yes, therapy helps!
The Chinese room experiment: computers with minds?

The Chinese room experiment: computers with minds?

June 17, 2024

The mental experiment of the Chinese room is a hypothetical situation posed by the American philosopher John Searle, to demonstrate that the ability to orderly manipulate a set of symbols does not necessarily imply that there is an understanding or a linguistic understanding of those symbols. That is, the ability to understand does not arise from the syntax, with which, the computational paradigm developed by the cognitive sciences to understand the functioning of the human mind is questioned.

In this article we will see exactly what this thought experiment consists of and what kind of philosophical debates it has generated.

  • Related article: "How are Psychology and Philosophy alike?"

The Turing machine and the computational paradigm

The development of artificial intelligence is one of the great attempts of the 20th century for understand and even replicate the human mind through the use of computer programs . In this context, one of the most popular models has been the Turing machine.


Alan Turing (1912-1954) wanted to show that a programmed machine can hold conversations like a human being. For this, he proposed a hypothetical situation based on imitation: if we program a machine to imitate the linguistic capacity of the speakers, then we put it before a set of judges, and achieve that 30% of these judges think they are talking to a real person, this would be sufficient evidence to show that a machine can be programmed in such a way as to replicate the mental states of human beings; and vice versa, this would also be an explanatory model of how human mental states work.

From the computational paradigm, a part of the cognitive current suggests that the most efficient way to acquire knowledge about the world is through the increasingly refined reproduction of information processing rules , so that, independently of the subjectivity or the history of each one, we could function and respond in society. Thus, the mind would be an exact copy of reality, it is the place of knowledge par excellence and the tool to represent the outside world.


After the Turing machine even some computer systems were programmed that tried to pass the test . One of the first was ELIZA, designed by Joseph Weizenbaum, who responded to users by means of a model previously registered in a database, which made some interlocutors believe they were talking to a person.

Among the most recent inventions that are similar to the Turing machine we find, for example, the CAPTCHA to detect Spam, or SIRI of the iOS operating system. But, just as there have been those who try to prove that Turing was right, there have also been those who question it.

  • You may be interested: "The Molyneux Problem: a curious mental experiment"

The Chinese room: does the mind work like a computer?

From the experiments that sought to approve the Turing test, John Searle distinguishes between Weak Artificial Intelligence (the one that simulates the understanding, without but intentional states, that is, it describes the mind but does not equal it); and Strong Artificial Intelligence (when the machine has mental states like those of human beings, for example, if it can understand stories as a person does).


It is impossible for Searle to create Strong Articial Intelligence , what he wanted to prove by means of a mental experiment known as the Chinese room or the Chinese piece. This experiment consists of posing a hypothetical situation that is as follows: a native speaker of English, who does not know Chinese, is locked in a room and must answer questions about a story that has been told in Chinese.

How do you respond? Through a book of rules written in English that serve to syntactically arrange the Chinese symbols without explaining its meaning, only explaining how they should be used. Through this exercise, the questions are answered properly by the person inside the room, even when this person has not understood its content.

Now, suppose there is an external observer, what do you see? That the person who is inside the room behaves exactly like a person who does understand Chinese.

For Searle, this shows that a computer program can mimic a human mind, but this does not mean that the computer program is the same as a human mind, because It has no semantic capacity or intentionality .

Impact on the understanding of the human mind

Taken to the field of humans, the foregoing means that the process by which we develop the ability to understand a language goes beyond having a set of symbols; other elements that computer programs can not have are necessary.

Not only that, but from this experiment studies have been expanded on how meaning is constructed , and where that meaning is. The proposals are very diverse, ranging from cognitivist perspectives that say that it is in the head of each person, derived from a set of mental states or that are given in an innate way, to more constructionist perspectives that ask how social systems are constructed and practices that are historical and that give a social meaning (that a term has a meaning not because it is in people's heads, but because it enters a set of practical language rules).

Criticisms to the mental experiment of the Chinese room

Some researchers who do not agree with Searle think that the experiment is invalid because, even if the person inside the room does not understand Chinese, it may be that, in conjunction with the elements that surround him (the same room, the real estate, the rules manual), there is an understanding of Chinese.

Given this, Searle responds with a new hypothetical situation: even if we disappear the elements that surround the person who is inside the room, and we ask him to memorize the rules manuals to manipulate the Chinese symbols, this person would not be understanding Chinese, which does not make a computational processor either.

The answer to this same criticism has been that the Chinese room is a technically impossible experiment. In turn, the answer to this has been that what is technically impossible does not mean that it is logically impossible .

Another of the most popular criticisms has been the one carried out by Dennett and Hofstadter, which apply not only to the Searle experiment but also to the set of mental experiments that have been developed in recent centuries, since the reliability is doubtful because they do not have an empirical reality rigorous, but speculative and close to common sense, with which, they are first of all a "bomb of intuitions".

Bibliographic references:

  • González, R. (2012). The Chinese Piece: a mental experiment with Cartesian bias ?. Chilean Journal of Neuropsychology, 7 (1): 1-6.
  • Sandoval, J. (2004). Representation, discursivity and situated action. Critical introduction to the social psychology of knowledge. University of Valparaíso: Chile.
  • González, R. (S / A). "Pumps of intuitions", mind, materialism and dualism: Verification, refutation or epoché ?. Repository of the University of Chile. [Online]. Accessed April 20, 2018. Available at //repositorio.uchile.cl/bitstream/handle/2250/143628/Bombas%20de%20intuiciones.pdf?sequence=1.

The Chinese Room Experiment - The Hunt for AI - BBC (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'expérience des salles chinoises: des ordinateurs intelligents?

L'expérience des salles chinoises: des ordinateurs intelligents?

Décembre 9, 2021

L'expérience mentale de la salle chinoise Le philosophe américain John Searle a posé une situation hypothétique visant à démontrer que la capacité de manipuler de façon ordonnée un ensemble de symboles ne signifie pas nécessairement qu'il existe une compréhension ou une compréhension linguistique de ces symboles. C'est-à-dire que la capacité à comprendre ne découle pas de la syntaxe avec laquelle le paradigme informatique développé par les sciences cognitives pour comprendre le fonctionnement de l'esprit humain est mis en question.

Dans cet article, nous verrons exactement en quoi consiste cette expérience de pensée et quel type de débats philosophiques elle a généré.

  • Article connexe: "En quoi la psychologie et la philosophie sont-elles semblables?"

La machine de Turing et le paradigme informatique

Le développement de l’intelligence artificielle est l’une des grandes tentatives du XXe siècle pour comprendre et même reproduire l'esprit humain grâce à l'utilisation de programmes informatiques . Dans ce contexte, l’un des modèles les plus populaires a été la machine de Turing.


Alan Turing (1912-1954) voulait montrer qu'une machine programmée pouvait tenir une conversation comme un être humain. Pour cela, il a proposé une situation hypothétique basée sur l'imitation: si nous programmons une machine pour imiter la capacité linguistique des locuteurs, nous la soumettons à un groupe de juges et nous réalisons que 30% de ces juges pensent qu'ils parlent une personne réelle, cela constituerait une preuve suffisante pour montrer qu’une machine peut être programmée de manière à reproduire les états mentaux de l’être humain; et inversement, ce serait également un modèle explicatif du fonctionnement des états mentaux humains.

Selon le paradigme informatique, une partie du courant cognitif suggère que le moyen le plus efficace d’acquérir des connaissances sur le monde consiste à: la reproduction de plus en plus raffinée des règles de traitement de l'information afin que, indépendamment de la subjectivité ou de l’histoire de chacun, nous puissions fonctionner et réagir en société. Ainsi, l’esprit serait une copie exacte de la réalité, c’est le lieu du savoir par excellence et l’outil pour représenter le monde extérieur.


Après la machine de Turing même certains systèmes informatiques ont été programmés pour tenter de réussir le test . ELIZA, l'un des premiers, a été conçu par Joseph Weizenbaum. Celui-ci a répondu aux utilisateurs au moyen d'un modèle préalablement enregistré dans une base de données, faisant ainsi croire à certains interlocuteurs qu'ils parlaient à une personne.

Parmi les inventions les plus récentes similaires à la machine de Turing, nous trouvons, par exemple, le CAPTCHA pour détecter le spam, ou le SIRI du système d'exploitation iOS. Mais, de la même manière que certains ont essayé de prouver que Turing avait raison, certains ont également remis en question sa crédibilité.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Le problème Molyneux: une curieuse expérience mentale"

La salle chinoise: l'esprit fonctionne-t-il comme un ordinateur?

Parmi les expériences visant à approuver le test de Turing, John Searle distingue l’Intelligence Artificielle Faible (celle qui simule la compréhension sans états intentionnels, c’est-à-dire qu’elle décrit l’esprit mais ne l’équivaut pas); et une intelligence artificielle forte (lorsque la machine a des états mentaux comme ceux des êtres humains, par exemple, si elle peut comprendre des histoires comme le fait une personne).


Il est impossible pour Searle de créer une forte intelligence articulaire , ce qu’il voulait prouver au moyen d’une expérience mentale connue sous le nom de pièce chinoise ou pièce chinoise. Cette expérience consiste à poser une situation hypothétique qui se présente comme suit: un anglophone, qui ne connaît pas le chinois, est enfermé dans une pièce et doit répondre à des questions concernant une histoire qui a été racontée en chinois.

Comment répondez-vous? À travers un livre de règles écrites en anglais servant à organiser les symboles chinois de manière syntaxique sans en expliquer le sens, en expliquant seulement comment ils devraient être utilisés. Au cours de cet exercice, la personne à l'intérieur de la pièce répond correctement aux questions, même si cette personne n'a pas compris son contenu.

Maintenant, supposons qu'il y ait un observateur externe, que voyez-vous? Que la personne qui se trouve dans la pièce se comporte exactement comme une personne qui comprend le chinois.

Pour Searle, cela montre qu'un programme informatique peut imiter un esprit humain, mais cela ne signifie pas qu'il est identique à un esprit humain, car Il n'a ni capacité sémantique ni intentionnalité .

Impact sur la compréhension de l'esprit humain

Ce qui précède signifie que le processus par lequel nous développons la capacité de comprendre une langue dépasse le simple fait de disposer d’un ensemble de symboles; d'autres éléments que les programmes informatiques ne peuvent pas avoir sont nécessaires.

Non seulement cela, mais de cette expérience des études ont été développées sur la manière dont le sens est construit , et où ce sens est. Les propositions sont très diverses, allant des perspectives cognitivistes qui disent que c'est dans la tête de chaque personne, dérivée d'un ensemble d'états mentaux ou qui sont données de manière innée, à des perspectives plus constructivistes qui demandent comment sont construits les systèmes sociaux. et des pratiques qui sont historiques et qui donnent un sens social (un terme a un sens non pas parce qu’il est dans la tête des gens, mais parce qu’il entre dans un ensemble de règles linguistiques pratiques).

Critiques à l'expérience mentale de la salle chinoise

Certains chercheurs qui ne sont pas d'accord avec Searle pensent que l'expérience est invalide car, même si la personne à l'intérieur de la pièce ne comprend pas le chinois, il se peut que, conjointement avec les éléments qui l'entourent (la même pièce, l'immobilier, le manuel des règles), il existe une compréhension du chinois.

Searle répond alors à une nouvelle situation hypothétique: même si nous supprimons les éléments qui entourent la personne qui se trouve dans la pièce et lui demandons de mémoriser les manuels de règles pour manipuler les symboles chinois, cette personne ne comprendrait pas le chinois, qui ne fait pas non plus de processeur de calcul.

La réponse à cette même critique a été que la salle chinoise est une expérience techniquement impossible. À son tour, la réponse à cela a été que ce qui est techniquement impossible ne veut pas dire que c'est logiquement impossible .

Une autre des critiques les plus populaires a été celle de Dennett et Hofstadter, qui s’appliquent non seulement à l’expérience Searle, mais également à l’ensemble des expériences mentales développées au cours des derniers siècles, car leur fiabilité est douteuse car elles n’ont pas de réalité empirique. rigoureux, mais spéculatif et proche du sens commun, avec lequel, ils sont avant tout une "bombe d'intuition".

Références bibliographiques:

  • González, R. (2012). La pièce chinoise: une expérience mentale avec biais cartésien? Journal chilien de neuropsychologie, 7 (1): 1-6.
  • Sandoval, J. (2004). Représentation, discursivité et action située. Introduction critique à la psychologie sociale de la connaissance. Université de Valparaiso: Chili.
  • González, R. (S / A). "Pompes d 'intuitions", esprit, matérialisme et dualisme: vérification, réfutation ou epoché?. Dépôt de l'Université du Chili. [En ligne]. Consulté le 20 avril 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //repositorio.uchile.cl/bitstream/handle/2250/143628/Bombas%20de%20intuiciones.pdf?sequence=1.

The Third Industrial Revolution: A Radical New Sharing Economy (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes