yes, therapy helps!
The effects of testosterone on the brain of man

The effects of testosterone on the brain of man

June 19, 2024

Testosterone is a hormone that, although also present in women, appears in the collective imagination as the main substance associated with the masculine. Since its discovery it has been related to aggressiveness, competitiveness, muscular and physical development and sexual appetite. We know that all this is influenced by the action of this hormone.

But... How does testosterone affect the brain? Different investigations help to know the implication of this substance in the functioning of the male nervous system.

What is testosterone?

Testosterone is a steroid hormone , which penetrates through the cell membrane and are coupled to certain proteins and pass along with them to the nucleus to be able to synthesize different proteins.


It is also one of the main sex hormones that is part of the group of androgens . It is a fundamental substance for development and is involved in a large number of processes. It emphasizes among them its great importance for the sexual development (the sexual characteristics so much primary as secondary of the men depend to a large extent of this hormone) and in the libido or sexual appetite.

But its functions are not only sexual, but it also has an effect on cognitive abilities, on emotions, on growth and formation of bones and muscles and in the state of mind.

The main organs that release testosterone are the testicles, which release the Leydig cells along with other hormones . This release is governed by the pituitary gland, located in the brain. However, the testicles are not the only organ that secretes testosterone. In fact, both men and women possess testosterone (although the latter to a lesser extent). This is because some cells of the adrenal glands also synthesize and release it, and some ovarian cells in the case of women.


Although it is secreted naturally, in some individuals with different problems you can carry out treatments with synthetic testosterone . This is the case of people with hypogonadism, some biological causes of erectile dysfunction or hormone therapy carried out by people in the process of sex change (specifically, in those cases in which the subject seeks to reassign to the male sex). Patches of this hormone are also used for the treatment of osteoporosis and decreased sexual desire. They have also been used in other areas, such as sports, although their use is considered doping.

Performance at the cerebral level

Testosterone is a hormone that acts at different levels and in different brain structures. The investigations reveal that concretely causes at the brain level an increase in the activity of the limbic system , a set of parts of the brain that participate in the creation of emotions.


In this sense, the amygdala, the hypothalamus or the periaqueductal gray matter will be those that are affected by testosterone, which causes it to be more reactive to stimulation. Keep in mind that these brain areas are very linked to ancestral survival mechanisms , which activates the aggressive response as a way to guarantee one's own security.

In addition, testosterone has different mechanisms of action to promote and increase the production of different neurotransmitters. Specifically, it has been observed that the secretion of dopamine and acetylcholine is greatly influenced by the level of testosterone.

Effects of testosterone in the brain

Testosterone has a series of effects at the brain level of great importance that in turn cause different effects on the behavior and capabilities of the individual. Several are specified below.

1. Increase the level of aggressiveness and competitiveness

The performance of testosterone at the amygdala level and limbic system in general causes the subject to manifest a high reactivity to external stimuli, awakening aggressive reactions more easily It has also been observed that as the concentration of this hormone increases, the level of competitiveness of the subjects tends to be higher.

2. It is linked to energy

The greater presence of testosterone in man is also associated with a higher level of energy and activity. This relationship is bidirectional: testosterone can make us more active, but at the same time the more active we are the more testosterone we generate . This fact makes it advisable to exercise frequently to people who have low levels of this hormone.

3. Power the libido

Another of the most known and visible effects of this sex hormone is precisely the increase in libido. Both men and women. In fact, Patches of this hormone are often prescribed in women who have lost their sexual appetite after menopause.

4. Has influence on mood and anxiety

By increasing the production of dopamine, testosterone has an effect on the maintenance of the state of mind and the sensations of pleasure . Men with low testosterone tend to manifest a greater number of depressive symptoms. In the same way, they also tend to show a higher level of anxiety than subjects with normative or high levels.

5. The capacity for empathy may decrease

People with an excessive amount of testosterone may be less empathetic, more egocentric and with less ability to bond emotionally . This is associated with a possible inhibitory effect of this hormone with oxytocin.

6. Effect on memory

As with dopamine, testosterone causes an increase in acetylcholine levels. Being a hormone involved in brain function, can influence the ability to keep information in memory and later evoke cognitive aspects such as memory.

  • You may be interested: "Types of memory: how does memory store the human brain?"

7. Fosters neurogenesis

Different investigations suggest that the presence of testosterone causes the birth and growth of new neurons, especially in the case of the hippocampus.

  • Related article: "Neurogenesis: how are new neurons created?"

Bibliographic references:

  • Janowsky, J.S. (2006). Thinking with your gonads: testosterone and cognition. Trends in Cognitive Sciences, 10 (2): 77-82.
  • Zarrouf, F.A .; Artz, S .; Griffith, J .; Sirbu, C & Kommor, M. (2009). Testosterone and Depression: Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis. Journal of Psychiatric Practice: 15 (4): 289-305.

Patient Education Video: Low Testosterone (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les effets de la testostérone sur le cerveau de l'homme

Les effets de la testostérone sur le cerveau de l'homme

Mars 7, 2021

La testostérone est une hormone qui, bien que présente également chez les femmes, apparaît dans l'imaginaire collectif comme la substance principale associée au masculin. Depuis sa découverte, il a été associé à l'agressivité, à la compétitivité, au développement musculaire et physique et à l'appétit sexuel. Nous savons que tout cela est influencé par l'action de cette hormone.

Mais ... Comment la testostérone affecte-t-elle le cerveau? Différentes investigations permettent de connaître l’implication de cette substance dans le fonctionnement du système nerveux masculin.

Qu'est-ce que la testostérone?

La testostérone est une hormone stéroïde , qui pénètre à travers la membrane cellulaire, sont couplés à certaines protéines et passent avec eux dans le noyau pour pouvoir synthétiser différentes protéines.


C’est également l’une des principales hormones sexuelles fait partie du groupe des androgènes . C'est une substance fondamentale pour le développement et est impliqué dans un grand nombre de processus. Il souligne parmi eux sa grande importance pour le développement sexuel (les caractéristiques sexuelles tant primaires que secondaires des hommes dépendent en grande partie de cette hormone) et dans la libido ou l'appétit sexuel.

Mais ses fonctions ne sont pas seulement sexuelles, mais il a également un effet sur les capacités cognitives, les émotions, la croissance et la formation des os et des muscles et dans l'état d'esprit.

Les principaux organes qui libèrent de la testostérone sont les testicules, qui libèrent les cellules de Leydig avec d'autres hormones . Cette libération est régie par la glande pituitaire, située dans le cerveau. Cependant, les testicules ne sont pas le seul organe qui sécrète de la testostérone. En fait, les hommes et les femmes possèdent de la testostérone (bien que cette dernière soit dans une moindre mesure). En effet, certaines cellules des glandes surrénales le synthétisent et le libèrent également, ainsi que certaines cellules ovariennes chez les femmes.


Bien qu’elle soit sécrétée naturellement, chez certaines personnes présentant différents problèmes vous pouvez effectuer des traitements avec de la testostérone synthétique . C'est le cas des personnes atteintes d'hypogonadisme, de causes biologiques de la dysfonction érectile ou d'un traitement hormonal administré par des personnes en cours de changement de sexe (en particulier dans les cas où le sujet cherche à se réassigner au sexe masculin). Des patchs de cette hormone sont également utilisés pour le traitement de l'ostéoporose et de la diminution du désir sexuel. Ils ont également été utilisés dans d'autres domaines, tels que le sport, bien que leur utilisation soit considérée comme du dopage.

Performance au niveau cérébral

La testostérone est une hormone qui agit à différents niveaux et dans différentes structures du cerveau. Les enquêtes révèlent que concrètement provoque au niveau du cerveau une augmentation de l'activité du système limbique , un ensemble de parties du cerveau qui participent à la création d’émotions.


En ce sens, l'amygdale, l'hypothalamus ou la substance grise périaqueducale sont ceux qui sont affectés par la testostérone, ce qui la rend plus réactive à la stimulation. Gardez à l’esprit que ces zones du cerveau sont très liés aux mécanismes de survie ancestraux , qui active la réponse agressive comme moyen de garantir sa propre sécurité.

En outre, la testostérone possède différents mécanismes d'action pour promouvoir et augmenter la production de différents neurotransmetteurs. Plus précisément, il a été observé que le niveau de testostérone influait grandement sur la sécrétion de dopamine et d’acétylcholine.

Effets de la testostérone dans le cerveau

La testostérone a une série d'effets au niveau du cerveau d'une grande importance qui, à leur tour, ont des effets différents sur le comportement et les capacités de l'individu. Plusieurs sont spécifiés ci-dessous.

1. Augmenter le niveau d'agressivité et de compétitivité

La performance de la testostérone au niveau de l'amygdale et du système limbique en général provoque le sujet à manifester une réactivité élevée aux stimuli externes, suscitant des réactions agressives plus facilement Il a également été observé que lorsque la concentration de cette hormone augmente, le niveau de compétitivité des sujets tend à être plus élevé.

2. C'est lié à l'énergie

La présence accrue de testostérone chez l'homme est également associée à un niveau d'énergie et d'activité plus élevé. Cette relation est bidirectionnelle: la testostérone peut nous rendre plus actifs, mais en même temps plus nous sommes actifs, plus nous produisons de testostérone . C'est pourquoi il est conseillé de faire de l'exercice régulièrement chez les personnes présentant un faible taux de cette hormone.

3. Power la libido

Un autre des effets les plus connus et les plus visibles de cette hormone sexuelle est précisément l'augmentation de la libido. Chez les hommes et les femmes. En fait Des patchs de cette hormone sont souvent prescrits chez les femmes qui ont perdu leur appétit sexuel après la ménopause.

4. A une influence sur l'humeur et l'anxiété

En augmentant la production de dopamine, la testostérone a un effet sur le maintien de l'état d'esprit et des sensations de plaisir . Les hommes à faible taux de testostérone ont tendance à manifester un plus grand nombre de symptômes dépressifs. De la même manière, ils ont également tendance à montrer un niveau d'anxiété plus élevé que les sujets présentant des niveaux normatifs ou élevés.

5. La capacité d'empathie peut diminuer

Les personnes avec une quantité excessive de testostérone peuvent être moins empathiques, plus égocentriques et avec moins de capacité à créer des liens émotionnels . Ceci est associé à un effet inhibiteur possible de cette hormone avec l'ocytocine.

6. Effet sur la mémoire

Comme avec la dopamine, la testostérone provoque une augmentation des niveaux d'acétylcholine. Être une hormone impliquée dans le fonctionnement du cerveau, peut influencer la capacité de garder des informations en mémoire et plus tard évoquer des aspects cognitifs tels que la mémoire.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke-t-elle le cerveau humain?"

7. Favorise la neurogenèse

Différentes études suggèrent que la présence de testostérone provoque la naissance et la croissance de nouveaux neurones, notamment dans le cas de l'hippocampe.

  • Article connexe: "Neurogenèse: comment sont créés les nouveaux neurones?"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Janowsky, J.S. (2006). Penser avec vos gonades: testostérone et cognition. Trends in Cognitive Sciences, 10 (2): 77-82.
  • Zarrouf, F.A .; Artz, S .; Griffith, J .; Sirbu, C & Kommor, M. (2009). Testostérone et dépression: revue systématique et méta-analyse. Journal of Psychiatric Practice: 15 (4): 289-305.

Bien être - La testostérone fait perdre la tête aux hommes (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes