Study of the Nervous System and Behavior. 42 (4): 486-90.

2-Minute Neuroscience: Broca's Area (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Zone de Broca (partie du cerveau): fonctions et leur relation avec le langage

Zone de Broca (partie du cerveau): fonctions et leur relation avec le langage

Juillet 26, 2022

La région de Broca est l'une des parties du cerveau Quelle plus grande attention ont-ils reçu dans l'étude des mécanismes neurobiologiques qui expliquent notre utilisation du langage, qu'il soit oral ou écrit? La raison en est que les études cliniques liées à cette zone du cortex cérébral montrent qu'il existe différentes parties spécialisées dans différents aspects du langage.

Dans cet article, nous verrons quel est le domaine de Broca et comment il se rapporte à l'utilisation du langage.

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

La région de Broca: une définition

Au cours de l'histoire, les tentatives de compréhension du fonctionnement du cerveau ont conduit à étudier les processus mentaux qui en effectuent certaines parties, comme s'ils étaient relativement isolés du reste. La région de Broca est l’une des premières régions du système nerveux central à être associée à un processus mental concret et différencié du reste .


Le concret, la région de Broca est la partie du cerveau qui est responsable de l'articulation du langage sous n'importe laquelle de ses formes . Ainsi, à la fois en écriture et en langage, cette partie du système nerveux central est spécialisée dans la production d’un message à cohérence interne et articulé par les fractions correspondantes du langage, qu’il s’agisse de lettres ou de phonèmes.

Emplacement

La région de Broca située dans la troisième convolution frontale (dans le lobe frontal) de l'hémisphère cérébral gauche, bien que dans certains cas exceptionnels, elle se trouve dans l'hémisphère droit. Plus précisément, selon la carte de Brodmann, il occupe la zones 44 et 45 de Brodmann près de l’œil et attaché à l’avant du lobe temporal.


Aphasie de Broca

La découverte de la zone de Broca est allée de pair avec des cas cliniques dans lesquels les patients atteints de cette zone endommagée étaient incapables d'écrire et de bien prononcer, même s'ils pouvaient comprendre ce qu'on leur disait. Ceci a conduit à établir l'existence de un syndrome appelé aphasie de Broca , caractérisée par tous les symptômes typiques qui apparaissent en cas de blessure dans la région de Broca et dans d’autres parties du cerveau ont été relativement préservés.

En particulier, les principaux symptômes sont les suivants:

  • Problèmes au moment de répéter des mots .
  • Manque de maîtrise de la parole ou de l'écriture .
  • La capacité à comprendre les textes et le langage parlé est préservée.

Ce syndrome se distingue notamment d'un autre type d'aphasie liée à une région du cerveau appelée région de Wernicke. C'est l'aphasie de Wernicke, dans laquelle, par rapport à l'aphasie de Broca, le langage et l'écriture sont beaucoup plus fluides, mais la capacité de donner un sens à ce qui est dit ou ce qui est lu ou perdu est perdue. écoute, pour lequel tu ne comprends pas ce que disent les autres .


D'autre part, il faut garder à l'esprit que lorsqu'une partie du cerveau est endommagée, que ce soit la région de Broca ou de Wernicke, d'autres parties du cerveau sont indirectement affectées, de sorte que les symptômes qui apparaissent ne reflètent pas exactement la situation. les tâches accomplies par ces parties.

  • Article connexe: "L'aphasie de Broca: symptômes et causes de ce trouble"

Fonctions de cette région du cerveau

Actuellement, la région de Broca est associée à ces fonctions et processus mentaux principaux:

  • Production linguistique
  • Contribue à créer un langage parlé ou écrit, en établissant des chaînes de mots et de lettres ou de phonèmes.
  • Règlement de gestes liés à la parole .
  • Lorsque nous parlons, nous déplaçons généralement d'autres parties de notre corps afin que ces informations complètent ce que nous disons à voix haute. De plus, tout cela se produit spontanément, grâce au travail de la région de Broca.
  • Reconnaissance des structures grammaticales.
  • La région de Broca réagit de manière spécifique c Lorsque vous lisez ou entendez une phrase construite grammaticalement
  • Régulation de la prononciation des phonèmes.
  • Cette partie du lobe frontal gauche est également responsable de surveiller les phonèmes prononcés , afin qu’il reconnaisse qu’un bout du mot ne sonne pas comme il se doit.
  • Régulation du rythme de la parole.

En outre, la région de Broca est également chargée de travailler avec un autre élément important de la production de la langue parlée: l’époque. De cette façon, cela nous permet de donner à notre discours le bon rythme. En revanche, dans la phase précédant immédiatement la prononciation, il empêche l’apparition de phonèmes autres que celui correspondant dans chaque partie du mot.

N'oubliez pas que les neurosciences progressent constamment et c'est pourquoi on sait aujourd'hui quelles tâches la région de Broca accomplit n'est que la pointe de l'iceberg.

Votre relation avec la région de Wernicke

Comme nous l'avons vu, la région de Broca est une preuve que toutes les parties du cerveau ne sont pas responsables de faire de même . Même la langue, qui est apparemment une seule compétence, est composée de nombreuses autres qui peuvent être séparées.

Le domaine de Wernicke est l'autre grand domaine de langage qui intervient dans l'utilisation de cette faculté mentale. C'est pourquoi il communique avec la région de Broca par le biais d'un ensemble d'axones neuronaux dirigés vers l'avant. Les lésions dans l'un ou l'autre domaine, ou dans l'ensemble des axones qui communiquent avec les deux, produisent différents types d'aphasies.


Références bibliographiques:

  • Ardila, A .; Bernal, B .; Rosselli, M. (2016). «Dans quelle mesure les zones cérébrales linguistiques sont-elles localisées? Examen de l'implication des régions de Brodmann dans le langage oral ». Archives of Clinical Neuropsychology 31 (1): pp. 112 - 122.
  • Binkofski, F., Amunts, K., Stephan, K. M., Posse, S., T. Schormann, T., Freund, H.J., K. Zilles, Seitz, R.J. (2000). "La région de Broca offre une imagerie du mouvement: une étude combinée cytoarchitectonique et IRMf". Cartographie du cerveau humain. 11 (4): 273-285.
  • Caplan, D. (2006). "Pourquoi la région de Broca est-elle impliquée dans la syntaxe?" Cortex; Un journal consacré à l'étude du système nerveux et du comportement. 42 (4): 469-71.
  • Fadiga, L., Craighero, L. (2006). "Actions de la main et représentation de la parole dans la région de Broca". Cortex; Un journal consacré à l'étude du système nerveux et du comportement. 42 (4): 486-90.

SVT BAC S - Le cerveau : cortex et aires cérébrales (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes