yes, therapy helps!
Blindness (visual impairment): what is it, types, causes and treatment

Blindness (visual impairment): what is it, types, causes and treatment

November 5, 2022

Vision problems is one of the most common physical conditions among the general population , estimating that the vast majority of people suffer or will suffer some type of visual problem throughout their lives. However, a vision problem of this kind does not have to involve any degree of blindness.

There are certain criteria that to consider a difficulty in the vision as blindness or visual impairment . Throughout this article we will talk about what is blindness, the different types that exist and what are their associated symptoms, causes and treatment.

What is blindness or visual impairment?

Blindness, also known as visual impairment or loss of vision, is a physical condition that causes decreased ability to see in varying degrees and causes a number of difficulties that can not be fully compensated for by the use of glasses or contact lenses.


To be more exact, the term blindness is used to define that condition in which the loss of vision is complete or almost complete.

The loss of vision can appear suddenly or suddenly, or develop gradually over time. Further, The loss of vision can be complete or partial ; that is to say that it can affect both eyes or only one respectively. It may even be partial because it only affects certain parts of the visual field.

The range of causes that can cause the loss of vision is extremely varied and range from those that directly affect the eyes to those that involve the cerebral centers of visual processing.


Further, deterioration in vision usually becomes more common over the years , being the most common risk factors the appearance of physical affections such as glaucoma, diabetic retinopathy, macular degeneration related to age or cataracts.

According to data from the World Health Organization (WHO) it is estimated that 80% of the visual disability is preventable or curable with treatment, including those caused by cataracts, infections, glaucoma, uncorrected refractive errors, certain cases of blindness childish, etc.

In the rest of the cases, people with a significant or total degree of blindness can benefit from vision rehabilitation programs, changes in their environment and assistance devices.

Finally, in data for 2015, there were 246 million people with low vision in the world and 39 million people diagnosed with blindness. Most of these people are in developed countries and are over 50 years old, but this may be due to the lack of data in developing countries.


Types of visual impairment

There are different types of visual impairment depending on the degree of impairment to the ability to see. This significance can involve from a partial vision to a blindness or complete visual impairment. The World Health Organization (WHO) developed the following classification of the different types or degrees of visual impairment .

To measure the degree of disability takes into account the vision in the best eye, with the best lens correction possible. Taking this into account, the classification is as follows:

  • 20/30 to 20/60: loss of mild vision or near normal vision
  • 20/70 to 20/160: moderate visual impairment or low moderate vision
  • 20/200 to 20/400: severe visual impairment or severe low vision
  • 20/500 to 20/1000: almost total visual impairment or almost total blindness
  • Lack of light perception: total blindness

In addition, depending on the specific conditions of the vision, the visual disability can also be classified as follows:

  • Poor visual acuity and complete visual field
  • Moderate visual acuity and reduced field of vision
  • Moderate visual acuity and severe visual field loss

To better understand these terms, it should be noted that visual acuity consists of the resolution with which we see. That is, the ability to perceive and differentiate visual stimuli. While the field of vision is the observable extension in each moment.

Finally, Legal blindness or extremely poor visual acuity is considered as such when the person has a visual acuity of 20/200 , even after lens correction. There are a large number of people diagnosed with "legal" blindness who are able to distinguish shapes and shadows but who can not appreciate the details of these.

And night blindness?

A type of blindness very little known is the night blindness, also known as nyctalopia. This type of blindness is a condition that causes great difficulties or inability to see with relatively little light.

It can also be described as an inadequate adaptation of vision to darkness and can be a symptom of several eye diseases such as retinitis pigmentosa, retinal detachment, pathological myopia or a side effect to certain drugs such as phenothiazines, among many other causes.

Causes of visual disability

There are many common causes to the appearance of a visual disability and blindness. However, the incidence of these varies considerably between the two conditions. The main causes of visual impairment in any degree can be:

  • Genetic defects
  • waterfalls
  • Glaucoma
  • Eye injuries
  • Brain injuries (cortical blindness)
  • Eye infections
  • Poisoning or poisoning from methanol, formaldehyde or formic acid
  • Other causes such as amblyopia, corneal opacification, degenerative myopia, diabetic retinopathy, retinitis pigmentosa, etc.

Existing treatments

There are some treatment options that can help correct vision defects and minimize possible further degeneration. The choice of one of these treatments will depend on the following considerations:

  • Degree of visual impairment or blindness
  • Causes of visual deterioration
  • Age of the person and level of development
  • General health status
  • Existence of other conditions
  • Expectations of the patient

Among the possible treatments or aids for the management of both a visual disability and blindness are included:

  • Control of the underlying disease of the visual disability
  • Extension systems such as lenses, telescopes, prisms or mirror systems
  • Mobility aids such as canes, guide or guide dogs or systems based on geolocation
  • Reading aids such as Braille, optical recognition applications, audio-written books or reading devices that convert printed text into sounds or Braille
  • Technological systems such as screen readers or amplifiers and Braille keyboards

Bibliographic references:

  • Brian, G. & Taylor, H. (2001). Cataract Blindness - Challenges for the 21st Century. Bulletin of the World Health Organization, 79 (3): 249-256.
  • Lehman, S. S. (2012). Cortical visual impairment in children: identification, evaluation and diagnosis. Current Opinion in Ophthalmology, 23 (5): 384-387.

Beyond Blindness: Pioneering Treatments for Diabetic Retinopathy (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Cécité (déficience visuelle): de quoi s'agit-il, types, causes et traitement

Cécité (déficience visuelle): de quoi s'agit-il, types, causes et traitement

Mai 11, 2021

Les problèmes de vision sont l’une des conditions physiques les plus courantes dans la population en général , estimant que la grande majorité des personnes souffrent ou souffriront d’un type de problème visuel tout au long de leur vie. Cependant, un problème de vision de ce type ne doit impliquer aucun degré de cécité.

Il existe certains critères pour considérer une difficulté dans la vision comme cécité ou déficience visuelle . Tout au long de cet article, nous parlerons de ce qu'est la cécité, des différents types existants et de leurs symptômes, causes et traitements associés.

Qu'est-ce que la cécité ou une déficience visuelle?

La cécité, également appelée déficience visuelle ou perte de la vue, est une condition physique qui entraîne une diminution de la capacité de voir à divers degrés et entraîne un certain nombre de difficultés qui ne peuvent pas être entièrement compensées par le port de lunettes. lentilles de contact.


Pour être plus précis, le terme cécité est utilisé pour définir la condition dans laquelle la perte de vision est complète ou presque complète.

La perte de vision peut apparaître soudainement ou subitement, ou se développer progressivement au fil du temps. En outre, La perte de vision peut être complète ou partielle ; c'est-à-dire qu'il peut affecter les deux yeux ou un seul respectivement. Cela peut même être partiel car il n'affecte que certaines parties du champ visuel.

La gamme de causes pouvant causer la perte de vision est extrêmement variée et va de celles qui affectent directement les yeux à celles qui impliquent les centres cérébraux du traitement visuel.


En outre, la détérioration de la vision devient généralement plus commune au fil des ans , étant les facteurs de risque les plus courants, l'apparition d'affections physiques telles que le glaucome, la rétinopathie diabétique, la dégénérescence maculaire liée à l'âge ou la cataracte.

Selon les données de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS), on estime que 80% des handicaps visuels peuvent être prévenus ou guéris avec un traitement, notamment ceux causés par la cataracte, les infections, le glaucome, les erreurs de réfraction non corrigées, certains cas de cécité. enfantin, etc.

Dans le reste des cas, les personnes présentant un degré de cécité important ou total peuvent bénéficier de programmes de réadaptation visuelle, de modifications de leur environnement et de dispositifs d'assistance.

Enfin, dans les données de 2015, il y avait 246 millions de personnes malvoyantes dans le monde et 39 millions de personnes atteintes de cécité. La plupart de ces personnes vivent dans des pays développés et ont plus de 50 ans, mais cela peut être dû au manque de données dans les pays en développement.


Types de déficience visuelle

Il existe différents types de déficience visuelle en fonction du degré de dégradation de la capacité de voir. Cette signification peut concerner une vision partielle, une cécité ou une déficience visuelle complète. L’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) a élaboré la classification suivante des différents types ou degrés de déficience visuelle. .

Mesurer le degré d'invalidité prend en compte la vision dans le meilleur oeil, avec la meilleure correction de lentille possible. En tenant compte de cela, la classification est la suivante:

  • 20/30 à 20/60: perte de vision légère ou vision presque normale
  • 20/70 à 20/160: déficience visuelle modérée ou basse vision modérée
  • 20/200 à 20/400: déficience visuelle grave ou basse vision grave
  • 20/500 à 20/1000: déficience visuelle presque totale ou cécité presque totale
  • Absence de perception de la lumière: cécité totale

En outre, en fonction des conditions spécifiques de la vision, la déficience visuelle peut également être classée comme suit:

  • Mauvaise acuité visuelle et champ visuel complet
  • Acuité visuelle modérée et champ de vision réduit
  • Acuité visuelle modérée et grave perte de champ visuel

Pour mieux comprendre ces termes, il convient de noter que l'acuité visuelle consiste en la résolution avec laquelle nous voyons. C'est-à-dire la capacité de percevoir et de différencier les stimuli visuels. Alors que le champ de vision est l'extension observable à chaque instant.

Finalement, La cécité légale ou une acuité visuelle extrêmement faible est considérée comme telle lorsque la personne a une acuité visuelle de 20/200 , même après correction de l’objectif. Un grand nombre de personnes atteintes de cécité «légale» sont capables de distinguer les formes et les ombres, mais ne peuvent en apprécier les détails.

Et la cécité nocturne?

Un type de cécité très peu connu est la cécité nocturne, également appelée nyctalopie. Ce type de cécité est une condition qui cause de grandes difficultés ou une incapacité à voir avec relativement peu de lumière.

Cela peut également être décrit comme une adaptation inadéquate de la vision à l'obscurité et peut être un symptôme de plusieurs maladies oculaires telles que la rétinite pigmentaire, le décollement de la rétine, la myopie pathologique ou un effet secondaire à certains médicaments tels que les phénothiazines, parmi beaucoup d'autres causes.

Causes de déficience visuelle

L'apparition d'une déficience visuelle et de la cécité peut avoir de nombreuses causes communes. Cependant, leur incidence varie considérablement entre les deux conditions. Les principales causes de déficience visuelle peuvent être:

  • Défauts génétiques
  • Cataractes
  • Glaucome
  • Blessures oculaires
  • Lésions cérébrales (cécité corticale)
  • Infections oculaires
  • Intoxication ou intoxication par le méthanol, le formaldéhyde ou l'acide formique
  • Autres causes telles que l'amblyopie, l'opacification de la cornée, la myopie dégénérative, la rétinopathie diabétique, la rétinite pigmentaire, etc.

Traitements existants

Certaines options de traitement peuvent aider à corriger les défauts de vision et à minimiser une possible dégénérescence ultérieure. Le choix de l’un de ces traitements dépendra des considérations suivantes:

  • Degré de déficience visuelle ou de cécité
  • Causes de détérioration visuelle
  • Age de la personne et niveau de développement
  • État de santé général
  • Existence d'autres conditions
  • Les attentes du patient

Parmi les traitements ou aides possibles pour la gestion d'une déficience visuelle et de la cécité, figurent:

  • Contrôle de la maladie sous-jacente de la déficience visuelle
  • Systèmes d'extension tels que lentilles, télescopes, prismes ou systèmes de miroirs
  • Aides à la mobilité telles que cannes, chiens-guides ou chiens guides ou systèmes basés sur la géolocalisation
  • Supports de lecture tels que le braille, les applications de reconnaissance optique, les livres écrits en audio ou les appareils de lecture permettant de convertir du texte imprimé en sons ou en braille
  • Systèmes technologiques tels que lecteurs d’écran ou amplificateurs et claviers braille

Références bibliographiques:

  • Brian, G. & Taylor, H. (2001). Cécité de la cataracte - Défis pour le 21ème siècle. Bulletin de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé, 79 (3): 249-256.
  • Lehman, S. S. (2012). Déficience visuelle corticale chez l'enfant: identification, évaluation et diagnostic. Current Opinion in Ophthalmology, 23 (5): 384-387.

Une opération de sensibilisation sur la basse vision en gare d'Angers (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes