yes, therapy helps!
Gamification: taking games beyond leisure

Gamification: taking games beyond leisure

May 10, 2021

Competitiveness, socialization and fun , are some of the most important elements that characterize the games; whether they are tabletop, electronic or traditional.

All of them end up generating players' feelings of involvement and engagement that considerably improve the performance of the players in different tasks that surround the game; and all, also, are present in an increasingly popular phenomenon: the gamification .

What is gamification?

The concept of "gamification" is born from the idea of ‚Äč‚Äčachieving good results in work dynamics, implementing mechanics and techniques typical of games in contexts outside of them (Werbach & Hunter, 2012). It is important to note that, in gamification, the game is not about the purpose, but rather it is the means through which we managed to increase the levels of concentration and involvement in the tasks in which this process is applied.


For example, gamification can be used in the workplace to increase the levels of involvement of workers in the achievement of organizational goals, or in the field of education with the aim of achieving a more fun educational process that allows the students stay more time focused on study tasks (Brull & Finlayson, 2016).

In addition to the uses in these areas, a line of research is recently being developed with the premise of implementing these techniques and methodologies in medical contexts; is generating very interesting results. For example, a study carried out by AlMarshedi, Wills and Ranchhod (2016) served to reinforce the idea that to make a gamified frame of reference in the self-management of chronic diseases, such as diabetes, improves the results obtained during this process, since it is carried out in a way, worth the expression, more conscientious .


Elements of gamification

There are a large number of elements for gamification, and new techniques and new methodologies are constantly emerging , since it is a relatively young research and development field (officially).

Among all the elements to gamify content, they stand out for their extensive use and for their good results, such as rewards mechanics, progression bars, rankings or achievements and social functions such as the inclusion of avatars in forums and chats.

Rewards

In the case of rewards principles, thanks to them, it is possible to encourage and reward users when they perform actions that interest us or when their results in different tasks are satisfactory.

This mechanics has great utility because in contexts, for example, educational, they act as reinforcers of shared knowledge behaviors, so that some users, to get more prizes, spend more time than they would normally use in the creation of content for the group.


Progress bars, rankings and achievements

Implement progression bars, rankings and achievements in gamification helps create a competitive model that produces high levels of motivation towards short-term objectives, usually more powerful than prizes.

In group contexts, in addition, this competitive model is constantly fed back and reinforced by the performance of all the participants involved, which produces repeated behaviors to improve the results themselves with the aim of being higher in the ranking or achieving achievements than others. do not have.

Social functions

By last, The social functions of gamification are a useful catalyst of the previous ones , especially in online educational contexts.

These social functions such as chats or forums allow members to interact based on personal needs; some use them to publish their personal achievements, causing others to be challenged and persevere in their tasks, and others use them to exchange impressions, experiences or to ask for help.

Types of players in gamification

There are different player profiles depending on the characteristics of your personality and the same happens in the case of gamification. It is very important to know the different existing profiles as it can be of great help at the time of gamification some type of content, course or task, to make it closer and more attractive to the audience that is offered.

Erroneously, in the gamification, the theory of the different profiles of players is usually used. Batle (nineteen ninety six).Although the content of this theory is relatively extrapolated to the field of gamification, making some qualifications, its use is usually extracted from this theory, which ends up leading to errors, since this list of types of players focuses specifically to video game users.

In response to this bias, Amy Jo Kim (2012) published on its website a model similar to that of Batle (1996) adapted to gamification and serious games processes. This model includes four types of typical players:

Compete

Player profile moved by needs to compete with others , doing a lot of social behavior and self-improvement. Sometimes, this type of motivation may not be entirely efficient because it can generate situations of conflict or too stressful.

Collaborate

Collaboration and collective actions are useful ways to socialize . These profiles enjoy the feeling of "winning together" and are a great external support for users who need support.

Explore

The exploration of content, people, tools and worlds can be a rich and rewarding activity . People who enjoy exploring are motivated by information, access and knowledge.

Express

This profile is strongly dedicated to self-expression with the aim of improving their skills and abilities by giving free rein to their creativity.

Although it seems simple, this model is quite complex, since these four types of user form four axes through which the type of each player can be described in greater detail using what the author calls "Social Engagement Verbs ", which capture different motivational patterns located between two of the types mentioned above.

In conclusion

As we have seen, gamification is a process that is currently seeing its boom period . It offers great possibilities in terms of education and the world of work and, in addition, promises great advances and advantages in the field of health and care.

However, there is still a long way to go and only the judge will be in charge of demonstrating whether the use of these techniques and methodologies are the key to the education and well-being of the "Nativos Digitales" generation.

Bibliographic references:

  • AlMarshedi, A., Wills, G., & Ranchhod, A. (2016). Gamifying Self-Management of Chronic Illnesses: A Mixed-Methods Study. JMIR Serious Games, 4 (2), e14.
  • Bartle, R. (1996). Hearts, Clubs, Diamonds, Spades: Players Who Suit MUDs. Journal of MUD Research 1, 1.
  • Brull S., Finlayson S. (2016). Importance of Gamification in Increasing Learning. J Contin Educ Nurs. 47 (8), pp. 372 - 375
  • Werbach, K and Hunter, D. (2012). For the Win: How Game Thinking Can Revolutionize Your Business. Philadelphia, PA: Wharton Digital Press.

Gamification: Imma Marin at TEDxReus (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Gamification: aller au-delà des loisirs

Gamification: aller au-delà des loisirs

Juin 25, 2019

Compétitivité, socialisation et divertissement , sont parmi les éléments les plus importants qui caractérisent les jeux; qu'ils soient de table, électroniques ou traditionnels.

Tous finissent par générer le sentiment d’implication des joueurs et fiançailles cela améliore considérablement la performance des joueurs dans les différentes tâches qui entourent le jeu; et tous sont également présents dans un phénomène de plus en plus populaire: le gamification .

Qu'est ce que la gamification?

Le concept de "gamification" est né de l'idée d'obtenir de bons résultats dans la dynamique du travail, en mettant en œuvre des mécanismes et des techniques typiques des jeux dans des contextes extérieurs à ceux-ci (Werbach & Hunter, 2012). Il est important de noter que, dans la gamification, le jeu n’a pas pour but, mais plutôt c'est le moyen par lequel nous avons réussi à augmenter les niveaux de concentration et d'implication dans les tâches dans lesquelles ce processus est appliqué.


Par exemple, la ludification peut être utilisée sur le lieu de travail pour accroître le niveau d'implication des travailleurs dans la réalisation d'objectifs organisationnels, ou dans le domaine de l'éducation dans le but de créer un processus éducatif plus amusant permettant aux les étudiants restent plus de temps concentrés sur les tâches d'étude (Brull & Finlayson, 2016).

En plus des utilisations dans ces domaines, une ligne de recherche est récemment mise au point sur la mise en œuvre de ces techniques et méthodologies dans des contextes médicaux; génère des résultats très intéressants. Par exemple, une étude réalisée par AlMarshedi, Wills et Ranchhod (2016) a renforcé l'idée selon laquelle créer un cadre de référence ludique pour l'autogestion de maladies chroniques, telles que le diabète, améliore les résultats obtenus au cours de ce processus, car il est effectué d'une manière digne de l'expression, plus consciencieux .


Éléments de gamification

Il y a un grand nombre d'éléments pour la gamification, et de nouvelles techniques et de nouvelles méthodologies apparaissent constamment , puisqu'il s'agit d'un domaine de recherche et développement relativement récent (officiellement).

Parmi tous les éléments de gamification de contenu, ils se distinguent par leur utilisation étendue et par leurs bons résultats, tels que mécanismes de récompenses, barres de progression, classements ou réalisations, et fonctions sociales telles que l'inclusion d'avatars dans les forums et les discussions.

Récompenses

Dans le cas des principes de récompense, grâce à eux, il est possible d'encourager et de récompenser les utilisateurs lorsqu'ils effectuent des actions qui nous intéressent ou lorsque leurs résultats dans différentes tâches sont satisfaisants.

Cette mécanique est très utile car, dans des contextes, par exemple éducatifs, elles renforcent des comportements de connaissance partagés, de sorte que certains utilisateurs, pour obtenir plus de prix, passent plus de temps qu'ils n'en utiliseraient normalement pour la création de contenu. le groupe.


Barres de progression, classements et réalisations

Implémenter des barres de progression, des classements et des réalisations en gamification aide à créer un modèle compétitif générant une forte motivation vers des objectifs à court terme, généralement plus puissants que des prix.

De plus, dans les contextes de groupe, ce modèle concurrentiel est constamment nourri et renforcé par la performance de tous les participants impliqués, ce qui engendre des comportements répétés pour améliorer les résultats eux-mêmes dans le but d’être plus élevé que les autres dans le classement ou les réalisations. ne pas avoir

Fonctions sociales

Finalement, Les fonctions sociales de la gamification sont un catalyseur utile des précédentes , en particulier dans les contextes éducatifs en ligne.

Ces fonctions sociales telles que les discussions ou les forums permettent aux membres d’interagir en fonction de leurs besoins personnels; certains les utilisent pour publier leurs réalisations personnelles, ce qui amène les autres à être mis au défi et à persévérer dans leurs tâches, tandis que d'autres les utilisent pour échanger des impressions, des expériences ou demander de l'aide.

Types de joueurs en gamification

Il existe différents profils de joueurs en fonction des caractéristiques de votre personnalité et il en va de même dans le cas de la gamification. Il est très important de connaître les différents profils existants car cela peut être très utile au moment de la ludification. un type de contenu, de cours ou de tâche pour le rendre plus attractif et plus attrayant pour le public proposé.

À tort, dans la gamification, on utilise généralement la théorie des différents profils de joueurs. Batle (1996).Bien que le contenu de cette théorie soit relativement extrapolé au domaine de la gamification en faisant certaines qualifications, son utilisation est généralement extraite de cette théorie, ce qui conduit finalement à des erreurs, car cette liste de types de joueurs se concentre spécifiquement aux utilisateurs de jeux vidéo.

En réponse à ce parti pris, Amy Jo Kim (2012) a publié sur son site Web un modèle similaire à celui de Batle (1996) se sont adaptés à la gamification et aux processus de jeux sérieux. Ce modèle comprend quatre types de joueurs typiques:

En compétition

Profil de joueur déplacé par besoin de rivaliser avec les autres , faisant beaucoup de comportement social et d’auto-amélioration. Parfois, ce type de motivation peut ne pas être tout à fait efficace car il peut générer des situations de conflit ou trop stressantes.

Collaborer

La collaboration et les actions collectives sont des moyens utiles de socialiser . Ces profils bénéficient du sentiment de "gagner ensemble" et constituent un excellent support externe pour les utilisateurs qui ont besoin d'assistance.

Explorez

L'exploration du contenu, des personnes, des outils et des mondes peut être une activité riche et enrichissante . Les personnes qui aiment explorer sont motivées par l'information, l'accès et la connaissance.

Express

Ce profil est fortement dédié à l'expression de soi dans le but d’améliorer leurs compétences et leurs capacités en laissant libre cours à leur créativité.

Bien que cela semble simple, ce modèle est assez complexe, car ces quatre types d’utilisateurs forment quatre axes permettant de décrire plus en détail le type de chaque acteur à l’aide de ce que l’auteur appelle "Social «Verbes d'engagement», qui capturent différents modèles de motivation situés entre deux des types mentionnés ci-dessus.

En conclusion

Comme nous l'avons vu, la gamification est un processus qui connaît actuellement sa période de prospérité . Il offre de grandes possibilités en termes d'éducation et de monde du travail et, en outre, promet de grands progrès et avantages dans le domaine de la santé et des soins de santé.

Cependant, il reste encore beaucoup à faire et seul le juge sera chargé de démontrer si l'utilisation de ces techniques et méthodologies est la clé de l'éducation et du bien-être de la génération des "Nativos Digitales".

Références bibliographiques:

  • AlMarshedi, A., Wills, G. et Ranchhod, A. (2016). La prise en charge gamificatrice des maladies chroniques: une étude à méthodes mixtes. JMIR Serious Games, 4 (2), e14.
  • Bartle, R. (1996). Cœurs, massues, diamants, pique: les joueurs qui conviennent à une boue. Journal of MUD Research 1, 1.
  • Brull S., Finlayson S. (2016). Importance de la ludification dans l’amélioration de l’apprentissage. J Contin Educ Nurs. 47 (8), pp. 372 - 375
  • Werbach, K et Hunter, D. (2012). Pour la victoire: comment le jeu peut révolutionner votre entreprise. Philadelphie, PA: Presse numérique Wharton.

Non-Professional Game Dev - The Joy of Making - Extra Credits (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes