yes, therapy helps!
Nociceptors (pain receptors): definition and types

Nociceptors (pain receptors): definition and types

December 3, 2022

We call "nociceptor" the endings of cells that detect pain sensations and transmit them to other areas of the central nervous system. The different types of nociceptor respond to mechanical, thermal or chemical stimuli, both external and caused by the organism itself.

In this article we will describe What are the nociceptors and how do the 5 main types differ? . We will also briefly explain how the experience of pain works at the level of the spinal cord and the brain, and the ways in which it can be inhibited.

  • Maybe you are interested: "Chronic pain: what it is and how it is treated from Psychology"

What are nociceptors? A definition

Nociceptors are sensory receptors that respond to stimuli that injure the tissues or that could do so, and they are located at the end of the axon of a sensory neuron. This response, known as nociception, consists of the emission of pain signals to the central nervous system, that is, to the brain and spinal cord.


The nociceptors are located in different parts of the body, both in external and internal tissues. A) Yes, the sensation of pain does not only occur in the skin or in the mucous membranes, but also in the muscles, the intestine or the bladder.

Activation of nociceptors can occur through the direct stimulation of tissues or indirectly, by the release of chemicals in damaged tissue. These compounds include histamine, bradykinin , potassium, serotonin, acetylcholine, substance P and ATP.

The axons of the nociceptors can be of two types: A delta fibers (Aδ) and C fibers. The first ones are myelinated, so the action potentials are transmitted with great speed through these fibers. For its part, C fibers are much slower because these axons contain a lower amount of myelin.


Types of nociceptor

The transmission of nociceptive signals is triggered when tissues detect different types of injury stimulation, such as compression or intense heat.

We can divide the nociceptors depending on the kinds of stimuli to which they respond , although some of them react to several sensory modalities.

1. Mechanics (mechanoreceptors)

Mechanical nociceptors are activated from intense tactile sensations, such as punctures, pressure or deformation; therefore, they respond to cuts and blows. Its frequency of response is greater the more harmful the stimulus results.

This type of nociception leads to very fast responses because the mechanical receptors transmit afferences through A delta fibers, myelinated nerves of fast conduction .

  • Related article: "Myelin: definition, functions and characteristics"

2. Thermal (thermoreceptors)

The conduction from the thermal nociceptors also takes place through A delta fibers and therefore they are transmitted at a high speed.


These nociceptors are activated when they detect very high or very low temperatures (more than 42ºC or less than 5ºC) , as well as intense mechanical stimuli.

3. Chemicals (chemoreceptors)

Chemical nociceptors respond to different Chemical compounds that tissues release when damaged , such as bradykinin and histamine. They also detect the presence of external toxic substances that can cause tissue damage, such as hot pepper capsaicin and tobacco acrolein.

4. Silent

This kind of nociceptor is not characterized by the type of stimulus that activates it, but by the fact that it responds late, once it has occurred inflammation of the tissue adjacent to the lesion .

5. Polimodales

Polymodal nociceptors respond to different types of stimulation: mechanical, thermal and chemical. They drive the pain signals through C fibers, significantly slower than the A fibers. We can find this type of nociceptors in the dental pulp, among other parts of the body.

The pathways of pain and its inhibition

Different spinal tracts transmit pain signals from the nociceptors to the cerebral cortex. In particular, the relevance of the spinothalamic tract , which connects the skin with the thalamus, a key structure in sending sensory inputs to the brain.

The nociceptive fibers are located in the dorsal (or posterior) horn of the spinal cord and are composed, as we have said, of A delta fibers and C fibers, as well as of projection neurons and inhibitory interneurons.

There are three components of the pain experience: the sensation, the emotion and the cognition . The primary and secondary somatosensory cortex process the discriminative-sensory dimension, while the associated negative emotion depends on the insula and the anterior cingulate. The feeling of long-term pain is related to the prefrontal cortex.

The theory of the gate of Melzack and Wall proposes that the perception of non-painful stimuli blocks the transmission of pain signals to the central nervous system; thus, the experience of pain can be canceled if tactile sensations do not harm. Therapy by transcutaneous electrical stimulation It is based on this theory.

The inhibition of pain can also occur downward, from the brain to nociceptive neurons. In this sense, the endorphins of the periaqueductal gray matter, the serotonin secreted by the raphe nuclei and the norepinephrine of the cerulean locus are of great importance.


Nociceptors - An Introduction to Pain (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Nocicepteurs (récepteurs de la douleur): définition et types

Nocicepteurs (récepteurs de la douleur): définition et types

Août 11, 2020

Nous appelons "nociceptor" les terminaisons de cellules qui détectent les sensations de douleur et les transmettent à d'autres zones du système nerveux central. Les différents types de nocicepteurs répondent à des stimuli mécaniques, thermiques ou chimiques, tant externes que provoqués par l'organisme lui-même.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire Quels sont les nocicepteurs et en quoi diffèrent les 5 types principaux? . Nous allons également expliquer brièvement comment l'expérience de la douleur fonctionne au niveau de la moelle épinière et du cerveau, et de la manière dont elle peut être inhibée.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "La douleur chronique: de quoi s'agit-il et comment est-elle traitée par la psychologie"

Que sont les nocicepteurs? Une définition

Les nocicepteurs sont des récepteurs sensoriels qui répondre aux stimuli qui blessent les tissus ou qui pourraient le faire, et ils sont situés à la fin de l'axone d'un neurone sensoriel. Cette réponse, appelée nociception, consiste en l’émission de signaux de douleur au système nerveux central, c’est-à-dire au cerveau et à la moelle épinière.


Les nocicepteurs sont situés dans différentes parties du corps, à la fois dans les tissus externes et internes. Ainsi, la sensation de douleur ne se produit pas seulement dans la peau ou dans les muqueuses, mais aussi dans les muscles, l'intestin ou la vessie.

L'activation des nocicepteurs peut se produire par la stimulation directe des tissus ou indirectement par la libération de produits chimiques dans les tissus endommagés. Ces composés comprennent l'histamine, la bradykinine , potassium, sérotonine, acétylcholine, substance P et ATP.

Les axones des nocicepteurs peuvent être de deux types: A fibres delta (Aδ) et fibres C. Les premiers sont myélinisés, de sorte que les potentiels d'action sont transmis très rapidement à travers ces fibres. De leur côté, les fibres C sont beaucoup plus lentes car ces axones contiennent moins de myéline.


Types de nocicepteur

La transmission de signaux nociceptifs est déclenchée lorsque les tissus détectent différents types de stimulation des lésions, telles que la compression ou la chaleur intense.

On peut diviser les nocicepteurs en fonction des types de stimuli auxquels ils répondent , bien que certains d’entre eux réagissent à plusieurs modalités sensorielles.

1. Mécanique (mécanorécepteurs)

Les nocicepteurs mécaniques sont activés par des sensations tactiles intenses, telles que des ponctions, des pressions ou des déformations; par conséquent, ils répondent aux coupures et aux coups. Sa fréquence de réponse est d'autant plus grande que le stimulus est nocif.

Ce type de nociception conduit à des réponses très rapides car les récepteurs mécaniques transmettent des afférences par A fibres delta, nerfs myélinisés à conduction rapide .

  • Article connexe: "Myéline: définition, fonctions et caractéristiques"

2. Thermique (thermorécepteurs)

La conduction à partir des nocicepteurs thermiques se fait également à travers les fibres A delta et elles sont donc transmises à une vitesse élevée.


Ces nocicepteurs sont activés quand ils détectent très hautes ou très basses températures (plus de 42ºC ou moins de 5ºC) , ainsi que des stimuli mécaniques intenses.

3. Produits chimiques (chimiorécepteurs)

Les nocicepteurs chimiques répondent à différents Composés chimiques que les tissus libèrent lorsqu'ils sont endommagés comme la bradykinine et l’histamine. Ils détectent également la présence de substances toxiques externes pouvant causer des lésions tissulaires, telles que la capsaïcine au piment fort et l'acroléine de tabac.

4. silencieux

Ce type de nocicepteur ne se caractérise pas par le type de stimulus qui l’active, mais par le fait qu’il réagit tardivement, une fois que cela s’est produit inflammation du tissu adjacent à la lésion .

5. Polimodales

Les nocicepteurs polymodaux répondent à différents types de stimulation: mécanique, thermique et chimique. Ils transmettent les signaux de douleur à travers les fibres C, beaucoup plus lentement que les fibres A. On peut trouver ce type de nocicepteurs dans la pulpe dentaire, entre autres parties du corps.

Les voies de la douleur et son inhibition

Différentes voies rachidiennes transmettent des signaux de douleur des nocicepteurs au cortex cérébral. En particulier, le pertinence du tractus spinothalamique , qui relie la peau au thalamus, une structure clé pour l'envoi d'entrées sensorielles au cerveau.

Les fibres nociceptives sont situées dans la corne dorsale (ou postérieure) de la moelle épinière et sont composées, comme nous l'avons dit, de fibres A delta et de fibres C, ainsi que de neurones de projection et d'interneurones inhibiteurs.

L’expérience douloureuse comporte trois composantes: la sensation, l'émotion et la cognition . Le cortex somatosensoriel primaire et secondaire traite la dimension discriminative-sensorielle, tandis que l'émotion négative associée dépend de l'insula et du cingulaire antérieur. La sensation de douleur à long terme est liée au cortex préfrontal.

La théorie de la porte de Melzack et du mur propose que la perception de stimuli non douloureux bloque la transmission des signaux de douleur au système nerveux central; ainsi, l'expérience de la douleur peut être annulée si les sensations tactiles ne nuisent pas. Thérapie par stimulation électrique transcutanée Il est basé sur cette théorie.

L'inhibition de la douleur peut également se produire vers le bas, du cerveau aux neurones nociceptifs. En ce sens, les endorphines de la matière grise périaqueducale, la sérotonine sécrétée par les noyaux du raphé et la noradrénaline du locus céruléen revêtent une grande importance.


#07 La Douleur, 1ERE PARTIE : Le mécanisme de la Douleur (Août 2020).


Articles Connexes