yes, therapy helps!
Myelin: definition, functions and characteristics

Myelin: definition, functions and characteristics

June 17, 2024

When we think of the cells of the human brain and the nervous system In general, we usually come to mind the image of neurons. However, these nerve cells by themselves can not form a functional brain: they need the help of many other "pieces" with which our body is built.

The myelin , for example, is part of those materials without which we could not our brain could not perform its operations effectively.

What is myelin?

When we graphically represent a neuron, either through a drawing or a 3D model, we usually draw the area of ​​the nucleus, the branches with which it connects to other cells and an extension called the axon that serves to reach distant areas. However, in many cases that image would be incomplete. Many neurons have, around their axons, a whitish material that isolates it from the extracellular fluid. This substance is myelin.


Myelin is a thick lipoprotein layer (made up of fatty substances and proteins) that surrounds the axons of some neurons forming sausage-shaped or roll-shaped sheaths. These myelin sheaths have a very important function in our nervous system: allow the transmission of nerve impulses quickly and efficiently between the nerve cells of the brain and the spinal cord .

The role of myelin

The electrical current that passes through the neurons is the type of signal with which these nerve cells work. Myelin allows these electrical signals to propagate very rapidly through the axons , so that this stimulus arrives in time to the spaces in which the neurons communicate with each other. In other words, the main added value that these pods bring to the neuron is the speed in the propagation of electrical signals.


If we removed their myelin sheaths to an axon, the electrical signals that travel through it would go much slower or could even get lost along the way. The myelin acts as an insulator, so that the current does not dissipate outside the path and goes only inside the neuron.

Ranvier's nodules

The myelin layer that covers the axon is called the myelin sheath, but it is not completely continuous along the axon, but there are discovered regions between the myelinated segments. These areas of the axon that remain in contact with the extracellular fluid are called Ranvier nodules .

The existence of Ranvier's nodules is important, because without them the presence of myelin would not help. In these spaces, the electrical current that propagates through the neuron gains strength, since in the nodes of Ranvier are the ion channels that, acting as regulators of what enters and leaves the neuron, allow the signal not to lose force.


The action potential (nervous impulse) is jumping from one node to another because these, unlike the rest of the neuron, are endowed with groups of sodium and potassium channels, so that the transmission of nerve impulses is more fast The interaction between the myelin sheath and the Ranvier nodules p allows the nervous impulse to move with greater speed, in a saltatory way (from one node of Ranvier to the next) and with less possibility of error.

Where is myelin?

There is myelin in the axons of many types of neurons, both in the Central Nervous System (that is, the brain and spinal cord) and outside it. However, in some areas its concentration is higher than in others. Where myelin abounds, it can be seen without the aid of a microscope.

When we describe a brain it is usual to speak of gray matter, but also, and although this fact is something less known, there is the white matter . The areas in which the white matter is found are those in which the myelinated neuronal bodies abound so much that they change the color of those areas seen with the naked eye. That is why the areas in which the nuclei of the neurons are concentrated tend to have a grayish color, while the areas through which the axons essentially pass are white.

Two types of myelin sheaths

Myelin is essentially a material that serves a function, but there are different cells that form myelin sheaths. The neurons that belong to the Central Nervous System have layers of myelin formed by a type of cells called oligodendrocytes, while the rest of neurons use bodies called Schwann cells . The oligodendrocytes are shaped like a sausage traversed from end to end by a string (the axon), while the cells of Scwann wrap the spiral axons, acquiring a cylindrical shape.

Although these cells are slightly different, both are glial cells with an almost identical function: to form myelin sheaths.

Diseases due to alteration of myelin

There are two types of diseases that are related to myelin sheath abnormalities: demyelinating diseases Y demyelinating diseases .

Demyelinating diseases are characterized by a pathological process directed against healthy myelin, unlike demyelinating diseases, in which an inadequate formation of myelin occurs or an impairment of the molecular mechanisms to maintain it in its normal conditions. The different pathologies of each type of disease related to the alteration of myelin are:

Demyelinating diseases

  • Isolated clinical syndrome
  • Acute disseminated encephalomyelitis
  • Acute haemorrhagic leukoencephalitis
  • Concentric sclerosis of Balo
  • Marburg disease
  • Acute myelitis isolated
  • Polyphasic diseases
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Optic neuromyelitis
  • Multiple spinal optic sclerosis
  • Recurrent isolated optic neuritis
  • Chronic recurrent inflammatory optic neuropathy
  • Recurrent acute myelitis
  • Late postanoxic encephalopathy
  • Osmotic myelolysis

Demyelinating diseases

  • Metachromatic leukodystrophy
  • Adrenoleukodystrophy
  • Refsum disease
  • Canavan disease
  • Alexander's disease or fibrinoid leukodystrophy
  • Krabbe disease
  • Tay-Sachs disease
  • Cerebrotendinous xanthomatosis
  • Pelizaeus-Merzbacher disease
  • Orthochromic leukodystrophy
  • Leukoencephalopathy with disappearance of white matter
  • Leukoencephalopathy with neuroaxonal spheroids

To know more about myelin and its associated pathologies

Then we leave an interesting video about Multiple Sclerosis, which explains how myelin is destroyed in the course of this pathology :


2-Minute Neuroscience: Myelin (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Myéline: définition, fonctions et caractéristiques

Myéline: définition, fonctions et caractéristiques

Mai 20, 2019

Quand on pense aux cellules du cerveau humain et le système nerveux En général, on pense généralement à l'image de les neurones. Cependant, ces cellules nerveuses ne peuvent à elles seules constituer un cerveau fonctionnel: elles ont besoin de l'aide de nombreuses autres "pièces" avec lesquelles notre corps est construit.

Le myéline , par exemple, fait partie de ces matériaux sans lesquels nous ne pourrions pas notre cerveau ne pourrait pas effectuer ses opérations efficacement.

Qu'est-ce que la myéline?

Lorsque nous représentons graphiquement un neurone, via un dessin ou un modèle 3D, nous dessinons généralement la zone du noyau, les branches avec lesquelles il se connecte à d'autres cellules et une extension appelée axone qui permet d'atteindre des régions éloignées. Cependant, dans de nombreux cas, cette image serait incomplète. De nombreux neurones ont, autour de leurs axones, un matériau blanchâtre qui l'isole du liquide extracellulaire. Cette substance est la myéline.


La myéline est une couche épaisse de lipoprotéines (constituée de substances grasses et de protéines) qui entoure les axones de certains neurones formant des gaines en forme de saucisse ou de rouleau. Ces gaines de myéline ont une fonction très importante dans notre système nerveux: permettre la transmission de l'influx nerveux rapidement et efficacement entre les cellules nerveuses du cerveau et la moelle épinière .

Le rôle de la myéline

Le courant électrique qui traverse les neurones est le type de signal avec lequel ces cellules nerveuses travaillent. La myéline permet à ces signaux électriques de se propager très rapidement à travers les axones , de sorte que ce stimulus arrive dans le temps dans les espaces dans lesquels les neurones communiquent. En d'autres termes, la principale valeur ajoutée apportée par ces modules au neurone est la rapidité de propagation des signaux électriques.


Si nous retirions leurs gaines de myéline au niveau d'un axone, les signaux électriques qui la traversent passeraient beaucoup plus lentement ou pourraient même se perdre en cours de route. La myéline agit comme un isolant, de sorte que le courant ne se dissipe pas en dehors du chemin et passe uniquement à l'intérieur du neurone.

Les nodules de Ranvier

La couche de myéline qui recouvre l'axone s'appelle la gaine de myéline, mais elle n'est pas complètement continue le long de l'axone, mais il existe des régions découvertes entre les segments myélinisés. Ces zones de l'axone qui restent en contact avec le liquide extracellulaire sont appelées Nodules de Ranvier .

L'existence des nodules de Ranvier est importante, car sans eux, la présence de myéline ne serait d'aucune aide. Dans ces espaces, le courant électrique qui se propage à travers le neurone gagne en force, car aux nœuds de Ranvier se trouvent les canaux ioniques qui, agissant comme des régulateurs de ce qui entre et sort du neurone, permettent au signal de ne pas perdre force


Le potentiel d’action (impulsion nerveuse) saute d’un nœud à l’autre car, contrairement au reste du neurone, sont dotés de groupes de canaux sodiques et potassiques, de sorte que la transmission des impulsions nerveuses est plus importante. rapide L'interaction entre la gaine de myéline et les nodules de Ranvier p permet à l'impulsion nerveuse de se déplacer plus rapidement, de manière salatoire (d'un noeud de Ranvier à l'autre) et avec moins de risque d'erreur.

Où est la myéline?

Il existe une myéline dans les axones de nombreux types de neurones, à la fois dans le système nerveux central (c'est-à-dire le cerveau et la moelle épinière) et en dehors de celui-ci. Cependant, dans certaines régions, sa concentration est supérieure à celle d’autres. Là où la myéline abonde, on peut la voir sans l'aide d'un microscope.

Lorsque nous décrivons un cerveau, il est habituel de parler de matière grise, mais aussi, et bien que ce fait soit quelque chose de moins connu, il existe matière blanche . Les zones dans lesquelles se trouve la substance blanche sont celles dans lesquelles les corps neuronaux myélinisés abondent au point de changer la couleur de ces zones vues à l'œil nu. C'est pourquoi les zones dans lesquelles les noyaux des neurones sont concentrés ont tendance à avoir une couleur grisâtre, tandis que les zones essentiellement traversées par les axones sont blanches.

Deux types de gaines de myéline

La myéline est essentiellement un matériau qui remplit une fonction, mais il existe différentes cellules qui forment des gaines de myéline. Les neurones appartenant au système nerveux central ont des couches de myéline formées par un type de cellules appelées oligodendrocytes, tandis que le reste des neurones utilise des corps appelés Cellules de Schwann . Les oligodendrocytes ont la forme d'une saucisse traversée de bout en bout par une ficelle (l'axone), tandis que les cellules de Scwann enveloppent les axones en spirale, acquérant ainsi une forme cylindrique.

Bien que ces cellules soient légèrement différentes, ce sont toutes deux des cellules gliales ayant une fonction presque identique: former des gaines de myéline.

Maladies dues à une altération de la myéline

Il existe deux types de maladies liées aux anomalies de la gaine de myéline: maladies démyélinisantes et maladies démyélinisantes .

Les maladies démyélinisantes sont caractérisées par un processus pathologique dirigé contre la myéline saine, contrairement aux maladies démyélinisantes, dans lesquelles une formation inadéquate de la myéline ou une altération des mécanismes moléculaires permettant de la maintenir dans ses conditions normales. Les différentes pathologies de chaque type de maladie liées à l’altération de la myéline sont:

Maladies démyélinisantes

  • Syndrome clinique isolé
  • Encéphalomyélite aiguë disséminée
  • Leucoencéphalite aiguë hémorragique
  • Sclérose concentrique de Balo
  • Maladie de Marburg
  • Myélite aiguë isolée
  • Maladies polyphasiques
  • Sclérose en plaques
  • Neuromyélite optique
  • Sclérose optique spinale multiple
  • Névrite optique isolée récurrente
  • Neuropathie optique inflammatoire récurrente chronique
  • Myélite aiguë récurrente
  • Encéphalopathie postanoxique tardive
  • Myélolyse osmotique

Maladies démyélinisantes

  • Leucodystrophie métachromatique
  • Adrénoleucodystrophie
  • Maladie de Refsum
  • Maladie de Canavan
  • Maladie d'Alexander ou leucodystrophie fibrinoïde
  • Maladie de Krabbe
  • Maladie de Tay-Sachs
  • Xanthomatose cérébrotendineuse
  • Maladie de Pelizaeus-Merzbacher
  • Leucodystrophie orthochromique
  • Leucoencéphalopathie avec disparition de la substance blanche
  • Leucoencéphalopathie avec sphéroïdes neuroaxonaux

En savoir plus sur la myéline et ses pathologies associées

Ensuite, nous laissons une vidéo intéressante sur la sclérose en plaques, ce qui explique comment la myéline est détruite au cours de cette pathologie :


Physiologie du système nerveux : Neurone - partie 1 (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes