yes, therapy helps!
This hat is able to make us smarter

This hat is able to make us smarter

May 4, 2024

The possibility of improving our mental abilities, developing them to the limit and overcoming any barrier is something that has always attracted the attention of the human being, being a frequent topic of science fiction.

Recently, a team of researchers has created a hat that seems to contribute to this end. But ... what are we? A hat that makes us smarter?

  • Related article: "Gardner's Theory of Multiple Intelligences"

What is intelligence?

We understand by intelligence the faculty or set of faculties that allow us understand, analyze and interact with the environment in an adaptive way .


Having a greater intellectual capacity therefore means an increase in the possibility of being more adaptable regardless of whether it is understood as general capacity or different specific abilities, giving the individual more easily account of the relationships between phenomena and how to manage situations.

This does not mean that it has to make us more adaptive directly (this would require other mental abilities besides the mere intellectual capacity), only that it increases the possibilities of it.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The theories of human intelligence"

Modify intelligence with a hat: is this possible?

Intelligence is a useful quality, and many people would like to be able to empower it . But is this possible?


If we consider that cognitive abilities are mediated by the functioning of the brain, synapses and neuronal connections and the transmission of information from neurons, it could be possible stimulate and train our cognitive resources .

In fact, there are numerous ways to improve the efficiency of our neural network, create new connections and strengthen existing ones. Examples of this are the practice of mental exercises, learning and ongoing training throughout the life cycle, Mindfulness and proper physical and mental self-care.

Regarding possible that an artifact can cause such an enhancement of intelligence , it could be considered possible to stimulate the brain areas appropriate to certain tasks. And that's what the team of researchers at Vanderbilt University seems to have achieved, through a cap-shaped device that stimulates different regions and locations.


The device: how it works

The artifact in question acts by applying gentle electric currents in certain areas of the brain. This stimulation is not invasive or harmful, being similar to transcranial magnetic stimulation. The effects are temporary.

Specifically, a series of electrodes is placed on the front of the skull between which the current passes, causing activation of the frontal lobe (specifically in its medial part). This area participates among other functions in learning, attention and executive functions. It also participates in the management of errors, producing brain reactions every time we make mistakes.

When emitting electrical currents in this area, it is intended to omit the negative responses and errors, helping us to be more efficient.

Results obtained with your application

The reflected experiments show that after being stimulated by the device in question, the volunteers they tended to commit fewer errors . The learning capacity is also apparently stimulated, taking less time to acquire and consolidate new information.

However, the effects of this device are limited and temporary. The emission of electrical pulses causes some areas of the brain to activate and facilitate learning in this sense, but brain activity does not become long enough to produce a lasting change that is integrated into the psychic structure of the brain. user. Also, if you manipulate the reactions that make us make mistakes we are in turn modifying aspects that contribute to learning , how to learn from your own mistakes.

The results obtained by the team of researchers seem to indicate that a stimulation of around twenty minutes can produce effects that are going to fade around the next five hours .

This device can have multiple uses in the treatment of various disorders such as ADHD or schizophrenia, stimulating for example the nerve centers that control the inhibition of behavior and / or care for it.

Thus, this device made to improve intelligence can have a large number of applications and be very useful, being a very interesting field of research for the treatment of various problems.And even so, a higher level of research is necessary in order to have more reliable results.

Bibliographic references:

  • Reinhart, R.M.G; Woodman, G.F. (2014). Causal Control of Medial-Frontal Cortex Governs Electrophysiological and Behavioral Indices of Performance Monitoring and Learning. Journal of Neuroscience 19, 34 (12) 4214-4227.

Are Humans Able to Become Smarter? (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Ce chapeau est capable de nous rendre plus intelligent

Ce chapeau est capable de nous rendre plus intelligent

Juin 25, 2022

La possibilité d'améliorer nos capacités mentales, de les développer à l'extrême et de surmonter toutes les barrières est un sujet qui a toujours attiré l'attention de l'homme, étant un sujet fréquent de science-fiction.

Récemment, une équipe de chercheurs a créé un chapeau qui semble contribuer à cette fin. Mais ... on est quoi? Un chapeau qui nous rend plus intelligent?

  • Article connexe: "Théorie de Gardner sur les intelligences multiples"

Qu'est-ce que l'intelligence?

Nous comprenons par intelligence la faculté ou l'ensemble des facultés qui nous permettent comprendre, analyser et interagir avec l'environnement de manière adaptative .


Avoir une plus grande capacité intellectuelle signifie donc une possibilité accrue d’être plus adaptable, qu’il soit compris comme une capacité générale ou des capacités spécifiques différentes, ce qui permet à l’individu de mieux rendre compte des relations entre les phénomènes et de la manière de gérer les situations.

Cela ne signifie pas que cela doit nous rendre directement plus adaptatifs (cela nécessiterait d'autres capacités mentales en plus de la simple capacité intellectuelle), mais simplement en augmenter les possibilités.

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Les théories de l'intelligence humaine"

Modifier l'intelligence avec un chapeau: est-ce possible?

L'intelligence est une qualité utile, et beaucoup de gens aimeraient pouvoir l'habiliter . Mais est-ce possible?


Si nous considérons que les capacités cognitives sont médiées par le fonctionnement du cerveau, les synapses et les connexions neuronales et la transmission d'informations par les neurones, il pourrait être possible stimuler et former nos ressources cognitives .

En fait, il existe de nombreuses façons d’améliorer l’efficacité de notre réseau de neurones, de créer de nouvelles connexions et de renforcer les connexions existantes. Des exemples de ceci sont la pratique d'exercices mentaux, l'apprentissage et l'entraînement continu tout au long du cycle de vie, la pleine conscience et les soins personnels appropriés.

En ce qui concerne possible qu'un artefact peut causer une telle amélioration de l'intelligence , il pourrait être considéré possible de stimuler les zones du cerveau appropriées à certaines tâches. Et c’est ce que l’équipe de chercheurs de l’Université Vanderbilt semble avoir réalisée grâce à un dispositif en forme de capuchon qui stimule différentes régions et lieux.


L'appareil: comment ça marche

L'artéfact en question agit en appliquant de légers courants électriques dans certaines zones du cerveau. Cette stimulation n’est ni invasive ni nuisible, car elle est similaire à la stimulation magnétique transcrânienne. Les effets sont temporaires.

Plus précisément une série d'électrodes est placée à l'avant du crâne entre lesquels le courant passe, provoquant l'activation du lobe frontal (en particulier dans sa partie médiale). Ce domaine participe, entre autres, aux fonctions d’apprentissage, d’attention et d’exécution. Il participe également à la gestion des erreurs, en produisant des réactions cérébrales chaque fois que nous commettons des erreurs.

Lors de l’émission de courants électriques dans cette zone, il est prévu d’omettre les réponses négatives et les erreurs, ce qui nous permet d’être plus efficaces.

Résultats obtenus avec votre candidature

Les expériences réfléchies montrent qu'après avoir été stimulés par le dispositif en question, les volontaires ils ont tendance à commettre moins d'erreurs . La capacité d'apprentissage est également apparemment stimulée, prenant moins de temps pour acquérir et consolider de nouvelles informations.

Cependant, les effets de cet appareil sont limités et temporaires. L'émission d'impulsions électriques provoque l'activation de certaines zones du cerveau et facilite l'apprentissage dans ce sens, mais l'activité cérébrale ne dure pas assez longtemps pour produire un changement durable intégré dans la structure psychique du cerveau. utilisateur Aussi, si vous manipulez les réactions qui nous font faire des erreurs nous modifions à son tour des aspects qui contribuent à l'apprentissage , comment apprendre de vos propres erreurs.

Les résultats obtenus par l’équipe de chercheurs semblent indiquer qu’une stimulation d’une vingtaine de minutes peut produire effets qui vont s'estomper autour des cinq prochaines heures .

Ce dispositif peut avoir de multiples utilisations dans le traitement de divers troubles tels que le TDAH ou la schizophrénie, en stimulant par exemple les centres nerveux qui contrôlent l'inhibition du comportement et / ou en prennent soin.

Ainsi, ce dispositif destiné à améliorer l'intelligence peut avoir un grand nombre d'applications et être très utile, étant un domaine de recherche très intéressant pour le traitement de divers problèmes.Et même dans ce cas, des recherches plus poussées sont nécessaires pour obtenir des résultats plus fiables.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Reinhart, R.M.G; Woodman, G.F. (2014). Contrôle Causal Du Cortex Frontal-Médial Gouverne Des Indices Electrophysiologiques Et Comportementaux De Performance Monitoring and Learning. Journal of Neuroscience 19, 34 (12) 4214-4227.

10 énigmes faciles et leurs réponses pour vous faire transpirer (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes