yes, therapy helps!
Varolium bridge: structures, characteristics and functions

Varolium bridge: structures, characteristics and functions

October 1, 2022

The Varolium bridge, also known as annular protrusion or brainstem bridge, is one of the most important parts of the brain. In fact, a small lesion in this structure could lead to sudden death or entry into a coma.

The reason for the importance of the Varolium bridge is that it is one of the largest portions of a structure known as brainstem, responsible among other things for maintaining automatic mechanisms that keep us alive.

Next we will see the anatomy, the parts and the functions of the ring protuberance, as well as the health problems that can be triggered if there are alterations in their behavior due to injuries or illnesses.


  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

What is the Varolio bridge?

The trunk-fetal bridge it is the most bulky part of the brainstem , reason why also it receives the name of annular protuberance. It is located between the other two main anatomical structures of this portion of the brain; on the upper part, it borders the mesencephalon, while its lower edge is in contact with the medulla oblongata.

The limit that separates the annular protuberance of the medulla oblongata is the protuberant groove, while its border with the mesencephalon is the pontone-encephalic sulcus.

Anatomy of the annular protrusion

Like any other region of the central nervous system, the lump is composed mainly of neurons and glial cells. However, in this region of the brain The bundles of axons are of special importance that go vertically from the brain to the spinal cord to the brain and vice versa. That is to say, that the annular protuberance acts in part as a means of communication between two large portions of the central nervous system.


However, the Varolium bridge also contains bundles of neurons that are distributed projecting to the sides, forming the beginnings of the middle cerebellar peduncles, which are two of the areas through which the brainstem connects to the cerebellum.

Another of the most remarkable anatomical features of the Varolium bridge is that its front face, the closest to our face, It is convex, bulging outward , which makes it stand out a lot about the other two main structures of the brainstem.

Inside the Varolio bridge the basilar groove is found , a small space through which crosses the basilar artery, one of the main responsible for keeping the cells of large areas of the brain alive.

In addition, the protuberance forms the beginning of the trigeminal nerve, one of the most important cranial nerves.


Parts of the trunk bridge

The ring protuberance is formed by a set of cores , consisting of groups of associated neurons that are responsible for similar functions. They are the following.

Abductor motor somatic nucleus

A nucleus of neurons linked to the cranial nerve known as the abducens nerve, responsible for the movement of the abduction of the eye.

Trigeminal special motor core

The functions of this nucleus have to do with the trigeminal nerve, and consist basically of visceral movements.

Special motor core of the facial

Like the previous one, it takes care of certain visceral movements.

Superior salivatory nucleus

The functions of this nucleus are vegetative, and therefore automatic.

Its functions

The functions of the Varolio bridge are diverse, although almost all are of great importance for survival.

1. Communication link

The ring protrusion acts as a bridge between groups of neurons that, if they do not go through this structure, they would be cut off from each other. It allows information to flow from inside the skull outwards and vice versa.

2. Motor coordination

The Varolium bridge works in conjunction with the cerebellum and other structures , as the basal ganglia, to allow the automatic and unconscious coordination of muscle groups. This makes it possible for us to maintain the balance in an upright position, for example.

  • Maybe you are interested: "Human cerebellum: its parts and functions"

3. Homeostatic regulation

The ring protrusion plays an essential role in functions such as regulation of temperature and other basic physiological processes , like the heartbeat.

Regulation of consciousness

This region of the brainstem is traversed by the reticular formation, and for that reason it plays a role in the regulation of states of consciousness. It intervenes in the circadian cycles of sleep and wakefulness, and also makes consciousness, in itself, something possible.

Injuries and associated diseases

The destruction or alteration of the normal functioning of the Varolium bridge It has very serious consequences , since it affects very basic and necessary processes to stay alive.

This is because a failure in this region of the brain may cause insufficient blood or oxygen to reach the brain , producing death by hypoxia.

The diseases that can affect this structure are several, but include Alzheimer's disease and Parkinson's , since both damage large regions of the central nervous system and impede the normal functioning of networks of neurons.


Valorium Guide | DC Unchained (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pont Varolium: structures, caractéristiques et fonctions

Pont Varolium: structures, caractéristiques et fonctions

Juillet 9, 2020

Le pont Varolium, également appelé saillie annulaire pont du tronc cérébral, est l’une des parties les plus importantes du cerveau. En fait, une petite lésion dans cette structure pourrait entraîner la mort subite ou l’entrée dans le coma.

La raison de l’importance du pont Varolium est qu’il s’agit de l’une des plus grandes parties d’une structure appelée tronc cérébral, chargée entre autres de préserver des mécanismes automatiques qui nous maintiennent en vie.

Nous verrons ensuite l’anatomie, les pièces et les fonctions de la protubérance en anneau, ainsi que les problèmes de santé pouvant être déclenchés par des modifications de comportement dues à une blessure ou à une maladie.


  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Qu'est-ce que le pont Varolio?

Le tronc-pont fœtal c'est la partie la plus volumineuse du tronc cérébral , raison pour laquelle il reçoit également le nom de protubérance annulaire. Il est situé entre les deux autres structures anatomiques principales de cette partie du cerveau; sur la partie supérieure, il borde le mésencéphale, tandis que son bord inférieur est en contact avec la médulla oblongate.

La limite qui sépare la protubérance annulaire de la médullaire oblongée est le sillon protubérant, tandis que sa frontière avec le mésencéphale est le sulcus pontone-encéphalique.

Anatomie de la saillie annulaire

Comme toute autre région du système nerveux central, la masse se compose principalement de neurones et de cellules gliales. Cependant, dans cette région du cerveau Les faisceaux d'axones sont d'une importance particulière qui vont verticalement du cerveau à la moelle épinière au cerveau et vice versa. C'est-à-dire que la protubérance annulaire sert en partie de moyen de communication entre deux grandes parties du système nerveux central.


Cependant, le pont Varolium contient également des faisceaux de neurones répartis en saillie sur les côtés, formant le début des pédoncules cérébelleux moyens, deux des zones par lesquelles le tronc cérébral se connecte au cervelet.

Une autre des caractéristiques anatomiques les plus remarquables du pont Varolium est que sa face avant, la plus proche de notre visage, Il est convexe, bombé vers l'extérieur , ce qui le distingue beaucoup des deux autres structures principales du tronc cérébral.

À l'intérieur du pont Varolio le sillon basilaire se trouve , petit espace traversé par l’artère basilaire, l’un des principaux responsables de la survie des cellules de grandes surfaces du cerveau.

De plus, la protubérance constitue le début du nerf trijumeau, l'un des nerfs crâniens les plus importants.


Parties du pont de coffre

La protubérance en anneau est formée par un ensemble de noyaux , constitué de groupes de neurones associés responsables de fonctions similaires. Ils sont les suivants.

Noyau somatique moteur abducteur

Un noyau de neurones lié au nerf crânien appelé nerf abducens, responsable du mouvement de l'abduction de l'œil.

Noyau moteur spécial trijumeau

Les fonctions de ce noyau ont à voir avec le nerf trijumeau et consistent essentiellement en mouvements viscéraux.

Coeur moteur spécial du visage

Comme le précédent, il prend en charge certains mouvements viscéraux.

Noyau salivatoire supérieur

Les fonctions de ce noyau sont végétatives et donc automatiques.

Vos fonctions

Les fonctions du pont Varolio sont diverses, bien que presque toutes revêtent une grande importance pour la survie.

1. Lien de communication

La saillie de l'anneau agit comme un pont entre les groupes de neurones que s'ils ne passent pas par cette structure, ils seraient coupés les uns des autres. Il permet aux informations de circuler de l'intérieur du crâne vers l'extérieur et inversement.

2. Coordination motrice

Le pont de Varolium fonctionne en conjonction avec le cervelet et d'autres structures , comme les noyaux gris centraux, pour permettre la coordination automatique et inconsciente des groupes musculaires. Cela nous permet de maintenir l’équilibre en position verticale, par exemple.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Cervelet humain: ses parties et ses fonctions"

3. Régulation homéostatique

La saillie en anneau joue un rôle essentiel dans des fonctions telles que régulation de la température et autres processus physiologiques de base , comme le battement de coeur.

Régulation de la conscience

Cette région du tronc cérébral est traversée par la formation réticulaire et joue donc un rôle dans la régulation des états de conscience. Il intervient dans les cycles circadiens de sommeil et de veille et rend également la conscience possible.

Blessures et maladies associées

La destruction ou l'altération du fonctionnement normal du pont Varolium Cela a des conséquences très graves , car il affecte des processus très fondamentaux et nécessaires pour rester en vie.

En effet, un échec dans cette région du cerveau peut provoquer une insuffisance de sang ou d'oxygène pour atteindre le cerveau , produisant la mort par hypoxie.

Les maladies qui peuvent affecter cette structure sont plusieurs, mais inclure la maladie d'Alzheimer et la maladie de Parkinson , dans la mesure où ils endommagent de grandes régions du système nerveux central et entravent le fonctionnement normal des réseaux de neurones.


Sur le pont d'Avignon (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes