yes, therapy helps!
What is intersexuality? Definition, causes and types

What is intersexuality? Definition, causes and types

June 21, 2024

Until a few years ago it was considered as a disorder to intersexuality, that is, the fact of having intermediate sexual characteristics between those that are typical in men and those that are in women.

Today the conception of what intersexuality is changing as knowledge of human biology expands and awareness of the diversity of sex and gender increases.

  • Related article: "Transsexuality: gender identity or psychological disorder?"

What is intersexuality?

The term "intersexuality" refers to a series of variations in the organs and sexual characteristics, both anatomically and genetically, that make the person have both male and female characteristics simultaneously. These variations can affect chromosomes, hormones, genitalia and / or secondary sex traits, like the distribution of muscles and fat.


The result of the variations produced by intersexuality is the ambiguity of the sexual anatomy or the discrepancy between the genotype and the phenotype. In short, we can say that intersex people are born without all the physical characteristics typically female or male. Furthermore, since this does not have to be manifested externally, it can also occur only in genes, not all intersex people know that they are.

From the biological sciences, intersexuality is currently conceived as a set of disorders or variations in sexual development . The second conception is increasingly generalized, less stigmatizing for intersex people.


Although in many cases it has been medicalized, the truth is that intersexuality is not usually a danger for survival, although in some cases it does involve risk of pain and infertility and may cause discomfort with regard to sexual identity.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Gender dysphoria: born in the wrong body"

Synonymous with "hermaphrodite"?

Previously Intersex people were known as "hermaphrodites" but today this term is considered derogatory: hermaphroditism consists of the simultaneous presence of male and female reproductive organs that occurs in some species of animals and plants.

In the Europe of antiquity and the Middle Ages people who had ambiguous sexual characteristics were considered hermaphrodites . The law of these societies affirmed that they should be considered men or women according to the predominant external features. To a large extent, this conception has remained up to the present.


During the twentieth century the term "intersexuality", coined by the geneticist Richard Golschmidt in 1917, replaced "hermaphroditism" in this type of case. Medical advances during the past century allowed surgical and hormonal interventions will be popularized to alter the anatomy of intersex people so that their bodies were more similar to the male or female prototype.

However, the dubious efficacy and risks of these treatments, which are often practiced without consent in minors, have contributed to the emergence of movements that defend the rights of intersex people.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of hormones and their functions in the human body"

Causes and types of intersexuality

There are many possible causes of intersexuality that cause different variations in genotype and phenotype. These causes can be divided into four main categories based on their most defining characteristics.

1. Intersexuality 46, XX (with virilization)

In these cases the chromosomes of the person correspond to those that are typical in women, but their external genitalia are those of a male. Even though in intersexuality 46, XX the person has a uterus , the exhibition to high levels of masculine hormones during the fetal development, produced by several possible causes, cause that the clítoris and the vaginal lips are developed like a penis.

The most common cause of this type of intersexuality is the congenital adrenal hyperplasia , consisting of defects in the adrenal glands that cause excessive secretion of androgens, as well as deficit of cortisol and other hormones. This alteration can influence menstruation and hair growth, but in severe cases it can also affect heart rhythm or blood levels of sodium and potassium.

The presence of ovarian tumors and the consumption of male hormones during pregnancy by the mother can also cause intersexuality with virilization.

2. Intersexuality 46, XY (with subvirilization)

The intersexuality 46, XY consists of the presence of male chromosomes and female external genitalia or ambiguous. In this type of intersexuality the normal development of the male phenotype from the inhibition of female characteristics does not come to completion.

The most common cause of intersexuality with subvirilization is the androgen insensitivity syndrome ; in these cases the organism is resistant to male hormones, necessary for the development of the gonads and the rest of the male sexual characteristics.

Malformations in the testicles and the deficient production of testosterone are also frequent causes of intersexuality 46, XY.

3. True gonadal intersex

This type of intersexuality occurs when the person has simultaneously ovaries and testicles , either completely or incompletely. Formerly these variations were known as "true hermaphroditism", in contrast to the terms "female pseudohermaphroditism" and "male pseudohermaphroditism" that were used for intersexuality XX and XY, respectively.

In true gonadal intersexuality the external genitalia can be masculine, feminine or intermediate, and chromosomes XX, XY or both can be presented at the same time. The cause of these variations is unknown.

4. Complex or indeterminate intersexuality

We speak of complex or indeterminate intersexuality when sexual development is altered there is no inconsistency between the genotype and the phenotype . Among other aspects, the sex hormones or the number of chromosomes may be affected.

For example, cases in which there are two X chromosomes (47, XXY or 47, XXX) and in which there is only one X chromosome (45, XO) would be included in this category.


INTERSEX EXPLAINED! | Complete Androgen Insensitivity (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que l'intersexualité? Définition, causes et types

Qu'est-ce que l'intersexualité? Définition, causes et types

Mai 21, 2022

Jusqu'à il y a quelques années, l'intersexualité était considérée comme un trouble, c'est-à-dire le fait d'avoir des caractères sexuels intermédiaires entre ceux qui sont typiques chez les hommes et ceux qui sont chez les femmes.

Aujourd'hui la conception de ce que l'intersexualité change à mesure que la connaissance de la biologie humaine se développe et que la diversité du sexe et du genre prend de plus en plus conscience de la diversité.

  • Article connexe: "Transsexualité: identité de genre ou trouble psychologique?"

Qu'est-ce que l'intersexualité?

Le terme "intersexualité" fait référence à une série de variations dans les organes et les caractéristiques sexuelles, à la fois anatomiques et génétiques, qui font que la personne possède à la fois des caractéristiques masculines et féminines. Ces variations peut affecter les chromosomes, les hormones, les organes génitaux et / ou les traits sexuels secondaires, comme la distribution des muscles et de la graisse.


Le résultat des variations produites par l'intersexualité est l'ambiguïté de l'anatomie sexuelle ou la discordance entre le génotype et le phénotype. En bref, nous pouvons dire que les personnes intersexuées sont nées sans toutes les caractéristiques physiques généralement féminines ou masculines. De plus, comme il n'est pas nécessaire que cela se manifeste à l'extérieur, cela ne peut se produire que dans des gènes, toutes les personnes intersexuées ne savent pas qu'elles sont.

Des sciences biologiques, l'intersexualité est actuellement conçue comme un ensemble de troubles ou de variations du développement sexuel . La deuxième conception est de plus en plus généralisée, moins stigmatisante pour les personnes intersexuées.


Bien que, dans de nombreux cas, il ait été médicalisé, l'intersexualité ne constitue généralement pas un danger pour la survie, bien que dans certains cas, elle implique un risque de douleur et d'infertilité et peut causer un malaise quant à l'identité sexuelle.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Dysphorie de genre: né dans le mauvais corps"

Synonyme de "hermaphrodite"?

Auparavant Les personnes intersexuées étaient connues comme "hermaphrodites" mais aujourd'hui, ce terme est considéré comme péjoratif: l'hermaphrodisme consiste en la présence simultanée d'organes reproducteurs mâles et femelles chez certaines espèces d'animaux et de plantes.

Dans l'Europe de l'Antiquité et du Moyen Âge les personnes ayant des caractéristiques sexuelles ambiguës étaient considérées comme hermaphrodites . La loi de ces sociétés affirmait qu’elles devraient être considérées comme des hommes ou des femmes en fonction des caractéristiques extérieures prédominantes. Dans une large mesure, cette conception est restée jusqu’à présent.


Au XXe siècle, le terme "intersexualité", inventé par le généticien Richard Golschmidt en 1917, a remplacé "l'hermaphrodisme" dans ce type de cas. Les progrès de la médecine au cours du siècle dernier ont permis interventions chirurgicales et hormonales seront popularisées modifier l’anatomie des personnes intersexuées pour que leur corps ressemble davantage au prototype masculin ou féminin.

Cependant, l'efficacité et les risques douteux de ces traitements, qui sont souvent pratiqués sans consentement chez les mineurs, ont contribué à l'émergence de mouvements défendant les droits des personnes intersexuées.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les types d'hormones et leurs fonctions dans le corps humain"

Causes et types d'intersexualité

Il existe de nombreuses causes possibles d'intersexualité qui entraînent différentes variations de génotype et de phénotype. Ces causes peuvent être divisées en quatre catégories principales en fonction de leurs caractéristiques les plus déterminantes.

1. Intersexualité 46, XX (avec virilisation)

Dans ces cas, les chromosomes de la personne correspondent à ceux qui sont typiques chez la femme, mais leurs organes génitaux externes sont ceux d'un homme. Bien que dans l'intersexualité 46, XX la personne a un utérus , l'exposition à des niveaux élevés d'hormones masculines au cours du développement fœtal, produites par plusieurs causes possibles, provoquent le développement du clítoris et des lèvres vaginales comme un pénis.

La cause la plus fréquente de ce type d'intersexualité est la hyperplasie congénitale des surrénales , consistant en des défauts dans les glandes surrénales qui provoquent une sécrétion excessive d’androgènes, ainsi qu’un déficit en cortisol et autres hormones. Cette altération peut influer sur la menstruation et la croissance des cheveux, mais dans les cas graves, elle peut également affecter le rythme cardiaque ou les taux sanguins de sodium et de potassium.

La présence de tumeurs ovariennes et la consommation d'hormones mâles par la mère pendant la grossesse peuvent également causer une intersexualité avec la virilisation.

2. Intersexualité 46, XY (avec sous-virilisation)

L'intersexualité 46, XY consiste en la présence de chromosomes masculins et d'organes génitaux externes féminins ou ambigus. Dans ce type d'intersexualité, le développement normal du phénotype masculin à partir de l'inhibition des caractéristiques féminines ne s'achève pas.

La cause la plus fréquente d’intersexualité associée à la sous-virilisation est la syndrome d'insensibilité aux androgènes ; dans ces cas, l'organisme est résistant aux hormones mâles, nécessaires au développement des gonades et au reste des caractéristiques sexuelles masculines.

Les malformations des testicules et la production insuffisante de testostérone sont également des causes fréquentes d'intersexualité 46, XY.

3. Véritable intersexe gonadique

Ce type d'intersexualité se produit lorsque la personne a simultanément des ovaires et des testicules , complètement ou incomplètement. Autrefois, ces variations étaient connues sous le nom de "véritable hermaphroditisme", par opposition aux termes "pseudohermaphrodisme féminin" et "pseudohermaphrodisme masculin" utilisés respectivement pour l'intersexualité XX et XY.

Dans la véritable intersexualité gonadique, les organes génitaux externes peuvent être masculins, féminins ou intermédiaires, et les chromosomes XX, XY ou les deux peuvent être présentés en même temps. La cause de ces variations est inconnue.

4. Intersexualité complexe ou indéterminée

On parle d'intersexualité complexe ou indéterminée lorsque le développement sexuel est altéré il n'y a pas d'incohérence entre le génotype et le phénotype . Parmi d'autres aspects, les hormones sexuelles ou le nombre de chromosomes peuvent être affectés.

Par exemple, les cas dans lesquels il existe deux chromosomes X (47, XXY ou 47, XXX) et dans lesquels il n’existe qu’un chromosome X (45, XO) seraient inclus dans cette catégorie.


Mon corps intersexe (FR) | Journée de la visibilité intersexe (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes