yes, therapy helps!
What is prosocial behavior and how does it develop?

What is prosocial behavior and how does it develop?

May 6, 2021

If the human being has become such a particular species, it is, in part, because he has been able to create great social tissues of mutual care and knowledge transmission. That is to say, we are very given to relate to each other in many different ways, a tendency that can be summarized in one concept: prosocial behavior .

Next we will see what exactly prosocial behavior is, in what ways it is expressed and what relationship does it have with the phenomena of empathy and cooperation? .

What is prosocial behavior?

Although there is no universal definition of the concept of prosocial behavior, there is a high consensus to define it as a repertoire of social and positive behaviors.


Due to the differences of criteria on whether to include the motivational factor in the definition, the authors consider that there are two types of positive social behaviors: behaviors that report a benefit for both parties involved and behaviors that only benefit one of the parties.

A definition proposal that integrates both behavioral and motivational aspects, affirms that all positive social behavior is done to benefit another in the presence (or not) of altruistic motivation, such as giving, helping, cooperating, sharing, comforting, etc. . For his part, Strayer proposes a classification of four types of activities to clarify the phenomenon of prosocial behavior:


  1. Activities to give, share, exchange or change objects with other individuals.
  2. Cooperative activities .
  3. Tasks and help games .
  4. Empathic activities towards the other.

Attending to this proposal, in prosocial behavior the benefit falls on the other person, while in the cooperative behavior both parties coordinate to obtain a mutual benefit. Now, determining how much each of the parties wins is in itself a challenge for psychology and behavioral sciences in general. After all, the will to help someone and the satisfaction of having done it are in themselves factors that tell us about a reward for the altruistic individual.

Research conducted on the subject

Prosocial behavior is an absolutely new concept in the field of psychopedagogy . However, the greatest increase in research in this field of knowledge corresponds to the final stage of the last century. From this point, it has been studied more extensively how this phenomenon influences the emotional wellbeing of the individual (obtaining an intensely positive correlation between both) and what methodology should be followed to implement programs that promote this type of beneficial functioning in the child population .


Thus, it seems that during the socio-emotional development of the human being is when more incidence can produce the promotion of prosocial behavior, that is, the internalization of a set of values ​​such as dialogue, tolerance, equality or solidarity that are reflected behaviorally from acts such as helping the other, respect and acceptance of the other, cooperation, consolation or generosity to share a particular object.

Prosocial behavior from the theories of learning

One of the main explanations of the concept of prosocial behavior has been proposed by the theories of learning, although there are also other theoretical models such as the ethological and sociobiological perspective, the cognitive-evolutionary approach or the psychoanalytic perspective.

The theories of learning, of high empirical consideration, defend that prosocial behavior derives from the influence of external or environmental factors . Thus, this type of behavior is learned through procedures such as classical and operant conditioning, from which the actions issued are associated with stimuli and pleasant consequences for the individual (positive reinforcement) and, therefore, tend to recur in the future . More often, the type of reinforcement provided is of a social nature (a gesture, a smile, a show of affection), rather than material.

The fact of receiving an affective reward, according to the research carried out, seems to encourage in the individual the desire to emit a behavior of help to the other. That is, there is an internal motivation to perform such behavior, unlike what happens when the reward is material, where the behavior is performed to get that particular reward.

On the other hand, other studies propose the relevance of observational learning by imitation of prosocial models. Some authors highlight a greater influence of internal factors such as cognitive styles used in moral reasoning, while others emphasize that external factors (socializing agents -family and school- and environment) are modified until they become internal controls through the internalization of the regulation of own behavior (Bandura, 1977 and 1987).

These contributions are classified within the interactionist perspectives, since contemplate the interaction of the individual with the situation as a determinant of behavior .

Empathy, an essential component

The capacity for empathy is one of the factors causing prosocial behavior, although research should shed more light on the concrete relationship between the two phenomena.

Some proposals advocate defining empathy as an interactive process between affective, motivational and cognitive aspects that take place during the different stages of development. Empathy presents a character mostly learned through modeling processes and it is defined as an affective response that is emitted after the awareness of understanding the experience of the situation and the feelings or perceptions that the other is receiving. This ability can be learned from the understanding of the meaning of certain nonverbal cues such as facial expression that indicate the emotional state of the subject in question.

Some authors have focused their studies on differentiating situational empathy from dispositional empathy, which refers to the tendency of some personality types more sensitive to empathic manifestations. This last distinction has been taken as a key aspect to study the nature of prosocial behavior, finding a high correlation between a high empathic predisposition and a greater emission of prosocial behavior.

The facets of empathy

Empathic capacity can be understood from three different perspectives . Attending to each of them, the mediating role of this phenomenon can be seen in terms of prosocial behavior: empathy as affect, as a cognitive process or as the result of the interaction between the first two.

The findings show that the first case is more closely related to the behavior of helping the other, although it has not been concluded that it is a causative factor but mediator. Thus, the level of dispositional empathy, the link established with the mother figure, the type of concrete situation in which empathic behavior occurs, the age of the children (in preschools the association between empathy and behavior) also play an important role. prosocial is weaker than in older children), the intensity and nature of the emotion aroused, etc.

Even so, it seems clear that the implementation of programs to foster the capacity for empathy during child and youth development can be a factor in protecting personal and social well-being in the future.

Cooperation vs. Competition in socio-emotional development

It is also the theories of learning that in the last century have placed more emphasis on delimiting the relationship between the manifestation of cooperative behavior. competitive with respect to the type of psychological and social development experienced by people exposed to one or the other model.

By cooperative behavior it is understood the set of behaviors that are expressed in a given situation when those involved in it work to achieve as a priority the shared group objectives, acting this point as a requirement to achieve the individual objective. On the contrary, in the competitive situation each individual is oriented to achieve their own goals and prevents others from having the possibility of achieving them.

The research carried out by Deutsch at MIT They found a greater communicative effectiveness, more communicative interactions in terms of proposing their own ideas and accepting other people's ideas , greater level of effort and coordination in the tasks to be performed, greater productivity and greater confidence in the contributions of the members of the group in the cooperative collectives than in the competitive ones.

In other subsequent works, although without a sufficiently empirically validated validation that allows a generalization of the results, individuals have been associated with cooperative behaviors characteristic as a greater interdependence for the achievement of goals, there are more supportive behaviors between the different subjects , a higher frequency in the satisfaction of mutual needs and a greater proportion of positive evaluations of the other and a greater promotion of the behaviors of others.

Cooperation and social cohesion

On the other hand, Grossack concluded that cooperation is positively related to greater group cohesion , greater uniformity and the quality of the communications between the members, in a similar way to what Deutsch pointed out.

Sherif confirmed that the communicative guidelines are more honest in cooperative groups, that there is an increase in mutual trust and favorable disposition among the different members of the group, as well as a greater probability of normative organization. Finally, a greater power of cooperative situations to reduce situations of intergroup conflict was observed. Subsequently, other authors have associated the appearance of feelings of counter-empathy, higher rates of anxiety and a lower level of tolerant behaviors in competitive groups of schoolchildren.

Cooperation in education

In the educational field, the multiple positive effects derived from the use of methodologies that encourage cooperative work have been evidenced, promoting at the same time a higher academic performance (in skills such as assimilation of concepts, problem solving or elaboration of cognitive products, mathematics and linguistic), higher self-esteem, better predisposition to learning, greater intrinsic motivation and more effective performance of certain social skills (understanding of the other, helping behavior, sharing, respect, tolerance and concern among peers or the tendency to cooperate outside of learning situations).

In conclusion

Throughout the text, the benefits obtained in the personal psychological state have been proven when the learning of prosocial behavior is enhanced during the development stage.These skills are fundamental, since they help to connect with the rest of society and benefit from the advantages of being an active member of it.

Thus, the advantages not only impact optimizing the emotional state of the individual but that cooperative behavior is associated with greater academic competence, which facilitates the assumption of cognitive abilities such as reasoning and the mastery of instrumental knowledge addressed during school time.

It could be said, therefore, that the promotion of prosocial behavior becomes a great psychological protective factor for the subject in the future , making it individually and socially more competent, as it matures into adulthood. Although it may seem paradoxical, growing up, maturing and gaining autonomy depends on knowing how to fit in with the rest and enjoying its protection in some aspects.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bandura, A. (1977). Self-efficacy towards a unifying theory of behavioral change. Review of Psychology, 84, 191-215.
  • Calvo, A.J., González, R., and Martorell, M.C. (2001). Variables related to prosocial behavior in childhood and adolescence: personality, self-concept and gender. Childhood and Learning, 24 (1), 95-111.
  • Ortega, P., Minguez, R., and Gil, R. (1997). Cooperative learning and moral development. Spanish Journal of Pedagogy, 206, 33-51.
  • Ortiz, M.J., Apodaka, P., Etxeberrria, I., et al. (1993). Some predictors of prosocialaltrutrist behavior in childhood: empathy, perspective, attachment, parental models, family discipline and the image of the human being. Journal of Social Psychology, 8 (1), 83-98.
  • Roberts, W., and Strayer, J. (1996). Empathy, emotional expressiveness, and prosocial behavior. Child Development, 67 (2), 449-470.
  • Roche, R., and Sol, N. (1998). Prosocial education of emotions, values ​​and attitudes. Barcelona: Art Blume.

What is PROSOCIAL BEHAVIOR? What does PROSOCIAL BEHAVIOR mean? PROSOCIAL BEHAVIOR meaning (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce qu'un comportement prosocial et comment se développe-t-il?

Qu'est-ce qu'un comportement prosocial et comment se développe-t-il?

Mai 16, 2022

Si l’être humain est devenu une espèce aussi particulière, c’est en partie parce qu’il a pu créer de grands tissus sociaux de soins mutuels et de transmission du savoir. C’est-à-dire que nous sommes très enclins à nous lier les uns aux autres de nombreuses façons différentes, tendance qui peut se résumer à un concept: comportement prosocial .

Ensuite, nous verrons ce qu'est exactement le comportement prosocial, de quelle manière il s'exprime et quel rapport a-t-il avec les phénomènes d'empathie et de coopération? .

Quel est le comportement prosocial?

Bien qu’il n’existe pas de définition universelle du concept de comportement prosocial, il existe un fort consensus pour le définir comme suit: un répertoire de comportements sociaux et positifs.


En raison des différences de critères sur le point de savoir s'il faut inclure le facteur motivationnel dans la définition, les auteurs considèrent qu'il existe deux types de comportements sociaux positifs: les comportements qui rapportent un avantage pour les deux parties impliquées et les comportements qui ne bénéficient qu'à une seule des parties.

Une proposition de définition intégrant à la fois les aspects comportemental et motivationnel affirme que tout comportement social positif est fait pour profiter à autrui en présence (ou non) d'une motivation altruiste, telle que donner, aider, coopérer, partager, réconforter, etc. . Pour sa part, Strayer propose une classification de quatre types d’activités pour clarifier le phénomène du comportement prosocial:


  1. Activités à donner, partager, échanger ou changer des objets avec d'autres individus.
  2. Activités de coopération .
  3. Tâches et jeux d'aide .
  4. Activités empathiques vers l'autre.

Dans le cas du comportement prosocial, l’avantage revient à l’autre personne, tandis que dans le comportement coopératif, les deux parties se coordonnent pour obtenir un avantage mutuel. Désormais, déterminer le montant des gains de chacune des parties est en soi un défi pour la psychologie et les sciences du comportement en général. Après tout, la volonté d'aider quelqu'un et la satisfaction de l'avoir fait sont en soi des facteurs qui nous parlent d'une récompense pour l'individu altruiste.

Recherche menée sur le sujet

Le comportement prosocial est un concept absolument nouveau dans le domaine de la psychopédagogie . Cependant, la plus forte augmentation de la recherche dans ce domaine de la connaissance correspond au stade final du siècle dernier. À partir de là, on a étudié plus en détail comment ce phénomène influe sur le bien-être émotionnel de l'individu (obtention d'une corrélation extrêmement positive entre les deux) et quelle méthodologie suivre pour mettre en œuvre des programmes favorisant ce type de fonctionnement bénéfique chez les enfants .


Ainsi, il semble que, pendant le développement socio-affectif de l'être humain, plus d'incidence puisse produire la promotion d'un comportement prosocial, c'est-à-dire l'internalisation d'un ensemble de valeurs telles que le dialogue, la tolérance, l'égalité ou la solidarité. comportement par des actes tels que l'aide à l'autre, le respect et l'acceptation de l'autre, la coopération, la consolation ou la générosité pour partager un objet particulier.

Comportement prosocial à partir des théories de l'apprentissage

Une des explications principales du concept de comportement prosocial a été proposée par les théories de l'apprentissage, bien qu'il existe également d'autres modèles théoriques tels que la perspective éthologique et sociobiologique, l'approche cognitivo-évolutive ou la perspective psychanalytique.

Les théories de l'apprentissage, à haute considération empirique, défendre que le comportement prosocial découle de l'influence de facteurs externes ou environnementaux . Ainsi, ce type de comportement est appris par le biais de procédures telles que le conditionnement classique et opérant, à partir duquel les actions émises sont associées à des stimuli et à des conséquences agréables pour l'individu (renforcement positif) et ont donc tendance à se reproduire à l'avenir. . Le plus souvent, le type de renforcement fourni est de nature sociale (un geste, un sourire, une manifestation d'affection) plutôt que matériel.

Le fait de recevoir une récompense affective, selon les recherches effectuées, semble encourager chez l'individu le désir d'émettre un comportement d'aide à l'autre. Autrement dit, il existe une motivation interne à adopter un tel comportement, contrairement à ce qui se produit lorsque la récompense est matérielle, lorsque le comportement est appliqué pour obtenir cette récompense particulière.

D’autre part, d’autres études proposent la pertinence de l’apprentissage par observation par imitation de modèles prosociaux. Certains auteurs soulignent une plus grande influence de facteurs internes tels que les styles cognitifs utilisés dans le raisonnement moral, tandis que d'autres soulignent que des facteurs externes (agents de socialisation - famille et école - et environnement) sont modifiés jusqu'à devenir des contrôles internes via internalisation de la régulation de son propre comportement (Bandura, 1977 et 1987).

Ces contributions sont classées dans les perspectives interactionnistes, puisque contempler l'interaction de l'individu avec la situation en tant que déterminant du comportement .

L'empathie, une composante essentielle

La capacité d'empathie est l'un des facteurs à l'origine du comportement prosocial, bien que les recherches devraient éclairer davantage la relation concrète entre les deux phénomènes.

Certaines propositions préconisent de définir l’empathie comme un processus interactif entre les aspects affectif, motivationnel et cognitif qui se produisent au cours des différentes étapes du développement. L'empathie présente un personnage principalement appris à travers des processus de modélisation et elle est définie comme une réponse affective émise après avoir pris conscience de la compréhension de l'expérience de la situation et des sentiments ou perceptions que l'autre reçoit. Cette capacité peut être apprise de la compréhension de la signification de certains indices non verbaux, tels que l'expression du visage, qui indiquent l'état émotionnel du sujet en question.

Certains auteurs ont axé leurs études sur la distinction entre l'empathie situationnelle et l'empathie dispositionnelle, qui fait référence à la tendance de certains types de personnalité plus sensibles aux manifestations empathiques. Cette dernière distinction a été prise comme un aspect clé pour étudier la nature du comportement prosocial, en trouvant une forte corrélation entre une prédisposition empathique élevée et une plus grande émission de comportement prosocial.

Les facettes de l'empathie

La capacité empathique peut être comprise à partir de trois perspectives différentes . En ce qui concerne chacun d’eux, le rôle médiateur de ce phénomène peut être vu en termes de comportement prosocial: l’empathie en tant qu’affect, en tant que processus cognitif ou en tant que résultat de l’interaction entre les deux premiers.

Les résultats montrent que le premier cas est plus étroitement lié au comportement d’aider l’autre, même s’il n’a pas été conclu que c’était un facteur causal, mais bien un médiateur. Ainsi, le niveau d'empathie dispositionnelle, le lien établi avec la figure maternelle, le type de situation concrète dans laquelle se produit un comportement empathique, l'âge des enfants (dans les établissements préscolaires, l'association entre empathie et comportement) jouent également un rôle important. prosocial est plus faible que chez les enfants plus âgés), l'intensité et la nature de l'émotion suscitée, etc.

Même dans ce cas, il semble clair que la mise en œuvre de programmes visant à renforcer la capacité d'empathie au cours du développement des enfants et des jeunes peut être un facteur de protection du bien-être personnel et social à l'avenir.

Coopération vs. Compétition en développement socio-émotionnel

Ce sont également les théories de l'apprentissage qui, au cours du siècle dernier, ont mis davantage l'accent sur la délimitation de la relation entre la manifestation d'un comportement coopératif. compétitif par rapport au type de développement psychologique et social vécu par les personnes exposées à l’un ou l’autre modèle.

Pourquoi comportement coopératif il est entendu que l'ensemble des comportements qui s'expriment dans une situation donnée lorsque ceux qui y sont impliqués s'efforcent d'atteindre en priorité les objectifs communs du groupe, agissant comme un impératif pour atteindre l'objectif individuel. Au contraire, dans la situation concurrentielle, chaque individu est orienté pour atteindre ses propres objectifs et empêche les autres d’avoir la possibilité de les atteindre.

Les recherches menées par Deutsch au MIT Ils ont trouvé une plus grande efficacité de communication, des interactions plus communicatives en termes de proposer leurs propres idées et d'accepter les idées des autres , un niveau d’effort et de coordination accru dans les tâches à exécuter, une productivité accrue et une plus grande confiance dans la contribution des membres du groupe aux collectifs de coopératives par rapport aux concurrents.

Dans d'autres travaux ultérieurs, bien que sans validation suffisamment empiriquement validée permettant une généralisation des résultats, des individus ont été associés à des comportements coopératifs caractérisés comme une plus grande interdépendance pour la réalisation d'objectifs, il existe davantage de comportements de soutien entre les différents sujets. , une plus grande fréquence dans la satisfaction des besoins mutuels et une plus grande proportion d’évaluations positives de l’autre et une plus grande promotion des comportements des autres.

Coopération et cohésion sociale

D'autre part, Grossack a conclu que la coopération est positivement liée à une plus grande cohésion de groupe plus grande uniformité et la qualité des communications entre les membres, à l’instar de ce que Deutsch a souligné.

Sherif a confirmé que les directives de communication sont plus honnêtes dans les groupes coopératifs, qu'il existe une confiance mutuelle accrue et une disposition plus favorable entre les différents membres du groupe, ainsi qu'une plus grande probabilité d'organisation normative. Enfin, un plus grand pouvoir des situations de coopération pour réduire les situations de conflit entre groupes a été observé. Par la suite, d’autres auteurs ont associé l’apparition de sentiments de contre-empathie, de taux d’anxiété plus élevés et de comportements moins tolérants chez des groupes d’écoliers en compétition.

Coopération en éducation

Dans le domaine de l’éducation, les multiples effets positifs découlant de l’utilisation de méthodologies encourageant le travail coopératif ont été mis en évidence, tout en favorisant une performance académique plus élevée et linguistique), une plus grande estime de soi, une meilleure prédisposition à apprendre, une motivation intrinsèque plus grande et une performance plus efficace de certaines compétences sociales (compréhension de l'autre, comportement aidant, partage, respect, tolérance et souci de ses pairs tendance à coopérer en dehors des situations d'apprentissage).

En guise de conclusion

Tout au long du texte, les avantages procurés par l'état psychologique personnel ont été démontrés lorsque l'apprentissage du comportement prosocial est renforcé au cours de la phase de développement.Ces compétences sont fondamentales car elles aident à se connecter au reste de la société et bénéficient des avantages d’être un membre actif de celle-ci.

Ainsi, les avantages ont non seulement un impact sur l'optimisation de l'état émotionnel de l'individu, mais également sur le fait que le comportement coopératif est associé à une plus grande compétence académique, ce qui facilite la prise en charge de capacités cognitives telles que le raisonnement et la maîtrise du savoir instrumental abordées pendant la période scolaire.

On pourrait donc dire que la promotion du comportement prosocial devient un facteur de protection psychologique important pour le sujet à l'avenir , le rendant individuellement et socialement plus compétent, à mesure qu’il atteint l’âge adulte. Bien que cela puisse sembler paradoxal, grandir, mûrir et gagner en autonomie dépend de savoir s’intégrer au reste et de jouir de sa protection à certains égards.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bandura, A. (1977). Auto-efficacité vers une théorie unificatrice du changement de comportement. Review of Psychology, 84, 191-215.
  • Calvo, A.J., González, R. et Martorell, M.C. (2001). Variables liées au comportement prosocial chez les enfants et les adolescents: personnalité, image de soi et sexe. Enfance et apprentissage, 24 (1), 95-111.
  • Ortega, P., Minguez, R. et Gil, R. (1997). Apprentissage coopératif et développement moral. Journal espagnol de pédagogie, 206, 33-51.
  • Ortiz, M. J., Apodaka, P., Etxeberrria, I., et al. (1993). Certains prédicteurs du comportement prosocialaltrutrist dans l'enfance: empathie, perspective, attachement, modèles parentaux, discipline familiale et image de l'être humain. Journal of Social Psychology, 8 (1), 83-98.
  • Roberts, W. et Strayer, J. (1996). Empathie, expressivité émotionnelle et comportement prosocial. Développement de l'enfant, 67 (2), 449-470.
  • Roche, R. et Sol, N. (1998). Education prosociale des émotions, des valeurs et des attitudes. Barcelone: ​​Art Blume.

Moral behavior in animals | Frans de Waal (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes