yes, therapy helps!
The concept of creativity throughout history

The concept of creativity throughout history

May 6, 2021

Creativity is a human psychological phenomenon that has favorably served the evolution of our species, as well as intelligence. In fact, for a long time, they have become confused.

At present, it is argued that creativity and intelligence have a close relationship , but which are two different dimensions of our psychic world; highly creative people are not smarter, nor are those who have a high IQ more creative.

Part of the confusion about what creativity is is due to the fact that, for centuries, creativity has been covered with a mystical-religious halo . Therefore, practically until the twentieth century, its study has not been addressed scientifically.


Even so, since ancient times, it has fascinated us and we have tried to explain its essence through philosophy and, more recently, applying the scientific method, especially from Psychology.

Creativity in Antiquity

The Hellenic philosophers tried to explain creativity through divinity . They understood that creativity was a kind of supernatural inspiration, a whim of the gods. The creative person considered himself an empty vessel that a divine being filled with the necessary inspiration to create products or ideas.

For example, Plato argued that the poet was a sacred being, possessed by the gods, that he could only create what his muses dictated to him (Plato, 1871). From this perspective, creativity was a gift accessible to a select few, which implies an aristocratic vision of it that will last until the Renaissance.


Creativity in the Middle Ages

The Middle Ages, considered an obscurantist period for the development and understanding of the human being, arouses little interest for the study of creativity. It is not considered a time of creative splendor , so there was not much effort in trying to understand the mechanism of creation.

In this period, man was completely subject to the interpretation of the biblical scriptures and all his creative production was oriented to pay tribute to God. A curious fact of this era is the fact that many creators will resign to sign their works, which evidenced the denial of their own identity.

Creativity in the Modern Age

In this stage, the divine conception of creativity becomes blurred to give way to the idea of ​​hereditary trait . Simultaneously, a humanistic conception emerges, from which man is no longer a being abandoned to his destiny or to divine designs, but co-author of his own future.


During the Renaissance the taste for aesthetics and art was retaken, the author recovers the authorship of his works and some other Hellenic values. It is a period in which the classic is reborn. The artistic production grows spectacularly and, consequently, the interest to study the mind of the creative individual also grows.

The debate about creativity, at this time, focuses on the duality "nature versus nurture" (biology or parenting), although without further empirical support. One of the first treatises on human ingenuity belongs to Juan Huarte de San Juan, Spanish doctor who in 1575 published his work "Examination of ingenios for sciences", precursor of Differential Psychology and Professional Guidance. At the beginning of the 18th century, thanks to figures such as Copernicus, Galileo, Hobbes, Locke and Newton, confidence grows in science as faith grows in human capacity to solve their problems through mental effort . Humanism is consolidated.

The first relevant investigation of modernity on the creative process takes place in 1767 by William Duff, who will analyze the qualities of the original genius, differentiating it from talent. Duff argues that talent is not accompanied by innovation, while the original genius does. The points of view of this author are very similar to the recent scientific contributions, in fact, he was the first to point towards the biopsychosocial nature of the creative act, demythologizing it and advancing two centuries to the Biopsychosocial Theory of Creativity (Dacey and Lennon, 1998).

Contrarily, during this same time, and fueling the debate, Kant understood creativity as something innate , a gift of nature, that can not be trained and that constitutes an intellectual trait of the individual.

Creativity in postmodernity

The first empirical approaches to the study of creativity do not occur until the second half of the nineteenth century , by openly rejecting the divine conception of creativity. Also influenced by the fact that at that time the Psychology began its split of the Philosophy, to become an experimental science, so it increased the positivist effort in the study of human behavior.

During the nineteenth century the conception of hereditary trait prevailed. Creativity was a characteristic feature of men and it took a long time to assume that there could be creative women. That idea was reinforced from the Medicine, with different findings on the heritability of physical features. An exciting debate between Lamarck and Darwin on genetic inheritance captured scientific attention for much of the century. The first argued that the traits learned could be passed between consecutive generations, while Darwin (1859) showed that genetic changes are not so immediate , neither result of practice or learning, but occur by random mutations during the phylogeny of the species, for which large periods of time are required.

Postmodernity in the study of creativity could situate it in the works of Galton (1869) on individual differences, very influenced by Darwinian evolution and by the associationist current. Galton focused on the study of the hereditary trait, dispensing with psychosocial variables. Two influential contributions stand out for further research: the idea of ​​free association and how it operates between the conscious and the unconscious, which Sigmund Freud will later develop from his psychoanalytic perspective, and the application of statistical techniques to the study of individual differences, what make it the author bridge between the speculative study and the empirical study of creativity .

The consolidation phase of Psychology

Despite the interesting work of Galton, the psychology of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries was interested in simpler psychological processes, following the trajectory marked by Behaviorism, which rejected mentalism or the study of unobservable processes.

The behavioral domain postponed the study of creativity until the second half of the 20th century, with the exception of a couple of surviving lines of positivism, Psychoanalysis and Gestalt.

The Gestalt vision of creativity

The Gestalt provided a phenomenological conception of creativity . He began his career in the second half of the nineteenth century, opposing Galton's associationism, although his influence was not noticed until well into the twentieth century. The Gestaltists argued that creativity is not a simple association of ideas in a new and different way. Von Ehrenfels first used the term gestalt (mental pattern or form) in 1890 and based his postulates on the concept of innate ideas, as thoughts that originate completely in the mind and do not depend on the senses to exist.

Gestaltists argue that creative thinking is the formation and alteration of gestalts, whose elements have complex relationships forming a structure with some stability, so they are not simple associations of elements. They explain creativity by focusing on the structure of the problem , affirming that the mind of the creator has the ability to move from one structure to another more stable. Thus, the insight, or spontaneous new understanding of the problem (phenomenon Aha! or eureka!), occurs when a mental structure suddenly transforms into a more stable one.

This means that creative solutions are usually obtained by looking in a new way at an existing gestalt, that is, when we change the position from which we analyze the problem. According to the Gestalt, when we get a new point of view about the whole, instead of reorganizing its elements, creativity emerges .

Creativity according to psychodynamics

The psychodynamics made the first major effort of the twentieth century in the study of creativity. From psychoanalysis, creativity is understood as the phenomenon that emerges from the tension between conscious reality and the unconscious impulses of the individual. Freud argues that writers and artists produce creative ideas to express their unconscious wishes in a socially acceptable way , so that art is a compensatory phenomenon.

It contributes to demystifying creativity, arguing that it is not the product of muses or gods, nor a supernatural gift, but that the experience of creative illumination is simply the passage from the unconscious to the conscious.

The contemporary study of creativity

During the second half of the 20th century, and following the tradition initiated by Guilford in 1950, creativity has been an important object of study of Differential Psychology and Cognitive Psychology, although not exclusively of them. From both traditions, the approach has been fundamentally empirical, using historiometry, ideographic studies, psychometrics or meta-analytical studies, among other methodological tools.

Currently, the approach is multidimensional . We analyze aspects as diverse as personality, cognition, psychosocial influences, genetics or psychopathology, to mention some lines, while multidisciplinary, because there are many domains that are interested in it, beyond Psychology.Such is the case of the company studies, where creativity arouses great interest for its relationship with innovation and competitiveness.

A) Yes, During the last decade, research on creativity has proliferated , and the offer of training and training programs have grown significantly. Such is the interest to understand that research extends beyond academia, and occupies all kinds of institutions, including government. Their study transcends individual analysis, including group or organizational, to address, for example, creative societies or creative classes, with indexes to measure them, such as: Euro-creativity index (Florida and Tinagli, 2004); Creative City Index (Hartley et al., 2012); The Global Creativity Index (The Martin Prosperity Institute, 2011) or the Creativity Index in Bilbao and Bizkaia (Landry, 2010).

From Classical Greece to the present day, and despite the great efforts that we continue to devote to analyzing it, we have not even managed to reach a universal definition of creativity, so we are still far from understanding its essence . Perhaps, with the new approaches and technologies applied to psychological study, as is the case of the promising cognitive neuroscience, we can discover the keys of this complex and intriguing mental phenomenon and, finally, the 21st century will become the historical witness of such a milestone.

Bibliographic references:

  • Dacey, J. S., & Lennon, K. H. (1998). Understanding creativity. The interplay of biological, psychological and social factors. (1st ed) .. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.
  • Darwin, C. (1859). On the origin of the species by natural selection. Londom: Murray.
  • Of San Juan, J. H. (1575). Examination of ingenios for the sciences (2003- Dig.). Madrid: Universal virtual library.
  • Duff, W. (1767). Essay on Original Genius (Vol. 53). London, UK.
  • Florida, R., & Tinagli, I. (2004). Europe in the creative age. UK: Software Industry Center & Demos.
  • Freud, S. (1958). The relation of the poet to day-dreaming. In On creativity and the unconscious. Harper & Row Publishers.
  • Galton, F. (1869). Hereditary genius: an inquiry into its laws and consequences (2000 ed.) London, UK: MacMillan and Co.
  • Guilford, J. P. (1950). Creativity. The American Psychologist.
  • Hartley, J., Potts, J., MacDonald, T., Erkunt, C., & Kufleitner, C. (2012). CCI-CCI Creative City Index 2012.
  • Landry, C. (2010). Creativity In Bilbao & Bizkaia. Spain.

The History of Creativity (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le concept de créativité à travers l'histoire

Le concept de créativité à travers l'histoire

Novembre 17, 2019

La créativité est un phénomène psychologique humain qui a favorablement servi l'évolution de notre espèce ainsi que l'intelligence. En fait, pendant longtemps, ils sont devenus confus.

Actuellement, il est soutenu que la créativité et l'intelligence ont une relation étroite , mais qui sont deux dimensions différentes de notre monde psychique; les personnes très créatives ne sont pas plus intelligentes, pas plus que celles qui ont un QI élevé sont plus créatives.

Une partie de la confusion à propos de ce qu'est la créativité est due au fait que, pendant des siècles, la créativité a été recouverte d'un halo mystico-religieux . Par conséquent, pratiquement jusqu'au vingtième siècle, son étude n'a pas été abordée scientifiquement.


Néanmoins, depuis l'Antiquité, il nous fascine et nous essayons d'expliquer son essence par la philosophie et, plus récemment, en appliquant la méthode scientifique, en particulier par la psychologie.

La créativité dans l'Antiquité

Les philosophes helléniques ont essayé d'expliquer la créativité par la divinité . Ils ont compris que la créativité était une sorte d'inspiration surnaturelle, un caprice des dieux. La personne créatrice se considérait comme un vase vide qu'un divin étant rempli de l'inspiration nécessaire pour créer des produits ou des idées.

Par exemple, Platon a soutenu que le poète était un être sacré, possédé par les dieux, qu'il ne pouvait créer que ce que ses muses lui dictaient (Platon, 1871). De ce point de vue, la créativité était un cadeau accessible à quelques privilégiés, ce qui implique une vision aristocratique de celle-ci qui durera jusqu'à la Renaissance.


La créativité au moyen âge

Le Moyen Âge, considéré comme une période obscurantiste pour le développement et la compréhension de l'être humain, suscite peu d'intérêt pour l'étude de la créativité. Ce n'est pas considéré comme une période de splendeur créative Il n’ya donc pas eu beaucoup d’efforts pour essayer de comprendre le mécanisme de la création.

À cette époque, l’homme était complètement soumis à l’interprétation des Écritures bibliques et toute sa production créative était orientée de manière à rendre hommage à Dieu. Un fait curieux de cette époque est le fait que de nombreux créateurs vont démissionner pour signer leurs œuvres, ce qui témoigne du déni de leur propre identité.

La créativité à l'ère moderne

Dans cette étape, la conception divine de la créativité s'estompe pour laisser place à l'idée de trait héréditaire . Simultanément, une conception humaniste émerge, à partir de laquelle l'homme n'est plus un être abandonné à son destin ou à des desseins divins, mais un coauteur de son propre avenir.


À la Renaissance, le goût de l'esthétique et de l'art a été repris, l'auteur retrouve le droit d'auteur de ses œuvres et de certaines autres valeurs helléniques. C’est une période de renaissance du classique. La production artistique se développe de façon spectaculaire et, par conséquent, l'intérêt d'étudier l'esprit de l'individu créateur se développe également.

Le débat sur la créativité, à cette époque, est centré sur la dualité «nature contre culture» (biologie ou parentalité), bien qu’elle n’ait plus de support empirique. L'un des premiers traités d'ingéniosité humaine appartient à Juan Huarte de San Juan, médecin espagnol qui publia en 1575 son ouvrage "Examen d'ingénios pour les sciences", précurseur de la psychologie différentielle et de l'orientation professionnelle. Au début du 18ème siècle, grâce à des personnalités telles que Copernic, Galilée, Hobbes, Locke et Newton, la confiance grandit dans la science à mesure que la foi grandit dans la capacité humaine de résoudre leurs problèmes par un effort mental . L'humanisme est consolidé.

La première étude pertinente de la modernité sur le processus de création a lieu en 1767 par William Duff, qui analysera les qualités du génie original et le différenciera du talent. Duff soutient que le talent ne s'accompagne pas d'innovation, contrairement au génie d'origine. Les points de vue de cet auteur sont très similaires aux récentes contributions scientifiques. En fait, il a été le premier à souligner la nature biopsychosociale de l'acte créateur, en le démythalisant et en progressant de deux siècles vers Théorie biopsychosociale de la créativité (Dacey et Lennon, 1998).

Au contraire, pendant ce temps, et alimentant le débat, Kant a compris la créativité comme quelque chose d'inné , un cadeau de la nature, qui ne peut pas être formé et qui constitue un trait intellectuel de l'individu.

La créativité dans la postmodernité

Les premières approches empiriques de l'étude de la créativité n'apparaissent pas avant la seconde moitié du XIXe siècle. , en rejetant ouvertement la conception divine de la créativité. Également influencé par le fait qu’à cette époque la psychologie a commencé à scinder la philosophie pour devenir une science expérimentale, ce qui a accru l’effort positiviste dans l’étude du comportement humain.

Au XIXe siècle, la conception du trait héréditaire a prévalu. La créativité était une caractéristique des hommes et il a fallu beaucoup de temps pour supposer qu'il pouvait y avoir des femmes créatives. Cette idée a été renforcée par la médecine, avec différentes conclusions sur l'héritabilité des caractéristiques physiques. Un débat passionnant entre Lamarck et Darwin sur le patrimoine génétique a attiré l'attention des scientifiques pendant une grande partie du siècle. La première affirmait que les traits appris pouvaient être transmis d’une génération à l’autre, tandis que Darwin (1859) a montré que les changements génétiques ne sont pas si immédiats , ne sont pas le résultat d’une pratique ou d’un apprentissage, mais résultent de mutations aléatoires au cours de la phylogénie de l’espèce, pour lesquelles de longues périodes sont nécessaires.

La postmodernité dans l'étude de la créativité pourrait se situer dans les travaux de Galton (1869) sur les différences individuelles, très influencés par l'évolution darwinienne et par le courant associationniste. Galton s'est concentré sur l'étude du trait héréditaire, en se dispensant de variables psychosociales. Deux contributions influentes méritent d’être approfondies: l’idée d’une association libre et son fonctionnement entre le conscient et l’inconscient, ce que Sigmund Freud développera ultérieurement à partir de sa perspective psychanalytique, et l’application de techniques statistiques à l’étude des différences individuelles, Quoi en faire le pont auteur entre l’étude spéculative et l’étude empirique de la créativité .

La phase de consolidation de la psychologie

En dépit des travaux intéressants de Galton, la psychologie des XIXe et début du XXe siècles s’intéressait à des processus psychologiques plus simples, suivant la trajectoire marquée par le Behaviorism, qui rejetait le mentalisme ou l’étude de processus non observables.

Le domaine comportemental a repoussé l'étude de la créativité jusqu'à la deuxième moitié du 20e siècle, à l'exception de quelques lignes de positivisme, de psychanalyse et de Gestalt qui subsistent.

La vision de la créativité Gestalt

La Gestalt a fourni une conception phénoménologique de la créativité . Il a commencé sa carrière dans la seconde moitié du XIXe siècle, s’opposant à l’associationnisme de Galton, bien que son influence n’ait été remarquée qu’après le XXe siècle. Les Gestaltistes ont fait valoir que la créativité n'est pas une simple association d'idées d'une manière nouvelle et différente. Von Ehrenfels a utilisé le terme gestalt (forme mentale) pour la première fois en 1890 et a fondé ses postulats sur le concept d'idées innées, en tant que pensées qui naissent complètement de l'esprit et ne dépendent pas des sens pour exister.

Les gestaltistes soutiennent que la pensée créatrice est la formation et l'altération de gestales, dont les éléments ont des relations complexes formant une structure avec une certaine stabilité, de sorte qu'ils ne sont pas de simples associations d'éléments. Ils expliquent la créativité en se concentrant sur la structure du problème , affirmant que l'esprit du créateur a la capacité de passer d'une structure à une autre plus stable. Alors, le perspicacité, ou nouvelle compréhension spontanée du problème (phénomène Aha! ou eureka!), se produit quand une structure mentale se transforme soudainement en une structure plus stable.

Cela signifie que les solutions créatives sont généralement obtenues en examinant d’une autre manière une gestalt existante, c’est-à-dire en changeant la position à partir de laquelle on analyse le problème. Selon la Gestalt, quand on a un nouveau point de vue sur le tout, au lieu de réorganiser ses éléments, la créativité émerge .

Créativité selon la psychodynamique

La psychodynamique a fait le premier effort majeur du vingtième siècle dans l’étude de la créativité. De la psychanalyse, la créativité est comprise comme le phénomène qui émerge de la tension entre la réalité consciente et les pulsions inconscientes de l'individu. Freud affirme que les écrivains et les artistes produisent des idées créatives pour exprimer leurs souhaits inconscients de manière socialement acceptable. , de sorte que l'art est un phénomène compensatoire.

Cela contribue à démystifier la créativité, en faisant valoir que ce n'est pas le produit de muses ou de dieux, ni un don surnaturel, mais que l'expérience de l'illumination créatrice est simplement le passage de l'inconscient au conscient.

L'étude contemporaine de la créativité

Au cours de la seconde moitié du XXe siècle, et conformément à la tradition initiée par Guilford en 1950, la créativité a été un objet d'étude important de la psychologie différentielle et de la psychologie cognitive, bien que pas exclusivement. Pour les deux traditions, l'approche a été fondamentalement empirique, utilisant l'historiométrie, les études idéographiques, la psychométrie ou les études méta-analytiques, entre autres outils méthodologiques.

Actuellement, l'approche est multidimensionnelle . Nous analysons des aspects aussi divers que la personnalité, la cognition, les influences psychosociales, la génétique ou la psychopathologie, pour citer quelques lignes tout en étant multidisciplinaires, car de nombreux domaines s’y intéressent, au-delà de la psychologie.Tel est le cas des études d’entreprise, où la créativité suscite un grand intérêt pour sa relation avec l’innovation et la compétitivité.

Ainsi, Au cours de la dernière décennie, les recherches sur la créativité se sont multipliées et l’offre de formation et de programmes de formation a considérablement augmenté. Telle est l’intérêt de comprendre que la recherche ne se limite pas aux universités et qu’elle occupe toutes sortes d’institutions, y compris le gouvernement. Leur étude transcende l’analyse individuelle, y compris collective ou organisationnelle, pour aborder, par exemple, les sociétés créatives ou les classes créatives, avec des index pour les mesurer, tels que: Indice Euro-créativité (Florida et Tinagli, 2004); Indice de la ville créative (Hartley et al., 2012); L'indice mondial de la créativité (The Martin Prosperity Institute, 2011) ou l'indice de la créativité à Bilbao et en Bizkaia (Landry, 2010).

De la Grèce classique à nos jours, et malgré les efforts considérables que nous continuons à consacrer à son analyse, nous n'avons même pas réussi à atteindre une définition universelle de la créativité, nous sommes donc encore loin de comprendre son essence . Peut-être qu'avec les nouvelles approches et technologies appliquées à l'étude psychologique, comme c'est le cas des neurosciences cognitives prometteuses, nous pouvons découvrir les clés de ce phénomène mental complexe et intrigant et, enfin, le 21ème siècle deviendra le témoin historique de un tel jalon.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Dacey, J.S. et Lennon, K.H. (1998). Comprendre la créativité. L’interaction de facteurs biologiques, psychologiques et sociaux. (1ère éd.) .. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.
  • Darwin, C. (1859). Sur l'origine de l'espèce par sélection naturelle. Londom: Murray.
  • De San Juan, J.H. (1575). Examen d'ingénios pour les sciences (2003- Dig.). Madrid: bibliothèque virtuelle universelle.
  • Duff, W. (1767). Essai sur Original Genius (Vol. 53). Londres, Royaume-Uni.
  • Florida, R. et Tinagli, I. (2004). L'Europe à l'ère de la création. Royaume-Uni: Centre de l'industrie du logiciel et démonstrations.
  • Freud, S. (1958). La relation du poète à la rêverie. Dans Sur la créativité et l'inconscient. Éditeurs Harper et Row.
  • Galton, F. (1869). Génie héréditaire: enquête sur ses lois et ses conséquences (éd. De 2000) Londres, Royaume-Uni: MacMillan and Co.
  • Guilford, J. P. (1950). La créativité. Le psychologue américain.
  • Hartley, J., J. Potts, T. MacDonald, C. Erkunt et C. Kufleitner (2012). Indice des villes créatives CCI-CCI 2012.
  • Landry, C. (2010). La créativité à Bilbao et en Bizkaia. Espagne

Design et créativité - Philippe Starck à l'USI (Novembre 2019).


Articles Connexes