yes, therapy helps!
Social functioning in schizophrenia: 4 instruments for evaluation

Social functioning in schizophrenia: 4 instruments for evaluation

May 6, 2021

Schizophrenia affects many aspects of people's lives, as it is related to a distortion of the way in which reality is perceived.

One of the dimensions of quality of life that are depleted is what is known as social functioning.

What is social functioning?

Social functioning consists of the ability of the person to adapt to their social environment and their demands . This term refers to the ability to relate to other people, as well as to maintain these relationships, enjoy free time, take care of ourselves and be able to develop the roles that society expects from us.


In the spectrum disorders of schizophrenia, the deterioration of social functioning is a central aspect of the problem and can be detected in the early stages of the course of the disorder. In addition, this phenomenon persists even when the acute phase of the phenomenon has been overcome. On the other hand, the literature shows how certain factors present in patients with disorders of the spectrum of schizophrenia, such as childhood trauma, negative symptoms or certain personality traits, accentuate this deficit in social functioning.

Evaluating social functioning in schizophrenia

It is therefore clear that adequately assessing the social functioning of patients with schizophrenia spectrum disorders is of great importance, since thus the most effective treatments can be provided for the specific situation of each patient .


But not only is it necessary to evaluate effectively the deterioration of social functioning at the level of clinical practice, it is also for research in this area and thus to understand in depth what are the factors and mechanisms that intervene and modulate this deterioration .

The psychometric tools

For this evaluation there are psychometric tools, such as questionnaires or interviews, which help both the clinician and the researcher to know the degree of deficit in the social functioning of patients.

Here we will name four of the most used instruments and we will review their characteristics , (both its structure and its psychometric characteristics). All of them have been adapted to Spanish and validated in people with schizophrenia spectrum disorders.

1. Scale of social and personal functioning (PSP)

This scale developed by Morosini, Magliano, Brambilla, Ugolini, and Pioli (2000) evaluates four areas of patient's social functioning : a) self-care; b) usual social activities; c) personal and social relationships; and d) disruptive and aggressive behavior. It is scored by the clinician and includes a semi-structured interview to help obtain good information on each of the areas.


On this scale the 4 areas are scored using a Likert scale of 6 points, ranging from 1 (absent) to 6 (very serious) . Scores are obtained in each of the 4 areas, in such a way that the highest scores indicate a worse performance, and an overall score of the scale in which the highest values ​​reflect a better personal and social functioning.

The Spanish version of this instrument, developed by Garcia-Portilla et al., (2011), presents an internal consistency of 0.87 and a test-retest reliability of 0.98. So it is a valid and reliable instrument to measure social functioning in patients with schizophrenia.

2. Social Functioning Scale (SFS)

The scale developed by Birchwood, Smith, Cochrane, Wetton, and Copestake (1990) evaluates social functioning in the last three months of the patient's life with spectrum disorders of schizophrenia, and can be administered in the form of a self-reported questionnaire or a semi-structured interview.

It consists of 78 items where seven subscales are measured: isolation, interpersonal behavior, prosocial activities, free time, independence-competence, independence-execution and employment-occupation. The Spanish version of Torres y Olivares (2005) presents high alpha coefficients (between 0.69 and 0.80), making it a valid, reliable and sensitive instrument.

3. Quality of life scale (QLS)

It is a semi-structured interview that contains 21 items, with a Likert scale of 7 points. It was developed by Heinrichs, Hanlon, and Carpenter (1984) and evaluates 4 areas: a) intrapsychic functions; b) interpersonal relationships; c) instrumental role; and d) use of common objects and daily activities.

This scale it is used both to measure the quality of life of patients, as well as the socio-labor functioning . The Spanish version adapted by Rodríguez, Soler, Rodríguez M., Jarne Esparcia, and Miarons, (1995) is a valid tool, with a high internal consistency (0.963) and reliable.

4. WHO Disability Assessment Questionnaire (WHO-DAS-II)

This questionnaire, with different versions (36, 12 and 5 items), evaluates different areas of operation: understanding and communication with the world , ability to manage oneself in the environment, personal care, relationship with other people, activities of daily life and participation in society.

Developed by Vázquez-Barquero et al., (2000), its usefulness, validity and reliability were later corroborated in patients with schizophrenia spectrum disorders by Guilera et al., (2012)

Bibliographic references:

  • Birchwood, M., Smith, J., Cochrane, R., Wetton, S., & Copestake, S. (1990). The Social Functioning Scale. The development and validation of a new scale of social adjustment for use in family intervention programs with schizophrenic patients. The British Journal of Psychiatry: The Journal of Mental Science, 157, pp. 853 - 859. Retrieved from //www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/2289094
  • Garcia-Portilla, M. P., Saiz, P. A., Bousoño, M., Bascaran, M. T., Guzman-Quilo, C., & Bobes, J. (2011). Validation of the Spanish version of the Personal and Social Functioning scale in outpatients with stable or unstable schizophrenia. Journal of Psychiatry and Mental Health, 4 (1), pp. 9 - 18.
  • Guilera, G., Gómez-Benito, J., Pino, O., Red, J. E., Cuesta, M. J., Martinez-Arán, A., ... Rejas, J. (2012). Utility of the World Health Organization Disability Assessment Schedule II in schizophrenia. Schizophrenia Research, 138 (2-3), pp. 240 - 247.
  • Heinrichs, D. W., Hanlon, T. E., & Carpenter, W. T. (1984). The Quality of Life Scale: an instrument for rating the schizophrenic deficit syndrome. Schizophrenia Bulletin, 10 (3), pp. 388-398.
  • Lemos Giráldez, S., Fonseca Pedrero, E., Paino, M., & Vallina, Ó. (2015). Schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders. Madrid: Synthesis.
  • Lysaker, P. H., Meyer, S. S., Evans, J. D., Clements, C. A., & Marks, K. A. (2001). Childhood Sexual Trauma and Psychosocial Functioning in Adults With Schizophrenia. Psychiatric Services, 52 (11), 1485-1488.
  • Morosini, P. L., Magliano, L., Brambilla, L., Ugolini, S., & Pioli, R. (2000). Development, reliability and acceptability of a new version of the DSM-IV Social and Occupational Functioning Assessment Scale (SOFAS) to assess routine social functioning. Acta Psychiatrica Scandinavica, 101 (4), 323-9. Retrieved from //www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/10782554
  • Rodríguez, A., Soler, R.M., Rodríguez M., A., Jarne Esparcia, A.J., & Miarons, R. (1995). Factorial study and adaptation of the Scale of Quality of Life in Schizophrenia (QLS). Journal of General and Applied Psychology: Journal of the Spanish Federation of Psychological Associations. Spanish Federation of Psychology Associations.
  • Torres, A., & Olivares, J. M. (2005). Validation of the Spanish version of the Social Functioning Scale. Spanish Acts of Psychiatry, 33 (4), pp. 216-220.
  • Vázquez-Barquero, J.L., Vázquez Bourgón, E., Herrera Castanedo, S., Saiz, J., Uriarte, M., Morales, F., ... Disabilities, G. C. en. (2000). Spanish version of a new WHO disability assessment questionnaire (WHO-DAS-II): Initial development phase and pilot study. Spanish Acts of Psychiatry.

Only a Genius Or a Person With a Mental Illness Can Answer This (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Fonctionnement social dans la schizophrénie: 4 instruments d'évaluation

Fonctionnement social dans la schizophrénie: 4 instruments d'évaluation

Avril 15, 2021

La schizophrénie affecte de nombreux aspects de la vie des gens, car elle est liée à une distorsion de la manière dont la réalité est perçue.

L’une des dimensions de la qualité de vie qui s’épuise est ce que l’on appelle fonctionnement social.

Qu'est-ce que le fonctionnement social?

Le fonctionnement social consiste en la capacité de la personne à s'adapter à son environnement social et à ses exigences . Ce terme fait référence à la capacité d'établir des relations avec d'autres personnes, ainsi que de maintenir ces relations, de profiter de temps libre, de prendre soin de soi et de pouvoir développer les rôles que la société attend de nous.


Dans le spectre des troubles de la schizophrénie, la détérioration du fonctionnement social est un aspect central du problème et peut être détecté dans les premiers stades de l'évolution de la maladie. De plus, ce phénomène persiste même lorsque la phase aiguë du phénomène a été surmontée. D'autre part, la littérature montre que certains facteurs présents chez les patients présentant des troubles du spectre de la schizophrénie, tels que les traumatismes de l'enfance, les symptômes négatifs ou certains traits de personnalité, accentuent ce déficit de fonctionnement social.

Évaluer le fonctionnement social dans la schizophrénie

Il est donc clair qu’évaluer de manière adéquate le fonctionnement social des patients atteints de troubles du spectre de la schizophrénie revêt une grande importance, dans la mesure où ainsi, les traitements les plus efficaces peuvent être fournis pour la situation spécifique de chaque patient .


Mais il est non seulement nécessaire d'évaluer efficacement la détérioration du fonctionnement social au niveau de la pratique clinique, il est également important pour la recherche dans ce domaine et ainsi de comprendre en profondeur quels sont les facteurs et les mécanismes qui interviennent et modulent cette détérioration. .

Les outils psychométriques

Pour cette évaluation, il existe des outils psychométriques, tels que des questionnaires ou des entretiens, qui aident le clinicien et le chercheur à connaître le degré de déficit du fonctionnement social des patients.

Nous nommerons ici quatre des instruments les plus utilisés et passerons en revue leurs caractéristiques. , (à la fois sa structure et ses caractéristiques psychométriques). Tous ont été adaptés à l'espagnol et validés chez les personnes atteintes de troubles du spectre de la schizophrénie.

1. Échelle de fonctionnement social et personnel (PSP)

Cette échelle développée par Morosini, Magliano, Brambilla, Ugolini et Pioli (2000) évalue quatre domaines du fonctionnement social du patient : a) soins personnels; b) activités sociales habituelles; c) relations personnelles et sociales; et d) comportement perturbateur et agressif. Il est noté par le clinicien et comprend un entretien semi-structuré pour aider à obtenir de bonnes informations sur chacun des domaines.


Sur cette échelle les 4 zones sont notées en utilisant une échelle de Likert de 6 points, allant de 1 (absent) à 6 (très grave) . Les scores sont obtenus dans chacun des 4 domaines, de sorte que les scores les plus élevés indiquent une performance inférieure, et un score global de l'échelle dans laquelle les valeurs les plus élevées reflètent un meilleur fonctionnement personnel et social.

La version espagnole de cet instrument, développée par Garcia-Portilla et al. (2011), présente une cohérence interne de 0,87 et une fiabilité test-retest de 0,98. Il s’agit donc d’un instrument valide et fiable pour mesurer le fonctionnement social des patients atteints de schizophrénie.

2. Échelle de fonctionnement social (SFS)

L'échelle développée par Birchwood, Smith, Cochrane, Wetton et Copestake (1990) évalue le fonctionnement social au cours des trois derniers mois de la vie du patient présentant des troubles du spectre de la schizophrénie et peut être administré sous forme de questionnaire autodéclaré ou d’entrevue semi-structurée.

Il comprend 78 items et sept sous-échelles sont mesurées: isolement, comportement interpersonnel, activités prosociales, temps libre, indépendance-compétence, exécution de l'indépendance et emploi / profession. La version espagnole de Torres y Olivares (2005) présente des coefficients alpha élevés (entre 0,69 et 0,80), ce qui en fait un instrument valide, fiable et sensible.

3. Échelle de qualité de vie (QLS)

Il s’agit d’une interview semi-structurée comprenant 21 éléments, avec une échelle de Likert de 7 points. Il a été développé par Heinrichs, Hanlon et Carpenter (1984) et évalue quatre domaines: a) les fonctions intrapsychiques; b) les relations interpersonnelles; c) rôle instrumental; et d) utilisation d'objets courants et d'activités quotidiennes.

Cette échelle il sert à la fois à mesurer la qualité de vie des patients et à évaluer le fonctionnement socio-professionnel . La version espagnole adaptée de Rodríguez, Soler, Rodríguez M., Jarne Esparcia et Miarons (1995) est un outil valable, avec une cohérence interne élevée (0,963) et fiable.

4. Questionnaire d'évaluation de l'invalidité de l'OMS (WHO-DAS-II)

Ce questionnaire, avec différentes versions (36, 12 et 5 éléments), évalue différents domaines d'activité: compréhension et communication avec le monde , capacité à se gérer dans l’environnement, soins personnels, relations avec les autres, activités de la vie quotidienne et participation à la société.

Développé par Vázquez-Barquero et al. (2000), son utilité, sa validité et sa fiabilité ont ensuite été corroborées par des patients présentant des troubles du spectre de la schizophrénie par Guilera et al. (2012).

Références bibliographiques:

  • Birchwood, M., Smith, J., Cochrane, R., Wetton, S. et Copestake, S. (1990). L'échelle de fonctionnement social. Le développement et la validation d'une nouvelle échelle d'adaptation sociale à utiliser dans les programmes d'intervention familiale auprès de patients schizophréniques. Le British Journal of Psychiatry: Le journal de la science mentale, 157, pp. 853 - 859. Extrait de //www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/2289094
  • Garcia-Portilla, M.P., Saiz, P.A., M. Bousoño, M., Bascaran, M.T., Guzman-Quilo, C. et J. Bobes (2011). Validation de la version espagnole de l'échelle de fonctionnement personnel et social chez les patients ambulatoires atteints de schizophrénie stable ou instable. Journal de psychiatrie et de santé mentale, 4 (1), pp. 9 - 18.
  • Guilera, G., J. Gómez-Benito, O. Pino, J. E. Red, M. J. Cuesta, A. A. Martinez-Arán, J. (2012). Utilité de l'annexe II de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé pour l'évaluation de l'invalidité dans la schizophrénie. Schizophrenia Research, 138 (2-3), p. 240 - 247.
  • Heinrichs, D. W., Hanlon, T. E. et Carpenter, W. T. (1984). L'échelle de la qualité de vie: un instrument d'évaluation du syndrome de déficit schizophrénique. Schizophrenia Bulletin, 10 (3), p. 388-398.
  • Lemos Giráldez, S., Fonseca Pedrero, E., Paino, M. et Vallina, Ó. (2015). Schizophrénie et autres troubles psychotiques. Madrid: synthèse.
  • Lysaker, P.H., Meyer, S.S., Evans, J.D., Clements, C.A. et Marks, K.A. (2001). Traumatisme sexuel durant l'enfance et fonctionnement psychosocial chez les adultes atteints de schizophrénie. Services psychiatriques, 52 (11), 1485-1488.
  • Morosini, P. L., Magliano, L., Brambilla, L., Ugolini, S. et Pioli, R. (2000). Développement, fiabilité et acceptabilité d'une nouvelle version de l'échelle d'évaluation du fonctionnement social et professionnel (SOFAS) du DSM-IV pour évaluer le fonctionnement social de routine. Acta Psychiatrica Scandinavica, 101 (4), 323-9. Récupérée de //www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/10782554
  • Rodríguez, A., Soler, R.M., Rodríguez M., A., Jarne Esparcia, A.J. et Miarons, R. (1995). Etude factorielle et adaptation de l'échelle de qualité de vie dans la schizophrénie (QLS). Revue de psychologie générale et appliquée: Revue de la Fédération espagnole des associations de psychologues. Fédération espagnole des associations de psychologie.
  • Torres, A. et Olivares, J. M. (2005). Validation de la version espagnole de l'échelle de fonctionnement social. Spanish Acts of Psychiatry, 33 (4), pp. 216-220.
  • Vázquez-Barquero, J.L., E. Vázquez Bourgón, S. Herrera Castanedo, J., Saiz, J., Uriarte, M., Morales, ... Invalides, G. C. en. (2000). Version espagnole d'un nouveau questionnaire d'évaluation de l'invalidité de l'OMS (WHO-DAS-II): phase de développement initiale et étude pilote. Actes de psychiatrie espagnols.

Les troubles du cerveau - L'Esprit Sorcier (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes