yes, therapy helps!
The Prisoner's Dilemma: How would you act in this situation?

The Prisoner's Dilemma: How would you act in this situation?

May 6, 2021

In the face of making a decision that, apart from having repercussions for our own well-being, can affect others, we may find ourselves facing a social dilemma in which the benefits of the decision and our own and others' costs will come into play.

Although at first it may seem that our own interest will always prevail, this is not the case, because in that case we would find ourselves in a state of social chaos .

The prisoner's dilemma

The so-called "prisoner's dilemma" has been widely used in psychology studies where a conflict of interests between two people is shown. The participants were presented with a fictitious situation in which they should imagine that they are a thief who has been arrested, along with their partner, by the police. Both are interrogated by a separate lawyer, who proposes the following dilemma:


  • If both remain silent, that is, they cooperate, they will only have to pay a small fine.
  • If the two thieves give themselves away, that is, they betray each other, they will both go to jail for two years.
  • If one betrays and the other remains silent, the informer will be released but the betrayed will go to jail for 5 years.

Obviously, if we disclose our partner, we will be free and would be the best option for our own welfare. If both of us betrayed each other, we would end up in jail . So the best option would be to cooperate, where we would both get the same benefit and the same cost, but that is the dilemma: can we trust that our partner does not give us away? So, how do we behave?


Possible reactions to this dilemma

Well, several experimental laboratory and field studies have shown that we have four options:

  • Be individualists , that is, we seek to maximize our personal benefit, without taking into account how this can influence others (for better or for worse).
  • Opting for altruism , the opposite pole to the previous, where only the benefit of others will matter to us.
  • Show us competitive trying to be better than others despite the personal costs of the process.
  • Cooperate , so we would look for our decision to be equally beneficial for ourselves and for others.

Competitiveness and cooperation, the most used options

In other dilemmas games there is more than one opportunity to choose, in these cases the subjects usually start cooperating with each other and, in the next option, they will do the same thing that their partner has done. That is to say, they are faithful to the saying "today for you, tomorrow for me". As well, the conclusions of the studies reveal that the most commonly used options are competitiveness and cooperation , existing differences between genres (being them more cooperative than they) and cultural (to live in an individualistic or collective society).


However, we must take into account other important factors, such as the context in which the dilemma occurs, being very important the type of relationship that unites us with the other people involved. It is not the same that these are complete strangers or that they keep with us some bond of affection.

Recommendations to face the social dilemma

In conclusion, I propose a series of recommendations to face a social dilemma before which we do not know how to act:

  • Let's be empathetic and focus not only on our benefit but also on that of others.
  • Cooperation improves the reputation within our group and, in addition, it can help to forge ties of affection. Let's think that having good social relationships has an impact on our sense of personal well-being.
  • Communicate . Sometimes, it is advisable to try to reach an agreement with the other people involved. Evolution has "given us" the faculty of language, let's use it.
  • Let's make a personal feedback , thinking about the pros and cons of our actions, we can write them if necessary and mentally imagine the consequences for others and for ourselves.

The Prisoner's Dilemma (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le dilemme du prisonnier: Comment agiriez-vous dans cette situation?

Le dilemme du prisonnier: Comment agiriez-vous dans cette situation?

Mai 22, 2019

En prenant une décision qui, en plus d'avoir des répercussions sur notre propre bien-être, peut affecter d'autres personnes, nous pouvons nous trouver face à un dilemme social dans lequel les avantages de la décision et nos coûts et ceux des autres entreront en jeu.

Bien que, au début, il puisse sembler que notre propre intérêt prévaudra toujours, ce n’est pas le cas, car dans ce cas, nous nous retrouverions dans un état de chaos social .

Le dilemme du prisonnier

Le soi-disant "dilemme du prisonnier" a été largement utilisé dans les études de psychologie mettant en évidence un conflit d'intérêts entre deux personnes. Les participants ont été confrontés à une situation fictive dans laquelle ils devraient s'imaginer être un voleur arrêté par la police, ainsi que leur partenaire. Les deux sont interrogés par un avocat distinct, qui propose le dilemme suivant:


  • Si les deux restent silencieux, c’est-à-dire coopèrent, ils n’auront qu’à payer une petite amende.
  • Si les deux voleurs se donnent, c'est-à-dire qu'ils se trahissent, ils iront tous deux en prison pour deux ans.
  • Si l'un trahit et que l'autre reste silencieux, l'informateur sera libéré mais le trahi sera emprisonné pendant cinq ans.

De toute évidence, si nous divulguions notre partenaire, nous serions libres et constituerions la meilleure option pour notre propre bien-être. Si nous nous traitions tous les deux, nous nous retrouverions en prison . La meilleure option serait donc de coopérer et d'obtenir le même avantage et le même coût, mais c'est le dilemme: pouvons-nous croire que notre partenaire ne nous donne pas? Alors, comment on se comporte?


Réactions possibles à ce dilemme

Plusieurs études de laboratoire et de terrain expérimentales ont montré que nous avions quatre options:

  • Être individualistes En d’autres termes, nous cherchons à maximiser notre avantage personnel, sans tenir compte de la manière dont cela peut influencer les autres (pour le meilleur ou pour le pire).
  • Opter pour l'altruisme , le pôle opposé au précédent, où seul le bénéfice des autres importera pour nous.
  • Montrez-nous compétitif essayer d'être meilleur que les autres malgré les coûts personnels du processus.
  • Coopérer Nous attendons donc que notre décision soit également bénéfique pour nous et pour les autres.

Compétitivité et coopération, les options les plus utilisées

Dans d'autres jeux de dilemmes, il y a plus d'une occasion de choisir, dans ce cas, les sujets commencent généralement à coopérer les uns avec les autres et, dans l'option suivante, ils feront la même chose que leur partenaire. C'est-à-dire qu'ils sont fidèles au dicton "aujourd'hui pour vous, demain pour moi". Aussi, les conclusions des études révèlent que les options les plus couramment utilisées sont la compétitivité et la coopération , différences existantes entre les genres (étant plus coopératifs qu’eux) et culturelles (vivre dans une société individualiste ou collective).


Cependant, nous devons prendre en compte d’autres facteurs importants, tels que le contexte dans lequel le dilemme se présente, étant très important, le type de relation qui nous unit aux autres personnes impliquées. Ce n'est pas la même chose que ce soient de parfaits étrangers ou qu'ils gardent un lien d'affection avec nous.

Recommandations pour faire face au dilemme social

Pour finir, Je propose une série de recommandations pour faire face à un dilemme social devant lequel nous ne savons pas agir:

  • Soyons empathiques et concentrons-nous non seulement sur nos avantages, mais également sur ceux des autres.
  • La coopération améliore la réputation au sein de notre groupe et, en outre, cela peut aider à nouer des liens d'affection. Pensons qu'avoir de bonnes relations sociales a un impact sur notre sentiment de bien-être personnel.
  • Communiquer . Parfois, il est conseillé de tenter de parvenir à un accord avec les autres personnes impliquées. L'évolution nous a "donné" la faculté de langage, utilisons-la.
  • Faisons un retour personnel En réfléchissant aux avantages et aux inconvénients de nos actions, nous pouvons les écrire si nécessaire et imaginer mentalement les conséquences pour les autres et pour nous-mêmes.

Le Dilemme du Prisonnier ► L'art de penser Gagnant-Gagnant ! (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes