yes, therapy helps!
10 books and manuals on biochemistry for beginners

10 books and manuals on biochemistry for beginners

April 29, 2024

Biochemistry is a discipline that, like many others, was born from the need to integrate concepts from different sciences, in this case from chemistry and biology, to focus efforts on their field of study. Cells perform a multitude of chemical reactions and contain a wide variety of organic molecules that work for the maintenance and survival of both the cell itself and the organism it constitutes.

It is not surprising that given the field that works, biochemistry has gained importance in recent years, as for example in the advancement of cancer research or in the study of neuronal connections, typical of areas such as neurosciences or psychology. For this reason, it usually attracts the attention of curious people who try to approach this field between chemistry and the science of living beings. A good way to appease this curiosity is read books on biochemistry .


  • Related article: "20 recommended medicine books for curious people"

10 outstanding biochemistry books

The beginnings of biochemistry are located at the beginning of the 19th century, with the discoveries of the first enzymes. For those who do not know, an enzyme is a protein that has the ability to control chemical reactions. As a science that is related to life, biochemistry branches off into other disciplines, some of them directly shared with biology, such as genetics, molecular biology or cell biology .

Despite the years of research behind it, the dissemination literature on this scientific discipline is not as extensive as could be expected, and it can become a challenge to find works that deal with the subject, especially when it comes to issues that at first glance does not seem to be about biochemistry. From here I present a series of books and manuals of biochemistry to help you find an introductory reading.


1. Lehninger: Principles of Biochemistry (David L. Nelson, Michael M. Cox)

Some of the manuals on essential biochemistry. Initiated by the American biochemist Albert L. Lehninger, it is a great and complete work (more than a thousand pages) that gathers all the foundations of this discipline and exposes them in a comprehensible and didactic way . With each new edition it feeds on the new discoveries discovered. Ideal for self-taught people to start in this science.

  • In this link you will find it.

2. Biochemistry (Jeremy M. Berg, John L. Tymoczko, Lubert Stryer)

Another of the works that many university students have used to have a better understanding of this discipline. Its content is informative and clear, and help clarify concepts about biochemistry . Perfect alternative to the Lehninger.


  • If you are interested, here you can find more information.

3. Human Biochemistry: Text and Atlas (Jan Koolman)

This text explores a different way to talk about biochemistry, and it is through the use of diagrams and illustrations , more than words. A simple but visual, that manages to make simple the complicated biochemical processes that occur in the human body and enable us to retain and understand images.

  • If you liked the idea, you can see more in this link.

4. Biochemistry (Donald Voet, Judith G. Voet)

Donald Voet, together with his wife, Judith G. Voet, wrote this manual on biochemistry so that the students of the University of Pennsylvania (where they work as professors) had a tool for the understanding of this discipline. Its content is so didactic that it has become a classic of biochemistry and its sale spread outside the premises.

  • If you are interested, you can find it here.

5. Biochemistry with clinical applications (Thomas M. Devlin)

Devlin's work focuses more on the understanding of the biochemistry that occurs in the human body and the appearance of related diseases, that is, when a metabolic pathway does not work correctly, which generates a disease in the patient. With this, he highlights the importance of biochemistry in the health of people and shows the medical application of this science .

  • In the following link you can inform yourself.

6. Molecular biology of the cell (Bruce Alberts, Alexander Johnson, Julian Lewis, Martin Raff, Keith Roberts, Paul Walter)

Molecular biology is one of the branches of biochemistry, and focuses on the study of macromolecules of life , that is, of proteins and nucleic acids (DNA and RNA). This work by Alberts is a classic for people without much knowledge of the subject can start in it for a use of a simple language and very didactic.

  • You can know more about the text here.

7. Molecular biology of the gene (James D. Watson, Tania A. Baker, Stephen P. Bell, Alexander Gann, Michael Levine, Richard Losick)

The work of the famous geneticist James D. Watson can be considered a book on biochemistry, since this text touches many aspects of nucleic acids , among them its structure. Its simple presentation makes it an understandable and enjoyable reading, despite being a very complex issue.

  • If you liked it, in this link there is more information.

8. Structure and mechanism of enzymes (Alan Fersht)

Although it is a book with enough years (it was published in 1980), it is still a good text to be introduced in the concept of enzymes and chemical reactions , for its simple and understandable way of presenting the theme.

  • You can see more in the following link.

9. Bases of metabolism control: the frontiers of metabolism (David Fell)

Metabolism is one of the main fields of study of this science. This book on biochemistry focuses on this concept, presenting the bases for start acquiring new knowledge of metabolic pathways , which in recent years have been gaining importance.

  • Here you will find more details.

10. Introduction to cell biology (Bruce Alberts, Dennis Bray, Karen Hopkin)

Although I'm talking about biochemistry, the truth is that with a general view of the cell, many of its terms are better understood , for example when viewing the place where this process occurs. And is that cell biology also belongs to one of the branches of this science; The processes and structures that biochemistry studies are located within cells.

  • For more information, you can follow the following link.

10 Best Biochemistry Textbooks 2018 (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
10 livres et manuels sur la biochimie pour les débutants

10 livres et manuels sur la biochimie pour les débutants

Janvier 22, 2022

La biochimie est une discipline qui, comme beaucoup d’autres, est née de la nécessité d’intégrer des concepts de différentes sciences, en l’occurrence de la chimie et de la biologie, afin de concentrer les efforts sur leur domaine d’étude. Les cellules effectuent une multitude de réactions chimiques et contiennent une grande variété de molécules organiques qui contribuent au maintien et à la survie de la cellule elle-même et de l'organisme qu'elle constitue.

Il n’est pas surprenant que, compte tenu du domaine qui fonctionne, la biochimie ait gagné en importance ces dernières années, comme par exemple dans l’avancement de la recherche sur le cancer ou dans l’étude des connexions neuronales, typiques de domaines tels que les neurosciences ou psychologie Pour cette raison, il attire généralement l’attention des personnes curieuses qui tentent d’aborder ce domaine entre chimie et science des êtres vivants. Un bon moyen d'apaiser cette curiosité est lire des livres sur la biochimie .


  • Article connexe: "20 livres de médecine recommandés pour les curieux"

10 livres de biochimie exceptionnels

Les débuts de la biochimie se situent au début du 19ème siècle, avec les découvertes des premières enzymes. Pour ceux qui ne le savent pas, une enzyme est une protéine capable de contrôler les réactions chimiques. En tant que science liée à la vie, la biochimie se divise en autres disciplines, dont certaines sont directement partagées avec biologie, comme la génétique, la biologie moléculaire ou la biologie cellulaire .

Malgré des années de recherche, la littérature sur cette discipline scientifique n'est pas aussi abondante qu'on pourrait s'y attendre, et trouver des ouvrages traitant du sujet peut s'avérer un défi, en particulier lorsqu'il s'agit d'enjeux. à première vue, cela ne semble pas être de la biochimie. De là, je présente une série de livres et de manuels de biochimie pour vous aider à trouver une lecture introductive.


1. Lehninger: Principes de biochimie (David L. Nelson, Michael M. Cox)

Quelques manuels sur la biochimie essentielle. Initié par le biochimiste américain Albert L. Lehninger, il s’agit d’un travail vaste et complet (plus de mille pages) qui rassemble tous les fondements de cette discipline et les expose de manière compréhensible et didactique . À chaque nouvelle édition, il se nourrit des nouvelles découvertes découvertes. Idéal pour les autodidactes à commencer dans cette science.

  • Dans ce lien, vous le trouverez.

2. Biochimie (Jeremy M. Berg, John L. Tymoczko, Lubert Stryer)

Une autre des œuvres utilisées par de nombreux étudiants universitaires pour mieux comprendre cette discipline. Son contenu est informatif et clair, et aider à clarifier les concepts sur la biochimie . Alternative parfaite au Lehninger.


  • Si vous êtes intéressé, vous trouverez ici plus d'informations.

3. Biochimie humaine: texte et atlas (Jan Koolman)

Ce texte explore une manière différente de parler de biochimie, et c’est à travers l'utilisation de schémas et d'illustrations , plus que des mots. Un moyen simple mais visuel, qui réussit à simplifier les processus biochimiques complexes qui se produisent dans le corps humain et nous permet de conserver et de comprendre les images.

  • Si vous avez aimé l'idée, vous pouvez en voir plus dans ce lien.

4. Biochimie (Donald Voet, Judith G. Voet)

Donald Voet et son épouse, Judith G. Voet, ont écrit ce manuel sur la biochimie afin que les étudiants de l'Université de Pennsylvanie (où ils exercent en tant que professeurs) disposent d'un outil pour comprendre cette discipline. Son contenu est tellement didactique qu’il est devenu un classique de la biochimie et que sa vente s’est répandue à l’extérieur.

  • Si vous êtes intéressé, vous pouvez le trouver ici.

5. Biochimie avec applications cliniques (Thomas M. Devlin)

Les travaux de Devlin se concentrent davantage sur la compréhension de la biochimie qui se produit dans le corps humain et sur l'apparition de maladies associées, c'est-à-dire lorsqu'une voie métabolique ne fonctionne pas correctement, ce qui génère une maladie chez le patient. Avec cela, il souligne l’importance de la biochimie pour la santé des personnes et montre l'application médicale de cette science .

  • Dans le lien suivant, vous pouvez vous informer.

6. Biologie moléculaire de la cellule (Bruce Alberts, Alexander Johnson, Julian Lewis, Martin Raff, Keith Roberts, Paul Walter)

La biologie moléculaire est l’une des branches de la biochimie, et se concentre sur l'étude des macromolécules de la vie c'est-à-dire des protéines et des acides nucléiques (ADN et ARN). Cet ouvrage d’Alberts est un classique pour des personnes peu familiarisées avec le sujet. Il peut commencer par un langage simple et très didactique.

  • Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur le texte ici.

7. Biologie moléculaire du gène (James D. Watson, Tania A. Baker, Stephen P. Bell, Alexander Gann, Michael Levine et Richard Losick)

Le travail du célèbre généticien James D. Watson peut être considéré comme un livre de biochimie, puisque ce texte touche de nombreux aspects des acides nucléiques , parmi eux sa structure. Sa présentation simple en fait une lecture compréhensible et agréable, même s’il s’agit d’une question très complexe.

  • Si vous avez aimé, dans ce lien, il y a plus d'informations.

8. Structure et mécanisme des enzymes (Alan Fersht)

Bien que ce soit un livre avec suffisamment d’années (il a été publié en 1980), il est toujours un bon texte à introduire dans le concept des enzymes et des réactions chimiques , pour sa manière simple et compréhensible de présenter le thème.

  • Vous pouvez voir plus dans le lien suivant.

9. Bases du contrôle du métabolisme: les frontières du métabolisme (David Fell)

Le métabolisme est l’un des principaux domaines d’étude de cette science. Ce livre sur la biochimie se concentre sur ce concept et présente les bases de la commencer à acquérir de nouvelles connaissances sur les voies métaboliques , qui ces dernières années gagnent en importance.

  • Ici vous trouverez plus de détails.

10. Introduction à la biologie cellulaire (Bruce Alberts, Dennis Bray, Karen Hopkin)

Bien que je parle de biochimie, la vérité est que avec une vue générale de la cellule, beaucoup de ses termes sont mieux compris , par exemple lors de la visualisation de l'endroit où ce processus a lieu. Et est-ce que la biologie cellulaire appartient aussi à l'une des branches de cette science; Les processus et les structures étudiés par la biochimie sont situés dans les cellules.

  • Pour plus d'informations, vous pouvez suivre le lien suivant.

Chapitre 1 – Composition de la matière vivante - Cours de Biologie du DAEU-B (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes