yes, therapy helps!
The trait that attracts us at first sight (according to science)

The trait that attracts us at first sight (according to science)

November 29, 2021

They have been carried out Hundreds of studies on attraction and infatuation . And to this day, everything is not yet said in regard to the great mystery of the relationship of our brain and our behavior with the romantic. The truth is that both falling in love and the attraction to another individual are complex phenomena to study, which involve individual but also cultural factors.

In today's article we echo an investigation that claims to have found the key to the attractiveness of men and women (at least, in the West). So do not miss it!

You may be interested: "The chemistry of love: a very powerful drug"

What science says so far

Having said that, and before moving on to the topic of this article, you might be interested in another article that we published just a few months ago, in which you can find a compilation of the results of the different investigations that talk about falling in love and attraction. .


Because in recent decades studies in this field have been many and varied, and despite the fact that there has not always been a consensus on this matter, they allow us to draw some curious conclusions about this phenomenon and they help us understand what happens inside the mind of the lover .

These conclusions of different works carried out by psychologists, sociologists and doctors can be found in our article. "Love and falling in love: 7 surprising investigations".

The trait that men and women find most attractive

But what is the trait or characteristic that men or women think is more attractive in the opposite sex? This is what Jessica Tracy, a professor at the British Columbia University (United States) and director of a research carried out by the same university that was published in the American Psychological Association Journal.


The subjects of the study were presented with different photographs of the opposite sex. Participants were then asked what their reaction was to the attraction they felt for the expressions they saw. The results can be considered surprising in terms of the tastes of women: "Men who are considered more attractive are those who show a more serious trait and smile less" , says Tracy.

The reaction of men is opposite to that of women

However, the reaction of men was contrary to that of women. "For men, women who smile are very attractive. This was the characteristic most appreciated by men " said Tracy.

Researchers admit that they do not know exactly why this difference. Now, there are also different studies that affirm that women like bad guys or hard guys, in which the smile is not precisely its most characteristic feature. But Tracy warns: "When people want a long-term relationship they look for other things and not just physical attractiveness, for example, if they are a good person or responsible person. So this investigation does not say you're a bad man. "


Another study confirms that bad-tempered men are smarter

And the results of this research are surprising. But Moody men, in addition to being more attractive to women, are smarter . This is the conclusion of a study conducted by Joseph Forgas and published in Australasian Science. This expert in emotions devised different experiments in which the mood of the subjects was manipulated through films and positive or negative memories.

The scientist found that being in a bad mood helps us think more clearly. Contrary to what happens with people with excessive optimism, people who are characterized by their usual bad mood make better decisions In addition, they are more unbelieving people: it is not easy to deceive them.

In addition, according to Forgas, people with a more dejected state of mind have greater ability to argue their opinions in writing. People process reason and common sense better and have a better communication style. Finally, this study seems to indicate that bad weather also affects us, because wet and sad days improve memory, while sunny days favor forgetfulness.

You can read more about this research in our article: "People with a difficult character tend to be smarter, according to study"

The Science of Attraction (What Makes Someone Attractive?) (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le trait qui nous attire à première vue (selon la science)

Le trait qui nous attire à première vue (selon la science)

Février 18, 2019

Ils ont été réalisés Des centaines d'études sur l'attraction et l'engouement . Et à ce jour, tout n’a pas encore été dit sur le grand mystère de la relation de notre cerveau et de notre comportement avec les romantiques. La vérité est que tomber amoureux et attirer un autre individu sont des phénomènes complexes à étudier, qui impliquent des facteurs individuels mais aussi culturels.

Dans l'article d'aujourd'hui nous faisons écho à une enquête qui prétend avoir trouvé la clé de l'attractivité des hommes et des femmes (au moins, à l'ouest). Alors ne manquez pas ça!

Vous pourriez être intéressé: "La chimie de l'amour: un médicament très puissant"

Que dit la science jusqu'à présent

Cela dit, et avant de passer au sujet de cet article, vous pourriez être intéressé par un autre article que nous avons publié il y a quelques mois à peine, dans lequel vous pouvez trouver une compilation des résultats des différentes enquêtes qui parlent de tomber amoureux et d'attirer. .


Parce qu'au cours des dernières décennies, les études dans ce domaine ont été nombreuses et variées, et malgré le fait qu'il n'y ait pas toujours eu de consensus sur ce sujet, elles nous permettent de tirer des conclusions curieuses sur ce phénomène et ils nous aident à comprendre ce qui se passe dans l'esprit de l'amant .

Ces conclusions de différents travaux menés par des psychologues, des sociologues et des médecins se retrouvent dans notre article. "Amour et tomber amoureux: 7 enquêtes surprenantes".

Le trait que les hommes et les femmes trouvent le plus attrayant

Mais quel est le trait ou la caractéristique que les hommes ou les femmes pensent être plus attractif chez le sexe opposé? C’est ce que Jessica Tracy, professeure à la British Columbia University (États-Unis) et directrice d’une recherche menée par la même université et publiée dans le American Psychological Association Journal.


Les sujets de l'étude ont été présentés avec différentes photographies du sexe opposé. On a ensuite demandé aux participants quelle était leur réaction à l’attrait qu’ils ressentaient pour les expressions qu’ils voyaient. Les résultats peuvent être considérés comme surprenants au niveau des goûts des femmes: "Les hommes qui sont considérés comme plus attrayants sont ceux qui montrent un trait plus sérieux et qui sourient moins" dit Tracy.

La réaction des hommes est opposée à celle des femmes

Cependant, la réaction des hommes était contraire à celle des femmes. "Pour les hommes, les femmes qui sourient sont très attirantes. C’était la caractéristique la plus appréciée des hommes " dit Tracy.

Les chercheurs admettent qu'ils ne savent pas exactement pourquoi cette différence. À présent, différentes études affirment que les femmes aiment les méchants ou les durs, dans lesquelles le sourire n’est pas précisément son trait le plus caractéristique. Mais Tracy avertit: "Quand les gens veulent une relation à long terme, ils recherchent autre chose et pas seulement un attrait physique, par exemple, s’ils sont une bonne personne ou une personne responsable. Donc, cette enquête ne dit pas que vous êtes un homme mauvais. "


Une autre étude confirme que les hommes de mauvaise humeur sont plus intelligents

Et les résultats de cette recherche sont surprenants. Mais Les hommes de mauvaise humeur, en plus d'être plus attrayants pour les femmes, sont plus intelligents . C’est la conclusion d’une étude menée par Joseph Forgas et publiée dans Science Australasienne. Cet expert en émotions a mis au point différentes expériences dans lesquelles l'humeur des sujets était manipulée à travers des films et des souvenirs positifs ou négatifs.

Le scientifique a découvert qu'être de mauvaise humeur nous aide à penser plus clairement. Contrairement à ce qui se passe chez les personnes optimistes, les gens qui se caractérisent par leur mauvaise humeur habituelle prendre de meilleures décisions De plus, ce sont davantage des incroyants: il n’est pas facile de les tromper.

En outre, selon Forgas, les personnes ayant un état d'esprit plus abattu ont une plus grande capacité à faire valoir leurs opinions par écrit. Les gens traitent mieux la raison et le bon sens et ont un meilleur style de communication. Enfin, cette étude semble indiquer que le mauvais temps nous concerne également, car les jours pluvieux et tristes améliorent la mémoire, tandis que les jours ensoleillés favorisent l’oubli.

Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur cette recherche dans notre article: "Les personnes à caractère difficile ont tendance à être plus intelligentes, selon l'étude"

Comment devenir UN GÉNIE dans son domaine - WUC #200 (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes