yes, therapy helps!
The

The "ugly" people must endure these 8 discriminatory attitudes

April 29, 2024

There is a lot of talk about racism or sexism as a form of discrimination, and these phenomena receive a lot of media coverage.

But nevertheless, Discrimination due to physical appearance is a very common and socially accepted type of discrimination , known as "aspectism." The unattractive people suffer a series of discriminatory consequences that we will review in this article.

Discrimination due to physical appearance and its consequences

Discrimination due to the physical aspect or aspectism is a very widespread phenomenon at present . In a culture that rewards physical beauty, ugliness is punished in different areas of people's lives: interpersonal relationships, work, social events ...


Some experts like the North American psychologist David Marks agree when affirming that "the ugly people suffer aspectismo (lookism in English), that is to say, the discrimination by matter of the physical aspect, that happens with more frequency than the racism or the sexism of which much is spoken nowadays and that is socially very punished ". The aspectism goes unnoticed and does not seem that the thing is going to improve , because neither there is an interest nor social conscience to solve it.

Discriminatory attitudes toward the ugly

Some time ago, Juan Antonio Herrero Brasas, Professor of Ethics and Public Policy at the California State University (USA), who usually teaches at some US multinationals, told the newspaper El Mundo that: "when I'm going to give talks to executives In these large companies, all attendees have an imposing physical appearance. There are almost no individuals that can be classified as ugly. "


So. Are less attractive individuals discriminated against? What discriminatory attitudes do they suffer? In the following lines you can find a list of discriminatory consequences that ugly people suffer.

1. They are more likely to suffer bullying and mobbing

It is common to hear news about the harassment that some children or adolescents may suffer in school or the institute (bullying) or some employees in the workplace (mobbing). This harassment does not have to be physical, but it is usually psychological.

A well-known case of cyberbullying for this reason is that of Lynelle Cantwell , a Canadian teenager who was chosen as the ugliest girl in the institute by a group of anonymous profiles that disseminated this fact through social networks. Luckily, Lynelle did not remain silent and has appeared in various media to expose what happened, with the mission of raising awareness of all this harsh reality suffered by many children not exactly graceful in terms of physical appearance.


  • Related article: "Cyberbullying: analyzing the characteristics of virtual harassment"

But this phenomenon is not only exclusive to the youngest, but adults also discriminate and harass because of the physical aspect. According to a study conducted by a group of researchers from Michigan State University and the University of Notre Dame (United States), which was published in the journal Human Performance, the ugly are more likely to be harassed at your workplace. The subjects of the study were 114 employees of a health center located in the southern United States.

2. They earn less money than the handsome ones

Some scientists also claim that ugly people earn less money than handsome men.

The University of California carried out a study that was published in the Journal of Economic Psychology, and the results show that less attractive people earn that 12% less than average than handsome individuals . As the group of scientists explains: "these conclusions are applicable in different societies and in different places of work".

3. Less job opportunities

But not only the less attractive people suffer from discrimination, but they also have fewer opportunities to work. This concludes a study conducted in 2010 and led by Ze'ev Shtudiner and Bradley J. Ruffle of Ariel University in Israel and the University of Ontario in Canada. According to the results, a normal person has to send twice as many resumes as attractive people to get a job.

Also, a study by Sergio Urzúa and Florencia Bóo Martín carried out in 2011 concluded that the handsome, compared to the ugly ones, they receive 36% more answers from the companies in which they apply for a job .

4. They are seen as conversationalists, not objects of desire

The ugly are victims of a series of stereotypes. An example of this is the great impact that the agency "Ugly Models" has had for not hiring attractive but ugly models.

Hollywood surely has something to do with this fact, but the truth is that the ugly are seen more as conversationalists than as objects of desire . In relationships with other sexes, they are usually relegated to the role of friends, so they have less chance of reaching something else.

5. And they have less opportunities to flirt

Therefore, this causes that the ugly ones are less accepted by the others as far as the relations of couple and, in consequence, tie less. In fact, It causes quite an impact when someone sees an ugly person with an attractive person . On these occasions, it is often thought that there must be an economic interest behind it. As if the ugly did not have qualities to fall in love with others.

In reality, the ugly have a series of seductive weapons and qualities that can be highly valued by other people. If you want to know what they are, you can read our article: "Why do the uglies link? 7 keys to understand it "

6. They go unnoticed in social events

And it also looks weird when an ugly is popular. Generally, ugly people are not the popular people in the institute or the "cool" people at parties.

The ugly are often in the background and are often rejected by people who do not take two minutes to know how much they hide inside. Being handsome or beautiful opens many doors, being ugly or ugly closes them .

7. They are less remembered

Beautiful people are more remembered than ugly people. This is what an investigation led by Michael Baker, of the American University of East Carolina, which was published in the scientific journal, shows. Evolutionary Psychology.

According to the conclusions, the fact of looking at faces of attractive people can be pleasant for the human organism and improve the memory, reason why the ugly people are less remembered than the beautiful ones. Not only that, but the same research discovered that beautiful people increase the motivation and concentration of the people with whom they relate.

8. They receive less help

There are many studies that show that beautiful people receive more help than ugly people. For example, an investigation that was published in Frontiers in Neuroscience showed that men are willing to accept treatment that is not advantageous for them if a beautiful woman asks for it.

Also, there are many social experiments that have been carried out in recent years and that show this reality. Below you can see two videos that exemplify how men treat beautiful women and how they treat ugly women:

As you can see, the attractive woman was escorted to the place she intended to go and was even invited to eat. And in the case of ugly women, What is the reaction of the people? Well, the opposite happens. Here you can see it:


Be-YOU-ty over beauty! (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les

Les "laids" doivent subir ces 8 attitudes discriminatoires

Octobre 25, 2021

On parle beaucoup du racisme ou du sexisme en tant que forme de discrimination, et ces phénomènes font l'objet d'une couverture médiatique importante.

Cependant, La discrimination en raison de l'apparence physique est un type de discrimination très répandu et accepté par la société. , connu sous le nom "d'aspectisme". Les personnes peu attrayantes subissent une série de conséquences discriminatoires que nous examinerons dans cet article.

Discrimination en raison de son apparence physique et de ses conséquences

La discrimination en raison de l'aspect physique ou de l'aspect est un phénomène très répandu à l'heure actuelle . Dans une culture qui récompense la beauté physique, la laideur est punie dans différents domaines de la vie des gens: relations interpersonnelles, travail, événements sociaux ...


Certains experts, comme le psychologue nord-américain David Marks, sont d’accord pour affirmer que "les personnes laides souffrent d’aspectisme (le lookisme en anglais), c’est-à-dire la discrimination en raison de l’aspect physique, cela se produit plus fréquemment que le racisme ou le sexisme dont on parle beaucoup de nos jours et qui est socialement très puni ". L'aspectisme passe inaperçu et il ne semble pas que la chose va s'améliorer , parce qu’il n’ya ni intérêt ni conscience sociale pour le résoudre.

Attitudes discriminatoires envers le laid

Il y a quelque temps, Juan Antonio Herrero Brasas, professeur d'éthique et de politique publique à la California State University (États-Unis), qui enseigne habituellement dans certaines multinationales américaines, a déclaré au journal El Mundo: "Quand je donnerai des conférences à des dirigeants Dans ces grandes entreprises, tous les participants ont une apparence physique imposante. Il n'y a presque aucun individu qui puisse être classé comme laid. "


Ensuite. Les individus moins attrayants sont-ils discriminés? Quelles attitudes discriminatoires souffrent-ils? Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste des conséquences discriminatoires dont souffrent les personnes laides.

1. Ils sont plus susceptibles d'être victimes d'intimidation et de mobbing

Il est courant d'entendre parler de harcèlement dont peuvent être victimes certains enfants ou adolescents à l'école ou à l'institut (intimidation) ou des employés sur le lieu de travail (mobbing). Ce harcèlement ne doit pas nécessairement être physique, mais il est généralement psychologique.

Un cas bien connu de cyberintimidation pour cette raison est celui de Lynelle Cantwell , une adolescente canadienne qui a été choisie comme la fille la plus laide de l’institut par un groupe de profils anonymes qui a diffusé ce fait à travers les réseaux sociaux. Heureusement, Lynelle n'est pas restée silencieuse et est apparue dans divers médias pour exposer ce qui s'est passé. Elle a pour mission de sensibiliser le public à toute cette dure réalité que subissent de nombreux enfants, pas tout à fait gracieux en apparence.


  • Article connexe: "Cyberintimidation: analyse des caractéristiques du harcèlement virtuel"

Mais ce phénomène n’est pas exclusif aux plus jeunes, mais les adultes discriminent et harcèlent en raison de leur aspect physique. Selon une étude réalisée par un groupe de chercheurs de la Michigan State University et de l'Université de Notre Dame (États-Unis), qui a été publiée dans le journal Performance humaine, les laids sont plus susceptibles d’être harcelés sur votre lieu de travail. L’étude portait sur 114 employés d’un centre de santé situé dans le sud des États-Unis.

2. Ils gagnent moins que les beaux

Certains scientifiques affirment également que les personnes laides gagnent moins d’argent que les hommes beaux.

L’Université de Californie a réalisé une étude qui a été publiée dans le Journal de psychologie économiqueet les résultats montrent que les personnes moins attirantes gagnent 12% de moins que la moyenne . Comme l'explique le groupe de scientifiques: "ces conclusions sont applicables dans différentes sociétés et dans différents lieux de travail".

3. Moins de possibilités d'emploi

Mais non seulement les personnes les moins attrayantes souffrent de discrimination, mais elles ont également moins de possibilités de travailler. Ceci conclut une étude menée en 2010 et dirigée par Ze'ev Shtudiner et Bradley J. Ruffle de l'Université Ariel en Israël et de l'Université de l'Ontario au Canada. Selon les résultats, une personne normale doit envoyer deux fois plus de curriculum vitae que des personnes attrayantes pour obtenir un emploi.

En outre, une étude réalisée par Sergio Urzúa et Florencia Bóo Martín en 2011 a conclu que le beau, par rapport aux laids, ils reçoivent 36% de réponses en plus des entreprises dans lesquelles ils postulent un emploi .

4. Ils sont perçus comme des causeurs et non comme des objets de désir

Les laids sont victimes d'une série de stéréotypes. Un exemple de ceci est le grand impact qu'a eu l'agence "Ugly Models" pour ne pas embaucher de modèles attrayants mais laids.

Hollywood a sûrement quelque chose à voir avec ce fait, mais la vérité est que les laids sont vus plus comme des causeurs que comme des objets de désir . Dans les relations avec les autres sexes, ils sont généralement relégués au rang d'amis et ont donc moins de chance d'atteindre autre chose.

5. Et ils ont moins de chances de flirter

Cela fait donc que les plus laids sont moins acceptés par les autres que les relations de couple et, par conséquent, moins liés. En fait Cela a un impact considérable quand quelqu'un voit une personne laide avec une personne attirante . À ces occasions, on pense souvent qu'il doit y avoir un intérêt économique derrière cela. Comme si le vilain n'avait pas les qualités pour tomber amoureux des autres.

En réalité, les laids possèdent une série d’armes et de qualités séduisantes qui peuvent être très appréciées des autres. Si vous voulez savoir ce qu’ils sont, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Pourquoi les moche relient-elles?" 7 clés pour le comprendre "

6. Ils passent inaperçus lors d'événements sociaux

Et ça fait aussi bizarre quand un vilain est populaire. Généralement, les personnes laides ne sont pas les personnes populaires de l'institut ni les personnes "cool" des soirées.

Les laids sont souvent à l’arrière-plan et sont souvent rejetés par les personnes qui ne prennent pas deux minutes pour savoir à quel point elles se cachent à l’intérieur. Être beau ou beau ouvre beaucoup de portes, être moche ou moche les ferme .

7. On se souvient moins d'eux

On se souvient plus des belles personnes que des personnes laides. C’est ce que montre une enquête menée par Michael Baker, de l’Université américaine de la Caroline de l’Est, publiée dans la revue scientifique. Psychologie évolutionniste.

Selon les conclusions, le fait de regarder les visages de personnes attirantes peut être agréable pour l'organisme humain et améliorer la mémoire, raison pour laquelle les personnes laides sont moins connues que les belles. Non seulement cela, mais les mêmes recherches ont révélé que les belles personnes augmentent la motivation et la concentration des personnes avec lesquelles elles sont en relation.

8. Ils reçoivent moins d'aide

De nombreuses études montrent que les belles personnes reçoivent plus d’aide que les laides. Par exemple, une enquête publiée dans Frontiers in Neuroscience ont montré que les hommes sont disposés à accepter un traitement qui ne leur est pas avantageux si une belle femme le leur demande.

En outre, de nombreuses expériences sociales menées ces dernières années montrent cette réalité. Vous trouverez ci-dessous deux vidéos illustrant la manière dont les hommes traitent les belles femmes et traitent les femmes laides:

Comme vous pouvez le constater, la jolie femme a été escortée jusqu'à l'endroit où elle avait l'intention d'aller et a même été invitée à manger. Et dans le cas des femmes laides, Quelle est la réaction du peuple? Eh bien, le contraire se produit. Ici vous pouvez le voir:


L' agriculture : noble et simple, mais de + en + laide ? (Octobre 2021).


Articles Connexes