yes, therapy helps!
What happens in your brain when you eat chocolate or cocoa?

What happens in your brain when you eat chocolate or cocoa?

October 1, 2022

With the arrival in Europe of the different fruits from the American continent, the fury for cocoa, and consequently for chocolate, soon expanded, becoming one more food in the cuisine of any place in the rest of the world.

However, almost from its very appearance, Discussions about its benefits and the not-so-healthy properties of chocolate have been widely discussed . This article describes the benefits of chocolate on a psychological level and the effects it has on the brain according to its different compounds.

Cocoa, cocoa powder and chocolate

The cocoa powder and its subsequent transformation into the well-known and desired chocolate, are the most well-known elaborations that are extracted from the fruit called cocoa. Likewise, this fruit originates and develops in a tropical tree known as Theobroma cacao, which is grown in Africa and in Tropical America.


Theobroma cacao refers to the scientific nomenclature that is assigned to the cacao tree, also called cocoa tree. Formerly, it was appreciated as a divine tree, hence the translation of its specialized name Theobroma can literally be translated as "food of the gods".

From the fruit of this tree, cocoa, cocoa powder is extracted. Which is obtained by grinding or grinding the beans inside. At a nutritional level, cocoa powder can provide many calories and proteins and very few carbohydrates , so it is an ideal food in hyperproteic diets. As well as a large amount of vitamins such as B vitamins, vitamin A and vitamin E.


However, there are also many benefits at the psychological level. In addition to the well-known sensation of well-being that it produces, cocoa is energetic, favors memory and prevents brain aging.

Finally, it is necessary to make a distinction between cocoa and chocolate. As mentioned above, cocoa is obtained directly from the fruit, while chocolate requires a subsequent processing process during which sugars, milk, nuts, etc. are added.

Therefore, the benefits of cocoa will be greater as long as it is the most natural, that is, has fewer additives and is as less processed as possible.

Psychological effects of cocoa consumption

The beneficial effects of chocolate on our mood are well known. Traditionally associated with pleasurable sensations, cocoa is a known endorphin releaser and a source of caffeine. But there are many contributions that chocolate can make to brain functioning.


1. Chocolate, endorphins and pleasure

Cocoa is a powerful natural generator of endorphins, so powerful that the sensation of well-being that it provokes is practically immediate.

The endorphins popularly known as happiness hormones, are endogenous opioid peptides, this means that they are opioids manufactured by our own body in order to generate a feeling of wellbeing and also, they are able to reduce the sensation of pain.

Other benefits that endorphins have on the person, and therefore chocolate is also likely to cause them are:

  • They produce a feeling of pleasure and well-being
  • They promote the release of sex hormones, that is, increase sexual desire
  • They regulate the appetite
  • Reinforce the immune system
  • They calm the sensation of pain caused by inflammation, trauma, etc.
  • Chocolate to stay awake

Although compared to coffee, cocoa contains less caffeine, it also contains it. So it generates greater brain activity and causes a mild stimulating effect.

Caffeine is a substance that can be found in more than 60 plants, including the cacao tree . The psychological effects that caffeine can exert include the sensation of being more awake, attentive and with more energy due to the stimulation of the central nervous system.

However, it is necessary to point out that an excessive consumption of caffeine can also have negative consequences, such as an increase in blood pressure or acidity in the stomach, so it is necessary to consume it in a moderate way.

2. Constitutes a natural euphoric

Cocoa is an excellent source of phenylethylamine, this substance, generated naturally in the brain, is similar to amphetamines, producing a pleasant feeling of well-being and euphoria.

In addition, when significant amounts of phenylethylamine are generated, the brain reacts by releasing dopamine, norepinephrine and oxytocin, neurotransmitters ordered, among other things, to cause sensations of pleasure and well-being.

3. Cocoa as an energy source

Due to the above properties, cocoa has been used as an energy food since ancient times . The civilizations from Latin America already resorted to cocoa as a stimulant and even as a compulsory drink before leaving for war.

4. Chocolate, memory and brain aging

Pure cocoa is abundant in brain-building compounds called flavanols. A recent study by the American Heart Association published that eating flavonoid-rich cocoa daily can have a positive impact on memory functions and improve mild cognitive impairment.

The flavonoids present in cocoa can also be found in other foods such as grapes, apples, wine or tea ; and have the ability to protect neurons from possible injury, in addition to promoting metabolism and interaction with the molecular structure. Likewise and indirectly, flavanols favor the flow of blood in the brain.

5. Tips and warnings

However, despite all the benefits mentioned in the article, it is not advisable to abuse their consumption, since Due to its processing and combination with other substances, chocolate is rich in fat and calories .

Therefore, and like any other food, moderate consumption is always better than abuse.


What Happens to You After Eating Just a Piece of Chocolate (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Que se passe-t-il dans votre cerveau lorsque vous mangez du chocolat ou du cacao?

Que se passe-t-il dans votre cerveau lorsque vous mangez du chocolat ou du cacao?

Mai 20, 2022

Avec l’arrivée en Europe des différents fruits du continent américain, la fureur du cacao, et par conséquent du chocolat, s’est rapidement étendue pour devenir un aliment de plus dans la cuisine de n’importe quel endroit du monde.

Cependant, presque de son apparence même, Des discussions sur ses avantages et les propriétés moins saines du chocolat ont été largement discutées . Cet article décrit les avantages du chocolat sur le plan psychologique et ses effets sur le cerveau en fonction de ses différents composés.

Cacao, poudre de cacao et chocolat

La poudre de cacao et sa transformation ultérieure en chocolat bien connu et recherché sont les élaborations les plus connues extraites du fruit appelé cacao. De même, ce fruit prend naissance et se développe dans un arbre tropical appelé Theobroma cacao, qui est cultivé en Afrique et en Amérique tropicale.


Theobroma cacao fait référence à la nomenclature scientifique attribuée au cacaoyer, également appelé cacaoyer. Autrefois, il était apprécié comme un arbre divin, d'où la traduction de son nom spécialisé Theobroma qui peut littéralement être traduit par "nourriture des dieux".

Du fruit de cet arbre, le cacao, le cacao en poudre est extrait. Qui est obtenu en broyant ou en broyant les fèves à l'intérieur. Au niveau nutritionnel, la poudre de cacao peut fournir beaucoup de calories et de protéines et très peu de glucides , c’est donc un aliment idéal dans les régimes hyperprotéiques. Ainsi qu'une grande quantité de vitamines telles que les vitamines B, la vitamine A et la vitamine E.


Cependant, il existe également de nombreux avantages sur le plan psychologique. En plus de la sensation de bien-être bien connue qu'il produit, le cacao est énergétique, favorise la mémoire et prévient le vieillissement du cerveau.

Enfin, il est nécessaire de distinguer le cacao du chocolat. Comme mentionné ci-dessus, le cacao est obtenu directement à partir du fruit, tandis que le chocolat nécessite un traitement ultérieur au cours duquel des sucres, du lait, des noix, etc. sont ajoutés.

Par conséquent, les avantages du cacao seront plus importants tant qu'il est le plus naturel, c'est-à-dire qu'il contient moins d'additifs et qu'il est aussi peu transformé que possible.

Effets psychologiques de la consommation de cacao

Les effets bénéfiques du chocolat sur notre humeur sont bien connus. Associé traditionnellement à des sensations agréables, le cacao est un agent connu pour libérer des endorphines et une source de caféine. Mais le chocolat peut apporter de nombreuses contributions au fonctionnement du cerveau.


1. Chocolat, endorphines et plaisir

Le cacao est un puissant générateur naturel d'endorphines, si puissant que la sensation de bien-être qu'il provoque est pratiquement immédiate.

Les endorphines, communément appelées hormones du bonheur, sont des peptides opioïdes endogènes, ce qui signifie qu'il s'agit d'opioïdes fabriqués par notre corps afin de générer un sentiment de bien-être et de réduire la sensation de douleur.

Les autres avantages que les endorphines ont sur la personne, et donc le chocolat est également susceptible de les causer:

  • Ils procurent une sensation de plaisir et de bien-être
  • Ils favorisent la libération d'hormones sexuelles, c'est-à-dire augmentent le désir sexuel
  • Ils régulent l'appétit
  • Renforce le système immunitaire
  • Ils calment la sensation de douleur causée par une inflammation, un traumatisme, etc.
  • Le chocolat pour rester éveillé

Bien que comparé au café, le cacao contient moins de caféine, il en contient également. Donc, il génère une plus grande activité cérébrale et provoque un léger effet stimulant.

La caféine est une substance présente dans plus de 60 plantes, y compris le cacaoyer . Les effets psychologiques que la caféine peut exercer comprennent la sensation d'être plus éveillé, attentif et plus énergique du fait de la stimulation du système nerveux central.

Cependant, il est nécessaire de souligner qu'une consommation excessive de caféine peut également avoir des conséquences négatives, telles qu'une augmentation de la pression artérielle ou une acidité de l'estomac. Il est donc nécessaire de la consommer de manière modérée.

2. Constitue un euphorique naturel

Le cacao est une excellente source de phényléthylamine. Cette substance, générée naturellement dans le cerveau, s'apparente aux amphétamines et procure une agréable sensation de bien-être et d'euphorie.

De plus, lorsque des quantités importantes de phényléthylamine sont générées, le cerveau réagit en libérant de la dopamine, de la noradrénaline et de l'ocytocine, neurotransmetteurs ordonnés entre autres pour provoquer des sensations de plaisir et de bien-être.

3. Le cacao comme source d'énergie

En raison des propriétés susmentionnées, le cacao est utilisé comme aliment énergétique depuis l'Antiquité . Les civilisations d'Amérique latine avaient déjà recours au cacao comme stimulant et même comme boisson obligatoire avant de partir en guerre.

4. Chocolat, mémoire et vieillissement cérébral

Le cacao pur est abondant dans les composés de construction du cerveau appelés flavanols. Une étude récente de l'American Heart Association a publié que la consommation quotidienne de cacao riche en flavonoïdes peut avoir un impact positif sur les fonctions de la mémoire et améliorer les troubles cognitifs légers.

Les flavonoïdes présents dans le cacao peuvent également être trouvés dans d'autres aliments tels que les raisins, les pommes, le vin ou le thé ; et ont la capacité de protéger les neurones d'une éventuelle blessure, en plus de promouvoir le métabolisme et les interactions avec la structure moléculaire. De même et indirectement, les flavanols favorisent la circulation du sang dans le cerveau.

5. Trucs et avertissements

Cependant, malgré tous les avantages mentionnés dans l'article, il n'est pas conseillé d'abuser de leur consommation, car En raison de son traitement et de sa combinaison avec d'autres substances, le chocolat est riche en matières grasses et en calories .

Par conséquent, et comme tout autre aliment, une consommation modérée est toujours préférable à un abus.


C'est pas sorcier -CACAO ET CHOCOLAT (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes