yes, therapy helps!
The Self-Instruction Training and the Stress Inoculation Technique

The Self-Instruction Training and the Stress Inoculation Technique

May 20, 2024

The Behavior Modification Techniques they have been one of the central elements on which the cognitive-behavioral intervention has traditionally been based. At its birth, the Theories of Learning proposed by Thorndike, Watson, Pavlov or Skinner emphasized the role played by the stimulus that accompanies the learning situation (by association or by contingency).

Later, after the rise of Cognitive Theories, it seems to have been demonstrated that the psychological change in the individual is deeper and more complete when you work also the modification of deep cognitions and beliefs , and not just the most behavioral part.


According to this, let's see two of the techniques that try to illustrate what it is and how this change is made at a more internal and mental level: Training in Self-Instruction and Stress Inoculation .

Self-instruction training (EA)

The Training in Self-Instruction highlights the role of the internal verbalizations that the person himself makes about his future execution at the time of carrying out a certain behavior.

An internal verbalization (or self-verbalization) could be defined as a set of commands or instructions that the person gives himself to guide the management of his behavior during his performance. Depending on how this instruction is done, the person will feel more or less capable of performing the behavior effectively.


This technique can be applied as a therapeutic element in itself or it can also be considered as a component of Stress Inoculation therapy , as will be explained later.

Training Components in Self-instructions

The EA is composed of several elements: modeling, behavior testing and cognitive restructuring . Let's find out what each of them consists of:

1. Modeling (M)

Modeling is a behavioral technique that is based on the idea that all behavior can be learned by observation and imitation (Social Learning). It is used in order to acquire or strengthen new more adaptive response patterns, weaken those that are inadequate or facilitate those that the person already has but do not put into practice for various reasons (anxiety in execution, for example).


To carry out the procedure it is necessary that a model perform the successful behavior in the presence of the person and that they practice it in a way that gradually increases their autonomy as the help received by the model decreases. In addition, this informs the person about the adequacy of the execution of the behavior and indicates possible aspects to improve.

2. Behavior test (EC)

This technique resembles the previous one, since it also serves to learn new behavioral skills, especially social or interpersonal skills. It consists of staging a potentially anxiogenic behavioral repertoire in the context of professional consultation, in such a way that the subject can feel more secure by being artificial reproductions and easily manipulated.

Therefore, the EC allows the reduction of the level of anxiety of the subject before the execution and a greater predisposition to "train" their behavior without fear of suffering the consequences that would have if the situation were in the real context. At first the representations that are proposed are very guided by the professional and gradually they become more flexible and natural.

3. Cognitive Restructuring (RC)

It is based on the idea that psychological problems are caused and maintained by the way a person interprets their environment and their circumstances. That is an event by itself has no positive or negative emotional value , but the evaluation that is made of this event is the one that provokes one type of emotion or another. If the event is interpreted conceptually as something positive, the derived emotional state will also be pleasant. On the other hand, if a negative cognitive assessment is made, a state of emotional distress will be derived.

The idea of ​​negative interpretation of the event, normally, is followed immediately by a series of thoughts that are known as irrational beliefs , since they are expressed in an absolutist and dogmatic way (of all or nothing) and do not take into account other possible alternative explanations. How, for example, to highlight excessively the negative, to exaggerate what is unbearable or to condemn people or the world if they do not provide the person what they think they deserve.

The Cognitive Restructuring is the main element of the Rational Emotive Behavior Therapy of Albert Ellis, which has the objective of modifying this inadequate belief system and providing the individual with a new philosophy of life more adaptive and realistic.

The central practice of CR rests in the performance of an exercise (mental or written) in which the initial irrational cognitions derived from the situation occurred must be included, the emotions that these have generated and finally, a set of reflections of objective and rational character that question the negative thoughts mentioned. This record is known as the ABC Model.

Process

The EA procedure begins with the self-observation and the recording of the verbalizations that the person makes about himself with the objective of eliminate those that are inappropriate or irrelevant and that they are interfering in the successful execution of the behavior (For example: everything goes wrong, I am to blame for everything that has happened, etc.). Subsequently, the installation and new, more correct self-verbalizations are carried out (For example: making an error is sometimes normal, I will achieve it, I am calm, I feel capable, etc.).

More specifically, the EA is composed of five phases:

  1. Modeling: the person observes how the model deals with the negative situation and learns how it can be carried out.
  2. External guide out loud: the person faces the negative situation following the instructions of the therapist.
  3. Self instructions aloud: the person faces the negative situation while self-directing aloud.
  4. Self instructions in voice: the person faces the aversive situation while self-directing but this time in a very low voice.
  5. Self-directed instructions: the person faces the negative situation guiding their behavior through internal verbalization.

Stress Inoculation Techniques (IE)

Stress Inoculation Techniques have the objective of facilitating the subject's acquisition of certain skills that allow both decrease or cancel the tension and physiological activation as well as eliminate the previous cognitions (of pessimistic and negative character, frequently) by more optimistic assertions that facilitate an adaptive coping of the stressful situation that the subject must make.

One of the theories on which this technique is supported is the Stress Coping Model of Lazarus and Folkman. This procedure has proven its effectiveness especially in Generalized Anxiety Disorders.

Process

The development of Stress Inoculation is divided into three phases: an educational, a training and an application . This intervention acts both in the cognitive area, as in the self-control and behavioral adaptation to the environment.

1. Educational phase

In the educational phase Patient information is provided on how anxious emotions are generated , emphasizing the role of cognitions.

Subsequently, an operative definition of the specific problem of the person is made, through different data collection instruments such as an interview, a questionnaire or direct observation.

Finally, a series of strategies that favor and facilitate the adherence of the subject to treatment are launched . For example, establishing an adequate therapeutic alliance based on the transmission of trust.

2. Training phase

In the training phase the person is shown a series of procedures in order to integrate skills related to four major blocks: cognitive, control of emotional activation, behavioral and palliative coping. To work each of these blocks, the following techniques are put into practice:

  • H cognitive abilities : in this block Cognitive restructuring strategies, problem solving techniques and practice self-instruction exercises accompanied by positive reinforcement later.
  • C activation control : this is about training in relaxation techniques focused on the sensation of tension-muscle relaxation.
  • Behavioral skills : techniques such as behavioral exposure, modeling and behavior testing are addressed here.
  • Coping skills : finally, this block is composed of resources to enhance attentional control, the change of expectation, the adequate expression of affect and emotions, as well as the correct management of perceived social support.

3. Application phase

In the application phase it is tried that the person is exposed to situations ansiógenas (real and / or imagined) of gradual form , starting up everything learned in the training phase. In addition, the effectiveness of the application of the techniques is checked and assessed and doubts or difficulties are solved during their execution. The procedures that are used are the following:

  • Imagined trial : the individual performs a visualization as vivid as possible of coping with the anxious situation.
  • Behavioral test : the individual stages the situation in a safe environment.
  • Graduated in vivo exposure : the individual is in the real situation naturally.

Finally, to complete the intervention in Stress Inoculation some more sessions are scheduled in order to get a maintenance of the achievements obtained and to prevent possible relapses. In this last component aspects such as the conceptual differentiation between fall -puntual- and relapse -more maintained over time- or the programming of follow-up sessions are worked on, continuing with a form of indirect contact with the therapist, mainly).

In conclusion

Throughout the text it has been observed how, as initially stated, the psychological intervention that addresses different components (cognitions and behaviors, in this case) can be increased its effectiveness for the achievement of psychological change raised by a person. Thus, as demonstrated by the principles held by the Language Psychology, The messages a person makes to himself tend to shape the perception of reality and therefore, the capacity for reasoning.

Therefore, an intervention also focused on this component will allow a greater probability in maintaining the psychological change obtained in the individual.

Bibliographic references:

  • Labrador, F. J. (2008). Behavior Modification Techniques. Madrid: Pyramid.
  • Marín, J. (2001) Social Psychology of Health. Madrid: Psychology synthesis.
  • Olivares, J. and Méndez, F. X. (2008). Behavior Modification Techniques. Madrid: New library.

Dr. Donald Meichenbaum - On Stress Innoculation (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La formation à l'auto-apprentissage et la technique d'inoculation du stress

La formation à l'auto-apprentissage et la technique d'inoculation du stress

Janvier 12, 2023

Les techniques de modification du comportement ils ont été l’un des éléments centraux de l’intervention cognitivo-comportementale. À sa naissance, les théories de l'apprentissage proposées par Thorndike, Watson, Pavlov ou Skinner ont souligné le rôle joué par le stimulus qui accompagne la situation d'apprentissage (par association ou par imprévu).

Plus tard, après la montée des théories cognitives, il semble avoir été démontré que le changement psychologique de l'individu est plus profond et plus complet lorsque vous travaillez aussi à la modification des connaissances et des croyances profondes , et pas seulement la partie la plus comportementale.


D'après cela, voyons deux des techniques qui tentent d'illustrer ce que c'est et comment ce changement est effectué à un niveau plus interne et mental: Formation à l'auto-instruction et à l'inoculation du stress .

Formation à l'auto-apprentissage (EA)

La formation en auto-instruction met en évidence le rôle des verbalisations internes que la personne fait elle-même à propos de sa future exécution lors de la réalisation d'un certain comportement.

Une verbalisation interne (ou auto-verbalisation) pourrait être définie comme un ensemble de commandes ou d'instructions que la personne se donne pour guider la gestion de son comportement pendant sa performance. En fonction de la manière dont cette instruction est donnée, la personne se sentira plus ou moins capable d’exercer efficacement son comportement.


Cette technique peut être appliquée comme un élément thérapeutique en soi ou peut également être considérée une composante de la thérapie d'inoculation du stress , comme cela sera expliqué plus tard.

Composants de formation en auto-instructions

L'EE est composée de plusieurs éléments: modélisation, tests de comportement et restructuration cognitive . Voyons en quoi consiste chacune d'elles:

1. Modélisation (M)

La modélisation est une technique comportementale qui est basé sur l'idée que tout comportement peut être appris par observation et imitation (Apprentissage social). Il est utilisé pour acquérir ou renforcer de nouveaux schémas de réponse plus adaptatifs, affaiblir ceux qui sont inadéquats ou faciliter ceux que la personne a déjà mais ne met pas en pratique pour diverses raisons (anxiété d'exécution, par exemple).


Pour mener à bien la procédure, il est nécessaire qu’un modèle réalise le comportement réussi en présence de la personne et qu’elle la pratique de manière à augmenter progressivement son autonomie à mesure que l’aide reçue par le modèle diminue. En outre, cela informe la personne de la pertinence de l'exécution du comportement et indique les aspects pouvant être améliorés.

2. Test de comportement (EC)

Cette technique ressemble à la précédente, car elle sert également à l’acquisition de nouvelles compétences comportementales, notamment sociales et interpersonnelles. Il consiste à mettre en scène un répertoire comportemental potentiellement anxiogène dans le cadre d'une consultation professionnelle, de telle sorte que le sujet puisse se sentir plus en sécurité en étant des reproductions artificielles et facilement manipulables.

Par conséquent, les CE autorisent la réduction du niveau d'anxiété du sujet avant l'exécution et une plus grande prédisposition à "entraîner" son comportement sans craindre de subir les conséquences qui pourraient en découler si la situation était dans le contexte réel. Au début, les représentations proposées sont très guidées par le professionnel et progressivement ils deviennent plus souples et naturels.

3. Restructuration cognitive (RC)

Il repose sur l'idée que les problèmes psychologiques sont causés et entretenus par la façon dont une personne interprète son environnement et ses circonstances. C'est que un événement en soi n'a aucune valeur émotionnelle positive ou négative , mais l’évaluation faite de cet événement est celle qui provoque un type d’émotion ou un autre. Si l'événement est interprété conceptuellement comme quelque chose de positif, l'état émotionnel dérivé sera également agréable. D'un autre côté, si une évaluation cognitive négative est réalisée, un état de détresse émotionnelle sera dérivé.

L’idée d’une interprétation négative de l’événement est normalement suivie immédiatement d’une série de pensées qui sont connues comme des croyances irrationnelles , puisqu'elles sont exprimées de manière absolue et dogmatique (du tout ou rien) et ne tiennent pas compte d'autres explications alternatives possibles. Comment, par exemple, mettre en exergue le négatif, exagérer ce qui est insupportable ou condamner les gens ou le monde s'ils ne fournissent pas à la personne ce qu'elle pense mériter.

La restructuration cognitive est l'élément principal de la thérapie du comportement émotionnel rationnel d'Albert Ellis, qui a pour objectif de modifier ce système de croyances inadéquat et de fournir à l'individu une nouvelle philosophie de vie plus adaptative et réaliste.

La pratique centrale de la RC repose sur l'exécution d'un exercice (mental ou écrit) Il faut inclure les cognitions irrationnelles initiales dérivées de la situation, les émotions qu'elles ont générées et enfin un ensemble de réflexions de caractère objectif et rationnel qui remettent en question les pensées négatives mentionnées. Cet enregistrement est connu sous le nom de modèle ABC.

La procédure

La procédure d'évaluation environnementale commence par l'observation de soi et l'enregistrement des verbalisations que la personne fait sur elle-même dans le but de: éliminer ceux qui sont inappropriés ou non pertinents et qu'ils interfèrent dans l'exécution réussie du comportement (par exemple: tout va mal, je suis responsable de tout ce qui s'est passé, etc.). Par la suite, l’installation et de nouvelles auto-verbalisations plus correctes sont effectuées (par exemple: faire une erreur est parfois normal, je vais y arriver, je suis calme, je me sens capable, etc.).

Plus précisément, l'EE est composée de cinq phases:

  1. Modélisation: la personne observe comment le modèle gère la situation négative et apprend comment elle peut être réalisée.
  2. Guide externe à voix haute: la personne est confrontée à la situation négative en suivant les instructions du thérapeute.
  3. Auto-instructions à voix haute: la personne fait face à la situation négative tout en se dirigeant elle-même.
  4. Auto-instructions en voix: la personne affronte la situation aversive en se dirigeant elle-même, mais cette fois à voix très basse.
  5. Instructions autodirigées: la personne est confrontée à la situation négative guidant son comportement par une verbalisation interne.

Techniques d'inoculation du stress (IE)

Les techniques d’inoculation du stress ont pour objectif de faciliter l’acquisition par le sujet de certaines compétences lui permettant à la fois diminuer ou annuler la tension et l'activation physiologique ainsi qu'éliminer les cognitions précédentes (de caractère pessimiste et négatif, fréquemment) par des affirmations plus optimistes qui facilitent une adaptation adaptative de la situation stressante que le sujet doit faire.

L'une des théories sur lesquelles cette technique est supportée est le modèle d'adaptation au stress de Lazarus et Folkman. Cette procédure a fait la preuve de son efficacité, notamment dans les troubles anxieux généralisés.

La procédure

Le développement de l'inoculation du stress est divisé en trois phases: une formation, une formation et une application . Cette intervention agit à la fois dans le domaine cognitif, comme dans la maîtrise de soi et l'adaptation comportementale à l'environnement.

1. Phase éducative

Dans la phase éducative Des informations patient sont fournies sur la façon dont les émotions anxieuses sont générées en soulignant le rôle des cognitions.

Par la suite, une définition concrète du problème spécifique de la personne est élaborée à l'aide de différents instruments de collecte de données tels qu'un entretien, un questionnaire ou une observation directe.

Finalement, une série de stratégies favorisant et facilitant l'adhésion du sujet au traitement sont lancées . Par exemple, établir une alliance thérapeutique adéquate basée sur la transmission de la confiance.

2. Phase de formation

Au cours de la phase d’entraînement, une série de procédures est présentée à la personne afin d’intégrer les compétences liées à quatre blocs principaux: cognitif, contrôle de l’activation émotionnelle, comportement et adaptation palliative. Pour travailler chacun de ces blocs, les techniques suivantes sont mises en pratique:

  • H capacités cognitives : dans ce bloc Stratégies de restructuration cognitive, techniques de résolution de problèmes et exercices d'autoapprentissage accompagnés d'un renforcement positif.
  • C contrôle d'activation : il s’agit d’entraînement à des techniques de relaxation axées sur la sensation de relaxation tendue-musculaire.
  • Compétences comportementales : des techniques telles que l'exposition comportementale, la modélisation et les tests de comportement sont abordés ici.
  • Habiletés d'adaptation : enfin, ce bloc est composé de ressources destinées à renforcer le contrôle de l’attention, le changement des attentes, l’expression adéquate de l’affect et des émotions ainsi que la gestion correcte du soutien social perçu.

3. Phase d'application

En phase d'application il est essayé que la personne soit exposée à des situations ansiógenas (réelles et / ou imaginées) de forme progressive , en commençant tout ce qui est appris dans la phase de formation. En outre, l'efficacité de l'application des techniques est vérifiée et évaluée et les doutes ou difficultés sont résolus au cours de leur exécution. Les procédures utilisées sont les suivantes:

  • Essai imaginé : l'individu effectue une visualisation aussi vive que possible de la gestion de la situation anxieuse.
  • Test comportemental : l'individu met en scène la situation dans un environnement sûr.
  • Exposition in vivo graduée : l'individu est naturellement dans la situation réelle.

Enfin, pour compléter l'intervention dans l'inoculation de stress quelques sessions supplémentaires sont programmées afin d'obtenir une maintenance des résultats obtenus et à prévenir d'éventuelles rechutes. Dans cette dernière composante, des aspects tels que la différenciation conceptuelle entre chute –puntuel– et rechute - maintenue au fil du temps - ou la programmation de séances de suivi sont travaillés, en continuant par une forme de contact indirect avec le thérapeute).

En guise de conclusion

Tout au long du texte, il a été observé comment, comme indiqué initialement, l'intervention psychologique prenant en compte différentes composantes (cognitions et comportements, dans ce cas) peut être augmentée de son efficacité pour la réalisation du changement psychologique suscité par une personne. Ainsi, comme le montrent les principes de la psychologie du langage, Les messages qu'une personne se fait tendent à façonner la perception de la réalité et par conséquent, la capacité de raisonnement.

Par conséquent, une intervention également axée sur cette composante permettra une plus grande probabilité de maintenir le changement psychologique obtenu chez l'individu.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Labrador, F. J. (2008). Techniques de modification du comportement. Madrid: pyramide.
  • Marín, J. (2001) Psychologie sociale de la santé. Madrid: synthèse de psychologie.
  • Olivares, J. et Méndez, F. X. (2008). Techniques de modification du comportement. Madrid: Nouvelle bibliothèque.

Product Overview: TrueMAB Antibody (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes