yes, therapy helps!
What are the psychotechnical tests and what types are there?

What are the psychotechnical tests and what types are there?

October 1, 2022

Nowadays it is not uncommon to hear that a psychotherapist has to pass us, for example during a process of selection of personnel in a company. And it is not the only moment that is going to happen to us throughout our life, being something more frequent and habitual than it may seem. But, What is a psycho-technical test and what do you want to achieve? Is there more than one type of psychotherapist or are they all the same? In this article we are going to make a brief comment regarding these issues.

  • Related article: "Types of psychological tests: their functions and characteristics"

What are psychotechnical tests?

They are understood by psychometric tests to a type of objective tests designed to evaluate in an objective way (without mediating in the obtaining of results the subjectivity of an evaluator) the intellectual capacities of one or several people. These are highly structured, voluntary response tests controlled by the subject and in which the objective of the test is not masked (being relatively easy to imagine what is being measured). The answers issued by the analyzed subject will be treated as sincere and true, although they are performance tests that would not benefit from attempts to vary the answers.


Most of these tests are of maximum execution, that is to say, that value the maximum potential shown by a subject with respect to a skill or characteristic concrete in a certain time limit. They usually assess the general intelligence and aptitudes of the subject being examined, and this assessment may have very different objectives depending on the case. In general, it seeks to check the adequacy of a person's abilities to the needs and elements required to access certain permits or posts, or simply to assess if there is any alteration or difficulty in the adaptive functioning of the person.

It is common for them to pass along with a personality test in order to evaluate not only the cognitive skills but also the way of being and the pattern of thought and habitual behavior of the person analyzed. Later, after analyzing the information obtained by both types of test, some type of decision can be made. Keep in mind, however, that the tests in themselves they do not offer information beyond a score, which must be interpreted and analyzed based on the information of the subject that is available and the comparison with different scales or criteria.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The theories of human intelligence"

Types of psychotechnical tests

There are different types of psychotechnical tests , since not all are oriented to obtain information of the same aspects nor are carried out with the same objectives. In this sense, some of the large groups in which we can classify them are the following.

1. Care and concentration test

These tests evaluate the ability to remain attentive to a stimulus, maintain fixed attention to the appearance of a specific element or to realize changes in the appearance of alterations. Generally monotonous tasks are used in which it is easy to get bored and distracted or in which it is complex to detect a stimulus different from the rest.

  • Related article: "The 15 types of attention and what are their characteristics"

2. Reasoning test

Organize information, draw conclusions and look for solutions quickly it is fundamental for many jobs and facilitates the general adaptation to the events that we face on a day-to-day basis. There are multiple ways of evaluating reasoning, some of them being the solution of problems, the planning of alternatives for action in hypothetical situations or the decision between two options and the justification of why. It is also frequent to have to look for relationships between different stimuli and to solve matrices. Spatial, verbal, numerical or mechanical reasoning may be included, in addition to the abstract one.


3. Spatial aptitude test

Distinguishing shapes and being able to navigate correctly through space is a skill that helps us to orient ourselves and understand what is happening around us. In multiple jobs or at the time of driving have a certain level of this ability is essential. Usually different visuospatial tests are used , how to decide what will be an object that we see from another perspective or keep a point within some concrete margins.

4. Verbal aptitude test

Communicating efficiently, knowing how to understand and express what other people think and think at high speed, is essential in dealing with other people. Vocabulary, lexicon, speed of reading and writing, grammar and spelling are some of the aspects examined in this type of test.

5. Test of numerical aptitude

Making calculations is very useful in multiple jobs or in our day to day. The numerical aptitude is usually examined from mathematical problems , rules of three or direct calculation (usually not usually overly complicated unless you are opting for a position that requires great competition in this sector, but the number of successes and errors in a specific time is measured).

6. Linked to executive functions

Work memory, decision making capacity, response inhibition, planning and problem solving ... all these capabilities can be analyzed through different tests. Usually they are used in the neuropsychological evaluation and in the clinic , although some can be adapted for other uses.

Areas in which they apply

If most of us know what a psychometric test is, it is because at some point in our life we ​​have had one. In fact, nowadays they are very frequent in different contexts in which it is required to know the mental aptitudes of a specific person with a specific objective. Among the different possible contexts, some of the most frequent are the following.

1. Labor scope

The area where we probably most frequently find ourselves in need of passing one of these tests. Companies usually have a series of requirements on the skills their employees must gather , so that through the passing of these tests can obtain a score in skills such as speed of writing, verbal comprehension, lexicon, numerical ability, ability to solve problems or visuospatial abilities among many others. That is why they are part of most personnel selection processes (although the interview is usually more important).


2. Educational field

Psychotechnicians are also often employed in education and training, as a way of observing the abilities of students. They can be used to adjust the level and content to the student's abilities, see their level of development or if there have been improvements in the course of an educational program or even to establish selection criteria for acceptance in some universities or centers.

3. Clinical practice

Another area in which psychometric tests are used is in clinical practice, to assess the abilities and aptitudes of patients. This is very useful to assess, for example, the existence of alterations in patients with dementia or other alterations that can generate variations in mental abilities , or simply to assess the current capabilities of the patient.


4. Driving license

Driving a vehicle is a great responsibility. We are in command of a powerful and heavy machine that is going to go into circulation and that must be handled with great caution and skill to avoid causing or suffering accidents. That is why it requires an evaluation of the skills of the future driver before granting a permit, to observe their attention and concentration skills, the visuoperceptive and visuospatial ability and the ability to react.

5. Weapons license

Although much less frequent than the previous two, some people need to carry a firearm. This is the case of police, security guards and hunters . But no weapon should be given to anyone, since they pose a great responsibility and a great danger to others if they are not used correctly. For this purpose, different psychometric tests are usually used, among other tests, in order to decide whether or not requirements are met in order to have a weapons license.


Bibliographic references:

  • Cohen, R.J. & Swerdlik, M.E. (2002). Psychological tests and evaluation. McGraw-Hill: Madrid.

How To Pass Psychometric Tests (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Quels sont les tests psychotechniques et quels sont les types?

Quels sont les tests psychotechniques et quels sont les types?

Mai 20, 2022

De nos jours, il n'est pas rare d'entendre qu'un psychothérapeute doit nous dépasser, par exemple lors d'un processus de sélection de personnel dans une entreprise. Et ce n'est pas le seul moment qui va nous arriver tout au long de notre vie, étant quelque chose de plus fréquent et d'habitude qu'il n'y paraît. Mais Qu'est-ce qu'un test psychotechnique et que voulez-vous accomplir? Existe-t-il plus d'un type de psychothérapeute ou sont-ils tous identiques? Dans cet article, nous allons faire un bref commentaire sur ces questions.

  • Article connexe: "Types de tests psychologiques: fonctions et caractéristiques"

Que sont les tests psychotechniques?

Ils sont compris par les tests psychométriques comme un type de tests objectifs destinés à évaluer de manière objective (sans pour autant obtenir de résultats la subjectivité d'un évaluateur), les capacités intellectuelles d'une ou plusieurs personnes. Ce sont des tests de réponse volontaires hautement structurés contrôlée par le sujet et dans laquelle l'objectif du test n'est pas masqué (il est relativement facile d'imaginer ce qui est mesuré). Les réponses fournies par le sujet analysé seront considérées comme sincères et vraies, bien qu’il s’agisse de tests de performance qui ne tireraient aucun avantage des tentatives de modification des réponses.


La plupart de ces tests sont d’exécution maximale, c’est-à-dire que valoriser le potentiel maximum indiqué par un sujet par rapport à une compétence ou à une caractéristique béton dans un certain délai. Ils évaluent généralement l'intelligence générale et les aptitudes du sujet examiné, et cette évaluation peut avoir des objectifs très différents selon les cas. En général, il cherche à vérifier l'adéquation des capacités d'une personne aux besoins et aux éléments nécessaires pour accéder à certains permis ou postes, ou simplement à évaluer s'il y a une modification ou une difficulté dans le fonctionnement adaptatif de la personne.

Il est courant qu’ils passent un test de personnalité afin d’évaluer non seulement les aptitudes cognitives, mais aussi leur façon d’être, le schéma de pensée et le comportement habituel de la personne analysée. Plus tard, après avoir analysé les informations obtenues par les deux types de test, un certain type de décision peut être pris. Rappelez-vous cependant que les tests en eux-mêmes ils n'offrent pas d'informations au-delà d'un score, ce qui doit être interprété et analysé en fonction des informations disponibles sur le sujet et de la comparaison avec différentes échelles ou critères.


  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Les théories de l'intelligence humaine"

Types de tests psychotechniques

Il existe différents types de tests psychotechniques , étant donné que tous ne sont pas orientés pour obtenir des informations sur les mêmes aspects ni ne sont réalisés avec les mêmes objectifs. En ce sens, certains des grands groupes dans lesquels nous pouvons les classer sont les suivants.

1. Test de soin et de concentration

Ces tests évaluer la capacité de rester attentif à un stimulus, maintenir une attention fixe apparition d'un élément spécifique ou pour réaliser des changements dans l'apparence d'altérations. On utilise généralement des tâches monotones dans lesquelles il est facile de s'ennuyer et de se laisser distraire ou dans lesquelles il est complexe de détecter un stimulus différent du reste.

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 types d'attention et leurs caractéristiques"

2. Test de raisonnement

Organiser des informations, tirer des conclusions et chercher des solutions rapidement Il est fondamental pour de nombreux emplois et facilite l’adaptation générale aux événements auxquels nous sommes confrontés au quotidien. Il existe plusieurs façons d'évaluer le raisonnement, certaines résolvant des problèmes, planifiant des alternatives d'action dans des situations hypothétiques ou décidant entre deux options et justifiant pourquoi. Il est également fréquent de rechercher des relations entre différents stimuli et de résoudre des matrices. Des raisonnements spatiaux, verbaux, numériques ou mécaniques peuvent être inclus, en plus du raisonnement abstrait.


3. Test d'aptitude spatiale

Distinguer les formes et être capable de naviguer correctement dans l’espace est une compétence qui nous aide à nous orienter et à comprendre ce qui se passe autour de nous. Dans plusieurs emplois ou au moment de conduire, un certain niveau de cette capacité est essentiel. Habituellement différents tests visuospatiaux sont utilisés , comment décider ce que sera un objet que nous verrons d’un autre point de vue ou garder un point à l’intérieur de marges concrètes.

4. Test d'aptitude verbal

Communiquer efficacement, savoir comprendre et exprimer ce que les autres pensent et pensent très vite est essentiel pour traiter avec les autres. Vocabulaire, lexique, vitesse de lecture et d'écriture, grammaire et orthographe sont certains des aspects examinés dans ce type de test.

5. Test d'aptitude numérique

Faire des calculs est très utile dans plusieurs emplois ou dans notre quotidien. L'aptitude numérique est généralement examiné à partir de problèmes mathématiques , règles de trois ou calcul direct (généralement pas trop compliqué sauf si vous optez pour un poste qui nécessite une grande concurrence dans ce secteur, mais le nombre de succès et d’erreurs dans une période donnée est mesuré).

6. Lié aux fonctions exécutives

La mémoire de travail, la capacité de prise de décision, l'inhibition de la réponse, la planification et la résolution de problèmes ... toutes ces capacités peuvent être analysées à travers différents tests. Généralement ils sont utilisés dans l'évaluation neuropsychologique et en clinique , bien que certains puissent être adaptés à d’autres utilisations.

Domaines d'application

Si la plupart d'entre nous savons ce qu'est un test psychométrique, c'est parce que nous en avons eu un moment dans notre vie. En fait, de nos jours, ils sont très fréquents dans différents contextes dans lesquels il est nécessaire de connaître les aptitudes mentales d’une personne donnée avec un objectif précis. Parmi les différents contextes possibles, les plus fréquents sont les suivants.

1. portée du travail

La zone où nous nous trouvons probablement le plus souvent dans le besoin de passer l’un de ces tests. Les entreprises ont généralement une série d'exigences sur les compétences que leurs employés doivent acquérir , de sorte que ces tests permettent d’obtenir un score en compétences telles que la vitesse d’écriture, la compréhension verbale, le lexique, la capacité numérique, la capacité à résoudre des problèmes ou la capacité visuospatiale, entre autres. C'est pourquoi ils font partie de la plupart des processus de sélection du personnel (bien que l'entretien soit généralement plus important).


2. Domaine éducatif

Les psychotechniciens sont également souvent employés dans les domaines de l’éducation et de la formation pour observer les capacités des étudiants. Ils peuvent être utilisés pour ajuster le niveau et le contenu aux capacités de l’élève, voir son niveau de développement ou s'il y a eu des améliorations au cours d'un programme éducatif ou même d’établir des critères de sélection pour acceptation dans certaines universités ou centres.

3. Pratique clinique

Un autre domaine dans lequel des tests psychométriques sont utilisés est la pratique clinique, destinée à évaluer les capacités et les aptitudes des patients. Ceci est très utile pour évaluer, par exemple, l'existence d'altérations chez les patients atteints de démence ou d'autres modifications pouvant générer des variations des capacités mentales , ou simplement pour évaluer les capacités actuelles du patient.


4. Permis de conduire

Conduire un véhicule est une grande responsabilité. Nous commandons une machine puissante et lourde qui va être mise en circulation et qui doit être manipulée avec beaucoup de prudence et d’habileté pour éviter de causer ou de causer des accidents. C’est pourquoi il est nécessaire d’évaluer les compétences du futur conducteur avant d’accorder un permis, d’observer ses capacités d’attention et de concentration, ses capacités visuopérceptives et visuospatiales et sa capacité de réaction.

5. Licence d'armes

Bien que beaucoup moins fréquente que les deux précédentes, certaines personnes doivent porter une arme à feu. C'est le cas de la police, des gardes de sécurité et des chasseurs . Mais aucune arme ne doit être donnée à qui que ce soit, car elles représentent une grande responsabilité et un grand danger pour les autres si elles ne sont pas utilisées correctement. À cette fin, différents tests psychométriques sont généralement utilisés, parmi d’autres, pour déterminer si les conditions requises pour obtenir une licence d’armes sont remplies.


Références bibliographiques:

  • Cohen, R.J. & Swerdlik, M.E. (2002). Tests psychologiques et évaluation. McGraw-Hill: Madrid.

Comment se déroule un Test Psychotechnique pour Permis : Exercices, Exemples, Résultats (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes