yes, therapy helps!
The Maderismo and the Mexican Revolution: what did they consist of?

The Maderismo and the Mexican Revolution: what did they consist of?

January 25, 2022

Little or very little has been said about one of the most crucial moments in the political-social history of Mexico, but at the beginning of the 20th century a series of events took place that marked the trajectory and destiny of the country during 10 years. The movement of the Maderismo, by its ideologist Francisco I. Madero (1873 - 1913), was a short but intense period of political revolution in the Latin American country.

The maderismo did not last more than a year and a half, among other things, due to its scarce revolutionary nature, internal disagreements of the movement and, finally, by a military coup that was carried out in 1913 by General Victoriano Huerta. and with the blessing of the United States, which politically and logistically supported the uprising against Maderismo. However, the effects of this stage still resonate in the culture of Mexico.


  • Related article: "The 5 ages of History (and its characteristics)"

The precedents of the maderismo

No political or social upheaval can be explained if the background is understood. Mexico had been living for decades a time of governmental secrecy, political corruption and embezzlement of public funds. José de la Cruz Porfirio Diaz (1830 - 1915), president of the country for almost 30 years, intended to extend his mandate with a decree that bridled the mood of society.

The period that Díaz was in power, known as the "porfirismo", laid the foundations of a dictatorial government, repressor with civil rights (such as freedom of the press and organization) and that he led Mexico with an iron fist. He imposed his legitimacy by apologizing for the stability and peace that had been established in the country of previous eras. As often happens in this type of political system, Porfirio came from an outstanding military trajectory, with the support of the elites and the support of the army.


In spite of the economic improvement in general terms and the modernization of the country, the mandate of the dictator Porfirio was characterized by the impoverishment of the social majority, especially the agrarian , who saw how their conditions were deteriorating more and more. As if that were not enough, the personalism and despotism that the Porfirian government acquired intensified even more the voices against him.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 5 types of dictatorship: from totalitarianism to authoritarianism"

The role of Francisco Madero

As it could not be otherwise, the Maderismo was represented by its highest representative, Francisco Madero, who began his career in politics in 1904, leading anti-reelectionist policies to avoid a new mandate for the governor of his state, Coahuila. Later, he got involved and supported the Mexican Liberal Party in the interest of promoting a more radical change for the country. However, due to ideological discrepancies he left the party.


It was that same year, 1906 when he founded the Anti-reelectionist Party, which had its ideological foundation in the reform of the Mexican electoral system , making it more participatory, more democratic and with the ultimate goal of eliminating the scourge of political corruption. Although it was given less importance by its brief incidence in public life, the Maderismo also collected reforms of the health and education system, making it more accessible to the common people, measures quite advanced for their time.

In this way, Francisco fought with equality of forces against President Porfirio in a social and electoral battle, but he does not even get to participate in the elections. Porfirio decides to imprison Madero, scared of the popular support that his movement and person was acquiring . Obviously, Díaz wins the elections again and Madero decides to go into exile in the US. by failing his attempt to be vice president.

Plan of San Luís and fall of porfirismo

Frustrated at having failed in his plan to assault power by legal and democratic means, Madero understood that the only way to bring down Porfirio was through violence and popular uprising . He did so with the famous San Luis Plan of 1910, where he called to arms for November 20 of that same year. The letter asked all the opposition veto the re-elected government, union against it and the direct fight with arms.

Such was the success of the call to rebellion, that in just a few months the entire country was in the hands of the rebels , guided mainly by the promises of the maderismo to improve the conditions of the proletariat and salaried workers, with measures such as land expropriation and deep agrarian reforms. All this precipitated the exile of Porfirio to the USA.

Failure of the Maderismo

Unfortunately for the country, the trekking turned out to be a mirage. Francisco I Madero did not fulfill most of his promises to the farmers. It took a much more reformist and moderate character than expected , disappointing his followers. Shy measures of redistribution of wealth, of the productive system and more political freedom, were not enough to legitimize the Madero government.

Among opposites within its own bosom, and the nostalgic Porfiristas, the Maderismo was cornered and with no room to maneuver. Because of these facts, the mandate lasted only 15 months, full of instability and fratricidal struggles that were followed by a Coup d'État in 1913 by Victoriano Huerta . Curiously, this historical moment would mark the future of the next decade of the Mexican country, once again plunging into popular revolts and military repression.


La Revolución Mexicana en corto - Bully Magnets (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le madérisme et la révolution mexicaine: en quoi consistaient-ils?

Le madérisme et la révolution mexicaine: en quoi consistaient-ils?

Janvier 22, 2022

On a peu ou pas beaucoup parlé de l'un des moments les plus cruciaux de l'histoire politique et sociale du Mexique, mais au début du XXe siècle, une série d'événements ont marqué la trajectoire et le destin du pays pendant 10 ans. Le mouvement du Maderismo, par son idéologue Francisco I. Madero (1873 - 1913) fut une période de révolution politique courte mais intense dans le pays d'Amérique latine.

Le madérisme n'a pas duré plus d'un an et demi, notamment en raison de son caractère peu révolutionnaire, de ses divergences internes du mouvement et, enfin, d'un coup d'État militaire commis en 1913 par le général Victoriano Huerta. et avec la bénédiction des États-Unis, qui ont soutenu politiquement et logiquement le soulèvement contre le maderismo. Cependant, les effets de cette étape résonnent encore dans la culture du Mexique.


  • Article connexe: "Les 5 âges de l'histoire (et ses caractéristiques)"

Les précédents du maderismo

Aucun bouleversement politique ou social ne peut s'expliquer si le contexte est compris. Le Mexique vivait depuis des décennies une période de secret gouvernemental, de corruption politique et détournement de fonds publics. José de la Cruz, Porfirio Diaz (1830 - 1915), président du pays depuis près de 30 ans, entendait prolonger son mandat par un décret qui calmerait l'humeur de la société.

La période pendant laquelle Díaz était au pouvoir, connue sous le nom de "porfirismo", a jeté les bases d'un gouvernement dictatorial, répresseur aux droits civiques (comme la liberté de la presse et de l'organisation) et qu'il a dirigé le Mexique d'une main de fer. Il a imposé sa légitimité en s'excusant pour la stabilité et la paix qui avaient été établies dans le pays des époques précédentes. Comme il arrive souvent dans ce type de système politique, Porfirio est issu d’une trajectoire militaire remarquable, avec le soutien des élites et le soutien de l’armée.


Malgré l'amélioration économique générale et la modernisation du pays, le mandat du dictateur Porfirio se caractérisait par: l'appauvrissement de la majorité sociale, en particulier de la société agraire , qui a vu comment leurs conditions se détérioraient de plus en plus. Comme si cela ne suffisait pas, le personnalisme et le despotisme acquis par le gouvernement porfirien intensifiaient encore plus les voix contre lui.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 5 types de dictature: du totalitarisme à l'autoritarisme"

Le rôle de Francisco Madero

Comme il ne pouvait en être autrement, le Maderismo était représenté par son plus haut représentant, Francisco Madero, qui avait commencé sa carrière politique en 1904 en menant une politique antirééliste pour éviter un nouveau mandat au gouverneur de son État, Coahuila. Plus tard, il s'est impliqué et a soutenu le parti libéral mexicain dans l’intérêt de promouvoir un changement plus radical pour le pays. Cependant, en raison de divergences idéologiques, il a quitté le parti.


C'était cette même année, 1906, quand il a fondé le parti antirééliste, qui a eu son fondement idéologique dans la réforme du système électoral mexicain en le rendant plus participatif, plus démocratique et dans le but ultime d’éliminer le fléau de la corruption politique. Bien que sa brève incidence dans la vie publique lui ait conféré une moindre importance, le Maderismo a également rassemblé des réformes du système de santé et du système éducatif, le rendant plus accessible au peuple, mesures assez avancées pour son époque.

De cette manière, Francisco s'est battu avec une égalité de forces contre le président Porfirio dans une bataille électorale et sociale, mais il n'a même pas eu la chance de participer aux élections. Porfirio décide d'emprisonner Madero, peur du soutien populaire que son mouvement et sa personne acquérait . De toute évidence, Díaz remporte à nouveau les élections et Madero décide de s'exiler aux États-Unis. en échouant sa tentative d'être vice-président.

Plan de San Luis et chute du porfirismo

Frustré d'avoir échoué dans son plan d'assaut du pouvoir par des moyens légaux et démocratiques, Madero comprit que le seul moyen de faire tomber Porfirio était à travers la violence et le soulèvement populaire . Il l'a fait avec le fameux Plan San Luis de 1910, où il a appelé aux armes pour le 20 novembre de la même année. La lettre demandait à toute l’opposition d’opposer son veto au gouvernement réélu, au syndicat contre et au combat direct avec armes.

Tel fut le succès de l'appel à la rébellion, que en quelques mois, tout le pays était aux mains des rebelles , guidé principalement par les promesses du maderismo d’améliorer les conditions du prolétariat et des travailleurs salariés, avec des mesures telles que l’expropriation de terres et des réformes agraires profondes. Tout cela a précipité l'exil de Porfirio aux États-Unis.

Échec du maderismo

Malheureusement pour le pays, le trekking s'est avéré être un mirage. Francisco I Madero n'a pas tenu la plupart de ses promesses aux agriculteurs. Il a fallu un caractère beaucoup plus réformiste et modéré que prévu , décevant ses partisans. Les mesures timides de redistribution de la richesse, du système productif et d'une plus grande liberté politique ne suffisaient pas pour légitimer le gouvernement Madero.

Parmi les opposés au sein de son propre sein, et les Porfiristas nostalgiques, le Maderismo était coincé et ne laissait aucune marge de manœuvre. En raison de ces faits, le mandat n’a duré que 15 mois, empreint d’instabilité et de luttes fratricides. ont été suivis d'un coup d'État en 1913 par Victoriano Huerta . Curieusement, ce moment historique marquerait l’avenir de la prochaine décennie du pays mexicain, replongeant une fois de plus dans les révoltes populaires et la répression militaire.


ROBERTO MONTENEGRO. Ilustrador (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes