yes, therapy helps!
Amniocentesis: what is and how is this diagnostic test performed?

Amniocentesis: what is and how is this diagnostic test performed?

October 2, 2022

Pregnancy and pregnancy are very delicate stages, because in this biological process the new organism begins to develop. That is why, from a medical point of view, it is important know as much as possible about what is happening in the development of the fetus , to be able to intervene as soon as possible in the case of congenital diseases.

Amniocentesis is the procedure that doctors perform to obtain this early information and be able to make an early diagnosis during pregnancy. Throughout this article we will review everything that is necessary to know about this test: what amniocentesis is, what its functions are, how it is performed and what are the risks to be taken into account.


  • Related article: "The 3 phases of intrauterine or prenatal development: from the zygote to the fetus

What is an amniocentesis?

We call amniocentesis a a type of prenatal test in which an early diagnosis is made through a medical procedure of chromosomal diseases and fetal infections and that secondarily, also helps us to know what is the sex of the baby before birth.

To understand how it works, you must first know that throughout the gestation stage the fetus is surrounded by a substance called amniotic fluid , whose composition has fetal cells. From the observation of this fact, the scientific community applied to the clinical field has discovered that the amniotic fluid is able to give us useful information about the health of the baby months before the birth occurs. Amniocentesis focuses on the analysis of that substance and its components.


At the time of performing the amniocentesis a small sample of amniotic fluid is obtained through the use of a needle that is inserted into the woman's abdomen at the same time that an ultrasound is being performed with which you can monitor the process. Secondly, the sample of amniotic fluid obtained is analyzed in the laboratory, a context in which the DNA of the fetus is studied to see if there are genetic anomalies in it.

In which cases is it done?

This prenatal test is only offered to women who present a significant risk of genetic disease. In most cases, the main reason to perform an amniocentesis is to know if the fetus has any chromosomal or genetic abnormality as it may occur in Down syndrome. As a general rule, this diagnostic procedure is scheduled between weeks 15 and 18 of pregnancy .


Therefore, it is not always necessary to do it, in most cases it is only done in pregnant women in which the baby presents some risk of developing a genetic pathology. The reason why not all women are treated is that they are a fairly invasive test that carries a small risk of spontaneous abortion .

Given that amniocentesis is associated with certain risks, before performing it, a complete anatomic ultrasound is performed to detect anomalies in the baby. In cases where there are reasons to suspect the existence of genetic or chromosomal alterations , the amniocentesis will be performed.

Functions of this test: what is it for?

The main cases in which an amniocentesis is required include:

  • A family history of congenital defects .
  • Abnormal results in ultrasound tests.
  • Women with pregnancies or children where there alterations of birth or pregnancy .

Unfortunately, amniocentesis does not detect all possible birth defects. However, the ultrasound test performed at the same time, can detect congenital defects that can not be reported in amniocentesis such as cleft lip, heart defects, cleft palate or clubfoot.

However, the risk of some birth defects that are not detected through either of the two diagnostic tests can not be ruled out. In general, the main diseases detected by amniocentesis are:

  • Muscular dystrophy.
  • Cystic fibrosis.
  • Sickle cell disease .
  • Down's Syndrome.
  • Alterations in the neural tube , as occurs in spina bifida.
  • Tay-Sachs disease and related.

Finally, the accuracy of amniocentesis is approximately 99.4%, so although it has certain dangers it is very useful in cases in which there is a real suspicion of a fetal anomaly.

How do doctors do it?

After having cleaned with an antiseptic the area of ​​the abdomen where the needle will be inserted and administering a local anesthetic to relieve the pain of the puncture, the medical team locates the position of the fetus and the placenta using an ultrasound. Turning around these images, a very fine needle is inserted through the abdominal wall of the mother , the wall of the uterus and the amniotic sac, trying to get the tip away from the fetus.

Then a small amount of liquid is extracted, of plus or minus 20 ml, and this sample is sent to the laboratory in which the analysis will be carried out. In this space, the fetal cells are separated from the rest of the elements present in the amniotic fluid.

These cells are cultured, fixed and stained so that they can be observed correctly through the microscope. A) Yes, the chromosomes are examined anomalies .

As for the baby and its environment, the puncture seals and the fluid in the amniotic sac regenerate during the following 24-48 hours. The mother should go home and rest for the rest of the day, avoiding physical exercise. In a matter of one day, you can return to normal life unless the doctor indicates otherwise.

The risks

Despite the fact that safety measures in medicine have advanced a great deal in this area as well, Amniocentesis always presents risks . The risk of spontaneous abortion is the most notorious, although it occurs only in 1% of cases.

The possibility of premature birth, injuries and malformations in the fetus is also an aspect to be taken into account.

Bibliographic references:

  • Carlson, L. M. & Vora, N. L. (2017). Prenatal Diagnosis: Screening and Diagnostic Tools. Obstetrics and Gynecology Clinics of North America, 44 (2): 245-256.
  • Seeds, J. W. (2004). Diagnostic mid trimester amniocentesis: how safe ?. American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 191 (2): 607-15.
  • Underwood, M. A, Gilbert, W. M, Sherman, M. P. (2005). "Amniotic Fluid: Not Just Fetal Urine Anymore". Journal of Perinatology. 25 (5): pp. 341-348.

Amniocentesis (Amniotic Fluid Test) (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Amniocentèse: en quoi consiste ce test de diagnostic et comment

Amniocentèse: en quoi consiste ce test de diagnostic et comment

Septembre 22, 2020

La grossesse et la grossesse sont des étapes très délicates car, dans ce processus biologique, le nouvel organisme commence à se développer. C’est pourquoi d’un point de vue médical, il est important en savoir autant que possible sur ce qui se passe dans le développement du fœtus , pour pouvoir intervenir au plus vite en cas de maladie congénitale.

L'amniocentèse est la procédure à suivre par les médecins pour obtenir cette information précoce et être capable de poser un diagnostic précoce pendant la grossesse. Tout au long de cet article, nous examinerons tout ce qu'il est nécessaire de savoir sur ce test: qu'est-ce que l'amniocentèse, quelles en sont les fonctions, son exécution et quels sont les risques à prendre en compte.


  • Article connexe: "Les 3 phases du développement intra-utérin ou prénatal: du zygote au fœtus

Qu'est-ce qu'une amniocentèse?

Nous appelons l'amniocentèse un un type de test prénatal dans lequel un diagnostic précoce est fait par une procédure médicale des maladies chromosomiques et des infections fœtales et que secondairement, nous aide également à savoir quel est le sexe du bébé avant la naissance.

Pour comprendre son fonctionnement, vous devez d’abord savoir que tout au long de la gestation, le fœtus est entouré de une substance appelée liquide amniotique , dont la composition contient des cellules foetales. À partir de ce constat, la communauté scientifique appliquée au domaine clinique a découvert que le liquide amniotique était en mesure de nous fournir des informations utiles sur la santé du bébé quelques mois avant la naissance. L'amniocentèse est axée sur l'analyse de cette substance et de ses composants.


Au moment de pratiquer l'amniocentèse, un petit échantillon de liquide amniotique est obtenu par l'utilisation de une aiguille insérée dans l'abdomen de la femme en même temps qu'une échographie avec lequel vous pouvez surveiller le processus. Deuxièmement, l’échantillon de liquide amniotique obtenu est analysé en laboratoire, un contexte dans lequel l’ADN du fœtus est étudié pour déterminer s’il contient des anomalies génétiques.

Dans quels cas est-ce fait?

Ce test prénatal est uniquement proposé aux femmes présentant un risque significatif de maladie génétique. Dans la plupart des cas, la principale raison de pratiquer une amniocentèse est de savoir si le fœtus présente une anomalie chromosomique ou génétique telle qu'elle peut survenir lors du syndrome de Down. En règle générale, cette procédure de diagnostic est prévue entre les semaines 15 et 18 de la grossesse .


Par conséquent, il n’est pas toujours nécessaire de le faire, dans la plupart des cas, cela n’est fait que chez la femme enceinte chez qui le bébé présente un risque de développer une pathologie génétique. La raison pour laquelle toutes les femmes ne sont pas traitées est qu’elles sont un test assez invasif qui comporte un faible risque d'avortement spontané .

Étant donné que l'amniocentèse est associée à certains risques, une échographie anatomique complète est réalisée avant la mise en œuvre pour détecter les anomalies chez le bébé. Dans les cas où il y a des raisons de suspecter l'existence d'altérations génétiques ou chromosomiques , l'amniocentèse sera réalisée.

Fonctions de ce test: à quoi ça sert?

Les principaux cas dans lesquels une amniocentèse est requise sont les suivants:

  • Un antécédents familiaux de malformations congénitales .
  • Résultats anormaux aux échographies.
  • Femmes enceintes ou enfants où il y a altérations de naissance ou de grossesse .

Malheureusement, l’amniocentèse ne permet pas de détecter toutes les anomalies congénitales possibles. Cependant, l'échographie réalisée en même temps permet de détecter des anomalies congénitales ne pouvant être signalées lors d'une amniocentèse, telles que fente labiale, cardiopathie, fente palatine ou pied bot.

Cependant, le risque de malformations congénitales non détectées par l'un des deux tests de diagnostic ne peut être exclu. En général, les principales maladies détectées par l'amniocentèse ils sont:

  • Distrophie musculaire.
  • Fibrose kystique.
  • Drépanocytose .
  • Le syndrome de Down.
  • Altérations dans le tube neural comme dans le spina bifida.
  • Maladie de Tay-Sachs et apparentée.

Enfin, l’exactitude de l’amniocentèse est d’environ 99,4%. Par conséquent, bien qu’elle présente certains dangers, elle est très utile dans les cas où il existe une suspicion réelle d’anomalie foetale.

Comment les médecins le font-ils?

Après avoir nettoyé avec un antiseptique la région de l'abdomen où l'aiguille sera insérée et administré un anesthésique local pour soulager la douleur provoquée par la ponction, l'équipe médicale détermine par ultrasons la position du fœtus et du placenta. En tournant autour de ces images, une aiguille très fine est insérée dans la paroi abdominale de la mère , le mur de l’utérus et le sac amniotique, essayant d’éloigner le bout du foetus.

Ensuite, une petite quantité de liquide est extraite, de plus ou moins 20 ml, et cet échantillon est envoyé au laboratoire dans lequel l'analyse sera effectuée. Dans cet espace, les cellules foetales sont séparées du reste des éléments présents dans le liquide amniotique.

Ces cellules sont cultivées, fixées et colorées de manière à pouvoir être correctement observées au microscope. Ainsi, les chromosomes sont examinés des anomalies .

En ce qui concerne le bébé et son environnement, les sceaux de ponction et le liquide contenu dans le sac amniotique se régénèrent au cours des prochaines 24 à 48 heures. La mère devrait rentrer à la maison et se reposer pour le reste de la journée, en évitant les exercices physiques. En une journée, vous pouvez revenir à une vie normale, sauf indication contraire du médecin.

Les risques

Malgré le fait que les mesures de sécurité en médecine ont beaucoup progressé dans ce domaine également, L'amniocentèse présente toujours des risques . Le risque d'avortement spontané est le plus notoire, bien qu'il ne se produise que dans 1% des cas.

La possibilité d'une naissance prématurée, de blessures et de malformations chez le fœtus est également un aspect à prendre en compte.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Carlson, L. M. et Vora, N. L. (2017). Diagnostic prénatal: outils de dépistage et de diagnostic. Cliniques d’obstétrique et de gynécologie de l’Amérique du Nord, 44 (2): 245-256.
  • Seeds, J. W. (2004). Amniocentèse diagnostique au milieu du trimestre: quelle sécurité?. Journal américain d'obstétrique et de gynécologie, 191 (2): 607-15.
  • Underwood, M.A., Gilbert, W.M., Sherman, M.P. (2005). "Le liquide amniotique: pas simplement l'urine foetale". Journal de périnatologie. 25 (5): pp. 341-348.

L'amniocentèse | Expliquée en vidéo (Septembre 2020).


Articles Connexes