yes, therapy helps!
The most important cultures of ancient Mesopotamia

The most important cultures of ancient Mesopotamia

September 14, 2022

The explorers say that this is where everything began, the cradle of civilizations.

The so-called Ancient Mesopotamia , which is located in the Middle East today, has seen the birth of many of the most prosperous civilizations in the history of mankind. Predecessors of all the culture acquired worldwide, with more than six thousand years of history, were especially important Babylon, Assyria and the Sumerians.

The name of Mesopotamia It has a meaning that has been translated into different ancient languages ​​of the time: it means "between two rivers". Its origin is due to the geographical location of its culture, located between the Euphrates River and Tigris that are part of the current Syria and Iraq. Among many of the influences and inheritances that have been assumed to be part of our current affairs, one fact in particular is noteworthy, that of writing.


Origin and territorial extension of Mesopotamia

Given the antiquity and the transformation that the zone has suffered since the first archaeological remains were discovered, the extension of the Ancient Mesopotamia is very significant . We could say that it starts from Anatolia (eastern Turkey) to the Persian Gulf of Iran. Note that it is an approximate geographical location, as there may be some discrepancies between expert historians.

Since the origin of Mesopotamia is credited between 5000 and 6000 a.C., it can be intuited that these lands gave rise to the techniques of branches and fisheries, agriculture and livestock. Subsequently, these events involved the development of cities with all their meaning: administration, cultural spaces and circular economy. Some of the first cities were Choga Mami, Buqras or Yarim.


The cultures that influenced the development of Ancient Mesopotamia were several. In the first place it was the Umm Dabaghiyah culture; later the Hassuna-Samarra culture replaced it and finally we find the Halaf or Halaf culture later (around 4,000 BC).

The main Mesopotamian cultures

A territory with so much history would not be understandable without identifying the cultures that formed it. Then we will highlight the most relevant cultures and that gave origin to the Ancient Mesopotamia .

1. The Sumerians

The Sumerians were the first civilization of the region . The first city-states were founded as Uma, Ur, Eridu, and Ea. Impressive as it may seem, at that time there was already a certain state consciousness as a model of society and political system, in a very archaic way, of course, where there was a single figure with absolute power over the masses that the Sumerians called "vicar". God protector of the city.


In addition, it was during this period that there is evidence of the first pictograms, which would be the origin of the writing, since this technique is based on the assimilation of the drawings to the words. The construction of temples and walls to surround the cities as a measure of protection suggests that there were different battles between the towns of the area.

2. The Acadians

As has been happening throughout the history of mankind, success soon attracted the enemies of the area. Different nomadic peoples, especially from the Arabian Peninsula such as the Syrians, Hebrews and Arabs who decided to intensely invade the territories developed by the Sumerians. It dates from 2,500 a.C. the absolute dominion of the mentioned civilizations.

The Akkadians were the most important group in Mesopotamia thanks to King Sargon , who founded the capital of Agadé to replace Kis once the Lugalzagesi empire was defeated. The Sargon dynasty had to face for centuries various internal revolts in the struggle for power, a fact that overthrew the Akkadian Empire back in the year 2,200 BC. at hand the gutis and morreos.

3. The Assyrians and Babylonians

After a brief "reconquest" of the Sumerians from the lands usurped by the Akkadians, the Babylonian and Assyrian empires were the most influential cultures of ancient Mesopotamia , constituting a new model of unified empire that would be adopted even by the modern monarchs of Western Europe as the dominant political system.

Under the mandate of Hammurabi an extensive struggle for the expansion of territory and cultural hegemony began, making the city of Babylon its capital. At this time, the first laws and codes were established to cement an effective administration model since the empire was endowed with more control that needed control.

Surely the Assyrian empire is the most important for their tremendous military practices to which they submitted with the dominated people.They were brutal, implacable, bloodthirsty and incoherent. They trampled with the preceding culture and imposed theirs. Likewise, not all were bitter battles. The Assyrians incorporated innovative irrigation techniques, river inflows and a cultural legacy that today is still classified as one of the most beautiful in the world.


Mesopotamia: Crash Course World History #3 (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les cultures les plus importantes de l'ancienne Mésopotamie

Les cultures les plus importantes de l'ancienne Mésopotamie

Décembre 7, 2022

Les explorateurs disent que c'est ici que tout a commencé, le berceau des civilisations.

Le soi-disant Mésopotamie Ancienne , qui se trouve au Moyen-Orient aujourd’hui, a vu naître nombre des civilisations les plus prospères de l’histoire de l’humanité. Les prédécesseurs de toute la culture acquise dans le monde entier, avec plus de six mille ans d’histoire, étaient particulièrement importants: Babylone, Assyrie et les Sumériens.

Le nom de Mésopotamie Il a une signification qui a été traduite dans différentes langues anciennes de l’époque: cela signifie "entre deux rivières". Son origine est due à la situation géographique de sa culture, située entre l'Euphrate et le Tigre, qui fait partie de l'actuelle Syrie et de l'Irak. Parmi les nombreuses influences et héritages supposés faire partie de nos affaires courantes, il convient de souligner un fait, l’écriture.


Origine et extension territoriale de la Mésopotamie

Compte tenu de l’antiquité et de la transformation subie par la zone depuis la découverte des premiers vestiges archéologiques, l'extension de l'ancienne Mésopotamie est très importante . On pourrait dire que cela commence de l'Anatolie (Turquie orientale) au golfe Persique d'Iran. Notez qu'il s'agit d'un emplacement géographique approximatif, car il peut y avoir des divergences entre les historiens experts.

Étant donné que l’origine de la Mésopotamie est estimée entre 5 000 et 6 000 av. J.-C., on peut s’imaginer que ces terres ont donné naissance aux techniques de ramification et de pêche, d’agriculture et d’élevage. Par la suite, ces événements ont impliqué le développement des villes avec tout leur sens: administration, espaces culturels et économie circulaire. Certaines des premières villes étaient Choga Mami, Buqras ou Yarim.


Les cultures qui ont influencé le développement de la Mésopotamie ancienne ont été multiples. En premier lieu, c'était la culture d'Umm Dabaghiyah; plus tard la culture Hassuna-Samarra l'a remplacée et finalement nous retrouvons la culture Halaf ou Halaf plus tard (environ 4000 ans av. J.-C.).

Les principales cultures mésopotamiennes

Un territoire avec tant d’histoire ne serait pas compréhensible sans l’identification des cultures qui l’ont formé. Ensuite nous soulignerons les cultures les plus pertinentes et qui ont donné naissance à la Mésopotamie ancienne .

1. Les sumériens

Les Sumériens ont été la première civilisation de la région . Les premières cités-états ont été fondées comme Uma, Ur, Eridu et Ea. Aussi impressionnant que cela puisse paraître, il existait déjà à l'époque une certaine conscience étatique en tant que modèle de société et de système politique, d'une manière très archaïque bien entendu, où il existait un personnage unique doté d'un pouvoir absolu sur les masses, que les Sumériens appelaient "vicaire". Dieu protecteur de la ville.


De plus, c’est pendant cette période qu’ont été mis en évidence les premiers pictogrammes, qui seraient à l’origine de l’écriture, puisque cette technique repose sur l’assimilation des dessins aux mots. La construction de temples et de murs pour entourer les villes à titre de mesure de protection suggère qu'il y avait différentes batailles entre les villes de la région.

2. Les Acadiens

Comme cela a été le cas au cours de l'histoire de l'humanité, le succès a rapidement attiré les ennemis de la région. Différents peuples nomades, en particulier originaires de la péninsule arabique tels que les Syriens, les Hébreux et les Arabes, qui ont décidé d'envahir intensément les territoires développés par les Sumériens. Il date de 2500 ans avant JC la domination absolue des civilisations mentionnées.

Les Akkadiens constituaient le groupe le plus important de la Mésopotamie grâce au roi Sargon , qui a fondé la capitale Agadé pour remplacer Kis après la défaite de l'empire Lugalzagesi. La dynastie Sargon a dû faire face pendant des siècles à diverses révoltes internes dans la lutte pour le pouvoir, un fait qui a renversé l'empire akkadien en l'an 2.200 av. à portée de main les gutis et morreos.

3. Les Assyriens et les Babyloniens

Après une brève "reconquête" des Sumériens des terres usurpées par les Akkadiens, les empires babylonien et assyrien étaient les cultures les plus influentes de l'ancienne Mésopotamie , constituant un nouveau modèle d'empire unifié qui serait adopté même par les monarques modernes de l'Europe occidentale en tant que système politique dominant.

Sous le mandat de Hammurabi, une vaste bataille pour l'expansion du territoire et l'hégémonie culturelle a commencé, faisant de la ville de Babylone sa capitale. A cette époque, les premières lois et codes ont été établis pour cimenter un modèle d'administration efficace puisque l'empire était doté de plus de contrôle qui nécessitait un contrôle.

Certes, l'empire assyrien est le plus important pour les pratiques militaires extraordinaires auxquelles il s'est soumis avec le peuple dominé.Ils étaient brutaux, implacables, assoiffés de sang et incomparables. Ils ont piétiné avec la culture précédente et imposé la leur. De même, tous n'étaient pas des batailles acharnées. Les Assyriens ont incorporé des techniques d’irrigation innovantes, des apports fluviaux et un héritage culturel qui est encore classé parmi les plus beaux au monde.


L'histoire des Sumériens, 1ère civilisation au monde, dans le croissant fertile ou Mésopotamie (Décembre 2022).


Articles Connexes