yes, therapy helps!
The Hunza: the oriental tribe of eternal youth

The Hunza: the oriental tribe of eternal youth

November 29, 2021

In the north of Pakistan, more than a thousand meters above sea level and between mountains covered by glaciers, live hunzakuts, known as "hunza" in Western countries.

These people not only present an aspect more similar to that of Caucasians than the rest of the inhabitants of the country, but they are attributed something that has been given for hundreds of articles over several decades: the tendency to live more than 110 years and reach old age in very good health .

In addition, the first stories that reached the West about the Hunza suggest that the possible explanation for their good health was not in their biology, but in their habits. The fact that the Hunza maintain a vegetarian diet provided a clue: "we are what we eat". Could it be possible to extend our life so many decades by modifying our behavior?


Hunza: an oasis of youth

The valley of the Hunza River, located in a territory difficult to access and isolated from its surroundings by the high mountains, presents the characteristics that any romantic can relate to Eden. A natural territory and little explored, primitive peoples living in it according to traditions, away from the production machinery and processed foods of technologically advanced societies.

In fact, it is said that the hunza descended from soldiers of the army of Alexander the Great that were lost crossing the territory and created a society isolated from the others; This would explain why the language they speak could not be related to any of the great linguistic families of Asia.


So we have it all: a natural environment with charm, an origin that speaks of Westerners being re-educated to reconcile with nature, a vegetarian diet (and, therefore, more culturally linked to "goodness" than one in which eat meat) and unprecedented levels of health. Or, at least, it would be if it were not for the attribution of an extreme longevity to the Hunza is a myth based on several coincidences.

In fact, none of the beliefs that passed from mouth to mouth and from article to article had a scientific basis: the people of eternal youth was a myth born of exaggerations and misunderstandings .

The exaggerations and myths about this tribe

The tribes that live in the valley of the Hunza River were not free from guilt in popularizing their ability to cling to youth and grow old so slowly. John Clark, a researcher who spent several years living with these people, pointed out that the way in which hunzakuts attribute their age does not have as much to do with the time elapsed since birth as in their level of wisdom. That is why the most respected elders can say that they are 145 years old: in their cultural context, this is totally normal and does not arouse strangeness.


Further, It is also worth remembering that the myth of the Hunza has had an impact on their societies . For several decades, they have been able to take advantage of this myth, which leads them to continue extending the exaggerations themselves.

And what about the diet?

Hunzakuts follow two types of diet: one linked to summer and another related to the winter months. In general, both are basically composed of raw vegetables and some other dairy product. In addition, given the lifestyle they follow, which does not depend too much on the use of advanced technology, even people in years of age maintain habits in which exercise is common. In addition, as they are generally Muslim, they avoid alcoholic beverages and substitute them for tea. .

In short, it is a society in which many of the characteristics of what we would call "healthy life" are given and which, in addition, can attract many followers of the paleodieta. This led some researchers, as Sir Robert McCarrison did in the 1920s, to attribute to hunzakuts a surprisingly good digestive health.

Unlike what happened at the beginning of the 20th century, however, today the state of health of the population of the Hunza river valley is well known, and It has been recognized that Hunzakuts have as many diseases as the rest of the surrounding population . In fact, much is known about their genetics: everything points to the fact that they are not even descendants of Balkan settlers. What a disappointment!

Longevity, put into question

Despite all this, nutritionists point out that many aspects of the Hunzakut diet are better than most Westerners: absence of sugar-rich foods, practically no red meat, many vegetables and, of course, a combination of all this with physical exercise. To take note.


Eternal Youth The Film 2015 Preview (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les Hunza: la tribu orientale de la jeunesse éternelle

Les Hunza: la tribu orientale de la jeunesse éternelle

Juin 13, 2021

Au nord du Pakistan, à plus de mille mètres d'altitude et entre des montagnes couvertes de glaciers, vivent hunzakuts, connu sous le nom de "hunza" dans les pays occidentaux.

Ces personnes présentent non seulement un aspect plus semblable à celui des Caucasiens que le reste des habitants du pays, mais on leur attribue quelque chose qui a été donné pour des centaines d'articles sur plusieurs décennies: la tendance à vivre plus de 110 ans et à vieillir en très bonne santé .

En outre, les premières informations parvenues à l’Occident concernant les Hunza suggèrent que l’explication possible de leur bonne santé n’était pas dans leur biologie, mais dans leurs habitudes. Le fait que les Hunza maintiennent un régime végétarien a fourni un indice: "nous sommes ce que nous mangeons". Serait-il possible de prolonger notre vie autant de décennies en modifiant notre comportement?


Hunza: une oasis de jeunesse

La vallée de la rivière Hunza, située dans un territoire difficile d'accès et isolée de son environnement par les hautes montagnes, présente les caractéristiques que tout romantique peut associer à Eden. Un territoire naturel et peu exploré, des peuples primitifs y vivent selon les traditions, à l’écart des machines de production et des aliments transformés des sociétés technologiquement avancées.

En fait on dit que la hunza descend des soldats de l'armée d'Alexandre le Grand qui ont été perdus en traversant le territoire et ont créé une société isolée des autres; Cela expliquerait pourquoi la langue qu'ils parlent ne pourrait être reliée à aucune des grandes familles linguistiques d'Asie.


Nous avons donc tout: un environnement naturel plein de charme, une origine qui évoque la rééducation des Occidentaux pour se réconcilier avec la nature, un régime végétarien (et, par conséquent, plus lié culturellement à la "bonté" que celui dans lequel manger de la viande) et des niveaux de santé sans précédent. Ou du moins, ce serait le cas si ce n'était l'attribution d'une extrême longévité au Hunza, c'est un mythe fondé sur plusieurs coïncidences.

En fait, aucune des croyances transmises de bouche en bouche et d’article à article n’avait de fondement scientifique: le peuple de la jeunesse éternelle était un mythe né d'exagérations et de malentendus .

Les exagérations et les mythes sur cette tribu

Les tribus qui vivent dans la vallée de la rivière Hunza n'étaient pas exemptes de culpabilité en vulgarisant leur capacité à s'accrocher à la jeunesse et à vieillir si lentement. John Clark, un chercheur qui a vécu plusieurs années avec ces personnes, a souligné que la manière dont les hunzakuts attribuent leur âge n’a pas autant à voir avec le temps écoulé depuis la naissance que dans leur niveau de sagesse. C'est pourquoi les anciens les plus respectés peuvent dire qu'ils ont 145 ans: dans leur contexte culturel, cela est tout à fait normal et ne suscite pas d'étrangeté.


En outre, Il convient également de rappeler que le mythe de la Hunza a eu un impact sur leurs sociétés. . Pendant plusieurs décennies, ils ont su tirer parti de ce mythe, ce qui les a amenés à continuer d'étendre les exagérations elles-mêmes.

Et qu'en est-il du régime?

Les hunzakuts suivent deux types de régimes: l'un lié à l'été et l'autre aux mois d'hiver. En général, les deux sont essentiellement composés de légumes crus et d'un autre produit laitier. De plus, étant donné le style de vie qu’ils suivent, qui ne dépend pas beaucoup de l’utilisation de technologies de pointe, même les personnes de plus de 15 ans conservent des habitudes dans lesquelles l’exercice est courant. De plus, comme ils sont généralement musulmans, ils évitent les boissons alcoolisées et les remplacent par du thé. .

En bref, il s’agit d’une société dans laquelle sont présentées de nombreuses caractéristiques de ce que nous appellerions une "vie saine" et qui, de plus, peuvent attirer de nombreux adeptes de la paleodieta. Cela a conduit certains chercheurs, comme Sir Robert McCarrison dans les années 1920, à attribuer aux hunzakuts une santé digestive étonnamment bonne.

Contrairement à ce qui s’est passé au début du XXe siècle, l’état de santé de la population de la vallée de la rivière Hunza est bien connu aujourd’hui. Il a été reconnu que les Hunzakuts ont autant de maladies que le reste de la population environnante . En fait, on en sait beaucoup sur leurs gènes: tout indique qu'ils ne sont même pas les descendants des colons des Balkans. Quelle deception!

La longévité, mise en question

Malgré tout, les nutritionnistes soulignent que de nombreux aspects du régime alimentaire du Hunzakut sont meilleurs que la plupart des Occidentaux: absence d'aliments riches en sucre, pratiquement pas de viande rouge, de nombreux légumes et, bien sûr, une combinaison de tout cela avec l'exercice physique. À prendre note.


Los Hunza - La Tribu que Nunca Envejece ni se Enferma (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes