yes, therapy helps!
The Theory of the Unconscious of Sigmund Freud (and the new theories)

The Theory of the Unconscious of Sigmund Freud (and the new theories)

February 11, 2024

Traditionally, scientists and many philosophers have considered that human behavior is governed by conscious thought . The belief that we are able to know all the important data about our environment and our body and that we decide how to behave by sticking to this information has been very generalized, perhaps because rationality has been a central value in the naturalists and thinkers of recent centuries. .

However, today we know that a very large part of the processes that influence our thinking and our actions are based on things we do not know directly: that is, elements of the unconscious. Despite this discovery, it is easy to fall into confusion when we talk about the unconscious, since this concept is defined differently by the Freudian theory (and later psychodynamic tendencies) and the neuroscience of our days.


Where does this confusion come from? The precedent of Freudian theory

Although Sigmund Freud did not use the scientific method to investigate the processes by which thought is governed, it can be said that he noticed the existence of a type of unconscious (or, rather, "the unconscious", according to its terminology) long before the scientists came to glimpse it. The inconsistency of which Freud speaks in his writings, however, is not the same one that is studied today in the neurosciences. Among other things, because neither he nor the rest of the researchers of the mental processes still knew the organic functioning by which higher mental processes are governed at the unconscious level, beyond having described certain general principles. Thus, Freud wove a network of hypotheses relatively independent of what today's neurosciences.


It is important to be clear about this idea, since it is often understood that, since Freud tried to rely on principles of physics and physiology to propose his explanations about the mind, these explanations are based on an exhaustive observation of the functioning of the body at a biological. Thus, although in the principles of psychoanalysis the brain was compared to a steam engine, that image can be taken as little more than an analogy that served to better understand the explanation itself, rather than the brain.

Research limited by context

In short, Freud knew that he did not have the means to study the physical processes by which the functioning of the brain is governed, and he believed that this topic was very relevant to understand how the thought and unconscious proposed in Freudian theory works. The researchers of the mind had very few resources to study the functioning of the brain, and that had clear implications when it comes to understanding how what was then called "the mind" works. This can be intuited in Beyond the Pleasure Principle (1920), in which Sigmund Freud said:


"Biological science is really a domain of infinite possibilities, we must expect the most surprising clarifications from it and we can not guess what answer it will give, within a few decades, to the problems we have posed. our artificial hypothesis building. "

The gap between psychoanalysis and the neurosciences

Both Freud and the disciples of Freudian theory who did not stray from their teacher's teachings use the term unconscious to refer to the content mental that, at a certain moment, it is outside the repertoire of thoughts of which the person is conscious and that, in some way, remain hidden somewhere in his psyche. However, partly because of their focus and partly because of the little that was known about the nervous system at that time, their explanations about the unconscious are divorced from fundamental principles about the mechanics of the brain and the neuronal activation associated with the consciousness that they study. the neurosciences.

In short, the unconscious spoken of by Freud it served to refer to memories, perceptions and mixtures of feelings that, responding to a need, are inaccessible through conscious knowledge . It can be said that, although the current conception of the unconscious is not the one used by Freud, the latter continues to compete with the other because it is the first in which "the unconscious" occupies an important position in an extensive theoretical corpus.

The unconscious of the simple

The unconscious posed by Freudian theory is composed of concrete rational and emotional elements that remain repressed by having a problematic meaning for the conscious mind. That is, they are not kept hidden due to their complexity or their lack of relevance in the day to day of the person.Quite the contrary, these repressed elements referred to by some psychoanalysts tend to be relatively simple ideas that can be "translated" into consciousness through symbolic operations and whose presence in the unconscious, despite passing unnoticed, forms a kind of "glasses" to read reality through thoughts that, in a certain sense, are recurrent.

Freudian theory holds that the contents of the unconscious must be simple enough in themselves to be addressed by a multitude of stimuli day to day, although the way in which consciousness blocks these thoughts is complex, since it uses original combinations between symbols to give expression to the repressed. Dreams, for example, are for Freud a vehicle for the expression of repressed thoughts conveyed through symbolism.

A touch of mystery

Of course, this definition of unconscious It is problematic and confusing , since language itself can be considered a way of filter the unconscious through symbols (words), which means that unconscious thoughts, by their very nature, never reach the light of the whole and therefore we can not know them completely, since they are constantly changing in their journeys to consciousness . This kind of obscurantism is expected due to the complexity of the object of study of psychoanalysts, the subjects treated by Freudian theory and its research methodology.

The unconscious always has a side that it can not be accessible by the simple word : that's why psychoanalysts claim the importance of the interaction between patient and therapist over the reading of self-help books, which contain principles coded a priori through a series of symbols that the author has chosen and ordered without knowing the reader.

The New Unconscious

Although Freud may be considered the "discoverer" of the unconscious, he is so introduced a way of thinking about the human being as an animal that does not know all the processes that guide its action , but not because of having found the unconscious through a systematic and detailed investigation of it.

Freudian theory is the daughter of his time, and is constrained by technical limitations . Both Freud and some of the psychologists of his time speculated about the existence of unconscious aspects of human thought and behavior, but their study methodology (introspection, observation of patients with mental disorders, etc.) only gave them indirect knowledge. of these. Fortunately, in spite of the limitations with which Freud's theory was framed at the time, the neurosciences and the technological developments that accompany them allow a much more complete study on this subject.

Freudian theory introduced for the first time a more or less detailed conception of the unconscious as a determining element in human behavior, while the scientific community of the second half of the twentieth century, curiously, continued to believe in the primacy of conscious thought processes on the rest of the human body. Nowadays, however, the tables have changed in the world of neuroscience and the vast majority of researchers dismiss conscious thought as the main driver of our behavior . Neuroscientist research of the unconscious is something that has recently appeared, but that has paid off very quickly.

Distinguishing terms based on new discoveries

The unconscious to which neuroscientists and psychologists now refer is far from being the same concept that Freudian theory presented. To distinguish between these two ideas, that of the unconscious of psychoanalysts and that of the unconscious of scientists, the latter concept has been given the name of New Unconscious .

While the unconscious of Freudian theory exists as a redoubt to limit thoughts difficult to digest by consciousness, which blocks them keeping them away from itself, the New Unconscious is not based on motivational and drive forces or ways of repression or "blocking" of thoughts according to their content. The relationship between the conscious and unconscious processes that scientists are now talking about is not based on defense mechanisms, but on the architecture of the brain , that simply is not made so that everything that happens in it has a transcription to the human conscience. The New Unconscious is unconscious of truth, and can not be known indirectly by analyzing its "manifestations."

The unconscious aspects of thought exist as part of a cycle (the Perception-Action cycle) of which we do not want to know everything. We are not interested in memorizing instantly each and every one of the aspects of the person we have just met, and therefore we search one or two references of their identity unconsciously: for example, their hairstyle.Neither do we want to devote ourselves to carefully study all the subjects on which we have to make a decision, and that is why we decided to unconsciously follow the paths of the heuristic, nor is it necessary to be aware that the left shoe tightens very lightly, nor is it essential to consciously direct the movements of the right arm when looking through the bus window.

These processes must be carried out with discretion, not because of their content, but because of their nature, because they can be managed automatically, leaving free space in the consciousness for special tasks. In Freudian theory, on the other hand, what is unconscious is precisely because of its significance , its importance.

The New Unconscious is distinguished from the term used by Freudian theory because it does not respond to a personal story or to the problematic internalization of past experiences . In any case, its raison d'etre is in a brain structure designed so that only some tasks and functions are part of the conscious, while the rest is delegated to a set of automatic operations, some of which we can partially control come the case (like breathing).

New Unconscious and Freudian theory, united only by appearances

In short, the unconscious side of more abstract thoughts, such as the automatic association that can occur between the perception of a dog in the street and the memories of the last vacation in Barcelona, ​​respond to the same mechanics by which the processes in charge of making us blink they tend to be unconscious most of the time. This is the logic by which the New Unconscious is governed: the pure biological pragmatism .

While the unconscious of Freudian theory is based on motivational mechanisms, the New Unconscious is not a prison of inappropriate emotions and thoughts, but a place where all the series of operations are found, of which we have no special interest in controlling whose automatism makes life easier for us.


PSYCHOTHERAPY - Sigmund Freud (February 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie de l'inconscient de Sigmund Freud (et les nouvelles théories)

La théorie de l'inconscient de Sigmund Freud (et les nouvelles théories)

Septembre 11, 2022

Traditionnellement, les scientifiques et de nombreux philosophes ont considéré que le comportement humain est régi par pensée consciente . La conviction que nous sommes en mesure de connaître toutes les données importantes sur notre environnement et notre corps et que nous décidons comment nous comporter en adhérant à ces informations est très générale, peut-être parce que la rationalité a été une valeur centrale des naturalistes et des penseurs des derniers siècles. .

Cependant, nous savons aujourd'hui qu'une très grande partie des processus qui influencent notre pensée et nos actions sont basées sur des choses que nous ne savons pas directement: il s'agit d'éléments de l'inconscient. Malgré cette découverte, il est facile de tomber dans la confusion quand on parle d’inconscient, puisque ce concept est défini différemment par le Théorie freudienne (et plus tard tendances psychodynamiques) et la neuroscience de nos jours.


D'où vient cette confusion? Le précédent de la théorie freudienne

Bien que Sigmund Freud n'ait pas utilisé la méthode scientifique pour étudier les processus par lesquels la pensée est gouvernée, on peut dire qu'il a remarqué l'existence d'un type de inconscient (ou plutôt "l'inconscient", selon sa terminologie) bien avant que les scientifiques ne l'aperçoivent. L'incohérence dont parle Freud dans ses écrits n'est toutefois pas la même que celle étudiée aujourd'hui dans les neurosciences. Entre autres choses, parce que ni lui ni le reste des chercheurs des processus mentaux ne connaissaient encore le fonctionnement organique qui régit les processus mentaux supérieurs au niveau inconscient, au-delà d’avoir décrit certains principes généraux. Pour lui, Freud a tissé un réseau d'hypothèses relativement indépendant de ce que nous connaissons aujourd'hui. neurosciences.


Il est important d’être clair sur cette idée, car on comprend souvent que, puisque Freud a essayé de s’appuyer sur des principes de physique et de physiologie pour proposer ses explications sur l’esprit, ces explications sont basées sur une observation exhaustive du fonctionnement du corps à biologique Ainsi, bien que, dans les principes de la psychanalyse, le cerveau ait été comparé à une machine à vapeur, cette image ne peut être considérée que comme une simple analogie permettant de mieux comprendre l'explication elle-même que le cerveau.

Recherche limitée par le contexte

En bref, Freud savait qu’il n’avait pas les moyens d’étudier les processus physiques qui régissent le fonctionnement du cerveau. Il pensait que ce sujet était très pertinent pour comprendre comment fonctionnait la pensée et l’inconscient proposés dans la théorie freudienne. Les chercheurs de l'esprit disposaient de très peu de ressources pour étudier le fonctionnement du cerveau, ce qui impliquait clairement de comprendre comment fonctionnait ce que l'on appelait alors "l'esprit". Cela peut être intuitif dans Au-delà du principe de plaisir (1920), dans laquelle Sigmund Freud a déclaré:


"La science biologique est vraiment un domaine de possibilités infinies, nous devons en attendre les clarifications les plus surprenantes et nous ne pouvons pas deviner quelle réponse elle apportera, dans quelques décennies, aux problèmes que nous avons posés. notre construction d'hypothèses artificielles ".

Le fossé entre psychanalyse et neurosciences

Freud et les disciples de la théorie freudienne qui ne se sont pas écartés des enseignements de leur professeur utilisent le terme inconscient pour se référer à la le contenu mental qu’à un certain moment, il est en dehors du répertoire des pensées dont la personne est consciente et que, d’une certaine manière, il reste caché quelque part dans sa psyché. Cependant, en partie à cause de leur focalisation et en partie à cause du peu de connaissances sur le système nerveux à cette époque, leurs explications sur l'inconscient sont dissociées des principes fondamentaux de la mécanique du cerveau et de l'activation neuronale associée à la conscience étudiée. les neurosciences.

En bref, l'inconscient dont parle Freud il a servi de référence à des souvenirs, perceptions et mélanges de sentiments qui, répondant à un besoin, sont inaccessibles par la connaissance . On peut dire que, bien que la conception actuelle de l'inconscient ne soit pas celle de Freud, celle-ci continue de rivaliser avec l'autre parce qu'elle est la première dans laquelle "l'inconscient" occupe une place importante dans un vaste corpus théorique.

L'inconscient du simple

L'inconscient posé par la théorie freudienne est composé d'éléments concrets, rationnels et émotionnels, qui restent réprimés en raison d'une signification problématique pour l'esprit conscient. C'est-à-dire qu'ils ne sont pas cachés en raison de leur complexité ou de leur manque de pertinence dans le quotidien de la personne.Bien au contraire, ces éléments refoulés auxquels se référent certains psychanalystes ont tendance à être des idées relativement simples pouvant être "traduites" en conscience par le biais opérations symboliques et dont la présence dans l’inconscient, malgré le fait qu’elle passe inaperçue, forme une sorte de "lunettes" pour lire la réalité à travers des pensées qui, dans un certain sens, sont récurrentes.

La théorie freudienne soutient que le contenu de l'inconscient doit être suffisamment simple en soi pour être traité par une multitude de stimuli Au jour le jour, bien que la façon dont la conscience bloque ces pensées soit complexe, puisqu’elle utilise des combinaisons originales de symboles pour exprimer le refoulé. Les rêves, par exemple, sont pour Freud un moyen d’exprimer des pensées refoulées véhiculées par le symbolisme.

Une touche de mystère

Bien sûr, cette définition de inconscient C'est problématique et déroutant , puisque la langue elle-même peut être considérée comme un moyen de filtrer l'inconscient à travers des symboles (mots), ce qui signifie que les pensées inconscientes, de par leur nature même, n'atteignent jamais la lumière de l'ensemble et que nous ne pouvons donc pas les connaître complètement, car elles changent constamment dans leurs voyages à la conscience . Ce genre d'obscurantisme est attendu en raison de la complexité de l'objet d'étude des psychanalystes, des sujets traités par la théorie freudienne et de sa méthodologie de recherche.

L'inconscient a toujours un côté qui il ne peut pas être accessible par le simple mot : c’est pourquoi les psychanalystes revendiquent l’importance de l’interaction entre le patient et le thérapeute par rapport à la lecture de livres d’entraide qui contiennent des principes codés à priori par une série de symboles que l’auteur a choisis et ordonnés sans que le lecteur soit connu.

Le nouvel inconscient

Bien que Freud puisse être considéré comme le "découvreur" de l’inconscient, il est tellement introduit une manière de penser de l'être humain en tant qu'animal qui ne connaît pas tous les processus qui guident son action , mais pas parce que l’inconscient a été retrouvé grâce à une enquête systématique et détaillée.

La théorie freudienne est la fille de son temps et est contrainte par limitations techniques . Freud et certains des psychologues de son époque ont spéculé sur l'existence d'aspects inconscients de la pensée et du comportement humains, mais leur méthodologie d'étude (introspection, observation de patients souffrant de troubles mentaux, etc.) ne leur donnait qu'une connaissance indirecte. de ceux-ci. Heureusement, malgré les limites avec lesquelles la théorie de Freud était formulée à l'époque, les neurosciences et les développements technologiques qui les accompagnent permettent une étude beaucoup plus complète sur ce sujet.

La théorie freudienne a introduit pour la première fois une conception plus ou moins détaillée de l'inconscient en tant qu'élément déterminant du comportement humain, tandis que la communauté scientifique de la seconde moitié du XXe siècle continuait, curieusement, à croire au primat des processus de la pensée consciente. sur le reste du corps humain. De nos jours, cependant, les tableaux ont changé dans le monde des neurosciences et la grande majorité des chercheurs rejettent la pensée consciente comme facteur principal de notre comportement . La recherche neuroscientifique sur l’inconscient est une activité récente mais qui a porté ses fruits très rapidement.

Des termes distinctifs basés sur de nouvelles découvertes

L'inconscient auquel se réfèrent maintenant les neuroscientifiques et les psychologues est loin d'être le même concept que celui présenté par la théorie freudienne. Pour distinguer ces deux idées, celle de l’inconscient des psychanalystes et celle de l’inconscient des scientifiques, ce dernier concept a été baptisé Nouvel Inconscient .

Alors que l’inconscient de la théorie freudienne existe en tant que redoute pour limiter les pensées difficiles à digérer par la conscience, ce qui les empêche de s’éloigner de lui-même, le Nouvel Inconscient n’est pas basé sur des forces de répression ou "blocage" des pensées en fonction de leur contenu. La relation entre les processus conscients et inconscients dont parlent les scientifiques ne repose pas sur des mécanismes de défense, mais sur la architecture du cerveau , cela n'est tout simplement pas fait pour que tout ce qui s'y passe ait une transcription pour la conscience humaine. Le nouvel inconscient est inconscient de la vérité et ne peut pas être connu indirectement en analysant ses "manifestations".

Les aspects inconscients de la pensée font partie d’un cycle (cycle Perception-Action) dont nous ne voulons pas tout savoir. Nous ne souhaitons pas mémoriser instantanément chacun des aspects de la personne que nous venons de rencontrer, nous recherchons donc inconsciemment une ou deux références de leur identité: par exemple, leur coiffure.Nous ne voulons pas non plus nous consacrer à étudier soigneusement tous les sujets sur lesquels nous devons prendre une décision. C’est pourquoi nous avons décidé de suivre inconsciemment les chemins de l’heuristique. mouvements du bras droit en regardant à travers la fenêtre du bus.

Ces processus doivent être effectués avec discrétion, non pas à cause de leur contenu, mais à cause de leur nature, car ils peuvent être gérés automatiquement, en laissant un espace libre dans la conscience pour des tâches spéciales. Dans la théorie freudienne, d'autre part, ce qui est inconscient justement à cause de son importance , son importance.

Le nouvel inconscient se distingue du terme utilisé par la théorie freudienne car il ne répond pas à une histoire personnelle ou à l'internalisation problématique d'expériences passées . En tout état de cause, sa raison d'être réside dans une structure cérébrale conçue pour que seules certaines tâches et fonctions fassent partie de la conscience, le reste étant délégué à un ensemble d'opérations automatiques, dont certaines peuvent être partiellement contrôlées. viens le cas (comme respirer).

Nouvelle théorie inconsciente et freudienne, réunies seulement par les apparences

En bref, le côté inconscient de pensées plus abstraites, comme l’association automatique qui peut se produire entre la perception d’un chien dans la rue et les souvenirs des dernières vacances à Barcelone, répond au même mécanisme par lequel les processus en charge de nous faire cligner des yeux, ils ont tendance à être inconscients la plupart du temps. C’est la logique qui régit le nouvel inconscient: le pur pragmatisme biologique .

Alors que l’inconscient de la théorie freudienne est basé sur des mécanismes de motivation, le Nouvel Inconscient n’est pas une prison d’émotions et de pensées inappropriées, mais un lieu où se trouvent toutes les séries d’opérations dont nous n’avons aucun intérêt particulier à contrôler. dont l'automatisme nous facilite la vie.


Les rêves et Freud (L'interprétation du rêve) [Psycotte] #12 (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes