yes, therapy helps!
The Asch conformity experiment: when social pressure can

The Asch conformity experiment: when social pressure can

November 7, 2022

How many times have we heard that someone has no personality because he ends up doing exactly the same as his group of friends. Psychology, bitter enemy of simple and lazy explanations, examined during the last century what is the influence of the group on the individual.

The most popular and influential studies in this regard are probably those that were carried out during the investigations of Solomon Asch .

This social psychologist studied the phenomenon of conformity, which is the tendency of the individual to modify his response to an object by bringing it closer to that expressed by a majority of individuals within a group , through an experimental situation. Do you think you could have resisted the group pressure in that same situation?


  • Related article: "What is Social Psychology?"

Previous background to Asch

Asch is not the first to investigate social compliance within a group . There were others like Sheriff who twenty years before studied it using ambiguous stimuli. He formed groups of three people in a dark room with a single point of light projected on a wall. This point seems to move due to the movements of the body, but having no reference points creates the illusion that the point moves by itself. These three participants should give an estimate of how much the point moves.

Two of the participants are placed because they give similar estimates in solitary, while the third estimates different. The result is that the latter brings his estimates closer to those of his other two colleagues, given that the stimulus is ambiguous. So, in the face of uncertainty, the individual tends to use the opinion of the majority . In this sense, Asch takes this study as a starting point and goes further using an unambiguous stimulus.


Another precursor of the Asch experiments is Leon Festinger's theory. According to Festinger, judgments must have a basis on which their validity rests. When it comes to judgments about physical reality, to give a valid answer it is enough to examine the object. This means that the individual does not need to know the response of others to know if their own answer is valid, unless it is social judgments.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The Stanford Prison Experiment by Philip Zimbardo"

The Asch experiments

Asch, who thinks that the phenomenon of conformity also occurs before objective physical stimuli, and that Sheriff does not address these stimuli because the one in his experiments is ambiguous , he designs his own research in this line.

First experiment

In the original experiment, Asch forms a group composed of a student and several collaborators of the researcher who pose as subjects. The task consists of the researcher presenting a sheet on which three horizontal bars of different sizes are printed, and each subject must say aloud which of them is the highest. The collaborators are prepared to respond correctly in the first trials, but as the situation progresses they begin to make mistakes and indicate a bar that clearly is not the highest.


The subject who does not know what is happening starts responding correctly, as he thinks, but as the others insist on indicating the wrong bar, their responses begin to be the same as those of others. Thus, it is concluded that the phenomenon of conformity is observable in situations in which the stimulus on which a judgment must be issued is objective.

When interviewing the subjects who had gone through the experiment, they explained that despite knowing with certainty what was the correct answer, they adjusted to the expectations of others for fear of being ridiculed in some way. Some of them even they affirmed think that the answers were really correct .

  • Related article: "Spiral of silence: what is it and what are its causes?"

Following experiments

Not content with this result, Asch carried out similar experiments with minor modifications to see how it was possible to break compliance in the responses. Under the same paradigm, he introduced a series of variations that showed very interesting results.

In one of the conditions, he introduced an "ally" into the group. Apart from the subject who does not know anything, another subject or a researcher is introduced who must give the correct answers independently of the others. It is observed that when the subject sees that he is not the only one who thinks differently from the rest, compliance decreases drastically . In some way, the presence of another minority opinion validates its own.

However, when this ally is removed in the middle of the experiment, the subject again suffers the effects of compliance. Although during the first half of the experiment he managed to resist social pressure, when he loses his source of validation, he again takes the majority opinion as a guide.

In addition, he observed that the greater the number of people in the group, the more powerful the conformity. In small groups, the minority opinion does not suffer as much pressure to change as when three or four other people are added. Other factors such as writing the answer instead of saying it out loud and exposing oneself to criticism or ridicule, explicit or not, favor resistance to conformity.

Why does compliance occur?

The first explanations considered that the social influence was produced through an imitation of the behavior of others, which in turn was based on processes of suggestion and contagion that occur in group contexts. It is considered that this type of contexts facilitate the spread and dissemination of ideas , and imitation allows the individual to become social.

However, from Asch's experiments, conformity is explained by the asymmetry between the target and the source of influence. The subject or target recognizes the power of a source (a majority, for example) and depends on it to obtain the correct information in ambiguous situations and to know what are the rules that must be followed to maintain a positive relationship with others.

When we talk about the subject looking at the opinion of the majority to maintain a response adapted to reality because the situation is ambiguous, we are talking about information dependence. On the other hand, when we say that the subject is fixed in the opinion of the majority to know what is the behavior that must follow to get the approval of the others , we talk about regulatory dependence.

In this way, while Sheriff's experiments have a greater presence of informational dependence because the stimuli are ambiguous, in the Asch experiments the influence is more normative. Although the subject knows with certainty the correct information, he obtains from the rest of the group information about which answer is the one approved by the group and acts in a coherent way with this.


Asch Conformity Experiment (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L’expérience de conformité Asch: quand la pression sociale peut

L’expérience de conformité Asch: quand la pression sociale peut

Septembre 23, 2019

Combien de fois avons-nous entendu dire que quelqu'un n'a pas de personnalité parce qu'il finit par faire exactement la même chose que son groupe d'amis. La psychologie, ennemie amère d'explications simples et paresseuses, a examiné au cours du siècle dernier l'influence du groupe sur l'individu.

Les études les plus populaires et les plus influentes à cet égard sont probablement celles qui ont été menées pendant les enquêtes de Solomon Asch .

Ce psychologue social a étudié le phénomène de conformité, qui est la tendance de l'individu à modifier sa réponse à un objet en le rapprochant de celui exprimé par une majorité d'individus au sein d'un groupe , à travers une situation expérimentale. Pensez-vous que vous auriez pu résister à la pression du groupe dans la même situation?


  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie sociale?"

Contexte précédent de Asch

Asch n'est pas le premier à enquêter sur la conformité sociale au sein d'un groupe . Il y en avait d'autres, comme Sheriff, qui l'avaient étudié vingt ans auparavant sous des stimuli ambigus. Il a formé des groupes de trois personnes dans une pièce sombre avec un seul point de lumière projeté sur un mur. Ce point semble bouger en raison des mouvements du corps, mais l'absence de points de référence crée l'illusion que le point se déplace tout seul. Ces trois participants doivent donner une estimation du déplacement du point.

Deux des participants sont placés car ils donnent des estimations similaires en solitaire, tandis que le troisième est différent. Le résultat est que ce dernier rapproche ses estimations de celles de ses deux autres collègues, le stimulus étant ambigu. Ainsi, face à l'incertitude, l'individu tend à utiliser l'opinion de la majorité . En ce sens, Asch prend cette étude comme point de départ et va plus loin en utilisant un stimulus non ambigu.


Un autre précurseur des expériences Asch est la théorie de Leon Festinger. Selon Festinger, les jugements doivent avoir une base sur laquelle repose leur validité. Lorsqu'il s'agit de juger de la réalité physique, il suffit d'examiner l'objet pour donner une réponse valable. Cela signifie que l'individu n'a pas besoin de connaître la réponse des autres pour savoir si sa propre réponse est valable, sauf s'il s'agit de jugements sociaux.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "L'expérience de la prison de Stanford par Philip Zimbardo"

Les expériences de Asch

Asch, qui pense que le phénomène de conformité se produit aussi avant les stimuli physiques objectifs, et que Le shérif n'aborde pas ces stimuli car celui de ses expériences est ambigu , il conçoit ses propres recherches dans cette ligne.

Première expérience

Dans l'expérience originale, Asch se forme un groupe composé d'un étudiant et de plusieurs collaborateurs du chercheur qui posent en tant que sujets. La tâche consiste pour le chercheur à présenter une feuille sur laquelle sont imprimées trois barres horizontales de tailles différentes, chaque sujet devant indiquer à haute voix lequel des deux est le plus élevé. Les collaborateurs sont prêts à répondre correctement lors des premiers essais mais, au fur et à mesure de l'évolution de la situation, ils commencent à commettre des erreurs et indiquent une barre clairement différente de la meilleure.


Le sujet qui ne sait pas ce qui se passe commence à répondre correctement, comme il le pense, mais comme les autres insistent pour indiquer la mauvaise barre, leurs réponses commencent à être les mêmes que celles des autres. On en conclut donc que le phénomène de conformité est observable dans les situations dans lesquelles le stimulus sur lequel un jugement doit être rendu est objectif.

En interrogeant les sujets qui avaient vécu l'expérience, ils ont expliqué que même s'ils savaient avec certitude quelle était la bonne réponse, ils s'adaptaient aux attentes des autres, de peur d'être ridiculisés. Certains d'entre eux même ils ont affirmé pense que les réponses étaient vraiment correctes .

  • Article connexe: "Spirale du silence: de quoi s'agit-il et quelles sont ses causes?"

Après les expériences

Non content de ce résultat, Asch a réalisé des expériences similaires avec des modifications mineures pour voir comment il était possible de rompre l'observance des réponses. Sous le même paradigme, il a introduit une série de variations qui ont donné des résultats très intéressants.

Dans l'une des conditions, il a introduit un "allié" dans le groupe. En dehors du sujet qui ne sait rien, on introduit un autre sujet ou un chercheur qui doit donner les réponses correctes indépendamment des autres. On observe que lorsque le sujet voit qu'il n'est pas le seul à penser différemment des autres, la conformité diminue considérablement . D'une certaine manière, la présence d'une autre opinion minoritaire valide la sienne.

Cependant, lorsque cet allié est retiré au milieu de l'expérience, le sujet subit à nouveau les effets de l'observance. Bien qu’il ait réussi à résister à la pression sociale au cours de la première moitié de l’expérience, quand il perd sa source de validation, il reprend l'opinion de la majorité comme guide

En outre, il a observé que plus le nombre de membres du groupe était élevé, plus le conformisme était puissant. Dans les petits groupes, l'opinion minoritaire ne subit pas autant de pression pour changer que lorsque trois ou quatre autres personnes sont ajoutées. D'autres facteurs tels que la rédaction de la réponse au lieu de la dire à voix haute et de s'exposer à la critique ou au ridicule, explicite ou non, favorisent la résistance à la conformité.

Pourquoi la conformité existe-t-elle?

Les premières explications considéraient que l'influence sociale résultait d'une imitation du comportement d'autrui, elle-même basée sur des processus de suggestion et de contagion se produisant dans des contextes de groupe. On considère que ce type de contexte faciliter la diffusion et la diffusion des idées et l’imitation permet à l’individu de devenir social.

Cependant, d'après les expériences d'Asch, la conformité s'explique par l'asymétrie entre la cible et la source d'influence. Le sujet ou la cible reconnaît le pouvoir d'une source (une majorité, par exemple) et en dépend pour obtenir les informations correctes dans des situations ambiguës et pour connaître les règles à respecter pour maintenir une relation positive avec les autres.

Quand on parle de sujet qui regarde l'opinion de la majorité pour garder une réponse adaptée à la réalité car la situation est ambiguë, on parle de dépendance à l'information. Par contre, quand on dit que le sujet est fixé dans l’opinion de la majorité pour savoir quel est le comportement à suivre obtenir l'approbation des autres , on parle de dépendance réglementaire.

De cette manière, alors que les expériences du Sheriff ont une plus grande présence de dépendance informationnelle parce que les stimuli sont ambigus, dans les expériences Asch, l'influence est plus normative. Bien que le sujet connaisse avec certitude les informations correctes, il obtient du reste du groupe des informations sur la réponse approuvée par le groupe et agit de manière cohérente.


Le top 5 des études de psychologie sociale qui vous feront requestionner les choses (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes