yes, therapy helps!
Corpus callosum of the brain: structure and functions

Corpus callosum of the brain: structure and functions

June 17, 2024

Let's think for a moment about a human brain. It is a structure of great complexity in which the existence of two clearly differentiated parts is perceived, the two cerebral hemispheres.

We also know that each of these hemispheres has some more specialized functions in different aspects , for example by finding speech in the left hemisphere (usually) or having seen that while the right hemisphere is more holistic or global the left hemisphere is more logical and analytical. But nevertheless, these two hemispheres are not loose and separated between them , but at some point in the anatomy of the brain it is possible to find a point of union. This point of union is the so-called corpus callosum .


What is the corpus callosum?

It is called corpus callosum to the set of nerve fibers that unites both cerebral hemispheres. This structure It is mainly formed by neuronal axons coated with myelin, which are part of the white matter of the brain. Within the white substance the corpus callosum is considered an interhemispheric commissure, since it connects and exchanges information between structures of the different hemispheres.

This structure is located in the midline of the brain, situating itself in the interhemispheric fissure and being mostly hidden from external observation when it is partially covered by the cortex. It has a leaf or comma shape, having different parts that connect different parts of the brain to each other .


The areas connected by this structure of the encephalon are mostly cortical areas, albeit with some exceptions. Usually the subcortical structures communicated with other structures and commissures.

Parts of the corpus callosum

While the corpus callosum is considered a single structure, it has traditionally been divided into several parts. Specifically, the corpus callosum could be divided into the following four sections .

1. Peak or rostrum

Located in the lower frontal part of the corpus callosum, it is the most anterior part of this structure. It is born from the terminal lamina and is connected to the optic chiasm.

2. Genu or knee

It is the part of the corpus callosum that it curves into the brain , going before to the frontal lobes to form in smaller forceps. The fibers of this part of the corpus callosum they connect the prefrontal cortices of the two hemispheres, allowing their information to be integrated .


3. Body

After the genu or knee, the body is found, which ends up thickening in its back. It connects with the septum and the trine This, in turn, is an important connection structure between regions of the brain, such as the thalamus, the hippocampus and other areas of the limbic system.

4. Splenius or runner

The most posterior and final part of the corpus callosum is formed by the fibers of which they end up associating with other projection and associative fibers. It connects with the occipital lobe to form the greater forceps, and also is linked to the lateral ventricle to the point of forming one of its lower walls . It also connects with the pineal gland and the habenular commissure (which connects the habenular nuclei of both hemispheres).

Functions of this part of the brain

The main function of the corpus callosum is to transmit information from one hemisphere to another , allowing interhemispheric communication. In this way the fact that the functions of each of the hemispheres is partly different does not prevent them from acting as an integrated whole, allowing the precise execution of the different processes and actions carried out by the human being.

In this sense also is linked to learning and information processing , to unite and act as a link between the different brain nuclei. On the other hand, if for example a part of a cerebral hemisphere is injured, thanks to the corpus callosum the opposite hemisphere can take care of those functions that are left unattended.

In addition, some studies show that, apart from this function, the corpus callosum also influences the vision, specifically in the eye movement , to be transmitted through him the information on the muscles of the eye. It is natural, since in the ocular movements it is crucial the coordination between the two hemibodies, in this case the eyes.

What happens when it is sectioned?

The corpus callosum is an important structure when it comes to integrating the information received and processed by both cerebral hemispheres. Although the absence of connection between hemispheres at the corpus callosum level does not imply a complete loss of functionality (since Although it is the main interhemispheric commissure, it is not the only ), the total or partial disconnection of the cerebral hemispheres can suppose an important handicap for the accomplishment of diverse activities.

Among other things, this kind of disconnection between parts of the brain can give way to what is known as Callose disconnection syndrome .

In this syndrome we have seen how patients with divided brain (that is, they present a disconnection between both hemispheres) have shown difficulties such as lack of coordination, repetition or perseveration when carrying out sequenced activities how to comb, feed or dress, sometimes doing the same action twice due to lack of motor integration.

As well greatly hinders the learning and retention of new information not being able to coordinate information correctly (although it does not preclude it, it requires much more effort than usual), as well as it can cause alexia (inability to read) and agraphy (inability to write).

In addition, significant changes can occur at the sensory level. For example, it has been shown that Posterior injuries of the corpus callosum can cause severe difficulties to perform discriminations between somatic stimuli , causing somatic agnosias or lack of recognition from tactile stimuli. Memory and language problems are also common.

Callosotomy: when sectioning the corpus callosum can be good

Despite the disadvantages that this kind of surgical interventions may involve, in the presence of some very serious disorders, the division of the corpus callosum or callosotomy has been evaluated and successfully applied for medical purposes, as a lesser evil.

The most typical example is that of resistant epilepsy , in which the sectioning of parts of the corpus callosum is used as a method of reducing severe epileptic seizures, preventing epileptoid impulses from traveling from one hemisphere to another. Despite the problems it can cause on its own, callosotomy increases the quality of life of these patients, due to the fact that the difficulties that can cause are smaller than those that produce the continuous seizures , which reduces the risk of death and the quality of life can improve.

Conditions that affect the corpus callosum

It has been indicated previously that the division of the corpus callosum can have limiting effects, although occasionally its section can be considered in order to improve the symptomatology of some disorder. But nevertheless, that the corpus callosum is cut or damaged can occur in an accidental or natural way , existing multiple diseases that can affect this area of ​​the brain. Some of these alterations can occur from the following.

1. Cranioencephalic traumatisms

In the event of a blow or trauma, the corpus callosum can be easily damaged due mainly to its great consistency and density. Usually a tear of the substance occurs or a diffuse axonal damage as a result of the kick-kick against the bones of the skull. If we talk about effects focused on a point, the greatest affectation is usually given in splenium.

2. Cerebrovascular accidents

Although it is not frequent due to the bilateral irrigation of the corpus callosum, it is possible to find cases in which haemorrhages or ischemia produce an affectation of the white matter of the corpus callosum . In this way, the alterations in the blood flow are able to leave practically cut the communication between the two hemispheres that takes place in the corpus callosum, without the need for a solid element to come in contact with this part of the brain and break it.

3. Demyelinating disorders

Being a structure formed by white substance, covered with myelin, disorders such as multiple sclerosis greatly affect the corpus callosum . This type of disorders causes that the messages sent by the brain are not sent in such an efficient way, with what in the corpus callosum it is caused that the perceptions and functionalities of both hemispheres can not be easily integrated.

4. Brain tumors

Although its compaction makes that in general there are not many tumors that affect the corpus callosum some of great aggressiveness such as lymphoma or glioblastoma multiforme , which is usually located in the white substance, if they can infiltrate affect this particular structure and cause serious damage or "strangle" it by the pressure exerted by the growth of the cancerous parts.

In the case of glioblastoma, it usually produces a typical pattern in the form of a butterfly with greater affectation of the central zone.

5. Malformations

Although not very frequent, it is possible to find malformations in some subjects that cause that, from birth, have a smaller number of connections than usual. Other types of congenital malformations can make it easy to break (and consequent hemorrhage) of blood vessels in the brain, which can also affect the corpus callosum.

Bibliographic references:

  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principles of neuroscience. Fourth edition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid.
  • Mantilla, D.L .; Nariño, D .; Acevedo, J.C .; Berbeo, M.E. and Zorro, O.F. (2011) Callosotomy in the treatment of resistant epilepsy.Medical University of Bogotá, 52 (4): 431-439.
  • Peña-Casanova, J. (2007). Neurology of behavior and neuropsychology. Pan American medical editorial.

2-Minute Neuroscience: Corpus Callosum (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Corpus callosum du cerveau: structure et fonctions

Corpus callosum du cerveau: structure et fonctions

Avril 15, 2021

Pensons un instant au cerveau humain. C'est une structure d'une grande complexité dans laquelle on perçoit l'existence de deux parties clairement différenciées, les deux hémisphères cérébraux.

Nous savons aussi que chacun de ces hémisphères a des fonctions plus spécialisées dans différents aspects , par exemple en trouvant la parole dans l'hémisphère gauche (généralement) ou en ayant constaté que, si l'hémisphère droit est plus holistique ou global, l'hémisphère gauche est plus logique et analytique. Cependant, ces deux hémisphères ne sont pas lâches et séparés entre eux , mais à un moment donné dans l’anatomie du cerveau, il est possible de trouver un point d’union. Ce point d'union est ce qu'on appelle le corps calleux .


Qu'est-ce que le corpus callosum?

C'est ce qu'on appelle le corps calleux de l'ensemble des fibres nerveuses qui unissent les deux hémisphères cérébraux. Cette structure Il est principalement formé d'axones neuronaux recouverts de myéline, qui font partie de la substance blanche du cerveau. Au sein de la substance blanche, le corps calleux est considéré comme une commissure interhémisphérique, car il connecte et échange des informations entre les structures des différents hémisphères.

Cette structure est située dans la ligne médiane du cerveau, elle-même située dans la fissure interhémisphérique et est en grande partie cachée de l'observation externe lorsqu'elle est partiellement recouverte par le cortex. Il a une forme de feuille ou une virgule, ayant différentes parties qui relient différentes parties du cerveau les unes aux autres .


Les zones reliées par cette structure de l'encéphale sont principalement des zones corticales, à quelques exceptions près. Habituellement, les structures sous-corticales communiquaient avec d'autres structures et commissures.

Parties du corps calleux

Bien que le corps calleux soit considéré comme une structure unique, il est traditionnellement divisé en plusieurs parties. Plus précisément le corps calleux pourrait être divisé en quatre sections .

1. Pic ou rostrum

Situé dans la partie inférieure frontale du corps calleux, il s’agit de la partie la plus antérieure de cette structure. Il est né de la lame terminale et est connecté au chiasma optique.

2. Genu ou genou

C'est la partie du corpus callosum que il se courbe dans le cerveau , allant auparavant aux lobes frontaux pour former des pinces plus petites. Les fibres de cette partie du corps calleux ils relient les cortex préfrontaux des deux hémisphères, ce qui permet d'intégrer leurs informations .


3. corps

Après le genou ou le genou, on retrouve le corps qui finit par s'épaissir dans le dos. Il se connecte avec le septum et le trigone Ceci, à son tour, constitue une structure de connexion importante entre des régions du cerveau, telles que le thalamus, l'hippocampe et d'autres zones du système limbique.

4. Splenius ou coureur

La partie la plus postérieure et finale du corps calleux est formée par les fibres dont ils finissent par s'associer avec d'autres fibres saillantes et associatives. Il se connecte avec le lobe occipital pour former le plus grand forceps, et aussi est liée au ventricule latéral au point de former une de ses parois inférieures . Il se connecte également avec la glande pinéale et la commissure habénulaire (qui relie les noyaux habénulaires des deux hémisphères).

Fonctions de cette partie du cerveau

La fonction principale du corps calleux est de transmettre des informations d’un hémisphère à un autre , permettant la communication interhémisphérique. De cette manière, le fait que les fonctions de chacun des hémisphères diffère en partie n'empêche pas ces derniers de fonctionner comme un tout intégré, ce qui permet l'exécution précise des différents processus et actions réalisés par l'être humain.

En ce sens aussi est lié à l'apprentissage et au traitement de l'information , unir et agir comme un lien entre les différents noyaux cérébraux. D'autre part, si, par exemple, une partie de l'hémisphère cérébral est blessée, le corps calleux permet à l'hémisphère opposé de prendre en charge les fonctions laissées sans surveillance.

De plus, certaines études montrent que, mis à part cette fonction, le corps calleux influence également la vision, en particulier dans le mouvement des yeux , pour lui transmettre les informations sur les muscles de l’œil. C'est naturel, car dans les mouvements oculaires, la coordination entre les deux hémicorps, dans ce cas les yeux, est cruciale.

Qu'est-ce qui se passe quand il est sectionné?

Le corps calleux est une structure importante pour l'intégration des informations reçues et traitées par les deux hémisphères cérébraux. Bien que l’absence de connexion entre les hémisphères au niveau du corps calleux n’implique pas une perte totale de fonctionnalité ( Bien que ce soit la principale commissure interhémisphérique, ce n’est pas le seul ), la déconnexion totale ou partielle des hémisphères cérébraux peut constituer un handicap important pour la réalisation de diverses activités.

Entre autres choses, ce genre de déconnexion entre des parties du cerveau peut céder la place à ce que l’on appelle Syndrome de déconnexion Callose .

Dans ce syndrome, nous avons vu comment les patients avec un cerveau divisé (c'est-à-dire qu'ils présentent une déconnexion entre les deux hémisphères) ont montré des difficultés telles que le manque de coordination, de répétition ou de persévérance lors de la réalisation d'activités séquencées comment peigner, nourrir ou habiller, en faisant parfois la même action deux fois à cause du manque d'intégration motrice.

Aussi empêche grandement l'apprentissage et la rétention de nouvelles informations ne pas être capable de coordonner correctement les informations (bien que cela ne l'exclue pas, cela demande beaucoup plus d'effort que d'habitude), de même qu'il peut provoquer une alexie (incapacité de lire) et une agraphie (incapacité d'écrire).

De plus, des changements importants peuvent survenir au niveau sensoriel. Par exemple, il a été démontré que Les lésions postérieures du corps calleux peuvent causer de sérieuses difficultés pour effectuer des discriminations entre les stimuli somatiques. , provoquant des agnosies somatiques ou un manque de reconnaissance des stimuli tactiles. Les problèmes de mémoire et de langage sont également fréquents.

Callosotomie: il peut être bon de couper le corps calleux

Malgré les inconvénients que ce type d’interventions chirurgicales peut impliquer, en présence de troubles très graves, la division du corps calleux ou callosotomie a été évaluée et appliquée avec succès à des fins médicales, comme un moindre mal.

L'exemple le plus typique est celui de l'épilepsie résistante , dans lequel la coupe de parties du corps calleux est utilisée comme méthode de réduction des crises épileptiques graves, empêchant ainsi les impulsions épileptoïdes de se déplacer d’un hémisphère à l’autre. En dépit des problèmes qu’elle peut causer seule, la callosotomie améliore la qualité de vie de ces patients, en raison du fait que les difficultés que cela peut causer sont plus petites que celles qui produisent les crises continues , ce qui réduit les risques de décès et peut améliorer la qualité de la vie.

Conditions qui affectent le corps calleux

Il a été indiqué précédemment que la division du corps calleux pouvait avoir des effets limitants, bien que sa section puisse parfois être envisagée afin d’améliorer la symptomatologie de certains troubles. Cependant, que le corps calleux soit coupé ou endommagé peut se produire de manière accidentelle ou naturelle , plusieurs maladies existantes pouvant affecter cette région du cerveau. Certaines de ces altérations peuvent survenir parmi les suivantes.

1. Traumatismes cranioencéphaliques

En cas de choc ou de traumatisme, le corps calleux peut être facilement endommagé en raison principalement de sa grande consistance et de sa densité. Généralement une déchirure de la substance se produit ou une lésion axonale diffuse résultant du coup de pied contre les os du crâne. Si nous parlons d'effets focalisés sur un point, la plus grande affectation est habituellement donnée au splénium.

2. Accidents cérébrovasculaires

Bien qu’elle soit peu fréquente en raison de l’irrigation bilatérale du corps calleux, il est possible de trouver cas dans lesquels les hémorragies ou l'ischémie produisent une affectation de la substance blanche du corps calleux . De cette manière, les altérations du flux sanguin sont capables de couper pratiquement la communication entre les deux hémisphères dans le corps calleux, sans qu'il soit nécessaire qu'un élément solide entre en contact avec cette partie du cerveau et la brise.

3. Troubles démyélinisants

Être une structure formée par une substance blanche, recouverte de myéline, des troubles tels que la sclérose en plaques affectent grandement le corps calleux . Ce type de troubles fait que les messages envoyés par le cerveau ne sont pas envoyés de manière aussi efficace. De plus, dans le corps calleux, les perceptions et les fonctionnalités des deux hémisphères ne peuvent pas être facilement intégrées.

4. tumeurs cérébrales

Bien que sa compaction fasse qu’en général il n’ya pas beaucoup de tumeurs qui affectent le corps calleux certains de grande agressivité tels que lymphome ou glioblastome multiforme , qui est généralement situé dans la substance blanche, s’ils peuvent s’infiltrer, affecter cette structure particulière et causer de graves dommages ou «l’étrangler» sous la pression exercée par la croissance des parties cancéreuses.

Dans le cas du glioblastome, il produit généralement un motif typique sous la forme d'un papillon avec une plus grande affectation de la zone centrale.

5. Malformations

Bien que cela soit peu fréquent, il est possible de trouver des malformations chez certains sujets qui causent, dès la naissance, un nombre de connexions moins important que d’habitude. D’autres types de malformations congénitales peuvent faciliter la rupture. (et une hémorragie consécutive) des vaisseaux sanguins dans le cerveau, ce qui peut également affecter le corps calleux.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principes de neuroscience. Quatrième édition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid
  • Mantilla, D.L .; Nariño, D .; Acevedo, J.C .; Berbeo, M.E. et Zorro, O.F. (2011) Callosotomie dans le traitement de l'épilepsie résistante.Université médicale de Bogotá, 52 (4): 431-439.
  • Peña-Casanova, J. (2007). Neurologie du comportement et neuropsychologie. Éditorial médical panaméricain.

Neuroanatomie : Diencéphale, Thalamus & Hypothalamus (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes