yes, therapy helps!
The different types of amnesia (and its characteristics)

The different types of amnesia (and its characteristics)

April 16, 2021

The amnesia it is a disorder that affects the normal functioning of memory and makes the sufferer unable to store information or recover it correctly.

However, beyond this brief definition there are many nuances that make us speak, more than amnesia as a global concept, of types of amnesia.

Amnesia can take different forms

Amnesia can occur in so many ways that studies of certain injuries and dysfunctions In different parts of the brain it has been discovered the mechanisms that operate behind the use of memory from the different types of amnesia that are presented.


In addition, this phenomenon may be caused by injuries or by the "emotional footprint" that have left in the brain certain experiences, causing some memories to be blocked. This means that the types of amnesia can also be established according to the different causes that produce them. In this way we have seen that, what seems to be a simple cognitive function based simply on the storage of information is, in reality, the result of several processes that work at the same time.

In this article we will show the different types of amnesia, their characteristics and criteria by which they can be classified into different categories .

1. Types of amnesia according to their chronology

If we look at the criteria of the chronology in which amnesia is manifested, we will distinguish between two types of amnesia: the retrograde and the antegrade . This classification only serves to describe the symptoms of amnesia, and does not give information about what causes it. In addition, both types of amnesia can be produced at the same time, although many times one is more noticeable than the other.


1.1. Retrograde amnesia

In retrograde amnesia the experiences that are not remembered happened before starting to develop this disorder . It is the most well-known type of amnesia and is expressed in series, films and other works of fiction in which a character does not remember a part of his past.

1.2. Antegrade amnesia

In this type of amnesia There is a total or partial inability to make the experiences that are lived remain fixed in the memory . That is to say, that the anterograde amnesia, by affecting what is happening since the disorder first developed, means that what is being lived does not become part of the long-term memory and is forgotten after a few minutes or seconds.

An example of this type of amnesia can be seen in the famous film Memento.

2. Types of amnesia according to their causes

2.1. Global Amnesia

This type of amnesia consists of the total loss of memory , although usually the most important memories related to one's identity will be kept. Among its most probable causes is the possibility that a traumatic event has altered the normal functioning of the brain.


2.2. Amnesia of childhood

Consists in the inability to remember events experienced in childhood . Despite its name, this type of amnesia is not considered a disorder, as it is common and is part of the normal development of the nervous system as it grows.

2.3. Drug-induced amnesia

Type of amnesia produced by the administration of substances that affect the functioning of the brain causing that the events that happen at that moment are not remembered. It can be a side effect of a drug or it can be the purpose with which a substance has been supplied for therapeutic purposes during, for example, surgery.

2.4. Transient global amnesia

It is not known what produces this type of amnesia, only its symptoms. The person who experiences transient global amnesia will remember the essential aspects about their identity and will also be able to remember things about the immediate past, but will have difficulty accessing memories about what happened just minutes ago (anterograde amnesia) and possibly also when remembering some things belonging to long-term memory. This will happen for 24 hours or less.

2.5. Dissociative amnesia

In dissociative amnesia one is unable to evoke memories related to highly stressful or traumatic experiences. One of the types of amnesia that generate more interest.

2.6. Amnesia font

In this type of amnesia there are certain data or pieces of information that are remembered more or less well , although you are not able to know what your source is, how you have come to know about them.

2.7. Lacunar amnesia

The inability to remember what happened during a given period in which there was no significant stress peak . It is called in this way because it leaves a blank "gap" in the memory.

2.8. Posttraumatic amnesia

Posttraumatic or traumatic amnesia is a type of amnesia produced by a blow to the head or a traumatic brain injury in general . It is used to be transient and to affect the memories of the immediate past. Do not confuse posttraumatic amnesia with the forms of amnesia that appear as a result of traumatic experiences.

2.9. Dissociative leak

This type of amnesia, very common in cases of dementia, the person can realize that he is in a place without remembering how he got there . In the dissociative escape, in addition, it is very common that aspects of one's identity are not remembered, causing the person to undertake a more or less long journey to remember who he is.

2.10. Wernicke-Korsakoff syndrome

Although it is not a type of amnesia per se, Wernicke-Korsakoff syndrome is a set of symptoms in which memory disorders play a very important role. Among its most common symptoms is or a combination of retrograde and antegrade amnesia and confabulation , that is, the involuntary invention of stories that serve to "fill in" the memory gaps. It is usually caused by alcoholism.


Dissociative disorders - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, pathology (April 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les différents types d'amnésie (et ses caractéristiques)

Les différents types d'amnésie (et ses caractéristiques)

Février 18, 2019

Le amnésie c'est un trouble qui affecte le fonctionnement normal de la mémoire et empêche le patient de stocker des informations ou de les récupérer correctement.

Cependant, au-delà de cette brève définition, de nombreuses nuances nous font parler, plus que l'amnésie en tant que concept global, de types d'amnésie.

L'amnésie peut prendre différentes formes

L’amnésie peut survenir à bien des égards que des études sur certaines blessures et certains dysfonctionnements On a découvert dans différentes parties du cerveau les mécanismes qui interviennent dans l’utilisation de la mémoire à partir des différents types d’amnésie présentés.


De plus, ce phénomène peut être causé par des blessures ou par "l'empreinte émotionnelle" qui ont laissé dans le cerveau certaines expériences, provoquant le blocage de certains souvenirs. Cela signifie que les types d'amnésie peuvent également être établis en fonction des différentes causes qui les produisent. De cette manière, nous avons vu que ce qui semble être une simple fonction cognitive basée simplement sur le stockage d’informations est, en réalité, le résultat de plusieurs processus qui fonctionnent simultanément.

Dans cet article nous montrerons les différents types d'amnésie, leurs caractéristiques et les critères selon lesquels ils peuvent être classés en différentes catégories .

1. Types d'amnésie selon leur chronologie

Si nous examinons les critères de la chronologie dans laquelle se manifeste l'amnésie, nous distinguerons deux types d'amnésie: le rétrograde et le antérograde . Cette classification ne sert qu'à décrire les symptômes de l'amnésie et ne donne aucune information sur ses causes. De plus, les deux types d'amnésie peuvent être produits en même temps, bien que plusieurs fois l'un est plus perceptible que l'autre.


1.1. Amnésie rétrograde

Dans l'amnésie rétrograde les expériences dont on ne se souvient plus se sont passées avant de commencer à développer ce trouble . C'est le type d'amnésie le plus connu. Il s'exprime dans les séries, les films et autres œuvres de fiction dans lesquelles un personnage ne se souvient pas d'une partie de son passé.

1.2. Amnésie antérograde

Dans ce type d'amnésie Il existe une incapacité totale ou partielle de faire en sorte que les expériences vécues restent figées dans la mémoire. . C’est-à-dire que l’amnésie antérograde, en affectant ce qui se passe depuis que le désordre a été développé, signifie que ce qui est vécu ne fait pas partie de la mémoire à long terme et est oublié après quelques instants. minutes ou secondes.

Un exemple de ce type d'amnésie peut être vu dans le célèbre film Memento.

2. Types d'amnésie selon leurs causes

2.1. Global Amnesia

Ce type d’amnésie consiste en perte totale de mémoire , bien que les souvenirs les plus importants liés à l’identité soient généralement conservés. Parmi ses causes les plus probables, il y a la possibilité qu'un événement traumatique ait altéré le fonctionnement normal du cerveau.


2.2. Amnésie de l'enfance

Consiste en l'incapacité de se souvenir d'événements vécus dans l'enfance . Malgré son nom, ce type d’amnésie n’est pas considéré comme un trouble, car il est courant et fait partie du développement normal du système nerveux à mesure qu’il se développe.

2.3. Amnésie d'origine médicamenteuse

Type d'amnésie produite par l'administration de substances qui affectent le fonctionnement du cerveau et qui empêche de se souvenir des événements qui se produisent à ce moment-là. Il peut s'agir d'un effet secondaire d'un médicament ou du but dans lequel une substance a été fournie à des fins thérapeutiques pendant, par exemple, une intervention chirurgicale.

2.4. Amnésie globale transitoire

On ne sait pas ce qui produit ce type d'amnésie, seulement ses symptômes. La personne qui fait l'expérience d'une amnésie globale transitoire se souviendra des aspects essentiels de son identité et sera également capable de se rappeler des choses du passé immédiat, mais aura des difficultés à accéder à des souvenirs de ce qui s'est passé il y a quelques minutes (amnésie antérograde) et peut-être aussi lorsqu’on se souvient de certaines choses appartenant à la mémoire à long terme. Cela se produira pendant 24 heures ou moins.

2.5. Amnésie dissociative

Dans l'amnésie dissociative, on est incapable d'évoquer des souvenirs liés à des expériences très stressantes ou traumatisantes. L'un des types d'amnésie qui génère plus d'intérêt.

2.6 Police Amnesia

Dans ce type d'amnésie il y a certaines données ou informations dont on se souvient plus ou moins bien , bien que vous ne puissiez pas savoir quelle est votre source, comment vous avez appris à les connaître.

2.7 Amnésie lacunaire

L’incapacité de se souvenir de ce qui s’est passé pendant une période donnée sans pic de stress significatif . Il est appelé ainsi car il laisse un "espace" vierge dans la mémoire.

2.8. Amnésie post-traumatique

L'amnésie post-traumatique ou traumatique est un type d'amnésie produite par un coup à la tête ou une lésion cérébrale traumatique en général . Il est utilisé pour être transitoire et pour affecter les souvenirs du passé immédiat. Ne confondez pas l'amnésie post-traumatique avec les formes d'amnésie qui apparaissent à la suite d'expériences traumatiques.

2.9 Fuite dissociative

Ce type d'amnésie, très fréquent en cas de démence, la personne peut se rendre compte qu'elle est à un endroit sans se rappeler comment il y est arrivé . De plus, lors de l'évasion dissociative, il est très fréquent que des aspects de l'identité ne soient pas rappelés, amenant ainsi la personne à entreprendre un voyage plus ou moins long pour se souvenir de qui elle est.

2.10. Syndrome de Wernicke-Korsakoff

Bien qu'il ne s'agisse pas d'un type d'amnésie en soi, le syndrome de Wernicke-Korsakoff est un ensemble de symptômes dans lequel les troubles de la mémoire jouent un rôle très important. Parmi ses symptômes les plus communs est vous une combinaison d'amnésie rétrograde et antérograde et de confabulation , c’est-à-dire l’invention involontaire d’histoires servant à «combler» les lacunes de la mémoire. Il est généralement causé par l'alcoolisme.


Trouble dissociatif de l'identité : le cas de DIANA (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes