yes, therapy helps!
Schadenfreude: why does the satisfaction of other people's problems appear?

Schadenfreude: why does the satisfaction of other people's problems appear?

January 25, 2022

The schadenfreude is the experience of rejoicing caused by the misery of others . It is a psychological phenomenon that is often related to the lack of empathy and compassion, which is often associated with antisocial personalities. But is it an exclusive phenomenon of these? Why does it manifest?

Next we will see some explanations that the social psychology has offered to explain it.

  • Related article: "Differences between emotions and feelings"

Schadenfreude: satisfaction for the misfortune of others

The German term "schadenfreude" is used to refer to the feeling of satisfaction, complacency, joy or pleasure caused by the difficulties or humiliations experienced by other people. That is, it is about gloating over the mishaps that happen to others.


Although it seems to occur only in isolated cases, the schadenfreude has been described since Ancient Greece in different ways . For example, the term "epicaricacia" was used to refer to the same feeling of enjoyment in the face of someone else's misfortune. In ancient Rome "malevolence" was used to describe the same feeling.

And in the Middle Ages, Thomas Aquinas thought that schadenfreude was, along with resentment and defamation, one of the perverse emotions derived from envy . In fact, centuries later, this would continue to be one of the main explanations for the schadenfreude, as we shall see below.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Psychology of envy: 5 keys to understand it"

Why does it appear? Explanations of social psychology

Is not it supposed that the misfortune of others should cause compassion? What generates this feeling of rejoicing that we call schadenfreude? Do you have any adaptive function? Aaron Ben Zeev, a psychologist at the University of Haifa, says that the schadenfreude is triggered mainly in the following circumstances :

  • If, according to our judgment, the other seems to deserve his misfortune.
  • If the damage suffered by the other is relatively light.
  • If the damage it has not been caused by our fault .

The foregoing, however, does not eliminate the social expectation of feeling compassion for the misfortune of others. This contradiction between the obligation to feel this emotion, but not being able to avoid feeling joy, generates an important discomfort. To reduce it, the person starts responding morally from compassion, and later justifying the misfortune by principles of justice.


1. The individual satisfaction of justice

This phenomenon is usually explained by the hierarchies in which we relate, since, according to the position we occupy, we tend to evaluate the positions of others , as well as the kind justice they deserve.

So, as soon as we suspect that someone is enjoying something they should not, we are jealous and jealous. On the contrary, when that same person is suddenly involved in a complicated situation, the sensation that provokes us is that of a rebalancing of power.

2. Provoked by envy?

Traditionally the schadenfreude had been explained by the envy that causes a more privileged position of others . In other words, this phenomenon would occur especially from a less privileged person to a more privileged one, when the latter has had some mishap.

What good would the misfortune of the other, which is more privileged, have for us? Beyond envy, other explanations suggest that the misfortune of the most privileged other returns an ephemeral image about a balance of power inclined to our favor .

The vulnerability of the other, whom we hardly recognize as vulnerable precisely because of his privileged position, would give us an image of power over ourselves. It is an investment of statutes that gives us recognition for principles of justice.

Aaron Ben Zeev himself explains schadenfreude as an emotional phenomenon that, as such, is activated when we perceive significant changes in our personal situation. These changes they will be positive or negative according to whether they interrupt or improve the situation according to our interests .

In this sense, the schadenfreude would have an adaptive character, since it provokes a significant positive change (it allows momentarily reducing one's own vulnerability); which in turn helps us to adapt to an environment in constant change.

3. Theory of superiority and intergroup relationship

Another of the explanations of schadenfreude is based on the theory of superiority, which has also been used to explain some of the functions of humor.

Studies that start from this explanation have linked the schadenfreude with a tendency to conformism (specifically in the change of opinions towards the tendency of the majority). Likewise It has been associated with low self-esteem : people with scores that reveal low self-esteem are more inclined to experimental schadenfreude, probably as a means of reaffirming a position of power they see at constant risk.

That is, the latter is explained by the phenomenon of self-perceived threat, which is related to perceptions about the power position that others have , compared to ours. Thus, if circumstances reduce the self-perceived threat, the schadenfreude also tends to decrease.

This has also led to relate this psychological phenomenon with depression. According to studies on schadenfreude, this occurs frequently in cases of moderate depression, probably because self-esteem is devalued.

Thus, beyond being a purely psychological phenomenon, the schadenfreude It has also been explained as an effect of the threat of inferiority , mediated in turn by hierarchical dimensions present in particular intergroup relations.

Bibliographic references:

  • Degen, F. (2014). The joy in other's misfortune. Retrieved October 12, 2018. Available at //plus.google.com/101046916407340625977/posts/YRVfS8runXR
  • Feather, N.L. and Sherman, R. (2002). Envy, Resentment, Schadenfreude and Sympathy: Reactions to Deserved and Undeserved Achievement and Subsequent Failure. Personality and Social Psychology Bulletin, 28 (7): 953-961.
  • Leach, C.W., Spears, R., Branscombe, NR. and Doosje, B. (2003). Malicious pleasure: schadenfreude at the suffering of another group. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology.
  • Michalik-Jezowska, M. (2016). About the benefits of pleasure-in-other's-misfortune. Aaron Ben-Ze'ev's depiction of emotions as adaptive mechanisms. Studia Humana, 5 (3): 53-69.

People Who Drew The Short Straw That Day (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Schadenfreude: pourquoi la satisfaction des problèmes des autres apparaît-elle?

Schadenfreude: pourquoi la satisfaction des problèmes des autres apparaît-elle?

Août 17, 2022

La schadenfreude est l'expérience de la joie provoquée par la misère des autres . Il s’agit d’un phénomène psychologique souvent lié au manque d’empathie et de compassion, souvent associé à des personnalités antisociales. Mais est-ce un phénomène exclusif de ceux-ci? Pourquoi cela se manifeste?

Nous verrons ensuite quelques explications proposées par la psychologie sociale.

  • Article connexe: "Différences entre émotions et sentiments"

Schadenfreude: satisfaction pour le malheur des autres

Le terme allemand "schadenfreude" est utilisé pour désigner le sentiment de satisfaction, de complaisance, de joie ou de plaisir causé par les difficultés ou les humiliations vécues par d'autres personnes. C’est-à-dire qu’il faut jubiler au sujet des mésaventures qui affectent les autres.


Bien que cela ne semble se produire que dans des cas isolés, la schadenfreude a été décrit de différentes manières depuis la Grèce antique . Par exemple, le terme "epicaricacia" a été utilisé pour désigner le même sentiment de jouissance face au malheur de quelqu'un d'autre. Dans la Rome antique, la "malveillance" était utilisée pour décrire le même sentiment.

Au Moyen Âge, Thomas d’Aquin pensait que schadenfreude était, avec le ressentiment et la diffamation, une des émotions perverses issues de l'envie . En fait, des siècles plus tard, cela continuera d’être l’une des principales explications de la schadenfreude, comme nous le verrons plus loin.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Psychologie de l'envie: 5 clés pour la comprendre"

Pourquoi apparaît-il? Explications de la psychologie sociale

N'est-il pas supposé que le malheur des autres devrait causer de la compassion? Qu'est-ce qui génère ce sentiment de joie que nous appelons schadenfreude? Avez-vous une fonction adaptative? Aaron Ben Zeev, psychologue à l’Université de Haïfa, déclare que la schadenfreude est déclenché principalement dans les circonstances suivantes :

  • Si, à notre avis, l'autre semble mériter son malheur.
  • Si le préjudice subi par l'autre est relativement léger.
  • Si le dommage cela n'a pas été causé par notre faute .

Ce qui précède n’élimine toutefois pas l’attente sociale de compassion pour le malheur des autres. Cette contradiction entre l'obligation de ressentir cette émotion, mais de ne pas pouvoir éviter de ressentir de la joie, génère un malaise important. Pour le réduire, la personne commence à répondre moralement par compassion, puis à justifier le malheur par des principes de justice.


1. La satisfaction individuelle de la justice

Ce phénomène est généralement expliqué par les hiérarchies dans lesquelles nous nous rapportons, puisque, selon la position que nous occupons, nous avons tendance à évaluer les positions des autres , ainsi que l'aimable justice qu'ils méritent.

Donc, dès que nous soupçonnons que quelqu'un profite de quelque chose qu'ils ne devraient pas, nous sommes jaloux et jaloux. Au contraire, lorsque cette même personne est soudainement impliquée dans une situation compliquée, la sensation qui nous provoque est celle d’un rééquilibrage du pouvoir.

2. Provoqué par envie?

Traditionnellement, la schadenfreude était expliquée par l’envie qui provoque une position plus privilégiée des autres . En d’autres termes, ce phénomène se produirait surtout d’une personne moins privilégiée à une autre plus privilégiée, lorsque cette dernière a eu un malheur.

A quoi servirait le malheur de l'autre, plus privilégié, pour nous? Au-delà de l’envie, d’autres explications suggèrent que le malheur de l’autre plus privilégié renvoie une image éphémère de un rapport de force en notre faveur .

La vulnérabilité de l'autre, que nous reconnaissons à peine comme vulnérable précisément à cause de sa position privilégiée, nous donnerait une image du pouvoir sur nous-mêmes. C'est un investissement dans les lois qui nous permet de reconnaître les principes de justice.

Aaron Ben Zeev lui-même explique la schadenfreude en tant que phénomène émotionnel qui, en tant que tel, est activé lorsque nous percevons des changements importants dans notre situation personnelle. Ces changements ils seront positifs ou négatifs selon qu'ils interrompent ou améliorent la situation en fonction de nos intérêts .

En ce sens, la schadenfreude aurait un caractère adaptatif, dans la mesure où elle provoque un changement positif important (elle permet de réduire momentanément sa propre vulnérabilité); ce qui nous aide à nous adapter à un environnement en constante évolution.

3. Théorie de la supériorité et relation intergroupe

Une autre explication de schadenfreude est basée sur la théorie de la supériorité, qui a également été utilisée pour expliquer certaines des fonctions de l'humour.

Les études qui partent de cette explication ont lié la schadenfreude à une tendance au conformisme (en particulier dans le changement d'opinions vers la tendance de la majorité). De même Il a été associé à une faible estime de soi : les personnes avec des scores qui révèlent une faible estime de soi sont plus enclines à expérimenter la schadenfreude, probablement pour réaffirmer une position de pouvoir qu’elles voient à un risque constant.

C’est-à-dire que cette dernière s’explique par le phénomène de menace auto-perçue, qui est liée à la perceptions de la position de pouvoir que les autres ont , comparé au nôtre. Ainsi, si les circonstances réduisent la menace auto-perçue, la schadenfreude a également tendance à diminuer.

Cela a également conduit à relier ce phénomène psychologique à la dépression. Selon les études sur schadenfreude, cela se produit fréquemment dans les cas de dépression modérée, probablement parce que l'estime de soi est dévalorisée.

Ainsi, au-delà d’un phénomène purement psychologique, la schadenfreude Cela a également été expliqué comme un effet de la menace d'infériorité , médiée à son tour par les dimensions hiérarchiques présentes dans les relations intergroupes en particulier.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Degen, F. (2014). La joie dans le malheur des autres. Récupéré le 12 octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //plus.google.com/101046916407340625977/posts/YRVfS8runXR.
  • Plume, N.L. et Sherman, R. (2002). Envie, ressentiment, Schadenfreude et sympathie: réactions au succès mérité et non mérité et échec ultérieur. Personnalité et Social Psychology Bulletin, 28 (7): 953-961.
  • Leach, C. W., Spears, R., Branscombe, NR. et Doosje, B. (2003). Plaisir malicieux: schadenfreude devant la souffrance d’un autre groupe. Journal de personnalité et de psychologie sociale.
  • Michalik-Jezowska, M. (2016). Sur les avantages du plaisir dans l'autre malheur. La représentation par Aaron Ben-Ze'ev des émotions en tant que mécanismes adaptatifs. Studia Humana, 5 (3): 53-69.

YouTubers React To Short Viral Videos (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes