yes, therapy helps!
Tourette syndrome: causes, symptoms, diagnosis and treatment

Tourette syndrome: causes, symptoms, diagnosis and treatment

May 24, 2022

The Tourette syndrome is a neurological disorder that causes the affected movements and sounds involuntarily and without a specific purpose .

These movements are repeated intermittently and usually increase in situations of stress. It is usually considered a particularly severe and chronic form of multiple tics.

What is Tourette Syndrome?

Symptoms that appear in the early stages of the development of Tourette syndrome begin between eight and eleven years of age, the intensity of which is highly variable. The affected person may suffer periods of frequent and frequent tics, and others in which the presence of these becomes practically non-existent. Children are three to four times more likely to have Tourette's syndrome than girls (1).


The tics can be classified as simple or complex tics :

  • Simple tics : these are brief, involuntary and unforeseen movements that affect a specific and limited number of muscle groups. Although they occur in isolation, they are repetitive. Examples of this type of affectation are: moving the head, blinking, shrugging the shoulders, breathing hard through the nose ...
  • Complex tics: Coordinated and cyclical movements that affect several muscle groups, such as kicking, jumping, sniffing objects or people, coprolalia (emission of bad and obscene words in an uncontrolled way), etc. That is, they require a more complex and abstract type of mental processing.

Causes

The causes of Tourette syndrome they are still unknown and there is no scientific consensus on this. Some hypotheses suggest that its origin may be linked to affectations in some brain regions and alterations in the chemical substances (dopamine, norepinephrine and serotonin) that provide interneuronal communication.


It has been scientifically proven that Tourette's syndrome is a hereditary disease and that an affected person has a 50% chance of transmitting the syndrome to their child. All in all, the fact that the genetic predisposition is inherited does not mean that the child will suffer all the symptoms associated with the disorder. Usually, it has been observed that the children of people with Tourette syndrome may present some minor tics, some obsessive-compulsive behaviors, symptoms associated with attention deficit (without the presence of tics), or even a total absence of symptoms .

symptom

Tourette's syndrome it appears during some time of the first two decades of life, and in the same family nucleus there can be a great variability in the presence of associated symptoms . Usually, the first expression of the syndrome is usually a facial tic, and it is common for each affected person to have their own limited repertoire of tics, always repeating them.


Over time, people with Tourette's syndrome show more motor tics of variable nature. They include both the blinking or twitching of the facial muscles, the emission of guttural sounds, the sudden aspiration of air, the kicking, jerking of the neck and head, and so on.

Patients also express annoying sensations in some parts of the body, such as itching, pressure, tingling, itching ... These types of tics are called sensitive tics .

Verbal-type tics are less common than popularly believed. Only 10% of patients present echolalia (repeat what you hear) or coprolalia (involuntary emission of bad words or phrases). Some patients also express tics such as spitting and / or copromimia (offensive gestures).

The recurrence and intensity of tics may get worse or improve throughout the day, and may vary over time. The pathology tends to improve during and after adolescence, in which the worst stage of Tourette syndrome is experienced, often relating to behavioral disorders. In this way, the frequency of important tics and coprolalia (if there is one), is usually reduced when passing from adolescence to adulthood.

How are people affected by this syndrome?

People affected by Tourette syndrome present normal intelligence , although they may have added difficulties for learning during childhood and adolescence, as a consequence of tics and associated behavioral and social pathologies. These pathologies are usually obsessive-compulsive disorder or attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD). It is also common for them to present behavioral disorders (social isolation, impulsivity, aggressiveness) and sleep.

Problems of impulsivity often lead to depression and anxiety, but these are not part of the neurobiology of the syndrome itself, but are part of the consequences of their way of interacting with the environment and with others.

Sometimes, patients can achieve inhibit tics over a period of time, but eventually they reappear more accentuated, as if it were a way to compensate inhibition. Thus, it seems desirable that people in the patient's environment are sympathetic and behave naturally in the presence of tics.

Some patients have very mild symptoms, which do not require any treatment, and it is even common for their symptoms to disappear over time.

Treatment

No specific treatment is required for tics, except in cases of extreme severity or that have repercussions on muscle pain or disorders in school and social adjustment. In these types of cases, they tend to be straightr neuroleptic drugs in order to reduce the intensity and frequency of tics ., although always under medical supervision and under your supervision.

With regard to psychological therapy, it is effective to treat disorders related to Tourette syndrome, such as stress, depression or anxiety, learning and behavioral problems, and the social and affective consequences caused by the syndrome.

If the syndrome is accompanied by obsessive-compulsive disorder or ADHD, it will be advisable, apart from the therapies already explained, to treat these alterations that can negatively affect the quality of life of the person.

Three real cases

How does it feel to live with Tourette syndrome? Several people with a notorious professional career bring us closer to this neurological syndrome.

1. Mahmoud Abdul-Rauf, an NBA player

Can Tourette suffer and be successful in life? The case of Mahmoud Abdul-Rauf (whose birth name was Chris Jackson) is paradigmatic. We invite you to know his life in this article of the Spanish newspaper Information.

2. Super Taldo: a Chilean child with tics and coprolalia

An extreme case of Tourette Syndrome is the one that suffered Agustin Arenas , nicknamed "Súper Taldo", a Chilean boy who became well known thanks to a news report from Chilean television. You can know his story by entering this link.

Lastly: an in-depth documentary on this condition

A documentary made by the Xplora channel discovered the case of a 20-year-old boy who was diagnosed at the age of eight. In this brief excerpt from the report, the affected person tells us what it is like to live one day with the constant tics. We offer it to you next.

Bibliographic references:

  • Cavanna, Andrea. (2010). The Tourette Syndrome. Editorial Alliance.
  • Moe, Barbara. (2000). Coping with Tourette Syndrome and tic disorders. New York: Rosen Pub. Group.
  • (1) //espanol.ninds.nih.gov/trastornos/tourette_industry.htm

Tics and Tourette syndrome - Akron Children's Hospital video (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Tourette: causes, symptômes, diagnostic et traitement

Syndrome de Tourette: causes, symptômes, diagnostic et traitement

Juin 25, 2019

Le Syndrome de la tourette est un trouble neurologique qui provoque la victime mouvements et sons involontairement et sans but précis .

Ces mouvements sont répétés par intermittence et augmentent généralement dans des situations de stress. Il est généralement considéré comme une forme particulièrement sévère et chronique de plusieurs tics.

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome de Tourette?

Les symptômes apparaissant aux premiers stades du développement du syndrome de Tourette apparaissent entre huit et onze ans, et leur intensité est très variable. La personne touchée peut souffrir de périodes de tics fréquents et fréquents, et d'autres au cours desquels la présence de ceux-ci devient pratiquement inexistante. Les enfants sont trois à quatre fois plus susceptibles de souffrir du syndrome de Tourette que les filles (1).


Les tics peuvent être classés comme tics simples ou complexes :

  • Tics simples : ce sont des mouvements brefs, involontaires et imprévus qui affectent un nombre spécifique et limité de groupes musculaires. Bien qu'ils se produisent de manière isolée, ils sont répétitifs. Voici des exemples de ce type d'affectation: bouger la tête, cligner des yeux, hausser les épaules, respirer fort par le nez ...
  • Tics complexes: Mouvements coordonnés et cycliques qui affectent plusieurs groupes musculaires, tels que coups de pied, sauts, reniflements d'objets ou de personnes, coprolalie (émission de mots mauvais et obscènes de manière incontrôlée), etc. C'est-à-dire qu'ils nécessitent un type de traitement mental plus complexe et abstrait.

Les causes

Les causes de Syndrome de la tourette ils sont encore inconnus et il n'y a pas de consensus scientifique à ce sujet. Certaines hypothèses suggèrent que son origine pourrait être liée à affectations dans certaines régions du cerveau et altérations des substances chimiques (dopamine, noradrénaline et sérotonine) qui assurent la communication interneuronale.


Il a été scientifiquement prouvé que le syndrome de Tourette est un maladie héréditaire et qu'une personne affectée a 50% de chances de transmettre le syndrome à son enfant. Au total, le fait que la prédisposition génétique soit héritée ne signifie pas que l'enfant va souffrir de tous les symptômes associés à la maladie. Habituellement, il a été observé que les enfants de personnes atteintes du syndrome de Tourette peuvent présenter des tics mineurs, des comportements obsessionnels compulsifs, des symptômes associés à un déficit de l'attention (sans présence de tics), voire une absence totale de symptômes. .

Les symptômes

Syndrome de Tourette il apparaît pendant les deux premières décennies de la vie et, dans le même noyau familial, la présence de symptômes associés peut être très variable . Habituellement, la première expression du syndrome est généralement un tic facial, et il est courant que chaque personne affectée ait son propre répertoire limité de tics, en les répétant toujours.


Au fil du temps, les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Tourette présentent davantage de tics moteurs de nature variable. Ils comprennent à la fois le clignotement ou les contractions des muscles du visage, l’émission de sons gutturaux, l’aspiration soudaine de l’air, les coups de pied, les secousses du cou et de la tête, etc.

Les patients expriment également des sensations gênantes dans certaines parties du corps, telles que démangeaisons, pressions, picotements, démangeaisons ... Ces types de tics sont appelés tics sensibles .

Les tics de type verbal sont moins courants qu'on ne le croit généralement. Seulement 10% des patients présentent des echolies (répétez ce que vous entendez) ou coprolalie (émission involontaire de mots ou de phrases incorrects). Certains patients expriment également des tics tels que des crachats et / ou de la copromimie (gestes offensants).

La récurrence et l'intensité des tics peuvent s'aggraver ou s'améliorer tout au long de la journée et varier avec le temps. La pathologie a tendance à s'améliorer pendant et après l'adolescence, au cours de laquelle se produit le pire stade du syndrome de Tourette, souvent lié à des troubles du comportement. De cette manière, la fréquence des tics et coprolifères importants (s’il en existe un) est généralement réduite lors du passage de l’adolescence à l’âge adulte.

Comment les gens sont-ils affectés par ce syndrome?

Personnes atteintes du syndrome de Tourette intelligence normale actuelle , bien qu’ils aient pu ajouter des difficultés d’apprentissage pendant l’enfance et l’adolescence, en raison de tics et de pathologies comportementales et sociales associées. Ces pathologies sont généralement un trouble obsessionnel-compulsif ou un trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention (TDAH). Il est également courant qu’ils présentent troubles du comportement (isolement social, impulsivité, agressivité) et sommeil.

Les problèmes d'impulsivité mènent souvent à la dépression et à l'anxiété, mais ils ne font pas partie de la neurobiologie du syndrome, mais font partie des conséquences de leur façon d'interagir avec l'environnement et avec les autres.

Parfois, les patients peuvent obtenir des tics inhibiteurs sur une période de temps, mais ils réapparaissent finalement plus accentués, comme s'il s'agissait d'un moyen de compenser l'inhibition. Ainsi, il semble souhaitable que les personnes dans l’environnement du patient soient sympathiques et se comportent naturellement en présence de tics.

Certains patients présentent des symptômes très légers, qui ne nécessitent aucun traitement, et il est même fréquent que leurs symptômes disparaissent avec le temps.

Traitement

Aucun traitement spécifique n'est requis pour les tics, sauf dans les cas de gravité extrême ou ayant des répercussions sur les douleurs musculaires ou les troubles musculaires à l'adaptation scolaire et sociale. Dans ces types de cas, ils ont tendance à être simplesr médicaments neuroleptiques afin de réduire l'intensité et la fréquence des tics ., bien que toujours sous surveillance médicale et sous votre surveillance.

En ce qui concerne la thérapie psychologique, elle est efficace pour traiter les troubles liés au syndrome de Tourette, tels que le stress, la dépression ou l’anxiété, les problèmes d’apprentissage et de comportement, ainsi que les conséquences sociales et affectives causées par le syndrome.

Si le syndrome est accompagné d'un trouble obsessionnel-compulsif ou de TDAH, il conviendra, en dehors des thérapies déjà expliquées, de traiter ces altérations pouvant nuire à la qualité de vie de la personne.

Trois cas réels

Qu'est-ce que ça fait de vivre avec le syndrome de Tourette? Plusieurs personnes ayant une carrière professionnelle notoire nous rapprochent de ce syndrome neurologique.

1. Mahmoud Abdul-Rauf, un joueur de la NBA

Tourette peut-elle souffrir et réussir dans la vie? Le cas de Mahmoud Abdul-Rauf (dont le nom de naissance était Chris Jackson) est paradigmatique. Nous vous invitons à connaître sa vie dans cet article du journal espagnol L'information.

2. Super Taldo: un enfant chilien avec tics et coprolalie

Un cas extrême de syndrome de Tourette est celui qui a souffert Agustin Arenas , surnommé "Súper Taldo", un garçon chilien devenu célèbre grâce à un reportage de la télévision chilienne. Vous pouvez connaître son histoire en entrant ce lien.

Enfin: un documentaire approfondi sur cette condition

Un documentaire réalisé par le Canal Xplora a découvert le cas d'un garçon de 20 ans diagnostiqué à l'âge de huit ans. Dans ce bref extrait du rapport, la personne touchée nous explique ce que signifie vivre un jour avec des tics constants. Nous vous l'offrons ensuite.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cavanna, Andrea. (2010). Le syndrome de la tourette. Alliance éditoriale.
  • Moe, Barbara. (2000). Faire face au syndrome de Tourette et aux tics. New York: Groupe de publications Rosen.
  • (1) //espanol.ninds.nih.gov/trastornos/tourette_industry.htm

Maladie de Gilbert Causes, symptômes et diagnostic (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes